View Full Version : Lansdowne protest - summary
Bondvillain
12/11/2004, 5:22 PM
I dont know of any, but TV3 think there is cos they did a 1 min clip on it
Maybe Trevor and Aiden are organising it! We can have an orange shirt protest instead!
Anyway, didnt some betting company give out little red & yellow cards at the qualifiers a while back? wonder if they fancy getting the finger out & earning some free publicity while we make a point?
(as for how to get the booing going..... a full page ad in the S*n saying "milo corcoran plays for rangers" should suffice in getting the ball rolling...)
12/11/2004, 5:52 PM
RTE mentioned that "irish football supporters are threatening to make a protest at next weeks soccer match"
12/11/2004, 5:54 PM
RTE Mentioned it on the news just there to. Wasn't anything spectacular, something along the lines of:
"A Republic of Ireland supporters group are arranging a protest against the FAI at next weeks friendly international at Lansdowne Road".
Lads, someone should probably open a new thread with all the sections of the media that have covered it so far. People probably think this will be as succesful as the "Cheer the Faroe's left back" so as long as they know there's media interest they'll be more confident to hold up their Red Card.
onceahoop
12/11/2004, 7:45 PM
I've e-mailed the Minister as well. :)
Keep sending those e-mails lads. After Milos qoute of yesterday I'm even more convinced that the lunatics are running the asylum in Merrion Sq. :eek:
onceahoop
12/11/2004, 7:56 PM
"Cor-cor-an De-laney
Out Out Out"
onenilgameover
12/11/2004, 10:04 PM
We have a number of red cards on the go...but we need more help..The red card idea is being set up but this forum is the only network that we have to do that...We need people to produce more of these red cards can anyone help us some more on this we have 4000 for the north terrace and a number for the east...Robinski are you still gonna get these cards...who else can get more access to redt ... this needs to gather more momentum...TV and Radio know about the protest so we have to use them and make this happen bigger and better than it is now...We should print on the back of the paper to say why we are protesting and when to do it..
onenilgameover
12/11/2004, 10:29 PM
Anyone got any ideas on gettin more of these cards...The betting companies producing them is good but..I don't reckno they would want to as Paddy power is in Lansdowne and wouldn't want to bite the hand that feeds em..so to speak......gettin a company to advertse on them but what company?.
Donal81
13/11/2004, 1:31 AM
We have a number of red cards on the go...but we need more help..The red card idea is being set but this forum is the only network that we have...We need people to produce more of these red cards can anyone help us some more on this we have 4000 for the north terrace and a number for the east...Robinski are you still gonna get these cards...who else can get more access to red paper.... this needs to gather more momentum...TV and Radio know about the protest so we have to use them and make this happen bigger and better than it is now...We should print on the back of the paper to say why we are protesting and when to do it..
I can't help in getting more red cards but I'll help in distributing them. Any details on where to meet up, etc?
onenilgameover
13/11/2004, 2:17 AM
I just wrote to the The sun and The Star to see if they fancy producing a shed load of these cards (with their logo on of course) you never know they might be into it. However they may not too as they could then be snubbed by FAI at press conferences etc. Worth a shout anyway....
Donal81
I can't help in getting more red cards but I'll help in distributing them. Any details on where to meet up, etc?
That would be great Donal..we will need quite a few heads if we get a loads of these cards...Somebady was saying Murrays near Lansdowne might be a good place...
Robinski
13/11/2004, 12:14 PM
Red cards are currently printing.
Murray's is the meeting place between 6pm - 6.30pm on Tuesday before the match.
Distributors of the cards are needed, please come along and give a hand.
Robinski
13/11/2004, 12:34 PM
If you believe the FAI are failing Irish football and disagree with the appointment of John Delaney as interim CEO, hold up this red card and boo when the FAI officials John Delaney and Milo Corcoran greet the teams.
Anyone have any other suggestions? If you do, you have about 5 minutes to let me know before I start printing.
Fair_play_boy
13/11/2004, 12:38 PM
They said the supporters are borrowing from Fran Rooneys idea of green cards of support to red ones to show what they think of the FAI !!
looks like this is gaining momemtumAfter spending a couple of years haunting these message boards, I have to say that this inititive is the most fruitful outcome I have yet seen. Full marks to those who are behind it. I won't make the game but I am busy sending e-mails. I have worked in an area close to a government department administration, and it is true that a lot of e-mail gets "overlooked". However, if you send it C.C. to another place like a newspaper editor, or your local opposition T.D., they are generally quicker to react and take notice. :ball: They hate to think that others might get one up on them.
Anyone know the ministers e-mail. If he knows he has got the fans support he might really put the boot it. They love the opportunity to be champion of the people.
Lets give him the support to go to town on the FAI muppets
Look up the government website. You'll get all the details on the various departments and how to contact them.
15/11/2004, 11:44 AM
Im on for helping out distributing the cards, Im sure I can nag my friends into doing it too. I'll be in Murrays too, only thing is that it might be near 7 by the time I get there. I'll PM you my phone number Robinski. Im sure that you'll get people comming up to you from different clubs that agree with you, you could give them 10 or 20 each to give to their friends.
As for songs, Sack the Board is the best known and gets right to the point. Remember that Delaney was voted in to being the CEO, so its not just him & Milo. Singing John O Donnaghue tra la-la la la would probably be the most bizzare chants ever but it would be good to let him know that the FAI fans are behind him
PS There are only a few enterences to the North Stand so just positioning a few people there should make it fairly easy to distribute the cards. Everybody has to go down that narrow road dont they?
exile
15/11/2004, 12:00 PM
its great to see eircom league fans get together like this maybe we could also get an el pressure group going while were at it
15/11/2004, 12:31 PM
I know it's a abit late in the day....
but how about when Corcoran or Delaney are introduced, along with the red cards, everyone just turns their backs on them????
carrickharp
15/11/2004, 12:31 PM
I'll be in Murrays as well, sent me rant to John O'Donoghue last week as we had the mail address on our Forum as well.
Seamuslawless
15/11/2004, 1:14 PM
Will there be anyone handing out the Red Cards on the south terrace side of the ground or just on the north?
onenilgameover
15/11/2004, 7:38 PM
Should be some crack tomorow...see yis all in Murrays for 6-6:30...
Donal81
15/11/2004, 11:41 PM
Whereabouts is Murrays, lads? I go to the games straight from work and don't have time to find a boozer close to the ground. Near what stand?
16/11/2004, 9:13 AM
Whereabouts is Murrays, lads? I go to the games straight from work and don't have time to find a boozer close to the ground. Near what stand?
It's the nearest pub to the Havelock Square entrance of the North terrace
Gary Waddock
16/11/2004, 9:51 AM
Great idea about the red cards...
These should be handed out all over the ground...somehow I've ended up with tickets for the west upper (don't ask).
Would love to see cards handed out there....would be interesting to see how many "fans" would take them...
There'll be at least 5 of us booing with all u boys from the west upper anyway.
16/11/2004, 10:04 AM
Attention Attention.... My 2 mates and i will be entering via south side of ground but have tickets for North terrace, 2 lazy to walk around the stadium... Are we still going to get the red cards???? ;) F.A.I: F-ucking Arseholes Incorporated!!!!!!! :rolleyes:
$Leon$
16/11/2004, 10:23 AM
got east terrace tickets if ders red cards goin i'll have 2. and turn my back when the suits are introduced. might be pushin it for time thats the only thing.
onenilgameover
16/11/2004, 10:49 AM
Looks like I'ill be the one with the cards...so see yis all at 6 in Murrays any problems pm me and I'ill give ye me mobile. looks like we will have round 3000 cards to hand out would be great if we had 30 people to hand out 100 each but we'ill see how it goes...
Donal81
16/11/2004, 10:59 AM
I'll be there as soon as I can after work, it might be a bit after 6 though. I don't actually have a ticket yet but should be getting one later. When I know I have a ticket, I'll check you for your mobile.
Great work everyone.
Will get to Murrays as soon as I can after work to help handing out the cards.
Should be there by 6.30
cullenswood
16/11/2004, 1:25 PM
I can give a hand giving them out for the South Terrace people if its needed
Robinski
16/11/2004, 2:28 PM
Ok, the red cards have left my possession and are en route to everyone in Murray's.
I managed to produce 2.5k. Who said they could also do 500? If you did I hope you manage to get them out there tonight.
Lads, if I could have produced more I would have, it would've been brilliant to see 'a sea of red' for those idiots.
maybe it would be an idea so to concentrate all the red cards in one area ?
Robinski
16/11/2004, 3:44 PM
maybe it would be an idea so to concentrate all the red cards in one area ?
That's what I thought too, hence my recommendation for the North Tce, seeing as that is where most of the eL fans are allocated.
seagulls4ever
16/11/2004, 10:33 PM
did anyone see it on tv? there was a decent few there with the cards, myself included. we tried our best!
soccerc
16/11/2004, 10:38 PM
That's what I thought too, hence my recommendation for the North Tce, seeing as that is where most of the eL fans are allocated.
I thought we lived in a democracy where free speech and freedom of association were allowed, seems not, as stewards were forcibly removing visible red cards "upon instruction from FAI" from people in Havelock Square.
Anyone else encounter this over zealous enthusiasm to stifle protest?
16/11/2004, 10:41 PM
I thought we lived in a democracy where free speech and freedom of association were allowed, seems not, as stewards were forcibly removing visible red cards "upon instruction from FAI" from people in Havelock Square.
That is an absolute ****ing disgrace..
exile
16/11/2004, 10:46 PM
yep i wrote a summary there in a different thread basicaly i asked a steward why they were taking them off us and he said all he knew was orders from above to confiscate them also we had a bit of trouble from the ireland supporters club telling us off for protesting i never came across these guys before does anyone know who they are
carrickharp
17/11/2004, 7:25 AM
Well done on organising the protest it was great as said above to see fans from LOI clubs united together. If the FAI want to act so pigheaded about it so be it what do you expect from those fat cats anyway? :mad:
SuperSaints
17/11/2004, 7:49 AM
The Ireland supporters club are the tier A football supporters. When they were organising an Eircom league allocation initially they were complaining to the FAI about giving these tickets as they felt it would hurt their allocation.
onenilgameover
17/11/2004, 8:10 AM
Thanks to every who helped out with the red card distribution last night...it was very well recieved...I'm sending the rest of the cards that i have left over round to the Fai today so that they can have the lot the facist bast*rds....the sun did an interview and got word that they were stopping people with cards and seemed interested in that...It was reported too on Off the ball that cards were taken...i'm really not suprised all the same and yes they put music over us booing...there is never usually anything played after the officials greet the teams...scared idiots..how long's a piece of string now Milo?
stickyjoe
17/11/2004, 8:25 AM
well done lads for organising. good publicity generated even if the f*i and their hired goons done their best to prevent it. It should only make us even more determined to get rid of these parasites from irish football ...... so whats the next step to get rid of them?
any ideas ?
btw, these f*ckers delaney and corcoran must have a hard neck staying in their jobs when they know well that the majority of people want them out
17/11/2004, 9:08 AM
Well, its important that EL fans let their clubs know their position on the situation within the FAI. People who play for junior clubs or are involved in running schoolboy football should get on to their club secretaries, who in turn should voice their disapproval at the next meeting of their leagues and ask the League reps what their stance on the situation is?
b_mcsweeney
17/11/2004, 9:34 AM
had a bunch of cards taken off me as i was going through the security. yer man just said "your not allowed bring those cards in" and grabbed them out my pocket and flung them in a bin next to him. i hadn't even bothered trying to conceal them, as the thought never crossed my mind that they'd try something like that. fortunately my mates had a few concealed ones so was still able to join in. if i was pi$$ed off before though, i'm even more annoyed now. how can these guys stay happily in their jobs, knowing the opposition to them is almost total? if it was me, i'd be thinking "well if everyone is against me, and to this extent, maybe i'm doing something wrong" but there seems to be a near fanatical belief in their own sense of self righteousness. i'm now worried that if the government escalates the conflict and cuts off their funding, they might resort to hi-jacking the 10.15 dublin to cork flight and crash it into the county hall.
17/11/2004, 9:58 AM
Yeah. I saw that too, though I got some in.
Phoned the lads outside to give them a heads-up but at that stage (7.15) most were already in and experiencing the confiscation.
Stifling Protest is only papering over the cracks, Milo heard the boos, and there were a good few Photographers snapping away (though I haven't seen the papers thios morning). The antics of the FAI here have only made me anngrier and more resolute though.
Robinski
17/11/2004, 11:27 AM
Thanks to every who helped out with the red card distribution last night...it was very well recieved...I'm sending the rest of the cards that i have left over round to the Fai today so that they can have the lot the facist bast*rds....the sun did an interview and got word that they were stopping people with cards and seemed interested in that...It was reported too on Off the ball that cards were taken...i'm really not suprised all the same and yes they put music over us booing...there is never usually anything played after the officials greet the teams...scared idiots..how long's a piece of string now Milo?
Instead of sending them to them, why not call around with a load of pins and pins them all over the door. Bring a journo with you so he can take a photograph, guaranteed to be in the paper tomorrow.
Turn the green door red.
Bald Student
17/11/2004, 12:26 PM
in today's indo:
Fans at Lansdowne Road last night for the international against Croatia showed their disapproval at recent events in Merrion Square by booing president Milo Corcoran when he took to the pitch for the pre-match ceremony, while there were reports that anti-FAI placards were confiscated outside the ground.
Robinski
17/11/2004, 12:48 PM
It's on the Joe Duffy Show Now! Reports of the red cards being confiscated.
17/11/2004, 1:19 PM
I saw the match on tv but never noticed any sign of a protest, obviously not that big,sorry guys!
Robinski
17/11/2004, 3:42 PM
I heard it. Anyone else?
Emphasis was on the disgust at the way the cards were ripped out of people’s hands. Stewards telling people that they would not allowed entry if they carried a red card.
The amount of security in order to ensure the red cards didn't get in and the way the FAI don't listen to the eL fans. This proving once more how often they turn their back and ignore us.
Cowboy
17/11/2004, 4:54 PM
how about everybody wears red t shirts at the next friendly, they cannot take those off us.
onceahoop
17/11/2004, 4:56 PM
Only heard a bit on the Joe Duffy programe, but it shows up Corcoran Delaney and their lackeys for the fascists that they are.
It shows how scared they are though, if they resortd to those tactics. So much for democracy and free speech.
Funnily enough the thought occurred to me during the week that they might try to confiscate the cards. Then I thought that they couldn't be that stupid.................they were!!! and they are!!!!!!!!!
Milo you well might ask "How long is a piece of string" .
Rember this; "Long runs the Fox"
That big skeleton is going to come tumbling out of the locker one of these days. :o :o
17/11/2004, 5:47 PM
The Ireland supporters club are the tier A football supporters
Who are these guys?