View Full Version : Where will glen go?
kevincronin2000
05/11/2004, 11:19 AM
Maybe we could make this a poll, at the end of the season Glen Crowe is out of contract with Bohs. What will Happen
Follow Roddy to rovers.
Join ( champions ) Shelbourne
Stay with Bohs
Join the rebel army
Dublin City put in an increased offer for him and make him division 1 highest paid player.
Go accross the pond
From what I've heard he's almost as good as signed for Shels already.
Hawkins is definately going there and Crowe is likely to follow. Shels are signing Richie Baker aswell so they are looking good for next season.
Prospects not so bright for Bohs though!
05/11/2004, 11:48 AM
Prospects not so bright for Bohs though!Prospects are not so bright for anybody, if $hels continue on this way.....:(
Prospects are not so bright for anybody, if $hels continue on this way.....:(
True but Bohs seem to be really up the creek.
The only way of stopping Shels is if we win the league either this season or next season. That might disrupt their finances somewhat, otherwise we're all screwed for the next couple of years. :(
05/11/2004, 11:56 AM
There's talk of him going to Holland.
And I wouldn't be happy with Crowe signing for Shels, he wouldn't work well with Byrne and really it doens't make sense us signing him since we've got Sara to start next season and the rumour is Gary O'Neil is all but signed too, and we still have Fitzpatrick.
You've left Drogheda off that list, they're supposed to be in for him too.
I'd be shocked to see him go to Drogheda.
Surely if he was to leave Bohs the only other Irish clubs he'd consider would be Shels or City and he probably wants to stay in Dublin so that only really leaves Shels.
05/11/2004, 12:01 PM
I'd be shocked to see him go to Drogheda.
Surely if he was to leave Bohs the only other Irish clubs he'd consider would be Shels or City and he probably wants to stay in Dublin so that only really leaves Shels.
I don't know, Drogheda seem to have a bit of money behind them now and there building a good team there. I mean, there was talk of him going to Linfield, and the Linfield management have confirmed they're after him, so if he'd even consider that he'd have to consider Drogheda too.
TheJamaicanP.M.
05/11/2004, 5:57 PM
Really hope he signs for Shels. Would be great to see them put an all-star squad together at Tolka and have an extended run in Europe. Crowe has already proven his ability on the European stage for Bohs.
05/11/2004, 7:57 PM
Can't see him signing for a club that isn't playing European football of some kind, I heard from various sources that himself and Hawkins were both heading to Shels, one source in particular has a fair few contacts in Shels..though I also heard ye were keen on signing Gary O'Neill too, the rumour was it was in lieu of unpaid rent from Rocky's mob so what ye'd do with all these strikers I dont know
onenilgameover
06/11/2004, 3:59 AM
It looks like it will be Shels alright...
06/11/2004, 11:11 AM
If Shels sign Crowe it will be a bit of gluttony if you ask me. Sara is a quality striker who scored many goals in the SPL with at Dundee who were struggling to finish in the top 6. Is Fitzpatrick on the way out?
higgins
06/11/2004, 12:22 PM
sara is finding it hard to break into the under 21's....
sara may be a great player in a few months when fully fit but you cant wait around and then find out he is a waster...
Crowe will be a replacment for Ger McCarthy
so we then have 4 strikers
Jason Byrne
Glen Fitzpatrick
Glen Crowe
Juan Sara
we also have Ger Rowe who seems to be coming on and getting better
06/11/2004, 4:40 PM
sara is finding it hard to break into the under 21's....
sara may be a great player in a few months when fully fit but you cant wait around and then find out he is a waster...
Crowe will be a replacment for Ger McCarthy
so we then have 4 strikers
Jason Byrne
Glen Fitzpatrick
Glen Crowe
Juan Sara
we also have Ger Rowe who seems to be coming on and getting better
I suppose that's enough if you don't sign Gary O'Neill but you'd want to at least get by one round in Europe to foot that bill. It looks like four decent strikers would be the kind of depth you'd want in a squad who are competing domestically and abroad.
06/11/2004, 10:51 PM
I'd rather we signed O'Neil. I mean Crowes better and all, but O'Neil gives us what we don't have up front, real pace, and would cost less and be happier to be a squad player.
07/11/2004, 12:02 AM
I'd rather we signed O'Neil. I mean Crowes better and all, but O'Neil gives us what we don't have up front, real pace, and would cost less and be happier to be a squad player.
Agreed ... Crowe could be a bit over rated aswell. Crowe is good technically (although he doesn't look it) but he is not noted for pace really.
higgins
07/11/2004, 7:32 AM
Crowe is a better player but you would prefer O'Neill ??
Can you explain that comment in a little more detail!!
It dont make sense????
07/11/2004, 12:54 PM
Crowe is a better player but you would prefer O'Neill ??
Can you explain that comment in a little more detail!!
It dont make sense????
Crowe would cost us around five times more in wages for a start. Secondly, Crowe is just an inferior version of what we already have in Byrne. Thirdly, Crowe and Byrne would not work as a partner and as a result the fourth thing becomes important, Crowe would not be happy with being a squad player like I'd say O'Neil would.
O'Neil on the other hand would be cheaper, gives us an option up front we don't have in someone who has real pace (I'm basically ignoring Ger McCarthy here, I doubt he'll be around next year and if he is, I doubt we'll see much of him), and I think would be happier to be a squad player and start some of the matches from the bench.
JoeSemi
07/11/2004, 6:15 PM
Glen Crowe staying at Bohs is dependant on Euro qualification........Goes for Hunt and Ryan as far as I am aware also. Farrelly isn't dirtying his hands on any of the contract talks tho.... Leavin it all to the chairman. Inside info is a great thing!! :cool:
JoeSemi
07/11/2004, 6:22 PM
[QUOTE=Slash/ED] Secondly, Crowe is just an inferior version of what we already have in Byrne. Thirdly, Crowe and Byrne would not work as a partner and as a result the fourth thing becomes important, Crowe would not be happy with being a squad player like I'd say O'Neil would.
"Crowe is an inferior version of what we already have".......Are you havin a laugh my friend? What Fitzpatrick, Rowe and McCarthy are superior to Crowe?!! :eek: Either take the rose tinted glasses off or get a pair that might enhance your sight. Glen Crowe has done it on the big stage away from home in Europe, unlike any of the aforementioned players.
07/11/2004, 8:22 PM
[QUOTE=Slash/ED] Secondly, Crowe is just an inferior version of what we already have in Byrne. Thirdly, Crowe and Byrne would not work as a partner and as a result the fourth thing becomes important, Crowe would not be happy with being a squad player like I'd say O'Neil would.
"Crowe is an inferior version of what we already have".......Are you havin a laugh my friend? What Fitzpatrick, Rowe and McCarthy are superior to Crowe?!! :eek: Either take the rose tinted glasses off or get a pair that might enhance your sight. Glen Crowe has done it on the big stage away from home in Europe, unlike any of the aforementioned players.
That's not what I said. Crowe is a similar striker to only one striker on our books, and he's basically an inferior version of Byrne. They wouldn't work together, and Crowe wouldn't be happy to sit on the bench and would be paid too much to be a squad player.
And two of the three players you mentioned there have 'done it' in Europe.
07/11/2004, 10:49 PM
Ryan, Hunt and Crowe would be a huge lose to Bohs ... Kenny going was the start of this landslide i think. Hate to see it as Bohs are technically a very good football playing side. Used to love Bohs games, ..... while we didn't always come out on top, the game was always good and entertaining.
And a manager not getting involved in contact talks for three of his best players .... am i hearing things right ?? :confused: Surely this is totally mad. Three quality players that if you didn't have them on your team, you sure as hell wouldn't like to have them playing against your side. I dunno ?? :eek:
JoeSemi
08/11/2004, 8:39 AM
And a manager not getting involved in contact talks for three of his best players .... am i hearing things right ?? :confused: Surely this is totally mad. Three quality players that if you didn't have them on your team, you sure as hell wouldn't like to have them playing against your side. I dunno ?? :eek:
Your hearing me right. No need to get the ears checked or eyes tested, thankfully. :eek: This is obviously not goin to become general public knowledge when Farrelly is making his way in management.
08/11/2004, 11:20 AM
Ryan, Hunt and Crowe would be a huge lose to Bohs ...
Hunt and Crowe yeah, but Ryan is useless imo. Yeah, he can ghost by players for fun, but there is rarely if ever a good final ball at the end of it. He should be the best winger in the country and a full international but at the end of the day he creates nothing so while he's entertaining, what good is he? Creating the chances Bohs play has deserved this season has been their biggest problem and he's been the biggest culprit there.
08/11/2004, 11:26 AM
Hunt and Crowe yeah, but Ryan is useless imo. Yeah, he can ghost by players for fun, but there is rarely if ever a good final ball at the end of it. He should be the best winger in the country and a full international but at the end of the day he creates nothing so while he's entertaining, what good is he? Creating the chances Bohs play has deserved this season has been their biggest problem and he's been the biggest culprit there.
Drogs have offer Crowe a very good contract but he is still in talks with Bohs and Shels at the moment. Hunt will stay on, while Ryan and Caffery will go to Pats and the Hawk will go to shels as well. a few others leaving as well. Dessie Byrne in talks to sign for Bohs, Webb talking to Drogs.
08/11/2004, 11:29 AM
the Hawk will go to shels as well.
That's been doing the rounds for an age, at this stage I'd be suprised if that one at least is not true. Not overly happy with it either, he can be great but has been woeful for a while now.
08/11/2004, 11:48 AM
That's been doing the rounds for an age, at this stage I'd be suprised if that one at least is not true. Not overly happy with it either, he can be great but has been woeful for a while now.
Mr. Injury = Colin Hawkins.
If he could stay injury free he'd be the best centre half in the eL
08/11/2004, 12:37 PM
Kenny going was the start of this landslide i think.
Losing to Tallin in the UEFA was the start IMO. Without the money from a decent European run, they can't afford these guys' wages.
10/11/2004, 10:31 PM
I wonder if he fancies an education?
Not sure he wants to play for Trinners though :D
Drogs have offer Crowe a very good contract but he is still in talks with Bohs and Shels at the moment. Hunt will stay on, while Ryan and Caffery will go to Pats and the Hawk will go to shels as well. a few others leaving as well. Dessie Byrne in talks to sign for Bohs, Webb talking to Drogs.
Crowe has signed for Shels even thou Drogs offered better wages, along with Bobby Ryan and Colin Hawkins, Shels have also signed Gary O'Neill and Baker is coming back from the staes to play for them. Shels had also verbaly agreed a deal with Hunt but had to pull out of it as they went over budget.
shankilwanderer
11/11/2004, 8:41 AM
If they lose all these players, they could struggle even for a mid-table place.
Shelsman
15/11/2004, 1:04 PM
Crowe has signed for Shels even thou Drogs offered better wages,
I would too. Shels will win the league again and will play in Europe every season. He'll also be playing in the best team / squad in the league.
15/11/2004, 5:08 PM
Shels will win the league again
Jaysus don't say that
Crowe has signed for Shels even thou Drogs offered better wages, along with Bobby Ryan and Colin Hawkins, Shels have also signed Gary O'Neill and Baker is coming back from the staes to play for them. Shels had also verbaly agreed a deal with Hunt but had to pull out of it as they went over budget.
Crowe has not signed for anyone yet
dr_peepee
21/11/2004, 9:27 AM
I think you under estimate Crowe and Byrne by commenting that they won't play well together. Crowe is a very intelligent player on top of his technical abillity, and anyone who reckons he's slow have not seen him play very often. The fact is he has a deceptive turn of pace given his make up, and this has proved a major asset.
And for those who reckon Crowe is inferior to Byrne, I'll put my neck on the line and say that Crowe will be Shels top scorer next season.
It'll be very interesting to see how they fair in Europe next season. Shels really are the glactica of the Eircom league.
HearyforIreland
22/11/2004, 10:10 AM
Fear not fellow Bohs fans for the future is bright. Remember it has been these big name players who have let the side down more than any others over the last two years (Crowe being the exception). Hawkins, although on his day the best Central Defender in the el is now past his best as the Injuries have caught up with him. Ken Oman will prove to be a more than able replacement. Losing McGuinness last year was a bigger loss in my eyes. Bobby Ryan although performing slightly better under Farrelly has being an enigma for the last 2 years. I will miss the dazzling runs but lets face it, it rarely caused penetration where it matters. Caffrey was the sort of player you'd ask after the game ' Was Caffrey playing tonight?' Solid but hid too much for my liking. Hopefully a fully fit Farrelly will be his replacement with a re-energised and fully motivated King Kevin Hunt in the centre of the pitch. Lynch will not be missed, although proving to be a better central midfielder than full back. I didn't dislike Damien Lynch but he didn't do much for me either. Simon Webb was the worst player in the team during the 2003 season, although slightly more consistent this year. Signing a new left back must be a priority but I could see Keddy in this position.
Farrelly, Stephen Ward and Stephen Rice will be a pleasure to watch and if Grant continues where he left off this year then we'll have no worries. Just need Dominic Foley top pull his finger out and we'll be right up there come November '05.
Trust me, I'm an engineer!