View Full Version : Santini Quits Spurs
05/11/2004, 5:59 PM
Just heard on the radio that Santini has left Spurs because of personal problems. Bit of a disaster for spurs.
boc123
05/11/2004, 6:03 PM
That's a surprise, it looked like he might be able to turn things around there as well after years of doing nothing.
TheJamaicanP.M.
05/11/2004, 6:07 PM
He struck me as another Christian Gross. I think Spurs should go for Martin O'Neill. It would be a job that O'Neill would surely be tempted by. I know Celtic are his boyhood club but this is his chance to move to a big club.
onceahoop
05/11/2004, 9:46 PM
Just heard on the radio that Santini has left Spurs because of personal problems. Bit of a disaster for spurs.
Who cares. This is an EL forum.
06/11/2004, 8:03 AM
Who cares ?this is an EL forum!
Well said that man.
Jesus Christ Folks are we not swamped enough in our national press with English Premiersh*te without it polluting this part of the forum. There is a space for talking about foreign footie on this site. Could some moderator shift it there please?
07/11/2004, 8:37 AM
I think Spurs should go for Martin O'Neill. It would be a job that O'Neill would surely be tempted by. I know Celtic are his boyhood club but this is his chance to move to a big club.
BIG CLUB??!?!?!?!?!?!?
You are having a ****ing laugh, yes? :confused: :rolleyes: Come on, JPM. If you really think that Spurs (pah!) are a bigger club than Celtic, you'd be better sticking to discussions about hair care and nightclubs. Honestly, some people... ;)
:D PP
07/11/2004, 8:44 AM
As you can see, I was deflected from the point I was about to make by an utter irreverance. Spurs bigger than Celtic? As if. Consider yourself dealt with, JPM. ;) :D
Santini's departure will actually work out well for Spurs in the longer term. If they have any sense, they'll appoint their coach Martin Jol as manager. He's recognised by Frank Arnesen as a clever tactician. Apparently, the only reason he wasn't given the job the first time around is because he wasn't "high-profile" enough.
Personally, I think having Jol in charge will only help Robbie Keane. Who knows, young Stephen Kelly may even get a game now... ;)
Duncan Gardner
07/11/2004, 9:46 AM
I think Spurs should go for Martin O'Neill. It would be a job that O'Neill would surely be tempted by. I know Celtic are his boyhood club but this is his chance to move to a big club
Sunderland, actually.
07/11/2004, 11:31 AM
Tottenham Hotspur are expected to
announce their new manager tomorrow
with assistant coach Martin Jol
favourite to succeed Jaques Santini.
Santini resigned on Friday and Jol took
charge for yesterday's 3-2 defeat to
Charlton before stating his desire to
manage the club on a full-time basis.
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p222.htm
jofyisgod
07/11/2004, 2:07 PM
Apparently, the only reason he wasn't given the job the first time around is because he wasn't "high-profile" enough.
I heard something similar. Apparently this Arnesen guy never liked Santini, and they had had problems right from the word go. I still think that JS would have done well with Spurs eventually, i mean you can't expect instant results.
And BTW-Spurs are a bigger club than Celtic, no matter how much you'd like to think they're not.
And this is the GENERAL FOOTBALL section of the site, not the eL section. If you don't care, don't read it. SIMPLE.
07/11/2004, 2:26 PM
It's now in the General Football forum but it started off in the EL forum so they were right to ask for it to be moved.
On topic, I dont think it'll make too much difference to Spurs in the long run, the assistant Jol is highly rated
07/11/2004, 4:20 PM
And BTW-Spurs are a bigger club than Celtic, no matter how much you'd like to think they're not.
Er, I don't think so. Quite apart from drawing twenty thousand fans more to each and every home game than Tottenham and having a global fan base bettered only in British football by Manchester United, Celtic play Champions League football almost every year. I can't honestly think of the last time Spurs made any sort of impact in European competition.
Having television money to burn (approximately ten times more than Celtic for domestic football) does not make Tottenham a bigger club. Not a chance.
:) PP
Duncan Gardner
07/11/2004, 5:25 PM
Er, I don't think so. Quite apart from drawing twenty thousand fans more to each and every home game than Tottenham and having a global fan base bettered only in British football by Manchester United
Better than Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool? Let's see some evidence, PP...
07/11/2004, 5:44 PM
I can't give you hard-and-fast numbers, DG, but a Nike spokesperson came out with this recently at a press conference to launch the new kit deal that they have signed with the club. To add to that, and as near as any evidence I can find to substantiate this claim, there are Celtic supporters' clubs in over eighty countries around the world. Despite a search on Google just now, I failed to turn up anything about the global reach of the other three clubs.
Anyway, back to Santini. Three million quid for four months' work. That's about twenty five large a day. A grand every hour. Nice work if you can get it. :)
07/11/2004, 5:48 PM
Don't take the bait PP ;)
SouthCroydon
08/11/2004, 7:59 AM
celtic bigger than THFC joke.they might have a supporters clubs in every city populated by irish catholics but alot of this is not based on football but religoin.as a previous post said if you started getting behind your local el teams you might one day have a football club as big asTHFC steeped in football history
Pat O' Banton
08/11/2004, 10:30 AM
Sperz were last invited to appear in glitzy international tournaments in USA, when?
Sperz were last in a European final, when?
Sperz had over twenty thousand away fans at a UEFA Cup fourth round game, when?
Sperz have how many supporters clubs around the world?
Sperz aren't even regarded as a big club in Ingerland anymore so how they can be regarded as a bigger club then some one who plays European football every season in front of sixty thousand people is beyond me.
Oh by the way I think that you'll find every league and non league club in the world is steeped in history.
Would O'Neill not have more money to spend on sorting out the squad at Spurs? Celtic are clearly a bigger club than Spurs, however, probably have a hell of a lot more money to spend there than at Celtic.
Can't see it happening, because of the structure at Spurs, rather than any of the untangible reasons....
Pat O' Banton
08/11/2004, 11:12 AM
Would O'Neill not have more money to spend on sorting out the squad at Spurs? Celtic are clearly a bigger club than Spurs, however, probably have a hell of a lot more money to spend there than at Celtic.
Unfortunately (for me and few others from around here) this is all too true :(
08/11/2004, 4:47 PM
Martin Jol has been confirmed as Tottenham's new head coach.
Director of football Frank Arnesen declared the news to the club's shareholders during the AGM at White Hart Lane.
The 48-year-old replaces Jacques Santini at the helm following the Frenchman's surprising decision to leave the club on Friday evening.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/LIST.ASP?HLID=236598&CPID=8
TheJamaicanP.M.
08/11/2004, 7:36 PM
celtic bigger than THFC joke.they might have a supporters clubs in every city populated by irish catholics but alot of this is not based on football but religoin.as a previous post said if you started getting behind your local el teams you might one day have a football club as big asTHFC steeped in football history
Have to agree with you. Spurs are on a different scale to Celtic. Celtic play in a mickey-mouse league. They sign mickey-mouse players for mickey-mouse transfer fees. Spurs signed the likes of Defoe, Carrick, Michael Brown, Paul Robinson, etc. within the past year. Celtic signed Henri Camara. Pat O'Banton can go on all he likes about Celtic being invited to America and other irrelevant sh!te but the fact remains, Spurs are a bigger club in a bigger league. Do you think Robbie Keane would want to go to Celtic?
IMO, Celtic are just a club for Scots, misguided, uneducated Irish people, religious bigots and skangers from the Northside.
Have to agree with you. Spurs are on a different scale to Celtic. Celtic play in a mickey-mouse league. They sign mickey-mouse players for mickey-mouse transfer fees. Spurs signed the likes of Defoe, Carrick, Michael Brown, Paul Robinson, etc. within the past year. Celtic signed Henri Camara. Pat O'Banton can go on all he likes about Celtic being invited to America and other irrelevant sh!te but the fact remains, Spurs are a bigger club in a bigger league. Do you think Robbie Keane would want to go to Celtic?
IMO, Celtic are just a club for Scots, misguided, uneducated Irish people, religious bigots and skangers from the Northside.
Expertly put together PM and I agree 110% with you. If I had a choice in the morning of playing alongside the likes of Jamie Redknapp, Robbie Keane and Pedro Mendes at the Lane or playing with the likes of Stephen Pearson, Neil Lennon and Bobo Balde in front of 60,000 noisy, uneducated skangers, I'd be on that plane to North London like a flash! Wouldn't have to think about it for a second! Spurs are the more fashionable club playing in a much superior league. End of story.
TheJamaicanP.M.
08/11/2004, 7:58 PM
Thanks Dillo. The funny thing is that a lot of users on this site will disagree with you. They will tell you that Celtic are a bigger club. The same idiots will tell you the Celtic are an Irish club. Usual bullsh!t.
Now that you mention it, my dream would be to play alongside Jamie Redknapp. Remember that Michael Brown and Carrick have to be added to the midfield with Redknapp and Mendes. That will be one hansome midfield. :D
08/11/2004, 7:59 PM
Stick to talking about highlights and nightclubs, boy. You're on much safer ground there. ;)
TheJamaicanP.M.
08/11/2004, 8:08 PM
Stick to talking about highlights and nightclubs, boy. You're on much safer ground there. ;)
Im glad you didnt spell boy as Bhoy. :D Like yourself PP, I've little time for those Glaswegians. :D
Pat O' Banton
08/11/2004, 8:28 PM
?
Blah, blah, blah listen we've had this before over and over again. I know plenty of Celtic fans and the above does not describe any of them, neither does it describe me. (I don't dispute that they exist as I have seen them about.)
However doesn't matter what you say Sperz are a smaller club in a bigger league. Its a fact and quite frankly if Jamie Rednapp is the best that you can do to prove that their a bigger club then you may as well not bother arguing.
However the point remains why do Sperz not get invited to any of these tournaments? You know because in terms of draw they are not as big as Celtic.
Jamie Rednapp :D :D thats made my day
TheJamaicanP.M.
08/11/2004, 8:32 PM
Jamie Rednapp :D :D thats made my day
Jamie and his wife tend to have that effect on people. :D
Obviously you are going to say Celtic are bigger. Just like certain EL supporters who think their club is bigger that Longford Town.
Pat O' Banton
08/11/2004, 8:37 PM
I know a Britol Rovers fan who thinks his club is the best in the world, I've heard Stoke fans sing 'we're by far the greatest team the world has ever seen' without a hint of irony, its the nature of football.
But I mean, imagine anyone believing they were bigger or better than FHFC.
TheJamaicanP.M.
08/11/2004, 8:39 PM
I know a Britol Rovers fan who thinks his club is the best in the world, I've heard Stoke fans sing 'we're by far the greatest team the world has ever seen' without a hint of irony, its the nature of football.
But I mean, imagine anyone believing they were bigger or better than FHFC.
Who on earth are FHFC??
Pat O' Banton
08/11/2004, 8:41 PM
Finn Harps
TheJamaicanP.M.
08/11/2004, 8:44 PM
Finn Harps
Dont know how I didnt cop that one. Finn Harps almost have as many Donegal people supporting them as Celtic. :D Obviously a big club.
10/11/2004, 8:45 AM
Good to see Robbie Keane getting a few goals again, in the 3-0 win over Bunley last night. Even better though was the performance of Stephen Kelly. He has been frozen out since Santini took over and was about to be off-loaded to either QPR or Watford. With Santini going and an injury to Bungevic he was selected to play last night in an unfamiliar position of left full. He aquitted himself very well and has every chance of playing against Arsenal on Saturday. Another emerging Irish player
$Leon$
10/11/2004, 10:48 AM
can anyone explain to me what bobby sands and celtic have to do with el games? often seen sands 32 on celtic jerseys at el matches all seems a bit strange to me. these are the same people who give out about the irish rugby team not been irish.
Pat O' Banton
10/11/2004, 11:57 AM
can anyone explain to me what bobby sands and celtic have to do with el games? often seen sands 32 on celtic jerseys at el matches all seems a bit strange to me. these are the same people who give out about the irish rugby team not been irish.
Sorry, have I missed something on this thread :confused:
Anyway cheers for the information, I think that you've just proved that, contary to popular belief in this parish, Celtic fans do go to eL games. Your help is much appreciated. (Now step back and wait for the explosion :eek: :D )
TheJamaicanP.M.
10/11/2004, 6:07 PM
That's a great point $Leon$. Obviously a lot of peasants (the type who cause riots after Dublin derbies) wear Celtic jersies but cant afford the trip to Glasgow. Instead they are forced to attend EL games for their weekly dosage of football.
jofyisgod
10/11/2004, 7:57 PM
One of the all-time great posts. Summed it up perfectly. I mean you call them Sperz and appear to thank that gets you one up on them!
:rolleyes: I have no time for Celtic 'fans'. Ye're as bad as Man U 'fans' and even these eejits who say they support Madrid. Ye all seem to thank ye're uncovering some deeper sense of Irishness by wearing a frankly revolting shirt with which you have no affiliation except that of your religion, which i'd guess you rarely practise anyway.
That's a great point $Leon$. Obviously a lot of peasants (the type who cause riots after Dublin derbies) wear Celtic jersies but cant afford the trip to Glasgow. Instead they are forced to attend EL games for their weekly dosage of football.
Again, spot on. These kids aren't Celtic fans-they don't even know whethere they're playing half the time. I see kids in Celtic tracksuits, the whole shebang, yet they can't name more than 3 players(inc. Larsson, who realised he was wasting his time in the SPL, as it is laughably known)
Well done, JPM, some great posting :ball:
Pat O' Banton
11/11/2004, 11:51 AM
One of the all-time great posts. Summed it up perfectly. I mean you call them Sperz and appear to thank that gets you one up on them!
:rolleyes: I have no time for Celtic 'fans'. Ye're as bad as Man U 'fans' and even these eejits who say they support Madrid. Ye all seem to thank ye're uncovering some deeper sense of Irishness by wearing a frankly revolting shirt with which you have no affiliation except that of your religion, which i'd guess you rarely practise anyway.
Again, spot on. These kids aren't Celtic fans-they don't even know whethere they're playing half the time. I see kids in Celtic tracksuits, the whole shebang, yet they can't name more than 3 players(inc. Larsson, who realised he was wasting his time in the SPL, as it is laughably known)
Sperz is how the side from N17 are commonly referred to in Arsenal fanzines, and equally I don't actually feel a need to get one up on them.
Now on to your presumtions and generalisations. Seeing as you seem so interested I practice my religion regularly, however I have a deep sense of misgivings about much of the deeds of the Catholic Church. There are at least two posters on here, as well as many who I've met in Glasgow who your statement regarding religion does not apply to at all.
Equally can you tell me the previously unheard of appointment that gave you the right to say who has what affilliations I must have missed it in the news. Anyway I'm glad to know that the goalposts have been shifted from Celtic fans don't attend eL games to, the ones in Celtic tops aren't real eL or Celtic fans. It must have taken you quite some time to speak to them all :rolleyes:
Now back to my peasent duties of tending to your estate JPM, I'll have all that cotton picked by evening :eek: :D