View Full Version : Matchweek 29: Friday, September 26, 2014
colonelwest
26/09/2014, 6:39 PM
No thread up yet so thought I may as well start it!
7:05 p.m.
Premier Div
Cork City
Sligo Rovers
Live Updates (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/20402/1/)
7:45 p.m.
Premier Div
Bohemians
Limerick FC
Live Updates (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/20401/1/)
Premier Div
Derry City
Athlone Town
Live Updates (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/20403/1/)
Premier Div
Drogheda United
Bray Wanderers
Live Updates (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/20404/1/)
Premier Div
St. Patrick's Ath
Shamrock Rovers
Live Updates (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/20405/1/)
Premier Div
U.C.D
Dundalk
Live Updates (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/20406/1/)
First Div
Waterford United
Longford Town
Live Updates (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/20584/1/)
8 p.m.
First Div
Finn Harps
Shelbourne
Live Updates (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/20585/1/)
Missed the first 15 of the Cork/ Sligo game but been end to end the last 10 minutes, Sligo having the better of it of what I've seen so far anyway, Cawley getting acres of space.
ninja edit, what a a feckin goal from Ledwith! Pick that one out!
26/09/2014, 7:17 PM
Get in, Gary Shaw! 1-0 LTFC. He's had a fantastic season for us.
adamd164
26/09/2014, 7:31 PM
The Shed... We always score in The Shed!
26/09/2014, 7:34 PM
Now 2-0 Longford, Jamie Mulhall, half time. Shels 1 up on Harps though.
26/09/2014, 7:39 PM
Harps, cop on out of that.
26/09/2014, 7:40 PM
Harps, cop on out of that.
1-1
Good work lads
26/09/2014, 7:41 PM
1-1
Good work lads
McNulty with the equaliser..sheeeeeit. Come on Harps.
26/09/2014, 8:22 PM
1-1
Good work lads
2-1
They've taken my advice on borad
2-2 now. Need more words of wisdom Acornvilla.
26/09/2014, 8:27 PM
Come on Harps! Hold on for the point at least!
26/09/2014, 8:36 PM
Full time in Waterford. Town win 2-0. All eyes on Ballybofey.
Stop it. You're making us nervous.
26/09/2014, 8:44 PM
Thank you, thank you, Harps. Funston legend.
Provided ye don't mess up from here.
NeverFeltBetter
26/09/2014, 8:50 PM
Match point Longford. Wonder how many they'll get for Shams B now.
Town Legend
26/09/2014, 8:50 PM
Nice one Harps!
26/09/2014, 8:51 PM
Woohoo! I love Harps. I'd even go so far as to thank one of nigel's posts if he was on. Three points away. Provided Harps don't beat us 10-0 in Ballybofey on the last day.
Edit: Actually no we're four points ahead. One more win and they can beat us 20 nil.
adamd164
26/09/2014, 8:54 PM
A good night's work for us with Pat's and Shamrock Rovers drawing. Expected Dundalk to beat UCD of course. We're 14 pts clear of Shamrock Rvs now so virtually guaranteed Europe after tonight.
Our first time in Europe since 2008!
Town Legend
26/09/2014, 8:55 PM
Win next Friday and harps can beat us 20-0, it still won't matter! But we still have to go out with the heads screwed on and not be thinking rovers will be a walk in the park.
patrickccfc
26/09/2014, 8:58 PM
Europe pretty much in the bag now which was our target so anything else is a bonus but it's great to be still up there in with a shout.. we were very poor in the first half tonight didn't look like we could come back into it but came out much better in the second half.. nice of nults to save the penalty also we had a bit o' luck tonight lol
jinxy lilywhite
26/09/2014, 8:58 PM
It's as you were in the premier. Dundalk win and so do cork. This is going down to the last game as I can't see cork slipping up in the next 3 game before they play us.
Rovers result means Dundalk are qualified for Europe. Cork need one more point.
Oh congrats to the lilywhites on reaching their 100th goal in all competitions. Not sure how often this has been done
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/09/2014, 9:10 PM
Ah come on now lads. 3 points off the lead with 4 games to go and ye're looking back at a team 14 points behind. Much and all that ye might deny it ye're in with a right shot of winning the league.
patrickccfc
26/09/2014, 9:33 PM
Ah come on now lads. 3 points off the lead with 4 games to go and ye're looking back at a team 14 points behind. Much and all that ye might deny it ye're in with a right shot of winning the league.
Yeah there's no denying we can win the league, I think dundalks game with rovers is the one we can hope they might slip up in but we have to take advantage if and when it happens. I've been thinking whether or not to get a day off work for the last game and something tells me I should
26/09/2014, 9:40 PM
Oh congrats to the lilywhites on reaching their 100th goal in all competitions. Not sure how often this has been done
What, this season?
Wow.
Bit of a shame (for us) today's goals were a deflection and a goalkeeping howler. Either Dundalk weren't a patch on the team which destroyed us twice earlier in the season, or we've finally improved. But keeping it to 2-0 with most of our defence absent is vaguely encouraging. Or at least, about as encouraging as the past few weeks have gotten really.
And Athlone drew. Again. They're like Pepe le Pew at this stage.
https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR0ynMZkwMkPONgK72LE60cI_4AhwZZB CJDxb64wJva_vszYMS6zA
26/09/2014, 9:51 PM
Absolute cracker of a game in Finn Park. Safe to say, had Harps played like that all season we'd be right in the mix with Longford and Shelbourne for the title. Seriously excellent football played at times and a couple of fantastic team goals that I can't wait to see back on video.
Shelbourne simply have never had much of a good time in Finn Park, and they came up against a Harps team that were on fire. Their only two chances though came from defensive mistakes and they took both, which is a worry for us. But it's nice to see us actually score goals.
Can't wait to see what the craic is over on Shels Chat.
Oh.
White Horse
26/09/2014, 10:14 PM
Very controlled and professional performance from Dundalk. Earlier in the season, Dundalk would have tried to win this game 7-0 with everyone bar the goalkeeper bombing forward.
However, tonight they were always mindful of keeping possession and making sure they were not hit on the break. A very mature performance.
26/09/2014, 10:25 PM
Also, it was nice to see former Harps and Bohemians legend Fergal Harkin up in Finn Park again.
patrickccfc
26/09/2014, 10:36 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bye7bKHIIAA-rO1.jpg
damn rovers fans at it again
26/09/2014, 10:55 PM
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=274704362740548 - Harps winner tonight.
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=274703602740624 - Harps second.
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=274702896074028 - Harps first.
You don't need to see the Shelbourne goals.
White Horse
26/09/2014, 10:56 PM
I can see UCD going down. There was no fight in them tonight. For a team struggling for survival, they looked like they were going through the motions.
26/09/2014, 11:27 PM
Even thou the Galway lads are a fairly moany shower on here, I'd like them to go up, and if Athlone could stay up over UCD or Bray we'd have a decent geographic spread in the premier, if we don't go one division that is. Anyway, Hon Finn Harps, glad my advice paid off :)
26/09/2014, 11:55 PM
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=274704362740548 - Harps winner tonight.
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=274703602740624 - Harps second.
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=274702896074028 - Harps first.
You don't need to see the Shelbourne goals.
Second goal was nicely worked, Shels' keeper and left back should be shot for the first and third respectively. Not that I'm complaining. Who doesn't love Mickey Fun?..wait..no..not that..
PartySaint
27/09/2014, 12:53 AM
Decent game in Richmond tonight, draw probably a fair result. The point basically secures Europe for us
Our result was absolute daylight robbery, but we'll grab it and run. I love that this team never gives up, never gets the head down. If only they would think of heart issues in supporters before they all drop into the box with 10 minutes to go.
27/09/2014, 1:46 AM
Our result was absolute daylight robbery, but we'll grab it and run. I love that this team never gives up, never gets the head down. If only they would think of heart issues in supporters before they all drop into the box with 10 minutes to go.
I like the fact that a lad like Mark O'Sullivan can come up from junior football and make an impact at the highest national level. Didn't realise he was 31 actually. LTFC's Davy O'Sullivan made a similar step up, though I suppose he was on the fringes for a couple of LOI clubs previously. Been more of a marked man this season but has still managed 20 odd goals and several assists.
Pablo Escobar
27/09/2014, 6:24 AM
I like the fact that a lad like Mark O'Sullivan can come up from junior football and make an impact at the highest national level. Didn't realise he was 31 actually. LTFC's Davy O'Sullivan made a similar step up, though I suppose he was on the fringes for a couple of LOI clubs previously. Been more of a marked man this season but has still managed 20 odd goals and several assists.
Mark is a great lad. He gives 100% all the time and when he scores he just walks back to the centre circle. I've also never seen him stay down injured which is amazing considering how he plays. I also haven't manage to figure out how he's gotten the better of ever centre half in the air despite only being 5'10". An amazing player and a shame that he hasn't been playing at this level for longer.
Mark might not be the most technically gifted but he puts in110% in every game. Never lets you down. He has been a top intermediate player for the last number of years but never really got the recognition he deserved. Was over looked on numerous occasions for the Irish amateur team but I did win some caps and don't think he ever received intermediate player of the year. You know when your playing against Mark your in for a right battle. He had a spell at City previously but did not get a break so returned to Avondale
Pablo Escobar
27/09/2014, 8:50 AM
Mark might not be the most technically gifted but he puts in110% in every game. Never lets you down. He has been a top intermediate player for the last number of years but never really got the recognition he deserved. Was over looked on numerous occasions for the Irish amateur team but I did win some caps and don't think he ever received intermediate player of the year. You know when your playing against Mark your in for a right battle. He had a spell at City previously but did not get a break so returned to Avondale
Yeah, I remember his last spell. It didn't last long. I heard that he had work commitments or such and he couldn't commit himself properly. It's a shame either way.
Dillonman
27/09/2014, 8:57 AM
Also, it was nice to see former Harps and Bohemians legend Fergal Harkin up in Finn Park again.
Seems to have been a theme of the night. Gary Haylock was at our game in Belfield. Got a song sung for him for nearly ten mins straight. He did however have a notepad and was doing alot of writting so he was over on business for somebody!
PartySaint
27/09/2014, 9:23 AM
Congrats to Longford on winning the league, not even they can mess it up from here....
Pablo Escobar
27/09/2014, 9:28 AM
Congrats to Longford on winning the league, not even they can mess it up from here....
I'd also like to extend congratulations to Dundalk. Well done lads.
patrickccfc
27/09/2014, 9:54 AM
I'd also like to extend congratulations to Dundalk. Well done lads.
Hold on a second now....
Dalymountrower
27/09/2014, 12:29 PM
Much improved Limerick last night, played some football.Buckets of chances at either end.Good night for the oul fellahs, two top class saves from Barry Ryan and goals from Jayo and Mulcahy.Woeful crowd, barely a thousand at best.
ATFC-1887
27/09/2014, 1:40 PM
We were blessed last night. But got the hard earned point in the end. Derry missed 2 sitters. 1 off the playoffs now. Never thought we would be in this position after where we were 10 games in. Keith Long....What a man.
Yeah there's no denying we can win the league, I think dundalks game with rovers is the one we can hope they might slip up in but we have to take advantage if and when it happens. I've been thinking whether or not to get a day off work for the last game and something tells me I should
I'd also say Cork v Bohs will be a key game, this is a side that have caused Cork a lot of problems this season.
Fivesilver
27/09/2014, 2:42 PM
The title is there for Cork if they believe they can win it. The big plus last night was getting three points out of a game they could easily have lost. The minus was playing with such fear against what was basically the debris of our season. They have to shake that off or they'll drop points in the remaining games.
Yossarian
27/09/2014, 3:04 PM
The title is there for Cork if they believe they can win it. The big plus last night was getting three points out of a game they could easily have lost. The minus was playing with such fear against what was basically the debris of our season. They have to shake that off or they'll drop points in the remaining games.
Cork can believe as much as they like but if we win our next three games that's the league won for us.
MeathDrog
27/09/2014, 3:18 PM
Cork can believe as much as they like but if we win our next three games that's the league won for us.
Cheers for clearing that up.