04/10/2014, 3:09 AM
Campiones Campiones Ole Ole Ole

04/10/2014, 7:53 AM
I shouldn't't be awake at this hour..

Tooownn

placid casual
04/10/2014, 8:01 AM
Fair play to "de town" on getting promotion.

you'll have to go a long long way to find a Rovers fan who would have a bad word to say about TC.

look forward to seeing you in tallaghtfornia next year -
please don't put up the cages when we visit please, tho! it wont help your cause.

hollocaine
04/10/2014, 9:34 AM
A great way to cap it all off. Delighted for all involved. Thanks for everything.

04/10/2014, 11:30 AM
Some craic last night. Can't say as I remember my above post but the sentiment stands! Great boost for the club and fair play Tony, got us there!

04/10/2014, 12:08 PM
Some craic last night. Can't say as I remember my above post but the sentiment stands! Great boost for the club and fair play Tony, got us there!

I'd say there was some fun around Longford alright, I regret not staying in town for the night but ended up having a few quite ones back in roscommon feeling very content. 7 long years. What a great evening it was.

04/10/2014, 12:22 PM
I think JP's would have been pretty happy with the return on their sponsorship last night! I'm not too sure when I left but I think it was still going strong in the small hours.

04/10/2014, 12:26 PM
I think JP's would have been pretty happy with the return on their sponsorship last night! I'm not too sure when I left but I think it was still going strong in the small hours.

I haven't slept 😂

04/10/2014, 12:36 PM
I'd say there's some fierce sore heads this morning. Brilliant stuff and very much deserved. Premier football and regular Soccer Republic coverage hopefully! Will there be highlights tomorrow does anyone know?

04/10/2014, 12:38 PM
No but there will be highlights on Monday!

04/10/2014, 12:55 PM
I have three goals on video (I think) and a metric ****ton of blurry out of focus photos. I think I may have had a little too much to drink before kickoff. I'll upload them onto the ytube or bookface today or tomorrow once I sift through them and find some presentable stuff.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BzGjANKIEAAyDHi.jpg:large

04/10/2014, 10:06 PM
I got kicked out of JPs at 430am this mornin.. Spoke to Chris Bennion at 5am this mornin outside Longford Arms.. what a win and performance..btw there was footage from last nite on the 6 o clock news! only got the end of it earlier..

It was an emotional night.. Well done to everyone..

IrishRossi
04/10/2014, 10:45 PM
if yh look on the rte player you will see it on the six 1, shows sullys goal and an interview with tony, skip to 14:30 for the bit on the town

05/10/2014, 9:42 AM
Congrats to Longford players, staff and supporters. Will be great to see longford back in the top division. Hopefully we will join you in the premier division next season via the play-offs.

05/10/2014, 5:57 PM
The celebrations continue

05/10/2014, 9:16 PM
I've a friend working in the Longford Arms, she says the lads absolutely wrecked the bedrooms, might cost them a pretty penny, but I'm sure they'll feel it worth it :P

05/10/2014, 9:31 PM
I've a friend working in the Longford Arms, she says the lads absolutely wrecked the bedrooms, might cost them a pretty penny, but I'm sure they'll feel it worth it :P
when you say wreck the bedrooms in what way?? suppose thats what happens when you have a few too many!

05/10/2014, 9:33 PM
Probably caused a few grand's worth of improvements.

06/10/2014, 7:38 PM
when you say wreck the bedrooms in what way?? suppose thats what happens when you have a few too many!

That rumour always seems to go around probably over blown. Roll on the dinner dance

06/10/2014, 7:59 PM
That rumour always seems to go around probably over blown. Roll on the dinner dance
I trust who told me, some of the lads had to cough up their credit card details anyway. I'll not go into too much more detail, but the hotel weren't a happy bunch, I worked in a hotel for a year, that craic is pretty common, so very doubtful it's a rumor or exaggerated tbh.

Also worked in PV's back when they sponsored the town, you wouldn't believe the stuff I've seen :P

06/10/2014, 8:04 PM
I'd say a few of them could well have gotten a bit carried away. As long as they paid for the damage. They'll probably have to leave a security deposit if they're allowed back for the dinner dance! Nowhere else in town they could go but at the same time the rooms won't be in great demand from anyone else.

07/10/2014, 11:17 AM
Only fully recovered after all the craic at the weekend now. God blessus that was possibly the best weekend ever. Looking forward to the trip to the Harps game now.

I seen mention another thread that Bennion is retiring, I had assumed he'd move on anyway, so we'll be needing another keeper. Shall be interesting to see who is brought in and if Hunty will be able to establish himself as the undisputed #1. Pretty much the rest of the squad seem to be happy to say from what I've seen and heard. I'm probably reading into this all wrong, but something about an interview I seen with TC after the match leads me to believe that his future next year hasn't been 100% decided yet. I'd expect him to be staying myself anyhow.

TC talks at 4:48
Paul Hunts cameo about bottlers at 3:30 is also great!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFUvBt5y-ZU&list=UU8gKQ1SqCfQ3JmmB3dwFsaA

Just seemed awfully non committal on talking about anything re next season, wanted to skip past talking about it awfully quickly! I'm probably reading too much into it, you all think I'm mad now don't you..

07/10/2014, 11:47 AM
Ah I'd say you're overanalysing it a bit. I'd say it's just a case of having to sit down with Jim and confirm things. I haven't heard anything that suggests he won't be staying.

Town Legend
07/10/2014, 12:25 PM
I think TC and Jim get on very well so I can't see anyone bar TC in charge next season. If ever there was a time for Jim to say good luck to him it was at the end of last season but he signed him to a new contract. He's got us up this year so I'm sure after Sunday the two of them will sit down and work out a new deal and discuss players been brought in and let go.

Darklordsbane
07/10/2014, 3:02 PM
I think Don, Etanda, Glen, will be let go, with a chance Lorcan could go to. Chris to retire with a strong possibility of Kevin and Mark also retiring, thats the way I read it anyway but as you all know my take on things is weird at the best of times

07/10/2014, 3:11 PM
I'd imagine Etanda and Glen are unlikely to be kept, would be surprised if he let Don go but we need an alternative. Lorcan will be a good squad player, did little wrong this season. Don't see why Salmo or Kevin would be retiring at all tbh. They're only late 20s I think and both are good players. Salmo with a full pre season behind him will be a fitter player than he has been in the past few weeks. Personally not as sold on Tom Morris as others seem to be. I think he's a bit slow.

07/10/2014, 3:17 PM
Jaysus lads Salmo's 26 and Kev is 29 later this month. Bit early to be talking about hanging up the boots.

07/10/2014, 3:18 PM
Personally not as sold on Tom Morris as others seem to be. I think he's a bit slow.

There's a reason he wasn't in around the squad at Port Vale. Obviously I've only seen very little of him playing, but he does look very slow and awkward.

07/10/2014, 3:58 PM
Port Vale are a league one team, I'd say they're generally much more interested in hardened pro's who will keep them up than taking chances on many kids, it's also a bit of a higher level than the auld graveyard!

We'll have to give him a bit more time to see how good he can be. Tom's a young lad, so plenty to improve upon, I think he looks very comfortable on the ball thou, which is nice to have along the backline. He's only made 4 starts with us and one or two sub apps yet, so hard to know. But the Premier will be a steep learning curve for an awful lot of the lads.

There's no way Cowan will be let go, I'd love to see him get a run of games for us up front, still convinced he could be our best striker if given a crack up there. We have decent auld striking options, between himself and SOS but the gk and wing situation looks the most in need of reinforcements IMO.

I already think the squad we had this year would probably have finished ahead of Bray,UCD and Athlone tbh.

07/10/2014, 4:16 PM
I'd keep him on too as you don't get many with his pace but Don's finishing has been appalling this season tbh. Maybe that would improve with games up front but when you have Shaw and Sully knocking in around 40 between them in all competitions I can see why he was played on the wing. I'd be prepared to back TC with whatever he decides re keeping lads or letting them go. Spotting a player is one of his biggest strengths. In terms of players in I'd happily take Dan Purdy back if he was prepared to come back. I can't imagine he enjoyed this season and he hasn't had a look in in the Rovers first team.

07/10/2014, 4:30 PM
I do think a run of games up there would make a difference, Cowan is a useless winger that's for sure, pace to burn but no cuteness or passing ability. I'd agree with starting the other two lads up there next season, but I think Dons pace and power might be more of an advantage as the season wears on, he's already had a taste of football at a higher level after all.

Purdy would likely have started every game had he stayed, and we sorely missed him.
I get the impression himself and TC didn't see eye to eye thou.

07/10/2014, 4:36 PM
Yeah I heard a couple of versions of why he left and whether it was his decision or TC's but if they could patch up whatever differences they had it could work out well for everyone. Very talented player. Where's Tomo Crawley these days, gone abroad or something?

Darklordsbane
07/10/2014, 5:47 PM
If Shels don't go up we should do our damnedest to sign Dylan Connolly, as for my comment on Kevin and Mark retiring it is not a wish not in the slightest, but the last few game neither looked able to get around the pitch properly, I am just wondering are they carrying an injury or just the long season catching up on Kevin and Mark never quite getting back to full match fitness imo he did way too much too soon, I will keep everything crossed for them both as I think they are both very good and will be very valuable to us next season

07/10/2014, 5:49 PM
I didn't think next season talk would have started so soon, I'm still enjoying what was an unbelievable weekend and capping it off with an unbelievable send off in Donegal on Sunday is all that's on my mind right now but having read the comments above il say this: No way Don will be or should be let go, he's not a winger as we all know but there's not a full back in the entire country that can match him for pace or power so if someone can just pull him a side and show him a few tricks in the art of wing play I can see him being a star next season. Up front I honestly believe he would bang 10 goals in next season.

Someone else said it to be about mark salmon retiring but maybe they just read it on here and took it as fact becuase I really can't see it being true and when you see how good salmo was upon his return it just makes you wonder how good he will be with a full pre season, another potential premier star next season.

Lorcan had a good end to the season but I'd be worried if he's maybe too light for the top flight and as for Etanda he can provide a moment of magic but unfortunately he's very very injury prone. We need 2 new wingers as a priority next season so Id be interested if a few of you could throw out a few realistic names?

People on here are going to start thinking I'm related to tom Morris or something with the constant high praise I givd him but I've been so so impressed by him. Maybe he is lacking pace but he's 6'3 and that's to be expected, he wins every header, he's versatile, he has a brilliant cross on him and gets forward a hell of a lot for a big man and most importantly for me he's good on the ball and lethal in BOTH penalty areas, he will get a lot of goals next season from set pieces if he's still around but personally I think hel go back to England.

@longfordian - Crawley is back after going down under and everyone wants to see him back at the club so I really see it happening and if full fit and in the form he showed with us before he's another fella that would add goals to the team but I don't know if he's bein playing any football since leaving Derry so that's a big concern.

Overall, this squad is more than capable and I honestly see us bringing back the glory days over the next few years.

07/10/2014, 6:08 PM
If Shels don't go up we should do our damnedest to sign Dylan Connolly, as for my comment on Kevin and Mark retiring it is not a wish not in the slightest, but the last few game neither looked able to get around the pitch properly, I am just wondering are they carrying an injury or just the long season catching up on Kevin and Mark never quite getting back to full match fitness imo he did way too much too soon, I will keep everything crossed for them both as I think they are both very good and will be very valuable to us next season

Yeah TC was interviewed post Waterford and said Kevin had been unable to train all week that week and he missed a game or two before that so I would think he was just playing injured. TC also said Salmo was feeling the pace a bit without the pre season the others had so they were using him for the last half hour of games. Connolly is quality but we'll never get him. He'll probably go across to England I'd say and there'd be compensation to pay too.

Outspoken - cheers we'll see how that pans out I remember he was training with us last pre season (?) before he went away so hopefully it can work out. A good pre season would get him fit he's still young.

Town Legend
07/10/2014, 7:04 PM
I'd like to see Morris kept on also. People saying he looks slow, but sure didn't he join us without any pre-season training himself?

07/10/2014, 7:55 PM
Yeah that's a fair point and he is young. He didn't do an awful lot wrong in the games I saw him in in fairness to him. I just don't think he's a natural left back and we'd need a better first choice option there next year.

07/10/2014, 9:43 PM
Yeah that's a fair point and he is young. He didn't do an awful lot wrong in the games I saw him in in fairness to him. I just don't think he's a natural left back and we'd need a better first choice option there next year.

Bar Tiddler, Morris would get the most assist from left back so I could see him playing there no problem but if he's only there as cover for a CB or LB its still a great squad player, like I said I think hel return to england

07/10/2014, 10:12 PM
dont know if you heard the interview or read it but Jim Hanley stated that TC is the best mgr he has ever worked with which is some compliment considerin the others he had in the past!

07/10/2014, 10:35 PM
dont know if you heard the interview or read it but Jim Hanley stated that TC is the best mgr he has ever worked with which is some compliment considerin the others he had in the past!

Didn't hear the interview so I don't know what context Jim said it in but I know he's said in the past that as regards understanding the financial situation the club was in when he started and getting on with his job each year without any complaints or demands, TC has been excellent and has been very easy to work with.

07/10/2014, 10:54 PM
Didn't hear the interview so I don't know what context Jim said it in but I know he's said in the past that as regards understanding the financial situation the club was in when he started and getting on with his job each year without any complaints or demands, TC has been excellent and has been very easy to work with.

interview was in last Mondays star!

DRDoc
08/10/2014, 1:23 AM

Just after winning the league big jim is hardly going to say Stephen Kenny and Alan Mathews were much better managers . . .

TC is better than Aaron Callaghan though :cool:

08/10/2014, 3:21 AM
I said it in the other thread, but anyhow as far as I know Tom is staying next season if we want to keep him. Heard that from both himself and his dad, so sounds legit enough to me.

I like him he's a good lad. Bring back tomorrow crawley and Brady on the wings!!

08/10/2014, 7:25 AM
If it was possible (probably not) Id go all out to sign Gavin Hoolahan and Fabio O'Brien from Drogs. Hoolahan has been one of the leagues too performers in recent months and Fabio would offer us a real goals return from the bench although he is a very unlikely signing

08/10/2014, 8:21 AM
Yeah I don't think Fabio would leave Drogs at this stage especially if all you have in mind for him is a run out from the bench. Still this type of speculation will keep us occupied in the off season!

08/10/2014, 7:29 PM
And here's how we did it..some cracking goals in here. Hadn't seen Shawsy's equaliser v Wexford a few weeks ago, what a header.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3HF6J36KuwE

08/10/2014, 9:40 PM
And here's how we did it..some cracking goals in here. Hadn't seen Shawsy's equaliser v Wexford a few weeks ago, what a header.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3HF6J36KuwE

good thing that those goals didnt show what happened last w.end as I havent got a chance to see our goals yet! till tmw!

Darklordsbane
09/10/2014, 5:03 AM
Shame Rhys's goal against Wexford youths in the first round isn't there, every bit as good as Mark and Jamies, but then it always looks better live so until we see video evidence we can't compare, excellent video though