View Full Version : Eircom Weekly Last Night
09/11/2004, 8:55 AM
Watching this ever-increasingly delusional pile of drivel, I made the following observations about ye're last two games:
1). Ye got a major dodgy penalty against Derry...I would be disgusted if I was a Derry fan.
2). Bennett should never have walked last night...he wasn't last man back, and the contact was minimal.
3). Can someone tell me what the hell Devine was doing for the second O'Brien goal. It was bad enough that ye were caught trying to play offside so deep, but to have a keeper that couldn't read it and stay at home was worse...Could have cost ye the game.
4). Fair play to Conor O'Grady.
5). Noel King is officially the second biggest tool in Eircom League football, narrowly beating Eamonn Collins and Pat Fenlon, just behind Cod Collins!!
Watching this ever-increasingly delusional pile of drivel, I made the following observations about ye're last two games:
1). Ye got a major dodgy penalty against Derry...I would be disgusted if I was a Derry fan.
Keeper committed himself and got no ball, penalty in my book.
2). Bennett should never have walked last night...he wasn't last man back, and the contact was minimal.
With O'Briens pace Murray would never have caught him, tough one to call but the refs mind was made up before he ran the 30 yards to get up with play.
Ozymandias
09/11/2004, 9:04 AM
3). Can someone tell me what the hell Devine was doing for the second O'Brien goal. It was bad enough that ye were caught trying to play offside so deep, but to have a keeper that couldn't read it and stay at home was worse...Could have cost ye the game.
5). Noel King is officially the second biggest tool in Eircom League football, narrowly beating Eamonn Collins and Pat Fenlon, just behind Cod Collins!!
Agree with almost all of that.. the derry peno was soft but the keeper should have stood up longer.....these things balance themselves out...we have been done earlier in the season for a few clear cut penos......
I think to catch shels is very difficult but we have the momentum and they are faltering so it is deffo possible...26 points from a possible 30 in our last 10 games is championship form...great stuff they have showed great character as prior to this run they were in the horrors and third place looked a distant dream....theyu all deserve credit but I think gamble has improved no end in those games and has given us steel and vision where we lacked it all season....anyway we Dare to dream...c'mon CITY....win the two ereamining games and make shels work for it
Don't like Seary but at least he's mainly only too passionate about his club -
Collins is a different level completely. Seary was dead right about at least paying his players. It made me sick to hear King and Damo going on about how "it's all fair in football" and "every man for himself". The fans are bad enough, but you must have to be a scumbag to be involved at the board level there. Rovers and Collins deserve each other .. any chance they could be docked points?
5). Noel King is officially the second biggest tool in Eircom League football, narrowly beating Eamonn Collins and Pat Fenlon, just behind Cod Collins!!1.The penalty balanced itself out, they got a dodgy one deep into injury time up there earlier this season.
2. Agreed
3. Devine was poor, but Murray must sharew some of the blame
4. Agreed
5. Would have to throw Scully into the running as well.
09/11/2004, 9:37 AM
Collins is a different level completely. Seary was dead right about at least paying his players. It made me sick to hear King and Damo going on about how "it's all fair in football" and "every man for himself". The fans are bad enough, but you must have to be a scumbag to be involved at the board level there. Rovers and Collins deserve each other .. any chance they could be docked points?
You're joking there right? Docked points for what? Nothing illegal happened. He walked out on a nothing club to manage the biggest one. You're not wrong about our board either.
Always had a feeling that Roddy would be our manager someday. Just happened a lot quicker that we thought! I guarantee you that Dolan will be a Rovers manager someday as well.
Agree with joe soap on his last point though.
09/11/2004, 9:38 AM
i have it recorded on mpeg if anyone wants it. might put the highlights up later.
Hecko
09/11/2004, 10:10 AM
Fair 'nuff. they probably couldn't have been more direct.
I was only wishful thinking about the Rovers getting docked 3 points, but not all boards would have approached another manager at this stage and only he would have jumped ship. Even at the press conference it was all about how HE will become a great Manager and not about the club
Ringo
09/11/2004, 10:29 AM
He walked out on a nothing club to manage the biggest one. You're not wrong about our board either.
Always had a feeling that Roddy would be our manager someday. Just happened a lot quicker that we thought! I guarantee you that Dolan will be a Rovers manager someday as well.
Agree with joe soap on his last point though.
Rovers are a long way from being the biggest club in the league. Your in second last spot and If you survive , it'll be because your new manager(the greatest manager ever, soon to be maager of Celtic & Ireland :rolleyes: ) shaffted his former team & his signings are now refusing to travel tonight. Look forward to seeing what players he takes from Dublin City, at the end of the season
09/11/2004, 10:41 AM
Re bennett- I feared the worst when the ref blew. I think the Drogheda player would have got a shot in if Bennett hadn't pulled him back so by the letter of the law he should have gone. Thought the Drogheda sending off was a bit harsh actually. He bumped into George but didn't raise his hands.
Re Derry peno - Saw it for the first time last night. Doyler made it look good. The ref couldn't have been 100% sure the goalie didn't get a touch.
Re O'Grady - He obviously thinks we Cork folk are nice people and doesn't want to upset us :D
09/11/2004, 10:44 AM
Rovers are a long way from being the biggest club in the league.
I think it's rotten luck that only one team goes down this season.
In any other season, Rover would be at least in the play-off's and would surely sink down to the lower division where their two-bit sham of a club belong. There's always next season I suppose.
Sham Rovers, you're 'avin a laugh!
Ringo
09/11/2004, 10:52 AM
I think it's rotten luck that only one team goes down this season.
In any other season, Rover would be at least in the play-off's and would surely sink down to the lower division where their two-bit sham of a club belong. There's always next season I suppose.
Sham Rovers, you're 'avin a laugh!
Well the fact the the Third is coming up is a bit Irish, there should have been play offs to make it fair
Dricky
09/11/2004, 11:11 AM
You're joking there right? Docked points for what? Nothing illegal happened. He walked out on a nothing club to manage the biggest one. You're not wrong about our board either.
WHat every manager is on the slippery slope that is Rovers, you can have him.....
09/11/2004, 11:42 AM
Rovers are a long way from being the biggest club in the league. Your in second last spot and If you survive , it'll be because your new manager(the greatest manager ever, soon to be maager of Celtic & Ireland :rolleyes: ) shaffted his former team & his signings are now refusing to travel tonight. Look forward to seeing what players he takes from Dublin City, at the end of the season
Learn your history. If he had jumped ship to another club it wouldnt have raised half the attention and not just because of where we are in the league. Can tell you now what CHF players will come. Na wont bother :D
We will survive and it wont be for the reasons you give. Why dont you take a look at your own teams you had this season? The table doesnt lie. You are last for a reason. You are the worst team in the league.
Good riddance to bad rubbish. BYE BYE
Dufferlover
09/11/2004, 11:59 AM
Nah, King definately wins that award. A Sylvester the Cat tie - give me strength! fantastic camera work once again!!!
09/11/2004, 12:30 PM
Nah, King definately wins that award. A Sylvester the Cat tie - give me strength! fantastic camera work once again!!!
The ties are obviously to deflect from his lack of knowledge of the game, and the glaringly increasing baldness !!
Ringo
09/11/2004, 12:39 PM
Learn your history. If he had jumped ship to another club it wouldnt have raised half the attention and not just because of where we are in the league. Can tell you now what CHF players will come. Na wont bother :D
We will survive and it wont be for the reasons you give. Why dont you take a look at your own teams you had this season? The table doesnt lie. You are last for a reason. You are the worst team in the league.
Good riddance to bad rubbish. BYE BYE
what am i supposed to learn about History? :confused: Your no anywhere near teams like Cork , just becuse your around longer ,under different owners. You've cheated your way into staying up, a proud history indeed.
09/11/2004, 12:40 PM
You've cheated your way into staying up, a proud history indeed.
Cheated, begged, borrowed, and now.....stolen !!
09/11/2004, 12:56 PM
just becuse your around longer ,under different owners.
Good point and one which I've made a few times myself.
At least we changed our name when the club changed.
Rovers just pretend that they're the same club.
What is your history since the current crowd took ownership?
09/11/2004, 1:00 PM
Good point and one which I've made a few times myself.
At least we changed our name when the club changed.
Rovers just pretend that they're the same club.
What is your history since the current crowd took ownership?
Changed your name to what exactly? Ye didnt even have a club 20 years ago.
09/11/2004, 1:02 PM
what am i supposed to learn about History? :confused: Your no anywhere near teams like Cork , just becuse your around longer ,under different owners. You've cheated your way into staying up, a proud history indeed.
Poor lad is as deluded as seery. You're right about us and cork. We're nowhere near them cos they are so far behind in history (look at the definition of the word), trophies etc.
Tell me how we've "cheated"? :rolleyes:
paddigol
09/11/2004, 1:25 PM
Poor lad is as deluded as seery. You're right about us and cork. We're nowhere near them cos they are so far behind in history (look at the definition of the word), trophies etc.
Tell me how we've "cheated"? :rolleyes:
you can have your history. That's all you'll have for comfort in the future. We on the other hand have a title to try and win this season, europe to compete in and trophies to challenge for next season. Oh, and a home. You'll remain the whipping boys who everyone loves to take points from. Enjoy your relegation battles and your distant history.
09/11/2004, 1:31 PM
KOH, At times I wonder are you posting here only to wind people up. The tripe that comes out in your posts is quite unbelieveable.
History is just that....history, things that happened in the past...over, finished, gone.If you want to talk about recent history, even a small pathetic club like Limerick has won more silverware than Rovers in the past 5 years, even knocking a full strength Rovers team out of the League Cup at semi-final stage a couple of yars ago before going on to lift the trophy.Dublin City have won a trophy within 3 years of existence, go on, call them names like you must, but you can't disguise it. Ye once were a great club...now ye are a crumbling pathetic wreck with scum support, and now scum management.
Face up to it, and learn to live with it.
09/11/2004, 1:32 PM
you can have your history. That's all you'll have for comfort in the future. We on the other hand have a title to try and win this season, europe to compete in and trophies to challenge for next season. Oh, and a home. You'll remain the whipping boys who everyone loves to take points from. Enjoy your relegation battles and your distant history.
Wasnt so long ago that you lot were in the exact same position. Distant history? When was the last time you won the league?
Was down there for our game last month and while we were bad you lot werent much better. I'll eat my hat if you win the league :D
carrickharp
09/11/2004, 1:34 PM
Noel King :eek: Well he gives us no chance of winning Div 1 as UCD have it in the bag :confused:
Dricky
09/11/2004, 1:38 PM
Changed your name to what exactly? Ye didnt even have a club 20 years ago.
As ye won't have one in 7 years time never mind 20years time....... :D :D
paddigol
09/11/2004, 1:40 PM
Wasnt so long ago that you lot were in the exact same position. Distant history? When was the last time you won the league?
Was down there for our game last month and while we were bad you lot werent much better. I'll eat my hat if you win the league :D
What's that got to do with anything? - the point is we get on with the future and don't harp on about the past.
when was the last time you even challenged for the league?
we've won the FAI cup and we beat some muck team in the final of the league cup not so long ago.
Not much better than you?? As you say yourself the table never lies. You're crap.
09/11/2004, 1:50 PM
What's that got to do with anything? - the point is we get on with the future and don't harp on about the past.
when was the last time you even challenged for the league?
we've won the FAI cup and we beat some muck team in the final of the league cup not so long ago.
Not much better than you?? As you say yourself the table never lies. You're crap.
Cant harp on about the past if you dont have one. Considering we have had no home since 87 we have done well in that time to win one league and be in Europe 5 times.
Wait til dolan jumps ship.........
09/11/2004, 1:52 PM
Now I know you are doing this to simply wind people up....I'm not playing any more!! :D Congrats for taking me in so well though!
Prunty's goal was the highlight of this weeks EL weekly for me! An absolute gem. :cool:
paddigol
09/11/2004, 1:56 PM
we've won nothing with him so far. What are you talking about?
Again with the history crap. I suppose you're a liverpool fan too?
Stop feeling sorry for yourself just because nobody wants to give you a home. Take the hint.
You're crap, we're good.
You've been crap for years, we haven't.
We've got a bright future, you'll be lucky to have one at all.
And yet you come on this forum talking yourself up???
09/11/2004, 2:00 PM
we've won nothing with him so far. What are you talking about?
Again with the history crap. I suppose you're a liverpool fan too?
Stop feeling sorry for yourself just because nobody wants to give you a home. Take the hint.
You're crap, we're good.
You've been crap for years, we haven't.
We've got a bright future, you'll be lucky to have one at all.
And yet you come on this forum talking yourself up???
So ok then only fans from clubs that are successful now can participate here?!
Not from liverpool so dont "support" them. Only support one club. Dont and have never felt sorry for myself oprah. Not talking anything up pal just pointing out facts.
09/11/2004, 2:04 PM
Not from liverpool so dont "support" them. Only support one club.
So, you must be homeless then, if you support Rovers.... :D
Ruairi
09/11/2004, 2:10 PM
moving this to general cause it's got nothing to do with city at this stage
09/11/2004, 2:12 PM
So, you must be homeless then, if you support Rovers.... :D
Your talents are wasted joe :D
Wait where's your home ground ;)
Couldn't agree more- when things start going outside of football like that it becomes a joke. Its almost a game of Chess taking out the pawns (DCFC) to remain in the game.Fair play to Seery for standing by the club as they are such a small club.
09/11/2004, 2:32 PM
I think Seerys passion for the club is driven primarily for love of his own pocket rather than love of the game in fairness. The man is a muppet after all, a point sadly lost on us because of Roddy and Rovers shambolic behaviour.
Prunty's goal was the highlight of this weeks EL weekly for me! An absolute gem. :cool:
Prunty's goal was one of the best of the season no doubt - great move. There can be few teams that vary so much between brilliant and awful...A bit of consistency and ye'd be in the top 4
09/11/2004, 2:52 PM
Prunty's goal was one of the best of the season no doubt - great move. There can be few teams that vary so much between brilliant and awful...A bit of consistency and ye'd be in the top 4
Great goal. Probably second best team goal of the season after Mark O'Briens against drogheda..............
Bald Student
09/11/2004, 2:57 PM
Noel King :eek: Well he gives us no chance of winning Div 1 as UCD have it in the bag :confused:
I'd almost forgotton that this thread is about eL Weekly. Thanks Dublin Harp. But to be fair to Noel, he said that Finn Harps have to win the remaining two games to win the league because he doesn't think that UCD will slip up. That's slightly different to saying that UCD have it in the bag.
09/11/2004, 2:59 PM
Ringo - you're delusional. CHF have been doomed all season. There was a very high chance you'd have gone down regardless of what Roddy did. Your footballing destiny was out of your own hands before he left. Praying for another team to slip-up and save you isn't the strongest position for a team to be in....
Are we gonna have to listen to this ballax for the next few years, or are you gonna accept that your team just weren't good enough for 90+% of the season, which if you go down will be the key reason why ? But I guess it's easier to create a Bogey-man out of Roddy and blame him for all your woes instead....
hudhastings
09/11/2004, 4:09 PM
Roddy Colins is a scumbag. Did you see him laughing on el weekly with sham rov staff. It seems the smack has gone to his head :rolleyes:
09/11/2004, 4:12 PM
Roddy Colins is a scumbag. Did you see him laughing on el weekly with sham rov staff. It seems the smack has gone to his head :rolleyes:
Laughing is against the law. And remember there are no drugs in cark........
jofyisgod
09/11/2004, 7:53 PM
I'm not gonna get involved in the arguing here.
eL weekly get's more shambolic by the...well, week. King is a joke and a tw@t, Rico is okay, but sounds like a chain smoker. As for Roddy-don't even get me started. Always a complete div, now also a completely dishonest, disloyal and obnoxious príck. I'd love to see Rovers go down with him in charge.
Ringo - you're delusional. CHF have been doomed all season. There was a very high chance you'd have gone down regardless of what Roddy did. Your footballing destiny was out of your own hands before he left. Praying for another team to slip-up and save you isn't the strongest position for a team to be in....
Are we gonna have to listen to this ballax for the next few years, or are you gonna accept that your team just weren't good enough for 90+% of the season, which if you go down will be the key reason why ? But I guess it's easier to create a Bogey-man out of Roddy and blame him for all your woes instead....
If we'ed won as man games under Roddy as we had under Giller we would have survied. In any other year Rovers would be in a play off. If you read Keelys piece in the Sun yesterday, he pulls no punch's. Maybe we would have gone down anyway, we did have the weakest team, but i would have liked to go down in an honest fashion. If you could say that everyone tried there best & it did't work then fair enough. But what happened in the last week stinks.
10/11/2004, 6:50 AM
Ye didnt even have a club 20 years ago.
eh........yes we did. check your facts
10/11/2004, 10:02 AM
Laughing is against the law. And remember there are no drugs in cark........
:D :D :D