FD
Waterford 0-1 Cobh
Longford 1-0 Shamrock Rvs B
Shels 0-0 Galway
As things stand, Longford are promoted.
Longford 2 up
gufc2000
03/10/2014, 7:30 PM
Longford look like they're going to do it in style, 3-0 up now.
Derek Doyle has levelled for Athlone.
adamd164
03/10/2014, 7:32 PM
We should have had a second there, bad offside call from the lino.
NeverFeltBetter
03/10/2014, 7:37 PM
Shels beating Galway too. As it stands, that means Galway/Wexford on last matchday is winner take all for a play-off spot.
03/10/2014, 7:52 PM
Over 2000 here at the CCS apparently. Couldn't be more comfortable, baby Rovers haven't had a shot at goal. Part of me is still nervous though!
NeverFeltBetter
03/10/2014, 8:06 PM
Four up now. Longford strolling to the trophy.
adamd164
03/10/2014, 8:07 PM
City 2-0 Drogs. Marky Sull strikes again.
NeverFeltBetter
03/10/2014, 8:21 PM
Limerick are 3-1 up. Considering Limerick's lack of anything to play for, Athlone should well rue not getting anything from the game. Meanwhile, Galway miss a penalty that could have secured them play-off spot.
Cuyahoga
03/10/2014, 8:23 PM
Very poor Drogheda support at Turners cross. Looks like about 10 fans.
White Horse
03/10/2014, 8:33 PM
Very poor Drogheda support at Turners cross. Looks like about 10 fans.
There is probably a hundred of them in the shed end cheering on Cork.
NeverFeltBetter
03/10/2014, 8:38 PM
Limerick 4 - 2 Athlone FT
NeverFeltBetter
03/10/2014, 8:48 PM
Galway equalise. FD getting wrapped up tonight. When are playoff dates?
adamd164
03/10/2014, 8:58 PM
Longford are champions.
FT in all games. Important 3 pts for us.
adamd164
03/10/2014, 9:05 PM
Forgot to mention but we also qualified for Europe tonight. John Caulfield has done a brilliant job.
patrickccfc
03/10/2014, 9:21 PM
Congrats to longford great to see them back up.. on our game tonight we were very much in control til they scored then it got very nervy but glad to get those points. Looking forward to Europe already
03/10/2014, 9:26 PM
Congrats to De Town!
Dave77
03/10/2014, 9:39 PM
Congrats longford. Is the 2nd v 3rd in first div a one off game or 2 legs?
IrishRossi
03/10/2014, 9:41 PM
its 2 legs
The Donie Forde
03/10/2014, 9:41 PM
Yeah, great to see Longford back in the Prem.
03/10/2014, 9:49 PM
Great to see Longford up. Handy nine points for The Bit O'Red next season without much travel )= Saw them for the third time this season tonight and they have been poorer each time. They need at least six players to have a hope of staying up but they should be able to get them if the support they had tonight sticks with them. 2200 at the game but mind you, there was 4500 at the decider with Bray last season. On an unrelated matter, the Shams B 'keeper was probably the worst I have ever seen in League of Ireland football.
Dave77
03/10/2014, 9:49 PM
Thanks
PartySaint
03/10/2014, 9:52 PM
Congrats Longford.
oriel
03/10/2014, 10:09 PM
Congratulations to all at Longford, it's been clear they have been the best side in the FD all season. I've never been to their ground, wouldn't mind a trip over next season.
Ps I'm guessing it might be the first season ever that Longford will play Athlone in the PD if the latter stay up, is that correct?
adamd164
03/10/2014, 10:31 PM
Would love to see Galway go up too, great away trip.
Can't find any odds on relegation but UCD are still in serious trouble, even if Athlone lost tonight.
Town Legend
03/10/2014, 10:38 PM
Congratulations to all at Longford, it's been clear they have been the best side in the FD all season. I've never been to their ground, wouldn't mind a trip over next season.
Ps I'm guessing it might be the first season ever that Longford will play Athlone in the PD if the latter stay up, is that correct?
Correct, we've never played Athlone in the premier.
03/10/2014, 11:06 PM
After seeing athlone tonight i wouldn't be too sure that midlands premier game would happen next season.
03/10/2014, 11:24 PM
Happy for Longford. Although that extends our closest away trip to either Dublin or Galway now, provided Galway don't get promoted too.
03/10/2014, 11:33 PM
Tooooooooown!!!!!
04/10/2014, 2:55 AM
Great to see Longford up. Handy nine points for The Bit O'Red next season without much travel )= Saw them for the third time this season tonight and they have been poorer each time. They need at least six players to have a hope of staying up but they should be able to get them if the support they had tonight sticks with them. 2200 at the game but mind you, there was 4500 at the decider with Bray last season. On an unrelated matter, the Shams B 'keeper was probably the worst I have ever seen in League of Ireland football.
Was there ****** 4500 at any of our games aside from cup finals in the last twenty years. Weren't great tonight I'll agree, and again I'll agree that we need to strengthen significantly. Still though after 7 years we'll worry about the bigger picture later.
hollocaine
04/10/2014, 9:32 AM
2,700 was the attendance for the Bray game last year.
Perfect evening at the CCS. Great to be back.
WoodquayBoy
04/10/2014, 10:14 AM
Congrats Longford, hope to join ye there
Straightstory
04/10/2014, 2:46 PM
Well done, Longford.
Meanwhile, at the Cross: Can't believe Gavin Brennan was sent off AGAIN!
adamd164
04/10/2014, 3:28 PM
Here's what Brennan was sent off for: http://www.joe.ie/football/league-of-ireland/vine-drogheda-uniteds-gavin-brennan-puts-in-a-shocking-two-footed-tackle-against-cork-city/
ATFC-1887
04/10/2014, 4:34 PM
We were so bad last night. Worst performance all season by a country mile. Don't know what happen to our defence. Its been solid the last few months. We are still not gone but its very unlikely now. All UCD need to do is get one win and we are gone.
04/10/2014, 10:25 PM
in our first season in loi in 84-85 season we met Athlone Town when the division was all the one!
Predator
04/10/2014, 10:40 PM
Here's what Brennan was sent off for: http://www.joe.ie/football/league-of-ireland/vine-drogheda-uniteds-gavin-brennan-puts-in-a-shocking-two-footed-tackle-against-cork-city/Rico and Caulfield clashed over the red card. http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2014/10/04/5155514/richardson-left-frustrated-by-brennan-dismissal
Rico and Caulfield clashed over the red card. http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2014/10/04/5155514/richardson-left-frustrated-by-brennan-dismissal
I live Rico, but any manager in the world would have lost the plot at that tackle, Rico himself included.
Town Legend
05/10/2014, 9:06 AM
in our first season in loi in 84-85 season we met Athlone Town when the division was all the one!
Forgot about that first season......and that's why you're the club historian Marty and not me! ;)
Ezeikial
05/10/2014, 9:11 AM
Gavin Brennan is a very talented player, but his 4 red cards so far this season tells its own story.
In a family of footballing nutcases he is the king of the clann
Fivesilver
05/10/2014, 4:38 PM
Delighted for Longford - congratulations. Whether we take nine points off anyone next season is going to depend on what our committee gets up to over the next couple of months. The Cork and UCD games suggest we still have a decent core. My worry is that they'll think that's grand for a season of low-budget mid-table 'consolidation', and flog the crap out of the talented youngsters week in, week out, ruining them for the long term with no great benefit to the club.
05/10/2014, 6:48 PM
Was there ****** 4500 at any of our games aside from cup finals in the last twenty years. Weren't great tonight I'll agree, and again I'll agree that we need to strengthen significantly. Still though after 7 years we'll worry about the bigger picture later.
I stand corrected - 2749 was the Bray crowd. Either way, it shows the potential to be a significant addition to the Premier League. All you have to do now is ditch Cousins and instal Roddy Collins with Sean Connor as his assistant.
05/10/2014, 7:00 PM
The dream team. Well it certainly wouldn't be dull that's for sure.