View Full Version : Lansdowne protest - summary

Pages : 1 2 [3]

ken foree
17/11/2004, 6:05 PM
tom humphries in the irish times:

"Managers' reaction: A chill November night. Brian Kerr wore a sober Crombie and there was less of the forced singalong jollity than fans have been asked to stomach. Milo got booed, but the red card protest against his fellow panjandrums never materialised. It was said that the red cards had been confiscated by the boys in blue at the gate and if it was anyone but the FAI you'd be shouting about a conspiracy. The thing about conspiracies is that they need organisation."

Philo
18/11/2004, 9:41 AM
btw, these f*ckers delaney and corcoran must have a hard neck staying in their jobs when they know well that the majority of people want them out

I honestly don't believe the majority want the f u c kers out. The majority want to boo Rangers players and chant "Keano" whilst watching their favourite Premiership stars.

I'd say there's a chance Delaney or Corcoran might show in Richmond on Friday to (hopefully not) present Shels with the league trophy. ;)

$Leon$
18/11/2004, 9:51 AM
The majority want to boo Rangers players and chant "Keano" whilst watching their favourite Premiership stars.

unfortunately thats true. alot of fans go to the international friendlies to do just that cheer on their club players. they're the people who wanted wimbeldon to come to dublin a while back. a cheap trip to see their prem heros playin only a short bus journey away. i no of a certain poster on this site who spent a recent trip to lansdowne rd cheerin on a liverpool player ahead of the irish team. as legend and former wexford hurling manager once put it before the leinster hurling final 96 "i don't understand how lads can plead aleigence to a piece of industrial wasteland in the heart of greater manchester" to some people this industrial wasteland is more important to them than the country of their birth.

18/11/2004, 12:39 PM
Sorry for the vanishing trick for the last while there...computer picked a great time to break for two weeks... :mad: :mad:

Couldn't believe when I heard about the cards getting taken - I was asked to open one bag I had on the way in - the one with loads of cards in it - and got through without any bother, but evidently I was one of the lucky ones. Dsigrace is the only word.

Terrace was very empty ten minutes before kick-off, which really didn't help - a lot of people came in with two minutes to go and I couldn't get to them. Went from behind the goal back to the back of the terrace, and the response was very positive with about one exception - some moany aul fella who was accusing Aberdonian Stu of never being in Lansdowne and having no right to protest...maybe the FAI infiltrated the crowd too?! ;) Lots of people heard about it through foot.ie, some suggested a central pot of funds for flags, future protests, etc...and we got in the Star. Heard from a friend in the East Stand that it was fairly visible from there, if not as big as it had been made out to be. Had a couple of banners as well which I left in Belfield Park and which got locked in... :mad: Apparently the stewards were keeping a close eye on me as I was giving out the cards before the match, but didn't do anything about it. Wasn't exactly keeping it a secret either!

Still, fair play to onenilgameover for the organisation - can see how things are come Portugal and try again, learning from this time...

GK for the Town
18/11/2004, 3:55 PM
Ye, fair play for getting the voice heard, that ultimatly is a big plus out of the whole thing even if the red cards didnt work out as planned. I didnt get to the match but the cameras didnt focus in on much in the crowd where the cards were. It was also impossible to hear the boos when the music came on, although i thought i heard a few but maybe that was me wanting to hear it.

The FAI Suites are probably thinking to themselves that the worst is over now that the game is over, because it was in public view.
How to maintain the pressure on them is the next step ? :ball:

SuperSaints
19/11/2004, 8:52 AM
Get to Inchicore on Friday is how. There have to be a few FAI people going in the vain hope that Shelbourne are handed the league. The cameras and the papers will be there so there should be plenty of chances to create some publicity.

pegan
19/11/2004, 10:30 AM
...just to say a big thanks to both of you. Its not always easy to be the ones who put thier heads above the ditch and actually do something about the silly antics of a few... what we need is more like you.

I wasnt aware until wed that the cards were being stopped... but then again we do live in a banana republic :mad:

onenilgameover
19/11/2004, 10:35 AM
Robinski wrote

Instead of sending them to them, why not call around with a load of pins and pins them all over the door. Bring a journo with you so he can take a photograph, guaranteed to be in the paper tomorrow.

Turn the green door red.

In fairness Robinski I'm not on a one man mission to bring down the Fai. If you want to get a gathering together or if you wanted to go down and do something like that yourself you would have my utter support. I dropped the cards round with a note stating my disgust at the facist actions they took to have the fans voice muted and I told them that if there was a need to protest again that that would not reoccur. Thats enough for me at the momment. Again fair play for producing the cards. Glad your happy with the outcome.

Aberdonian Stu
19/11/2004, 10:53 AM
Well rather than pin them to the door, because that technically is vandalism (no offence I am on your side remember) how's about we organise a group. A sizeable and multi-club-representation (and 30-40 heads would be ideal) as possible to go down and queue up one by one wearing their jerseys and leave cards in the letterbox. Would obviously only work if we got a journo/photgrapher. Would show that we are serious, concerned fans who care and aren't just boo-boys. I'm just throwing it out there though.

b_mcsweeney
19/11/2004, 12:13 PM
date and time allowing (and given no sign of any progress from the fai over the next week or so), i'd turn up at a protest outside merrion square. this is the time to keep things going and try and force a change, if we wait till portugual, the momentum thats moving the government to act could be gone.

exile
19/11/2004, 12:43 PM
its a good idea the momentum needs to keep going so lets organise a date..................................... id say it would have to be midweek im not sure if anyone would be there on weekends

onenilgameover
19/11/2004, 1:59 PM
Exile wrote

its a good idea the momentum needs to keep going so lets organise a date..................................... id say it would have to be midweek im not sure if anyone would be there on weekends

i'm up for that but only if there is a sizeable group organized ready to go down..I have a number of cards left over from tuesday if they are needed. I have emailed the FAI a couple of times about their actions on Tuesday asking for a reason as to why they desregarded the fans views so easilly..as yet I have got no response. I'ill not be happy if I don't get one and would be even more interrested in a trip to the Green Door then.

23/11/2004, 2:59 PM
Presume this can be un-sticky-ed now? Till the next time anyway!