View Full Version : Petrol Prices

09/11/2004, 10:00 PM
Im not going to start another thread complaining about them, or suggesting a boycott, but how about everyone here post where they see cheap petrol. That way, hopefully no one will have to pay the exorbitant €1+ per litre.

To get the ball rolling, the current cheapest that I know of in Cork are:

Emo on the South Link near Anglesea St. 96.9c
Esso in the Douglas Rd (the one just up the rd from Galvins and AIB)96.5c
The dealership on the Modle Farm Rd. 96.5

$Leon$
10/11/2004, 8:29 AM
Im not going to start another thread complaining about them, or suggesting a boycott, but how about everyone here post where they see cheap petrol. That way, hopefully no one will have to pay the exorbitant €1+ per litre.

To get the ball rolling, the current cheapest that I know of in Cork are:

Emo on the South Link near Anglesea St. 96.9c
Esso in the Douglas Rd (the one just up the rd from Galvins and AIB)96.5c

the statoil on the queys is the cheapest i've seen in dublin not quiet sure of the price at the minute but think its 97.9 r something like that haven't been down that way for a few days but i'm told that der sellin it much cheaper in finglas

10/11/2004, 9:19 AM
For anyone living outside "The Real Capital", and in the actual one, the Emo garage in Mount Brown, Kilmainham is the cheapest in Dublin. 96.6 a litre

10/11/2004, 9:45 AM
The garage in Newtonmountkennedy normally matches, or beats, the ones along the canal or in Kilmainham.

Texaco in Deansgrange (just off the N11) normally a few cents a litre cheaper than most.

Esso in Kilmacanogue is 100.9, which is 2 or 3 cent cheaper than most of them on the N11 all the way out from town...

10/11/2004, 10:26 AM
the good news for Cork people is tha Tesco have gotten planning to put petrol tanks in Wilton, they are usually a good 3 or 4 cents cheaper.
I know anytime i've been to Killarney the one down there was dirt cheap.

town73
10/11/2004, 2:11 PM
In the heart of the midlands, Longford town, the Texaco garage on the N4 Sligo Road roundabout (close to McDonalds) sells at 98.6 - known locally as the Red Cow filling station.

10/11/2004, 5:51 PM
when was that? It was up to 98.9 about a week ago last time i was there.

Statoil beside murphy's brewery is 97.9 AFAIK.

BTW, check out irish fuel prices.com (http://www.irishfuelprices.com/) not sure how well its updated though.

Saw that car dealers just up the road from the cross on monday night- 109.9 :eek:

Don Vito
13/11/2004, 1:44 PM
There's a texaco just aroun the luas bridge in dundrum bout 3mins up the road opp direction to goatstown that was sellin it 94.9 in september whenn everywhere esle was 100.9 or more. Havent been there in a while but I'll report back when i go again.

eoinh
13/11/2004, 6:07 PM
get a big litre diesal car. Diesal is cheaper and if you happen to be a non urban driver you will go farther on a full tank.

eoinh
13/11/2004, 6:15 PM
You can't put a price on the joy of cruising... ;)

thats very very dodgy sounding conor :o

15/11/2004, 2:50 PM
Was going through Tralee yesterday. 95.9c. Very cheap.

Apparently the cheapest in Ireland is in Charleville in the disputed zone between Cork and Limk at 92.9c

15/11/2004, 2:54 PM
get a big litre diesal car. Diesal is cheaper and if you happen to be a non urban driver you will go farther on a full tank.
Thats grand except diesel cars cost much more buy in the first place

15/11/2004, 3:31 PM
[QUOTE=Macy]
Texaco in Deansgrange (just off the N11) normally a few cents a litre cheaper than most.
[QUOTE]

Spot on there about texaco, but the statoil 2 minutes down the road is about 5/6 cent dearer !

The esso garage along the strand road in sandymount, a few cent under a € as well.

15/11/2004, 3:36 PM
Tesco in Finglas 94-95c with extra 5c off per litre after spending €40 on food. Queues can be bad to nasty but they have also forced local stations down to within 1c so can use them to skip the queues.

16/11/2004, 7:18 AM
Spot on there about texaco, but the statoil 2 minutes down the road is about 5/6 cent dearer !
Now down to 94/95.7 or thereabouts apparently. Still on last weeks tank so haven't been back myself...

17/11/2004, 1:48 PM
95.9 in Finglas Tesco (no coupons from food anymore) & also matched (no queues) in Shell Glasnevin on Phibsboro-Finglas road.

Unleaded seems to have come down about 5c in last week anyway...

18/11/2004, 1:43 AM
Hello I live in the UK and its about £0.84 a litre which is about
1.2 Euros?
So its a lot cheaper over there ( in Ireland)

How much is a litre of strong cider over there by the way, its about
£1 over here ;)

Also how much does fags and rolling tobacco cost?

I get my rolling tobacco on the 'black market' (from Belgium)
about £4.50 for 500g.

I would imagine 'booze cruises' are more expensive over there? Or
maybe not?

21/11/2004, 8:09 PM
94.9 in the Texaco on Model Farm Road, between CIT and Tennis Village. Strangely diesel is more expensive. Ive never seen that happen before.

21/11/2004, 9:56 PM
94.9 in the Texaco on Model Farm Road, between CIT and Tennis Village. Strangely diesel is more expensive. Ive never seen that happen before.
yeah, its a strange one alright. still, once its cheap :)

25/11/2004, 9:37 AM
94.5 in the Lee garage, Model Farm Rd - a saving of a whole .4 cent!

17/12/2004, 11:31 AM
88.9 Statoil next to the County Hall. Thats the cheapest ive heard in months and months.

17/12/2004, 1:22 PM
88.9 Statoil next to the County Hall. Thats the cheapest ive heard in months and months.
89.9 in the Texaco in Deansgrange (went down the day after I filled the tank at 93.9 :rolleyes: )

18/12/2004, 12:58 AM

Where's that(what county?)? We talking about unleaded? Because that is a rediculosly low price if it is

19/12/2004, 3:51 PM
Where's that(what county?)? We talking about unleaded? Because that is a rediculosly low price if it is
county hall in cork. and it is unleaded. its the lowest I've seen in a while alright. I expect a few others will start dropping soon around cork as well after this

Beavis
20/12/2004, 1:10 PM
It seems to have dropped everywhere over the last month.Not complaining!
Shell Kilmainham,Esso Whitechurch,Shell at the Goat normally the cheapest I see.West Dublin is generally a few cent cheaper than South.

20/12/2004, 1:16 PM
er . . . 87.9p sterling in Oxford this week - put that in yo-yos and stop whinging!

Ha, ha ha! Well said. :D
Serious difference alright.
I saw some places in Lancashire charging £1 during the summer.

carrickharp
20/12/2004, 2:29 PM
I’m after filling my car for €12.40 in Statoil down on the Quay’s in Dublin, faulty pump, my tank was nearly empty as well, happy days :D

fosterdollar
20/12/2004, 2:35 PM
Get this:

UNleaded 95.9
Diesel 96.9

Statoil Blanchardstown Village

Metrostars
20/12/2004, 3:17 PM
To give you guys an idea, I paid US$1.859 a gallon yesterday which is $0.49 a litre, converted to Euros is 0.37 Euros. And that is after the price rose a lot this year but has come down from well over $2 recently. Plus Connecticut where I am has one of the highest state taxes on gasoline. It's about 20 cents cheaper in nearby New Jersey.

20/12/2004, 3:54 PM
To give you guys an idea, I paid US$1.859 a gallon yesterday which is $0.49 a litre, converted to Euros is 0.37 Euros. And that is after the price rose a lot this year but has come down from well over $2 recently. Plus Connecticut where I am has one of the highest state taxes on gasoline. It's about 20 cents cheaper in nearby New Jersey.

That's why the feckers over there are busy destroying the planet driving their fat asses on essential journeys like from the front of their house down to the street to collect their 'mail' and back in again.

Will never forget the concept of 'drive-in supermarkets' from when I lived in Florida - literally a barn-style building you drive into the middle of and shout your order at atrociously-paid immigrant labour perched on raised platforms either side of your car, who run around assembling your groceries whilst you happily sit there watching them work-up a sweat racing amongst your car fumes. Nation of fat lazy feckers.....

harry crumb
20/12/2004, 10:48 PM
89.9 cent at the Statoil accross the road from Murphy's brewery.

21/12/2004, 8:29 AM
87.5 Lee Garage, Model Farm Rd. I managed to fill my car for €33.50 last night!!!

harry crumb
21/12/2004, 11:50 PM
87.9 Grandons Sallybrook Glanmire.

M@ttitude
22/12/2004, 12:00 AM
1.06 in clonee village!! Ba$tard$!! :(

fosterdollar
22/12/2004, 8:50 AM
lads, there seems to be massive decreases all round lately. Is there a reason for this? And diesel seems to be more expensive almost everywhere now.

BTW, in Newbridge:
Maxol Unleaded 83.9; Diesel - 85.9
Maxol (2) Unleaded - 84.9; Diesel - 86.9
Statoil Unleaded - 84.9; Diesel - 86.9
Shell Unleaded 91.9; Diesel - 94.9

22/12/2004, 3:34 PM
Weak dollar is whats driving ;) the reduced prices as oil is bought & sold in US dollars.

eoinh
22/12/2004, 4:47 PM
also oil prices have fallen in the last few weeks from their highs.

BTW peak oil production happens in circa 2008. And then its a slow decline in output. But dont worry our government have been putting money in supprting renewable forms of energy :rolleyes:

inexile
23/12/2004, 10:03 AM
my local garage texaco on the dock road in limerick is 88.6 for petrol and 93.9 for diesel 25 euro fills the tank

blobbyblob
15/02/2005, 8:28 AM
The majority of garages in Waterford have gone sub 90c/L after the introduction of the Tesco Service Station.

Theres a 15 minute queue to get in there to get your extra 5c off per litre with 40 squid shopping