View Full Version : New signings or so they say

SeanDrog
08/11/2004, 10:04 AM
http://gypsiesweb.proboards14.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&num=1099758715

Coltron
08/11/2004, 12:06 PM
Think our money could be better spent elsewhere, Lynch is nothing special and for the money were probably paying him not the best value. Webb could be good but could well end up in the Tony Bird type scrap heep. It seems we're going in for just anyone who is free and not filtering out the true quality signings, I guess we just have to put the faith in Doolo. His track record is kind of hit and miss.

Sully: will be very good in two-three years I think
Jermaine: has definate qualities and can do a job at LB or LM
Lester: Hit
Reilly: has the potential but needs to start fullfilling it
Rooney: Future big hit, all going well
Freeman: Won't rule him out as a hit yet, like the look of him in the 5-3-2
Whelan/Bird/O Dowd: barn door anyone

In the cons column you can add, let Quinner go.

Overall Doolo has done quite well as your not going to get them all right but initial signs look promising.

Drogman.
08/11/2004, 12:39 PM
Yeah agree that Lynch is nothing special. I mean the Bohs fan hate him and from what I've seen of him he's not an addition to our squad. Webb on the other hand is not too bad. I mean he does have a lot of qualities and for a left back he is very good at taking on players. But can any of us forgive him for that 94th min equalizer against us in the Cup last year???

On another point, I hope we have the money to pay these lads. I mean with all the rumours, it would be a shame to get all these quality players and then ending up like Rovers and not pay them for ages.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to next season already :)

09/11/2004, 12:01 PM
'On another point, I hope we have the money to pay these lads. I mean with all the rumours, it would be a shame to get all these quality players and then ending up like Rovers and not pay them for ages. '

Oh theres always a moaner drogman, isnt that right?? ;)

Lynch? Forget about it - as a famous man once said 'he'd be no addition to our squad'

Webb? Would be a very good signing in my opinion.

Heard of another player this morning who it looks certain is coming and would definitely be a MAJOR addition to our starting 11

Drogman.
09/11/2004, 12:08 PM
Heard of another player this morning who it looks certain is coming and would definitely be a MAJOR addition to our starting 11

Who then??

09/11/2004, 12:10 PM
Bobby Ryan per chance? That was a strong rumour I heard, ye were offering much more than Bohs could

WindmillWarrior
09/11/2004, 12:34 PM
Unfortunately Shels are also reported to be sniffing around Ryan. According to the Mirror they are HUGE favourites to sign him.

09/11/2004, 12:37 PM
Between yerselves and Shels, ye'll have the entire Bohs team snapped up, are they worth it? We're supposed to be after some of the lesser lights so to speak of the Bohs squad, don't know how true that is though

WindmillWarrior
09/11/2004, 12:45 PM
Are they worth it? F*ckin right they are, well some of them anyway. I'd take Hunt, Crowe, Ryan and Webb no problem. Not being greedy or anything of course :p

We'll leave the bones for you boys in Longford to pick at ;)

09/11/2004, 12:57 PM
Well, obviously Hunt and Crowe are well worth having but at what cost? Hunt or representatives had sounded us out recently but when it became clear he was on €1600 a week it was fairly obvious there was going to be no chance of us getting him, I'd imagine Crowe is on more, I suppose if you can afford it why not get the best

09/11/2004, 1:00 PM
Are they worth it? F*ckin right they are, well some of them anyway. I'd take Hunt, Crowe, Ryan and Webb no problem. Not being greedy or anything of course
I'd take Hunt and Crowe from that list. You're welcome to Ryan and Webb. The only other one I'd like Town to sign would be Harkin, but then I think he's better on the wing, and the only gap we have is centre midfield.

Drogstar
09/11/2004, 1:10 PM
I for one won't be getting too excited about the speculation relating to players joining the club. Most if not all of the players are out of contract and it's normally used as a bargaining tool if there are other clubs interested, realistically I'd say most of the players we've been linked with will still be at Bohs next season.

Rochey
09/11/2004, 1:34 PM
realistically I'd say most of the players we've been linked with will still be at Bohs next season.

Wouldnt say that drogstar. representatives at bohs have said that they cannot afford to pay what other clubs are offering and if that means having to start again they will. The contracts their offering at the moment wont be going up no matter what other clubs offer them.

Realistically who'd want to stay at bohs if they were getting more money elsewhere. Big club my arse :D

09/11/2004, 2:01 PM
Realistically who'd want to stay at bohs if they were getting more money elsewhere. Big club my arse :D
Don't know, but at last clubs are starting to take a sensible stand on player wages. The figures talked about are ridiculous for the quality of player (yes, even Hunt and Crowe)

Drogman.
09/11/2004, 2:30 PM
The only other one I'd like Town to sign would be Harkin, but then I think he's better on the wing, and the only gap we have is centre midfield.

Agree with you there. He's a very good player. Not over lavish, but he's does a job and does it good. I'd like to see him with us next season.

09/11/2004, 2:40 PM
He's one of the ones who has a contract for next year I think but you're right he'd be a valuable addition to most sides

chatterbox
14/11/2004, 12:46 PM
"In the cons column you can add, let Quinner go. "

I can't believe that someone just said that. Quinner was runner up in the player of the season last year. He was pure class throughout the season. I don't know why he is not playing for Drogheda. He is one of the best right-midfielders in the league without a doubt. He's probably the most complete player that we have. I say keep him.

14/11/2004, 1:46 PM
I think he's agreeing with ye chatterbox ie its one of doolos mistakes.

Looks like quinner has decided his future is with pats - gave him my player of the year vote last season so as really sad to see him go.

Doolo went very high up in my estimation of him on friday - he spoke very well and the future looks bright with him in charge.

Liked the fact that he said you just have to take the criticism on the chin and that supporters are entitled to disagree with him and criticise him. He said he couldve came to the club, had the craic with the supporters, had a few pints with them, etc and got everyone to like him. Instead he said he wanted to people to judge him on results (despite if it resulted in criticism). Fair play to him ;)

DruggyDrog
14/11/2004, 3:35 PM
Jaysus Cosmo, I'm not going to say that word that is spelled a-g-r-e-e, but I was thinking the same thing after Friday. maybe I need specialist help!!!!

Drogrough
14/11/2004, 7:54 PM
Liked the fact that he said you just have to take the criticism on the chin and that supporters are entitled to disagree with him and criticise him.

you traitor, you :eek:

14/11/2004, 10:37 PM
What's the verdict on Mark Rooney?
Or More to the point... how many goals did he get for ye?

At UCD he scored 1 goal in 25 League games hence the question

14/11/2004, 10:49 PM
Was told by someone at the weekend who knows Simon Webb, if i remember rightly, that he and Lynch have signed for ye and Bobby Ryan has signed for Shels. Or at least agreed to sign. Hardly earth-shattering revelations but just passing on the goss to ye!

15/11/2004, 7:34 AM
Cheers, rumours are great!!

CollegetilIdie, Rooney is a great prospect but hasnt started many games - reminds me a bit of Fabio in his first season in the premier division - and look at Fabio now (and a couple of years younger than Fabio was then!!).

Watch out for him over the next couple of seasons

15/11/2004, 7:35 AM
but Drogrough, Im agreeing with Doolo, not criticising him :D