View Full Version : Matchweek 28 [September 19-21]

Pages : 1 [2]

21/09/2014, 8:48 PM
we aint gonna be champions Adam, but lets hope that terrible team of yours aint gonna be either. Long ball diagonal rubbish to corners all night. We prob had 80% of the possession and a mistake gave yee the win. Best of luck in the run in but for footballs sake i really hope Dundalk do it. As for a few of your fans at the end of the game :mad:
I think you're getting a bit ahead of yourselves, lads. You've only been playing proper football for a month or so. Cork play better stuff than all but Pats and Dundalk.

21/09/2014, 8:50 PM
Certainly hope Galway get promotion this year. A team, a city, and a ground that needs Premier football. While they weren't overly fantastic last night, they're definitely steadily improving. Harps were just downright awful though. 3 games in a week really took it out of some players, while the fringe players given a run out aren't up to much.

hope ye get yer first teamers ready for Shels next week as we want a favour pls..If ye can do that we could relax properly for Ballybofey!

21/09/2014, 9:00 PM
I think you're getting a bit ahead of yourselves, lads. You've only been playing proper football for a month or so. Cork play better stuff than all but Pats and Dundalk.
At no time did i say i was happy with limericks football Charles

21/09/2014, 9:07 PM
You said you had 80% of the ball, which implied you were doing something right. You might be justified that Cork play very direct and sometimes unimaginative football, but they're a pretty good team and derbies across the board tend not to be the most flowing of encounters. I've seen Cork play really good football this season and I've seen them play really bad stuff.

Pablo Escobar
21/09/2014, 9:08 PM
we aint gonna be champions Adam, but lets hope that terrible team of yours aint gonna be either. Long ball diagonal rubbish to corners all night. We prob had 80% of the possession and a mistake gave yee the win. Best of luck in the run in but for footballs sake i really hope Dundalk do it. As for a few of your fans at the end of the game :mad:
What happened at the end of the game? I was there but didn't see a thing.

PartySaint
21/09/2014, 9:14 PM

They started singing football songs, the whole town was offended, especially the women and children.

21/09/2014, 9:14 PM
You said you had 80% of the ball, which implied you were doing something right. You might be justified that Cork play very direct and sometimes unimaginative football, but they're a pretty good team and derbies across the board tend not to be the most flowing of encounters. I've seen Cork play really good football this season and I've seen them play really bad stuff.
Cork went 4 5 1...in their own half...we played around at the back but had nothing going forward. Maybe it was the blanket defense.

21/09/2014, 9:23 PM
Cork went 4 5 1...in their own half...we played around at the back but had nothing going forward. Maybe it was the blanket defense.
I didn't see the game but maybe Limerick just played well? I've seen enough games to know - god, I've seen Shamrock Rovers game under Croly - and I've played in enough to know that you can send your players out to play a certain way and the other team just forces you backwards, especially away from home. Limerick are a good side with some good passers of the ball and Martin Russell has encouraged that. His teams tend to try to dominate the ball and to force you to work hard to find space. Cork might have been lumping diagonal balls but that doesn't mean it was the gameplan, it's often just the way the game turns out.

I saw Cork in Tallaght and in Richmond and they played the game relatively short, passed the ball around the middle and used it to create space out wide. I also saw them against Bohemians and UCD on TV and they weren't allowed to do that, so they used more direct tactics. I've also seen Dundalk and Pats resort to playing it long when the opportunities weren't there to play the ball short all the time. That's just the way it is in this league - there's no team so good they can impose their gameplan in each and every game. Pats are probably the closest but they have their moments too, because football doesn't always work out the way you want it to.

21/09/2014, 10:18 PM

The Cork Pavement Dancing Tween Crew or whatever they call themselves got the trouble they came looking for.

Another puzzler for the local constabulary. These clowns were standing across the road from the home section before full time. Mayorstone Garda station is about fifty feet away and they couldn't muster up one rookie to tell these eight or nine children move on, with the result that one of them ends up in an ambulance and will probably miss his foundation maths class in the morning.

21/09/2014, 10:21 PM
The Cork Pavement Dancing Tween Crew or whatever they call themselves got the trouble they came looking for.

Another puzzler for the local constabulary. These clowns were standing across the road from the home section before full time. Mayorstone Garda station is about fifty feet away and they couldn't muster up one rookie to tell these eight or nine children move on, with the result that one of them ends up in an ambulance and will probably miss his foundation maths class in the morning.
They were probably Shamrock Rovers fans. Did they have umbrellas?

21/09/2014, 10:31 PM
With sharpened tips!

It was ok though our boys had spears

21/09/2014, 10:32 PM
I wouldn't expect anything less :)

Pablo Escobar
21/09/2014, 10:35 PM

Apparently the incident in question was caught on CCTV.

21/09/2014, 10:46 PM
Apparently the incident in question was caught on CCTV.

Thats very useful to the eejit with the cracked head.

Terrible event management by the guards. On an ordinary day a gang of scum like that wouldn't be left stand by the road in Mayorstone two minutes, but on a match day it's grand :bulgy:

oriel
21/09/2014, 11:25 PM

That's a pretty big statement!

The team that finishes top of the table (usually) deserves to win it.

There are load of permutations - It is even possible to lose 2 of the above mentioned games, and top the table by winning the other remaining 3 games

Well maybe it was too strong a statement in hindsight. We should of course be aiming for maximum points in all our remaining matches, but I would be very disappointed to drop points in our 3 away games, but they won't to be easy games, we'll need to work for every single point.

21/09/2014, 11:34 PM
Well maybe it was too strong a statement in hindsight. We should of course be aiming for maximum points in all our remaining matches, but I would be very disappointed to drop points in our 3 away games, but they won't to be easy games, we'll need to work for every single point.
This is the toughest time of the year. Rovers wobbled at this point, Bohs wobbled, Pats wobbled and Dundalk wobbled, with varying success. I'd be surprised if either team got more than 14/18, and whoever does will win the league.

El-Pietro
22/09/2014, 1:21 AM
5 games to go, 14 points would be impressive!

22/09/2014, 9:27 AM
Pats wobbled

Pats won 4 games in a row to win the league with 2 games to spare

PartySaint
22/09/2014, 9:50 AM
Pats won 4 games in a row to win the league with 2 games to spare

Including a win against Dundalk who were second.

22/09/2014, 11:12 AM
He never said which year tbf

El-Pietro
22/09/2014, 1:36 PM
Shame ye couldn't take a single point from the 3 games considering the silky football Limerick play!

Don't forget we battered them in the League Cup at Turners Cross.

Dalymountrower
23/09/2014, 11:31 PM
Bohs 1Corpse botherers 1.(courtesy of Mr Tuite.)
Tuesday night nothing to play for but intense athmosphere , about 2,700 there
Good news on the way re the home of Irish football.

placid casual
24/09/2014, 7:19 AM
very negative from Fenlon last night.
when your playing the lower order teams like last night you need to play 2 upfront and go for them. The team look a bit jaded from recent dundalk games.
$hit game in a $hit ground.
only joy derived was the look of misery on the boez "unfaithfull" as the peno was missed and the rebound scored:giggle:

need to beat pats on friday to have any glimmer of 3rd now. cant see it happening myself

poster
24/09/2014, 11:45 AM
$hit game in a $hit ground.

Get any time on the pitch yourself pc?

PartySaint
24/09/2014, 12:05 PM
need to beat pats on friday to have any glimmer of 3rd now. cant see it happening myself

I think the draw last night should secure 3rd for us now, if you do beat us on Friday it's still 4 with a game in hand and that game being a trip to Dundalk

El-Pietro
24/09/2014, 12:23 PM
I think the draw last night should secure 3rd for us now, if you do beat us on Friday it's still 4 with a game in hand and that game being a trip to Dundalk

We believe in you Shamrock Rovers! You can do it! Beat Pats, Beat Dundalk, win your game in hand and enjoy your return to Europe. We have no ulterior motive, I swear.

placid casual
24/09/2014, 3:02 PM

i agree PS. last night we needed 3 points.
just the nerve jangling cup semi to negotiate. you know the feeling!

placid casual
24/09/2014, 3:04 PM
We believe in you Shamrock Rovers! You can do it! Beat Pats, Beat Dundalk, win your game in hand and enjoy your return to Europe. We have no ulterior motive, I swear.

believe me when i tell you El Pietro, there is nothing Rovers fans would like better than to do just that and cork win the title

Yossarian
24/09/2014, 3:56 PM
believe me when i tell you El Pietro, there is nothing Rovers fans would like better than to do just that and cork win the title

Really? You'd rather that than Rovers win the cup?

seand
24/09/2014, 4:18 PM

How the 'mighty' have fallen ;)

ger121
24/09/2014, 6:04 PM

Well you've always got the Cup and seeing as you're the Cup specialists, surely that's in the bag and no need to worry about finishing third?

24/09/2014, 10:29 PM
Forgive my remedial friend. He doesn't quite understand. Winning the Cup is the only goal for everyone at Rovers.

25/09/2014, 10:10 AM
If Pat's play Rovers in the Cup final, do both of them lose?

seand
25/09/2014, 10:13 AM
If Pat's play Rovers in the Cup final, do both of them lose?

We can but hope. Of course football would be the real loser.