View Full Version : FAI's D-Day
11/11/2004, 7:24 AM
From today's Indo:
THE FAI will decide today if it is going to go against the Government's wishes and appoint an interim chief executive for an 18-month period.
The association's Board of Management and National Council will hold back-to-back meetings at Citywest this afternoon to discuss how they should proceed in the wake of Fran Rooney's resignation last week.
President Milo Corcoran indicated last night that there will be a proposal on the table to appoint Honorary Treasurer John Delaney as an interim chief executive for a period of 18 months.
"We will advertise the post of Chief Executive in a year's time because at the moment there is a need to stabilise the association by appointing an interim Chief Executive. As far as I, and the people I have sounded out, are concerned John Delaney is the man to fill that position," said Corcoran.
But while Delaney is a shoo-in as interim Chief Executive there is likely to be some heated debate at both meetings over the length of time he will be in place for.
Delaney is believed to be only interested in the position if it is for an 18-month period but some directors and council members are understandably wary about going against the Government's wishes.
Today is D-Day (Delaney Day?). Today is the day that representatives of the clubs (and their fans!) will decide if it is time for a fresh start or to continue like lemmings and support Delaney. The arrogance of this guy is amazing. No doubt the Board of Management will recommend Delaney's appointment. but hopefully, common sense prevails among the National Council and the future of Irish football is put before the whims of certain individuals.
If the Government's wishes are ignored we must hope John O'Donoghue will be firm and take the appropriate action. If the proposal to install Delaney for 18 months is defeated, then the Board of Management should do the honourable thing and resign en bloc.
What is needed is a clear outcome, but I fear what will emerge will be a fudge, something at which the FAI have traditionally excelled.
Robinski
11/11/2004, 9:19 AM
That post made me sick to my stomach.
If Delaney gets in that's really it for us. This is what I have feared since the shafting of Rooney began.
Lads, if you're interested, join our red card protest for the Croatia match. We have to let them and the government know that this shambles of an association cannot continue. It's a joke.
11/11/2004, 9:28 AM
18 months. Why does he want it for at least 18 months. If I was sarcastic I would ask “How long does it take to cook the books” – but I'm not and know that MR D has the interest of all braches of football at heart. I have a feeling that the real story has never been told here. I wonder what the chances of getting Rooney to open up and let us know what really went on.
Robinski
11/11/2004, 9:43 AM
You won't get Rooney to open up, not even an issue.
The point here is that the FAI want Delaney to take the post (as does he himself), the government don't want anyone internally at the helm, but the FAI are insisting that they need a year and a half (what was left on Rooney's contract) to stabilise the association.
Then they will advertise the post of CEO externally and bring in a business professional to run it like the business it should be, 18 months down the line they'll decide they don't like any of the changes being made and oust whatever poor sod took the position.
Oh, hang on a sec, isn't that what they just did. The term vicious circle springs to mind.
Same old FAI, same old cr@p.
harps1954
11/11/2004, 3:31 PM
I have just heard that John Delaney has been appointed interim FAI CEO. No timeframe has been put us this interim period.
Press Release to be issued by FAI in due course.
Where does this leave the FAI now????????????????????????
11/11/2004, 3:39 PM
Where does this leave the FAI now????????????????????????
Right in the middle of a three ring circus......Bunch of good 'ol boy f**king clowns! I'm so mad with these eejits, I can't see straight :mad: :mad: :mad:
Cowboy
11/11/2004, 3:49 PM
I'm not and know that MR D has the interest of all braches of football at heart.
Rubbish he has only his own interest at heart, he has said publicly that he would resign if genesis was not implemented. Obviously not a man of his word
I think he is still bitter over the way his father was treated and is acting accordingly
11/11/2004, 5:31 PM
I have just heard that John Delaney has been appointed interim FAI CEO. No timeframe has been put us this interim period.
It appears that both the Board of Management and the FAI Council (of which there were about 40 of the 51 members present) unanimously voted to offer Delaney the CEO job on an interim basis.
No surprise that the Board were unanimous but it is incredible that every single council member believed it is in the Associations interest to endorse Delaney's appointment and in doing so to open defy the wishes of the Minister of Sport and put future funding at risk.
Despite the fact it was a unanimous decision by the Council, the meeting lasted 90 minutes!
I have just heard an interview with that other clown, Milo Corcoran, whose responses to a number of poignant questions were:
Q. How long will this interim period last?
A. How long is a piece of string?
Q. Will the posts of CEO and Financial Director be advertised by 1 January 2005, as the Minister of Sport had indicated is what the Govt. required to ensure continued funding?
A. No!
Q. Is this decision likely to bring the FAI into conflict with the Minister?
A. No, discussions with the Govt. are still ongoing.
Q. Has John Delaney agreed to accept the post on an interim basis?
A. He has gone to talk to his family and his boss before deciding.
The above throws up some interesting points:
- Has some deal been done with Govt. at a higher level than John O'Donoghue, Bertie for instance?
- It will interesting to see if any Govt. ministers turn up at the game next week, if this decision is in direct conflict with the Govt's wishes.
- Why does Delaney need to go away and think about it? This outcome has bene predicted since Rooney resigned. Had he not discussed the possibility?
- Will Delaney's employers (the family buisness?) be seeking compensation if he takes up this post on an interim basis?
- If Delaney and his puppy dog, Peter Buckley, were considered by the Board of Management and the FAI Council to be the best people for the posts of CEO and Financial Director, why did they not recommend to go ahead and implement Genesis immediately?
What can you say? It's like a soap opera.
Robinski
12/11/2004, 9:16 AM
Q. How long will this interim period last?
A. How long is a piece of string?
I saw that interview too, I couldn't believe that answer. Who are his PR people?
It just shows you what an arrogant gobshiite he is. No respect for the fans and the general public whose money the government give them. Delaney and himself obviously feel they are untouchable and can get away with this crap just as they have done for years.
12/11/2004, 2:44 PM
Set to lose funding?????????/
THE FAI have burned their bridges with the Government after their failure to agree to the Minister of Sport's demand that they advertise the posts of chief executive and director of finance by January 1.
Informed sources were indicating last night that the association will find every door in the corridors of power shut to them as and from this morning over the delay in appointing a successor to Fran Rooney and other jobs earmarked in the Genesis Report.
Minister John O'Donoghue enjoys the backing of his cabinet colleagues as well as all-party support within the Dáil and Seanad in his attempt to sort out the FAI and he has made it clear he is determined to finish the task.
He was said to be deeply disappointed when the FAI issued a 92-word statement after yesterday's Board of Management and National Council meetings without indicating that they were prepared to accede to the Minister's wishes that the two key posts be advertised by January 1.
Indeed FAI president Milo Corcoran didn't help matters when he was doorstepped by the waiting media on his way out of the CityWest Conference Centre and asked if the posts would be advertised by the New Year.
"That's not in the plans to do that," said Corcoran.
The Department of Sport quickly issued a response to show that it was unhappy with the FAI's statement. "Today's statement by the FAI requires clarification and as it stands does not meet with the wishes of the Government which have already been clearly set out by Minister O'Donoghue. We see no basis for further engagement with the FAI pending an indication from the association that they intend to comply with the Government request."
Although Corcoran later backtracked on his earlier statement by claiming that the time-frame of any appointment will be discussed next week with the Government, the Minister quickly repeated that there would be no meeting between him and the association's representatives because there was nothing for them to discuss.
"We have already stated what the timescale is in terms of the advertisement," said the Minister.
"We are not seeking to interfere with the inner working of the FAI. All we are seeking to do is ensure that these positions are filled in accordance with the Genesis Report.
"The Report is almost two years old and it is surely time that the terms of the report were fulfilled. What we are asking is not, in my opinion, a very difficult task for the FAI.
"We are not telling the FAI who to make chief executive or financial controller all we are asking them to do is advertise for these positions in an open and transparent way and it really is a matter for the interview board to decide who will get these positions.
"I think this is the least that we can expect from the FAI following all the troubles that we have had, not just in recent years, but going back decades."
The Minister has been at pains to point out in recent days that he is not picking on the FAI but is merely trying to get them back on the right track.
"I have no wish to throw down the gauntlet to the FAI and I have no wish to have any confrontation with them. All we are trying to do is to ensure what is best for Irish soccer into the future and I wish that the FAI would accept that in good faith and move ahead," said Minister O'Donoghue.
The FAI's funding of €2million per annum from the Sports Council is seriously at risk thereby putting things like the Technical Development Plan, the Regional Development Officers' scheme and other grassroot initiatives at risk, while grants to Eircom League clubs under UEFA Club Licensing are also in jeopardy.
Yesterday's two meetings unanimously approved a proposal to offer the post of interim chief executive to the association's honorary treasurer John Delaney but he requested time to consult with his employers and family.
This obviously caught the FAI by surprise as they had laid out a room at the CityWest for a media conference but those plans were abandoned and Delaney left without talking to the media.
It is understood that he still wants to fill the post of interim chief executive for 12 to 18 months and was obviously hoping that a meeting next week between the Minister and the FAI might sort out some compromise.
But with Minister O'Donoghue refusing to meet the FAI until they indicate that the two key posts will be advertised by January 1, his period of reflection could turn out to be a lengthy one.
The indications last night were that the FAI will now write to the Minister outlining their reasons for wanting a period of up to 12 months before advertising the two key posts.
They will point out to him that there are serious internal issues within the association particularly in relation to the Genesis posts as there are people within who firmly believe they have been appointed to these positions.
At yesterday's National Council meeting, Delaney told delegates that the Minister for Sport was talking at a macro level and not at a micro level and they needed to continue engaging with the Government to explain their position.
While delegates at the meeting were in favour of Delaney taking over, a lot were reluctant to go to war with the Government and they will deeply concerned at the chasm that now appears to exist with little sign of a solution in the short term.
Gerry McDermott
:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: