View Full Version : Footie manager

the ox
05/11/2004, 12:15 PM
Hi,

I've just ordered football manager on the internet and I've realised that the British version may not have the eL. Is there anywhere I can download it?

Ruairi
05/11/2004, 12:45 PM
AFAIK there's no reason the EL shouldn't be there. That's like saying I bought the spanish version, will it have the portugese leagues. the only difference is that in Irish retail copies, there's an Irish flag on the box that says "contains Irish Leagues", that's all.

thank god i've got work to keep me occupied this weekend or i'd be screwed

05/11/2004, 1:01 PM
It'll be there. The point of the game is that it has such an extensive database and you can choose to play one, several or many of about 50 leagues at once. Enjoy. :)

UCD_4_Life
06/11/2004, 2:10 PM
God, the game is rock hard. Took over U.C.D. and started on the English schedule by accident, so the game started in July. When I got the job we were top by a few points...one win in eleven later, and we're fifth, looking unlikely for promotion. Bah.

On an odd note, I've become friends with Pat Devlin. I took time out my busy schedule to tell Pat that even though everyone else thinks he's a crap manager (Bray are top of the league...) that I think he's just fine and he took a liking to me. The manager mind-games is really fun.

06/11/2004, 4:25 PM
God, the game is rock hard. Took over U.C.D. and started on the English schedule by accident, so the game started in July. When I got the job we were top by a few points...one win in eleven later, and we're fifth, looking unlikely for promotion. Bah.

On an odd note, I've become friends with Pat Devlin. I took time out my busy schedule to tell Pat that even though everyone else thinks he's a crap manager (Bray are top of the league...) that I think he's just fine and he took a liking to me. The manager mind-games is really fun.

How accurate is the UCD squad?

UCD_4_Life
06/11/2004, 9:30 PM
How accurate is the UCD squad?

It's pretty decent - Anto Murphy, Willie Doyle, Quigley etc. are all there. The positions are a bit off in places (McWalter is a AMR rather than a F R/C, McNally is still only an M C), but that's not a particularly big deal, I suppose. No sign of Byrne.

Alan Gallen (was released?), Austin O'Neill (walked out/released?) and Mark Leech (gone to Dwogheda?) are all still there though and I'm fairly sure we've gotten rid of them all (it's nearly impossible to keep up with all the comings and goings we have for me at times).

After nearly getting the sack first season, I signed Aido Lynch, Robbie Doyle, Ollie Cahill and Paul Keegan (What can I say? I was desperate!) and we're in the hunt for promotion now. The finances are totally unrealistic - the board have actually given me money for wages and transfers!

daherlihy
07/11/2004, 10:47 AM
Hi guys, just joined these forums.

Also just bought FM 2005, looking good so far...

Have any of ye ever worked with logos or kits for the game? I've just completed a complete set of logos - some of them aren't looking great but I found alot of crests here so might give it another go today. I know how to do them but they need to be adjusted to look a bit neater.

I want to start on the kits also. I found in www.colours-of-football.com (http://www.colours-of-football.com/) only a few of this seasons kits. Is there anywhere I could get a more of them and as up-to-date as possible?

Dave

eamoss
07/11/2004, 11:16 AM
You can send photos of the kit to Mikhail who runs the site & he will make them but it takes a while! Also some clubs will be changing there kits for next season like I know Dundalk are in talks with Errea to become our kit suppler & our sponsor Carnbeg is becoming Radisson so we are going to have a hole different kit!

daherlihy
07/11/2004, 3:40 PM
Cheers Eamo.

I might hold out for a while so and see what happens.

Happy to say however that I've just touched up on all the Eircom League crests so might upload soon to SUSIE.

Dave

08/11/2004, 2:49 PM
I ordered it off play.com ... should be getting it in the next few days ... for those that have it already whats your first impression ??

petef
09/11/2004, 1:06 PM
Acquiring it on the internet ;) as I ruptured ac shoulder joint at the weekend biking wont be doing much else anytime soon!

Try suprnova.org

eamoss
09/11/2004, 3:35 PM
I would have done the same if i was not getting a free copy in the post!

13/11/2004, 10:44 PM
Is their any site where I can download demo for free? And what is the price of the full version anyone?

14/11/2004, 8:11 AM
Sligoman

Was in HMV in Henry Street yesterday, where Footie Manager 2005 is priced @€54.99 which in my book is a bit steep for a computer game.

What is it with the price of computer games in this country? I was in Canada last March and bought NHL2004 for Can$24.99 . Now given that there are Can$1.60 to €1 that is quite cheap. The same game over here would be over €40.00 and possibly even€54.99

14/11/2004, 3:07 PM
I got it for 50 Euro in Gamestop. Steep I reckon too but it appears top PC games are now 50-55 on release. I see PES 4 on sale for 45 Euro in HMV in the Square which is a great price for such a new quality game on the PS2.

petef
14/11/2004, 7:13 PM
Can get it in on Amazon for £21.99 (sterling). 31 Euros by my estimation, your barmy buying games in shops, gave up doing that a long time. 20 Euro difference is a massive amount. Shows you the mark up these guys have. Always noticed though when I'm back home the amount of rip off retailers like Game there are in Ireland.

14/11/2004, 7:15 PM
Can get it in on Amazon for £21.99 (sterling). 31 Euros by my estimation, your barmy buying games in shops, gave up doing that a long time. 20 Euro difference is a massive amount. Shows you the mark up these guys have. Always noticed though when I'm back home the rip off retailers like Game are in Ireland.

Amazon does kind of give the game away alright. But it is a bit more expensive when you lash on delivery and VAT. And some of us don't have a credit card, hence the user name. :o

rednwhitearmy
14/11/2004, 7:31 PM
Well if you buy the game on amazon if the price is over £20.00 sterling you get free post also amazon will take postal orders....

14/11/2004, 7:44 PM
I thought that was only for the UK. :confused:

UCD_4_Life
14/11/2004, 7:59 PM
It only set me back €45 in Xtra Vision, which is decent enough considering I payed €60 for CM4 two years ago...

15/11/2004, 4:16 PM
Can get it in on Amazon for £21.99 (sterling). 31 Euros by my estimation, your barmy buying games in shops, gave up doing that a long time.

Can get it on play.com for 28.99Euro incl Delivery but you need a credit card

15/11/2004, 9:27 PM
I've just ordered it off play.com.Anyone get it from here? If so how long did delivery take?

green army
16/11/2004, 9:31 AM
i saw an add in the paper for the game in PC World for €34.99.

16/11/2004, 3:02 PM
cool feature if u like hockey is that if u buy fm2005 there is a free 6 month free trial of that eastside hockey manager .

Aberdonian Stu
17/11/2004, 12:59 PM
Last time I checked play.com also sell games and they're usually very good value.

17/11/2004, 1:04 PM
I ordered it off play.com ... should be getting it in the next few days ... for those that have it already whats your first impression ??

Gustavo, did you get yours yet? How long did it take for delivery? I ordered mine from here too,last Monday

17/11/2004, 1:24 PM
i orded it on the 3rd recieved on the 11th one of my friends ordered his on the 5th and recieved it today the 17th :)

17/11/2004, 1:55 PM
i orded it on the 3rd recieved on the 11th one of my friends ordered his on the 5th and recieved it today the 17th :)

K thanks Gus! Hope mine gets here quicker than your friends.What do you think of the game? Is the Sligo Rovers team right in it?

19/11/2004, 11:51 PM
Got to the end of my second season as the Town and it keeps crashing back to desktop with no error report or anything, same date every time, November 22nd 2005, looked up Sports Interactive's forum and it seems to be a common problem, anyone else had it yet? Looks like I'll have to wait for a patch..damned annoying though I was enjoying it

20/11/2004, 12:16 AM
Got to the end of my second season as the Town and it keeps crashing back to desktop with no error report or anything, same date every time, November 22nd 2005, looked up Sports Interactive's forum and it seems to be a common problem, anyone else had it yet? Looks like I'll have to wait for a patch..damned annoying though I was enjoying it

Same thing with me. I got UCD promoted but had a season more like Bray in real life, scraped in. In the second season I was relegated, just thoroughly outclassed. Then the crashing. Have to wait for a patch yeah. I think it can't handle the change in league structure and the play offs being introduced again.

20/11/2004, 1:11 AM
I finished 6th both seasons, won two league cups in a row and a Leinster Senior Cup, got to the Setanta Cup final too but lost to Shels, cup specialists just like the "real" Town! They better hurry up with the damn patch, it's very addictive..

UCD_4_Life
20/11/2004, 8:09 PM
Same thing with me. I got UCD promoted but had a season more like Bray in real life, scraped in. In the second season I was relegated, just thoroughly outclassed. Then the crashing. Have to wait for a patch yeah. I think it can't handle the change in league structure and the play offs being introduced again.

Yup, same here. I reported it to SI and apparently it'll be fixed in the next patch.

20/11/2004, 8:12 PM
That's a fairly big bug like, you'd think it would've shown up in thorough testing before release..oh well, hope the patch arrives soon.

UCD_4_Life
20/11/2004, 9:12 PM
Yeah, it's very disappointing, especially seeing as I was enjoying the game HUGELY at the point where it crashed.

Shocking that they missed it, really.

UsherUsher
23/11/2004, 5:57 AM
I'm currently doing facepacks for this game, is there much interest in it though? I mean I could work on an Eircom League Superpack.

I've just finished the Cork City one. Let me know if you would be interested in a face pack for your own club.

If you havent a notion what I'm talking about click the link below for an in game screenshot with a face added to a profile

http://www.thegaff.biz/flynn.jpg

23/11/2004, 6:42 AM
I'm currently doing facepacks for this game, is there much interest in it though? I mean I could work on an Eircom League Superpack.

I've just finished the Cork City one. Let me know if you would be interested in a face pack for your own club.

If you havent a notion what I'm talking about click the link below for an in game screenshot with a face added to a profile

http://www.thegaff.biz/flynn.jpg

fair play usher usher...take note of this fella lads..he knows what hes talking about when it comes to these games ;)

UsherUsher
23/11/2004, 7:24 AM
fair play usher usher...take note of this fella lads..he knows what hes talking about when it comes to these games ;)

Yep still as consumed in CM/FM since the day I was born...just a quick update, I've now got a Logo Pack and A competition Pack for the LOI, as well as a few jersies done.

Here's what Georgies screen looks like with the Player Pic, League Logo and Cork City crest.

http://www.thegaff.biz/playerscreen.jpg

UsherUsher
23/11/2004, 10:35 AM
Here's the link to download the Cork City facepack,

http://www.thegaff.biz/irl.rar

Now moving on to....Shels :eek:

23/11/2004, 1:30 PM
http://www.shedend.com/index.php?option=com_docman&task=docclick&Itemid=36&bid=36&limitstart=0&limit=5

also here to spread out bandwidth usage. its the same file, should be an immediate download.

UsherUsher
24/11/2004, 10:50 AM
As promised here's part 2. Shels this time

http://www.sortitoutsi.net/pafiledb/pafiledb.php?action=download&id=1228

harpskid
24/11/2004, 2:33 PM
Good job Usher... any chance of getting the Harps done ;)

eamoss
25/11/2004, 9:49 PM
My game keeped on crashing after my 2ed season but I found out it was "Known issue with the Irish league" happen to anyone else?

If it has it will be fixed in the patch & that means I will not be playing it till that, F***ing typical the same day I finish my xmas exams at school I find out that I have to wait a few weeks till the patch. :mad:

25/11/2004, 10:27 PM
Read the posts above eamo, the same thing's happened to a few of us.

UsherUsher
25/11/2004, 11:29 PM
The patch should fix it for you but it won't be out for a while so you'll have to suffer on.

On the subject of Facepacks, I'm finding it hard to find pictures of players from some clubs with some of the teams sites not containing pictures at all.

If you are a supporter of a team looking for your teams facepack then I would appreciate if you could point me in the direction of player pics for your club.