View Full Version : Croly leaves
El-Pietro
04/08/2014, 4:22 PM
Our squad was pretty small until mid season, and a lot of the players we do have are quite young, along with a few players on amateur terms. We've obviously put more towards the playing budget over the transfer window.
I dont get this model club assertion that Shamrock Rovers get labelled with. What is a model club exactly?
Rovers have good sponsorship behind them, along with their "400 club" means they can outspend all other LOI clubs, but thats all that is model about them. As Croly pointed out in the article, short-termism is famous in the LOI. Look at every club in the Premier Division and only a handful of them can say they look to the long-term.
Take us for example, when Roddy came in at the start, straight away he brought in a load of players, with the intent of winning the league. Dundalk done the same when Kenny arrived, Rovers and Pat's do it every year. Sligo because of where they are in the league have had to make major cuts to their playing staff in anticipation of no European football next season. The overturn of players in the LOI is ridiculous.
The only thing we really have going for us long-term wise is our ability to bring through young talent into the first team. Over the past few years Shane McEleney, Barry McNamee, Tony McNamee, Ryan Curran, Josh Tracey, Nathan Boyle have all made the grade from reserve team to first team. We have no long-term ambition in place. Does any LOI club have this?
No such thing as a model club on this island
CityRebel
04/08/2014, 5:39 PM
Our squad was pretty small until mid season, and a lot of the players we do have are quite young, along with a few players on amateur terms. We've obviously put more towards the playing budget over the transfer window.
We wouldn't have increased it much over the transfer window. Sure Elding was a big earner and he left a good while before the window, and Turner, Davoren, O'Connell and Forde left as well (although maybe one or two were on amateur terms).
Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/08/2014, 6:49 PM
I dont get this model club assertion that Shamrock Rovers get labelled with. What is a model club exactly?
Rovers have good sponsorship behind them, along with their "400 club" means they can outspend all other LOI clubs, but thats all that is model about them. As Croly pointed out in the article, short-termism is famous in the LOI. Look at every club in the Premier Division and only a handful of them can say they look to the long-term.
Take us for example, when Roddy came in at the start, straight away he brought in a load of players, with the intent of winning the league. Dundalk done the same when Kenny arrived, Rovers and Pat's do it every year. Sligo because of where they are in the league have had to make major cuts to their playing staff in anticipation of no European football next season. The overturn of players in the LOI is ridiculous.
The only thing we really have going for us long-term wise is our ability to bring through young talent into the first team. Over the past few years Shane McEleney, Barry McNamee, Tony McNamee, Ryan Curran, Josh Tracey, Nathan Boyle have all made the grade from reserve team to first team. We have no long-term ambition in place. Does any LOI club have this?
No such thing as a model club on this island
Think it all comes about from this. Fran Gavin calling them the Model Club. Generally brought up in jest by everyone else really though.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish-soccer-league/2010/0504/264668-gavinf/
Ezeikial
04/08/2014, 6:55 PM
Take us for example, when Roddy came in at the start, straight away he brought in a load of players, with the intent of winning the league.
Please tell me you're kidding.
Did you actually believe that at some point?
Dundalk done the same when Kenny arrived, Rovers and Pat's do it every year.
When Kenny arrived at Dundalk there were no players under contract and relegation was avoided through a play-off win. Naturally "he brought in a load of players" -all within a fairly modest, sustainable budget. Pat Hoban, Kurtis Byrne, Andy Boyle, Dane Massey, Keith Ward, Darren Meenan, Chris Shields, John Mountney and Mark Rossiter did not exactly have a pose of clubs waving mega-deals at them
At which point did I say I believed that? I'm merely repeating what the bluffer said.
When Kenny arrived at Dundalk there were no players under contract and relegation was avoided through a play-off win. Naturally "he brought in a load of players" -all within a fairly modest, sustainable budget. Pat Hoban, Kurtis Byrne, Andy Boyle, Dane Massey, Keith Ward, Darren Meenan, Chris Shields, John Mountney and Mark Rossiter did not exactly have a pose of clubs waving mega-deals at them
This season as seen a high enough overturn at Dundalk though.
Dundalk
Manager: Stephen Kenny
Ins
Sean Gannon (St Patrick's Ath)
David McMillan (Sligo Rovers)
Daryl Horgan (Cork City)
Gabriel Sava (Drogheda Utd)
Ruaidhri Higgins (Derry City)
Mark Griffin (Derry City)
Donal McDermott (Bournemouth)
Outs
Stephen McDonnell (Shelbourne)
John Dillon (Southport)
Aaron Shanahan (Ballymena Utd)
John Sullivan (Shelbourne)
Tiarnan Mulvenna (Glenavon)
Vinny Faherty (Galway)
Conor Winn (Finn Harps)
Jordan Keegan (Shelbourne)
Francis McCafferty (Released)
Nathan Murphy (Released)
My general point is though Kenny is clearly building for the short-term. Who is the last player to successfully come through Dundalks ranks into the first team and make the grade as a LOI player? I have no doubt again at the end of the season there will be a high overturn of transfers in the league
dundalkfc10
04/08/2014, 7:13 PM
Excellent point.
04/08/2014, 9:27 PM
Think it all comes about from this. Fran Gavin calling them the Model Club. Generally brought up in jest by everyone else really though.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish-soccer-league/2010/0504/264668-gavinf/
I think you're giving a lot of people too much credit by saying they bring it up in jest.
Delighted to see Croly go. I thought he had set in place some good foundations last season, in spite of the poor performances, but alas he couldn't handle the pressure and became more erratic as he went on and alienated all of the players, several of whom acted unprofessionally throughout and won't be mourned when they leave at the end of the season. Croly comes across as delusional but a decent enough sort, and to be fair he does appear to have had a big role in convincing the club to put in place more sustainable structures.
Hopefully Nutsy gets the job now - a man who understands the job and can handle the expectation, and who will hopefully be able to get the players onside and have them actually want to earn their paychecks for a change. I think Baraclough could do a job until the end of the season but I don't think he's the man to strengthen the squad. If Doolin gets the job I'm going to start supporting Bray.
04/08/2014, 10:07 PM
I can't believe Croly is trying to play the poor mouth.
04/08/2014, 10:10 PM
I can't believe Croly is trying to play the poor mouth.
We can't provide the players with houses. Which explains why we can't compete with Chelsea and Barcelona. Not so much Dundalk.
04/08/2014, 10:27 PM
He's absolutely deluded, genuinely away with the birds. Hopefully Shams can replace him with a similar lunatic.
White Horse
04/08/2014, 10:40 PM
We can't provide the players with houses. Which explains why we can't compete with Chelsea and Barcelona. Not so much Dundalk.
All the bananas you can eat. It's our selling point.
ger121
04/08/2014, 10:51 PM
Was comical when Power read back Cawley's comments last week to Croly. Worth tuning in for that bit alone.
Ezeikial
04/08/2014, 11:01 PM
Croly tonight reminded me why I really love this league so much
NeverFeltBetter
05/08/2014, 12:40 AM
Does/Has any club in LOI done this?
05/08/2014, 12:51 AM
Not as far as I know, but I'd be fairly confident in saying no. Rovers I know do provide players with shared accommodation in Firhouse but I doubt they own the houses. I think Sligo have a similar arrangement where they put players up in rented accommodation, as I suspect do Limerick. Dundalk players live in Dublin but they might be put up in Dundalk if they move there, presumably Cork are the same with players living in Cork. UCD might too in student accommodation.
05/08/2014, 1:27 AM
Limerick don't provide accommodation for our UK lads but we did buy them all helicopters. Our Irish based players all live in Adare Manor afaik.
05/08/2014, 7:16 AM
Didn't Pat's have some digs a few years back?
Ezeikial
05/08/2014, 7:38 AM
Does the taxman watch Soccer Republic?
Damn you TC, our grubby secrets are out - Richie will have to leave back the Lamorghini now
PartySaint
05/08/2014, 9:37 AM
Didn't Pat's have some digs a few years back?
Yes, I'm not sure if we own it or just paid the rent on it.
Like Charlie said, Rovers have one up in firhouse, Twigg, Mannus and Dennehy lived in it when they played for Rovers
dundalkfc10
05/08/2014, 10:06 AM
Horgan, Hoban, Mountany and Shields all live in the same house in Dundalk but I dont think the club own it
poster
05/08/2014, 10:34 AM
Sligo because of where they are in the league have had to make major cuts to their playing staff in anticipation of no European football next season.
Letting go of the four we did was nothing to do with not attaining European football for 2015/saving money. It was because Gaynor, Ndo, Greene and Djilali didn't fit in with JC's plans. We signed Eamon Zayed for jaysus sake!
I heard Sligo owned a few houses from on of their players father
Letting go of the four we did was nothing to do with not attaining European football for 2015/saving money. It was because Gaynor, Ndo, Greene and Djilali didn't fit in with JC's plans. We signed Eamon Zayed for jaysus sake!
All 4 of them would have been on decent wages, and I have no doubt Zayed's wage wouldnt even come close to matching these 4. Its not a criticism Sligo are making cuts, its simple economics
Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/08/2014, 9:47 PM
Yeah but we brought in Davoren and Kavanagh as well. 4 out and 3 in. Plus the fact that Joey is officially on loan I would imagine means we are still paying some of his wages (although Shams might be paying some of Zayeds also)
Fivesilver
06/08/2014, 7:19 AM
We signed Eamon Zayed for jaysus sake!
Zayed's on loan, so he's unlikely to be breaking the bank. I think it's a reasonable assumption that the ins and outs at the Showgrounds are largely about saving a few bob.
06/08/2014, 9:06 AM
Zayed's on loan, so he's unlikely to be breaking the bank. I think it's a reasonable assumption that the ins and outs at the Showgrounds are largely about saving a few bob.
Would Rovers have bothered letting Zayed go unless ye took his wage completely off them?
Obviously this is only hear say but heard Zayed was offered €1,200 by Sligo and we had offered around €700.
poster
06/08/2014, 11:54 AM
Would Rovers have bothered letting Zayed go unless ye took his wage completely off them?
Obviously this is only hear say but heard Zayed was offered €1,200 by Sligo and we had offered around €700.
Jesus, Athlone must have offered him the stadium?!
I would think we are paying the (very) large majority of Zayed's wage.
Ezeikial
06/08/2014, 12:05 PM
Zayed was very fortunate to be able to move to a club with a larger budget (and loads of houses, cars and planes) then the paupers of Tallaght
06/08/2014, 1:06 PM
Fenlon confirmed so (http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/12771/fenlon-the-new-hoops-boss/).
This'll be interesting. I never really rated Fenlon from his time at Shels. Yes, he won stuff, but I always got the feeling that with the money he had, his teams should have been better.
We shall see sure.
06/08/2014, 1:08 PM
Incredible that no one on Soccer Republic challenged Croly's crock of s hit claim that Shams have only the fourth highest budget in the league.
06/08/2014, 2:15 PM
Incredible that no one on Soccer Republic challenged Croly's crock of s hit claim that Shams have only the fourth highest budget in the league.
I doubt any of them would have any more of a clue than Croly did. Rovers, Sligo, Dundalk and Pats are all probably around the same, and most fans of each club would likely swear blind that their club has the lowest budget of the four. Sure Cork don't pay their players anything at all - they all just love being in Cork so much they do it for free.
Ezeikial
06/08/2014, 3:05 PM
I doubt any of them would have any more of a clue than Croly did.
You are right on that one - Croly has not got a clue.
Rovers, Sligo, Dundalk and Pats are all probably around the same, .
If you say it often enough, you might even begin to believe it.
(I know it's not fair to poke fun at the deluded or bewildered)
06/08/2014, 3:15 PM
Likewise.
Fenlon confirmed so (http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/12771/fenlon-the-new-hoops-boss/).
This'll be interesting. I never really rated Fenlon from his time at Shels. Yes, he won stuff, but I always got the feeling that with the money he had, his teams should have been better.
We shall see sure.
Hes a money manager, needs the cash. Look at him with us and Hibs, crock of ****. No coincedence he won things with huge budgets at Shels and Bohs.
06/08/2014, 4:37 PM
And as if this forum wasn't ludicrous enough already, we now have a Derry fan claiming Fenlon didn't have a massive budget to work with there.
PartySaint
06/08/2014, 4:45 PM
Hes a money manager, needs the cash. Look at him with us and Hibs, crock of ****. No coincedence he won things with huge budgets at Shels and Bohs.
He was doing ok with Hibs, look what happened to them when he left
And as if this forum wasn't ludicrous enough already, we now have a Derry fan claiming Fenlon didn't have a massive budget to work with there.
He had a decent budget to work with, but sure as hell wasnt massive.
06/08/2014, 5:25 PM
So you reckon he walked out on the triple league champions and moved his family half way across the country so he could work on a modest budget? That might sound somewhat plausible were it not for the fact Derry then bought up half the league and went bust a couple of years later.
Triple league champions? That the same club that failed to pay him and many players weeks on end and ultimately got relegated despite winning the league. He didnt move his family anywhere, Fenlon himself moved up and commuted regularly from Dublin aswell, his family stayed put in Dublin. Derry bought up half the league? Our signings that year were Greg O'Halloran, Alan Moore, Dave Rogers, Karl Bermingham, Peter Hynes and Karl Moran (who went straight out on loan). 3 of those signings were within the LOI
That year we lost David Forde, Stephen O'Flynn, Shaun Holmes, Clive Delaney and Mark McChrystal. So clearly we signed a few players on a "massive" budget and signed half the league :rolleyes: Maybe a bit of research before you talk nonsense will make you out less stupid eh?
06/08/2014, 5:59 PM
Yes, the club that gave him the massive budget you were talking about. Grand, I was wrong about moving up to Derry, but attracting players to move up from Dublin and the UK isn't cheap, as Fenlon and his successors found out. O'Halloran, Moore, Rogers, Doherty, Oman, McCourt, Morrison, O'Brien, Kearney, Stewart etc. weren't doing it for the craic. I just don't understand why clubs' fans always seem to have such a problem admitting their team has or had a big budget. As I pointed out, your club went bust because they were paying players so much they had to hide it from the association.
Anyway, this doesn't really have anything to do with Croly or Fenlon. Rovers will likely have the biggest budget going next season so we'll see whether Fenlon is capable of getting back to success.
Ezeikial
06/08/2014, 6:18 PM
I just don't understand why clubs' fans always seem to have such a problem admitting their team has or had a big budget.
Like this poster?
Rovers, Sligo, Dundalk and Pats are all probably around the same,
06/08/2014, 6:30 PM
I am a unique seeker of truth and integrity in a sea of denialism.
Yes, the club that gave him the massive budget you were talking about. Grand, I was wrong about moving up to Derry, but attracting players to move up from Dublin and the UK isn't cheap, as Fenlon and his successors found out. O'Halloran, Moore, Rogers, Doherty, Oman, McCourt, Morrison, O'Brien, Kearney, Stewart etc. weren't doing it for the craic. I just don't understand why clubs' fans always seem to have such a problem admitting their team has or had a big budget. As I pointed out, your club went bust because they were paying players so much they had to hide it from the association.
Anyway, this doesn't really have anything to do with Croly or Fenlon. Rovers will likely have the biggest budget going next season so we'll see whether Fenlon is capable of getting back to success.
Did I deny we had a decent size budget? My point was our budget may have been big, but it was nowhere near what Fenlon had a Shels and Bohs. Also Doherty, McCourt, Stewart and Morrison didnt sign with us for massive money, and thats an absolute fact. The rest I dont know what they signed for
I just don't understand why clubs' fans always seem to have such a problem admitting their team has or had a big budget.
This has always had me bemused too. "We have no money" "Yes you have, we have less money than you" It reminds me of that old Monty Python sketch with the four yorkshiremen.
Anyhow, I have no problem admitting that Pats have literally squillions to spend, with free houses and cars for all our players (and extrta burgers for James Chambers:D)
06/08/2014, 6:43 PM
Did I deny we had a decent size budget? My point was our budget may have been big, but it was nowhere near what Fenlon had a Shels and Bohs. Also Doherty, McCourt, Stewart and Morrison didnt sign with us for massive money, and thats an absolute fact. The rest I dont know what they signed for
No, you said decent but not on the scale of your competitors, which I think is just plain wrong as they had a budget to compete for the title with other free-spending clubs.
Clearly not big enough that we couldnt attract the best players in the league
06/08/2014, 6:59 PM
What? You already had some of the best players in the league and you brought some more in. As you'd expect a big club like Derry to do.
You really telling me the above signings were the best in the league? Your full of ****......
06/08/2014, 7:09 PM
If you read my post further back, I've been talking all along about Derry's signings in the years around their collapse. Fenlon didn't buy well, but Kenny spent plenty of money bringing in quality players before and after his spell in Scotland. He did so because he had a big budget to spend. I don't buy that the Derry board unilaterally cut the budget for the time Fenlon was there. Usually the opposite happens when a new manager is brought in.