View Full Version : Longford Town 4-1 Scumbourne
06/11/2004, 9:25 PM
What a performance!!! :) I really want Cork to win the title after that. Fenlon is a little scumbag. The team as a whole (Shels) were a dirty crowd of scumbags and they had to be the most unsporting team ever. :mad: Plus we were against 14 men until Moore got sent off. Ref and flag boys were terrible. Penalty decision was dodgy. Some of the decisions were mind boggling. Shels fans couldnt even understand how some decisions went there way. But We Won 4-1!!!!!! It realistically could have been 6. Dessie missed 2 1on1s. Deano had 1 that looped just wide. We could have scored 3 goals identical to the 1 Kirbs scored. Prunty's goal was a cracker. Lovely ball by Dessie for it. Was delighted to see Eric score. Worked so hard recently. I am so happy we have beaten them. It was sweet!
RATINGS:
Digger - 8 - nothing to do apart from save the pen
Dillo - 8 - Solid
Baz - 8 - Solid
Garto - 8 - Solid
Paiso - 7 - Solid enough but don't have much confidence in him for some reason
Kirbs - 7 - Quiet enough but took his goal well
Martin - 10 - MOTM - Best performance for De Town that I have seen
Deano - 9 - Excellent. Dominated the midfield with Johnny
Prunts - 9 - Great performance
Eric - 9 - Worked his balls off. Won his fair share of headers. Deserved his goal
Dessie - 8 - Worked harder than usual. Played very well
06/11/2004, 9:41 PM
Fair play to ye.Really want to see a non Dub team win.So Come on Cork
06/11/2004, 10:54 PM
cheers lads
especailly to max power...hahaha
06/11/2004, 11:04 PM
Thanks a million lads .... it could come down to the wire yet !!
It'll be a great year if it is down to the last game of the season !!
sullanefc
06/11/2004, 11:16 PM
What a performance!!! :) I really want Cork to win the title after that. Fenlon is a little scumbag. The team as a whole (Shels) were a dirty crowd of scumbags and they had to be the most unsporting team ever. :mad: Plus we were against 14 men until Moore got sent off. Ref and flag boys were terrible. Penalty decision was dodgy. Some of the decisions were mind boggling. Shels fans couldnt even understand how some decisions went there way. But We Won 4-1!!!!!! It realistically could have been 6. Dessie missed 2 1on1s. Deano had 1 that looped just wide. We could have scored 3 goals identical to the 1 Kirbs scored. Prunty's goal was a cracker. Lovely ball by Dessie for it. Was delighted to see Eric score. Worked so hard recently. I am so happy we have beaten them. It was sweet!
RATINGS:
Digger - 8 - nothing to do apart from save the pen
Dillo - 8 - Solid
Baz - 8 - Solid
Garto - 8 - Solid
Paiso - 7 - Solid enough but don't have much confidence in him for some reason
Kirbs - 7 - Quiet enough but took his goal well
Martin - 10 - MOTM - Best performance for De Town that I have seen
Deano - 9 - Excellent. Dominated the midfield with Johnny
Prunts - 9 - Great performance
Eric - 9 - Worked his balls off. Won his fair share of headers. Deserved his goal
Dessie - 8 - Worked harder than usual. Played very well
Why can't Longford do this every week. I mean you've shown you've got a good team by winning cups and ye prove ye can beat any team (like tonight). Why don't Longord ever challenge for the title???
I'm surprised you are only now realising Shels are scum.
have to say I thought Baker should have been hauled off. He needs a swift kick up the ass. He wouldn't finish his dinner. Easily the worst town player. His work ethic isn't what it should be and before we got our third he wasn't putting it in.
John Martin was super, delighted for him...
Diggers peno save was top drawer but have to ask the tough questions of him for that Byrne header which hit the side netting. Also the wall and Digger for Crawleys free kick.
Fair to say that the ref was so bad. We roughed Shelbourne up and they didn't like it. Clearly we had a score to settle there and it's no harm introducing a bite and a rivalry into our game because thats what brings the best out in us.
For regulars in the Flansiro, it was a much needed boost because at times we are brutal at home and it's fair to say that as supporters we need to back the team as much as we did tonight. when's the last time we netted four at home. and should of had 6.... never I guess, well never as much....
Time we made flancare a fortress.... need to score some success with Cork and Drogs at home and work form there.
BTW, to whoever believed Deano wasn't all that, think again.... he's a gem...
Crux of the problem is that we are too conservative. we like safe options.... knock most ball long, for a long time we haven't had a midfield like we did tonight to support any other way of playing. This doesn't suit any strikers. we could have JOF, Crowe and Byrne and it wouldn't make a title winning team playing like that.
The biggest reason we did what we did tonight is the fact that Deano and Martin were massive. Every other position usually looks after itself or holds its own most of the time.
Second to that is the fact that we didn't deserve the 3-1 in Tolka and we were sore after that...
sorbothegreek
07/11/2004, 1:09 AM
:) Yep. Probably the best performance i've seen us put out since the first day of the season a couple of years back when we hammered cork.
Its unbelieveable to have beaten $hell$ 4-1 and still have to make comment about the ref. It's a close call between the set of officials tonight and the ****er in Vaduz as to who got the biggest back hander before the game. Every thing that could go $hellS way went their way. They had one player sent off, but how there was only one, i seriously cannot believe. The boi rodgers decided to slide tackle Gartland when the ball was ten ****ing yards away. None of the ****ers seen it!!
And before anyone gets wind of crowd trouble, can i just say that if it wasn't for the same **** there would have been no trouble. When the final whistle went, he went over to the $hell$ fans and was waving for them to come onto the pitch. When they were stopped, thats when the trouble started.
Will he be mentioned in any reports, in the rants that will undoubtably follow? I ****ing well doubt it. He went looking to start something tonight and started it. Well done dave. :(
07/11/2004, 1:37 AM
Top drawer performance and by the by the dirtiest game I've seen in a long time, both benches seemed intent on getting at each other at one stage..This kind of thing happens when you play a team two games running, all grudges are still fresh on the mind and you have a chance for instant payback, plus I dont feel Shels were expecting us to be so up for it but the fact of the matter is we owed our fans a performance and preferably a home performance..we certainly gave them that tonight..as others have mentioned John Martin and the whole midfield four top class.
07/11/2004, 1:39 AM
wow, all i can say is wow......the cards really fell well for us tonight....
xlex, how true bout baker, tryin to shoot from almost the half way line and not layin on one decent pass in the 1st half. oh on the wall for the free kick, correct, it was the same on monday, look at the pic on one F and u'll see how badly positioned it was.
bakers goal was a clear hand ball and it showed how bad the ref was when he missed it, one of the shels coachs was sitting beside section o and he even said if the ref didn't get a hold of the game someone would get hurt......
one thing that helped us was stewie a right back, two of the goals came from his inexperience in this position.
eric played very well and was worth his goal, as was prunty....had to leave early so i missed kirbs goal but martin worked so so hard in midfield......
it shows how the pressure is gettin to shels when their fans were fighting between themselves after the game.
that win was one for the flansiro faithful and not the sunshine gang.....well done all and roll on tues...
oh pics will be up later tonight or in the morning.
BTW the corner, it was one of the games of the season, hope TV3 show it as we played them off the park.
07/11/2004, 1:43 AM
Why can't Longford do this every week. I mean you've shown you've got a good team by winning cups and ye prove ye can beat any team (like tonight). Why don't Longord ever challenge for the title???
i ask myself that on a regular basis, but i was around the team for bout 2 hrs before the game and they were up for it, really up for it......we need to get up the table which means we win the 5 remaining games, including tonight.
07/11/2004, 1:49 AM
$hit there was a peno, i missed it....my reporter did not mention that after the game......info please and what happened after the game.....please, thank you.
07/11/2004, 1:51 AM
I dont know about winning the league but a challenge at the business end a la Drogs this year should be achievable..what would cost us ultimately would be our part time status, not as much time to get treatment on injuries, not as much training etc . A regular (as in 15-20) goal season striker would have helped alot this year though in saying that Desmond has 14 in all, think Deano and possibly Johnny Martin if he continues like he did tonight could solve our midfield woes..a fresh Deano will be something else next year, I can feel it!! Also thought Prunty had his best left wing game in two or three seasons, gave Stuey a torrid time, he had to buy a ticket to get back in at one stage!
Jayo Byrne won a penalty..Town observers reckoned a dive hadn't a great view myself..Brilliant save by Digger diving to his right to push it out
EDIT: After the game, handbags between initially Shels fans trying to get on the pitch and the stewards and then apparently amongst Shels fans themselves, most Shels fans were sound afterwards
07/11/2004, 1:56 AM
there you go,max
doesnt it feel good to try and help us out ;)
07/11/2004, 1:57 AM
read my post in its still possible, i just want a pint in the horseshoe next season :D
07/11/2004, 1:58 AM
read my post in its still possible, i just want a pint in the horseshoe next season :D
u would have get 10 pints if ye had won monday night as well ;)
07/11/2004, 2:00 AM
Sure we won on aggregate..does that count.our coefficient must be improved.. :p :)
07/11/2004, 2:02 AM
u would have get 10 pints if ye had won monday night as well ;)
whats the point in us winning if yee fcuk up against derry and destroy all our good work :rolleyes: ;)
but what a game, i hope the club DON'T give the tape to TV 3, i really do.
07/11/2004, 2:14 AM
but what a game, i hope the club DON'T give the tape to TV 3, i really do.
WHY :confused:
07/11/2004, 2:19 AM
because lots of tapes were sent to them and they never bothered showing them, made all sorts of excuses......now when we have a good game, don't let them have it.......b@stards
Have ye no beds to go too?????
cheers lads
especailly to max power...hahaha
Agreed Lads what a performance. i would have loved to be there to see the expressions on those JACKEENS FACES :)
Class
I don't care who wins the league once it's not a Scummy JACKEEN B*****D
Longford for the cup again next season :ball:
07/11/2004, 3:20 AM
Have ye no beds to go too?????
no, i'm workin on one F and watchin jonathan woss......
higgins
07/11/2004, 8:17 AM
so many contradictions I dont know what went on???
The trouble started when a town fan came on the pitch?
Or it started when shels fans came on the pitch????
could the fighting at the end have been shels fans telling the others to leave it and not get involved!
It was a great game and we played them off the park?
This wouldnt appear to be the case when people say it was the dirtiest game of all time???
Unless you like those sort of games??
The ref was brutal and didnt give you a decision all night?
This then turns to Baker having a clear handball for his goal? and Alan Moore getting sent off.. doesnt appear like you got NOTHING?
Its hard to know what went on really...... :rolleyes:
07/11/2004, 8:57 AM
Thats the best result of the season by a mile, well done the Town. Agree with Max, that was for the longtime supporters not the fairweathers. Heard about it on the phone last night and what can i say, Shels must be sore this morning. Hoping they fcuk up the league now!
DolansWaistcoat
07/11/2004, 11:36 AM
Fair dues to ye lads fcukin great result and it keeps the title race going for just that little bit longer. :)
07/11/2004, 11:42 AM
because lots of tapes were sent to them and they never bothered showing them, made all sorts of excuses......now when we have a good game, don't let them have it.......b@stards
Nah ... if it is worth showing then show it.
07/11/2004, 1:15 PM
Wouldn't say it was the dirtiest game of all time but there was a lot of needle in it..it might sound contradictory but there was also some great football in the game, we played very well and cut Shels open on numerous occasions..The ref was just incompetent, he didnt favour either side too much, Moore had to go for an elbow in front of the ref, he also sent off Vinny Perth who was a sub warming up for a fracas with a Shels player taking a throw.
As for the crowd trouble it started when Shels fans tried to get on the pitch after the game and were stopped by the stewards, a bunch then got into a shoving match with stewards, more Shels fans intervened to try and sort out their own supporters I think and thats when they were rowing amongst themselves..You had to be there really it's hard to explain but it was a game that had absolutely everything
Absolutely brilliant result! heard one man say it was the best game he seen in flancare in 20 years, seeing as flancare isnt around 20 year!! :eek:
Seriously a classic game, it had everything, good football, lots of goals, sending off's, few lickle scraps!, good atmosphere and the right result at the end!
Special mention to Eric Lavine, John Martin and Dean Fitz they were outstanding last night! and im first in the queue to give Dessie that kick he needs Xlex! He was muck last night!
07/11/2004, 2:58 PM
d im first in the queue to give Dessie that kick he needs Xlex! He was muck last night!
i said it first as half time so tough :p
The Sheliban
07/11/2004, 7:11 PM
No excuses for last night lads. You were up for it more than us.
Didn't think it was a particularly dirty game, but a lot of needle. One of Longfords backroom staff kicking a ball at Fenlon started Nutsy off - never even got a talking to!
Glad to see someone else saw Dessie's handball for the second goal, thought I was the only one, seeing as none of our defenders even appealed.
Thought our penalty was very harsh. Your third goal was a stormer - just ripped us apart. Don't know why nobody bothered running back to try and stop Levine's trickle - it must have taken a good 5 mins before it rolled in. Moore deserved to go, no problem there - not the first time he's let us down this season.
As for the Shels dirty scumbags tag, I honestly thought Longford gave as good as they got. A totally incompetent ref meant players were given carte-blanche to do anything.
In the end you could have had eight or nine, and it would have been no more than you deserved. Well done, glad we don't have to play you again this season!
ps good home support too!
07/11/2004, 7:26 PM
No excuses for last night lads. You were up for it more than us.
Didn't think it was a particularly dirty game, but a lot of needle. One of Longfords backroom staff kicking a ball at Fenlon started Nutsy off - never even got a talking to!
Glad to see someone else saw Dessie's handball for the second goal, thought I was the only one, seeing as none of our defenders even appealed.
Thought our penalty was very harsh. Your third goal was a stormer - just ripped us apart. Don't know why nobody bothered running back to try and stop Levine's trickle - it must have taken a good 5 mins before it rolled in. Moore deserved to go, no problem there - not the first time he's let us down this season.
As for the Shels dirty scumbags tag, I honestly thought Longford gave as good as they got. A totally incompetent ref meant players were given carte-blanche to do anything.
In the end you could have had eight or nine, and it would have been no more than you deserved. Well done, glad we don't have to play you again this season!
ps good home support too!
i saw the handball as i was in the corner taking pics, there was no physical way the ref could have seen it.
07/11/2004, 8:45 PM
I missed Dessies handball, but Crawley had an absolutley blatant one missed too. Jumping for a header and he reached his arm over the shoulder of the Longford player and just fisted the thing clear in a way a goalkeeper would be proud of, couldn't believe that not only the ref missed it but there were no real appeals either.
07/11/2004, 9:06 PM
think i saw that, but i wasn't sure if it was his hand seeing as no one shouted.
Albert
08/11/2004, 8:59 AM
Well it was a fantastic performance from the town, all the lads seemed really up for it, I was especially impressed by Deano and Martin, its the first time I really thought Martin played to his full potential for us and showed what he can do.
I have to admit though guys that I dont go with the criticism of Dessie, and I know im biased!! But granted his work ethic could be a lot better and so could his tracking back, but I still feel with the ball at his feet he is such a threat going forward. Lets face it we have struggled toget goals all season and he is the top scorer, so it must count for something. In my book give e a striker who doesnt track back or work that hard but still sticks the ball in the net over one who puts in the effort but who does not score.
I was delighted for eric, but lets face it if you had to keep one striker this season it would have to be Dessie as he is the only one who looks lik he can score at all
observer
08/11/2004, 10:45 AM
What a result and at home for good measure. Cork really slipped up at home to Derry as that result will probably cost them the title.
I heard last night that one of the Longford stewards had to get stitches around his eye after the game. He was punched when trying to stop the Shels supporters getting on the pitch. Scumbags are obviously part of the baggage of all Dublin Clubs.
08/11/2004, 1:51 PM
i woulsn't go that far, but that is ur way.....shock statements ;)
he picks and choses when he plays a kick up the hole would do the world of good....he ain't a man utd player any more.
A scintillating display from the red and black! We played some very imaginative and creative football and it might easily have been five or six. Thought it was our best performance of the season by a long shot. I have been giving our midfield some much deserved criticism of late but they were exceptional on Saturday night. We showed a real desire to win, something obviously drilled into the team by Alan and Aaron since the previous Monday night.
But now that we have shown just how good we can play, will we maintain it for the remaining games few games this season? Will we show the same will to win tomorrow night against Dublin City? And will we continue to display this form on into next season? Because if we do, the future is very bright. If we can give the same level of performance week in week out next season we are very capable of mounting a serious title challenge.
TheJamaicanP.M.
08/11/2004, 7:22 PM
Would have to agree with you Dillo. Unbelievable night in Flancare by all accounts. Couldnt make it unfortunately. Was at a gig in Balahadreen on the night. Was kicking myself that I missed it. Think we can win the rest of our games this season and mount a serious challenge next season.
A scintillating display from the red and black! We played some very imaginative and creative football and it might easily have been five or six.
exactly why we weren't challenging this year, or the last, or maybe not next year. We are not consistant and the sun will always shine a few times a season. Shelbourne, a few FAI cup games and of course the League Cup were LTFC's days.
Consistancy and average home support of min 2000 are targets again next year....
How much to sponsor one of those large billboards over Mae Flanagans?