View Full Version : TEL AVIV - Don't Hold your breath

keenanboy
02/11/2004, 4:26 PM
Just a bit of a advice following recent suicide bomb attacks in Tel Aviv...that game could very well be still moved...I wouldn't part with any hard-earned cash until the last minute...and if you still want to pump money into the economy of of the ZOP, I hope you can sleep at night.

Cowboy
02/11/2004, 10:05 PM
was it really necessary to start a new thread, there is already a sticky for this trip and i dont recall anyone asking for your advice

Just a bit of a advice following recent suicide bomb attacks in Tel Aviv...that game could very well be still moved...I wouldn't part with any hard-earned cash until the last minute...and if you still want to pump money into the economy of of the ZOP, I hope you can sleep at night.

02/11/2004, 10:30 PM
I'm with ya on that one keenanboy. going to the game is as good as supporting murder in my book.

03/11/2004, 7:46 AM
going to the game is as good as supporting murder in my book.

Éanna you could argue that going to a Rovers game is supporting holiganism and probably have a stronger case.
It's best to try and keep politics out of football.

03/11/2004, 8:53 AM
going to the game is as good as supporting murder in my book.

No, by going to the game the only thing you'll be supporting is the Irish football team.

That said I think it's too risky. I'd say I'll avoid that one and hopefully go to one or both of the Cyprus and Faroes games.

03/11/2004, 10:35 AM
Éanna you could argue that going to a Rovers game is supporting holiganism and probably have a stronger case.

Or you could argue that going to a cork game is supporting traitors and olympic cheats :rolleyes:

Moron......

03/11/2004, 12:21 PM

Equating us with the murderous Israeli scum. Nice one. Tósser.

Cowboy
03/11/2004, 1:13 PM
I'm with ya on that one keenanboy. going to the game is as good as supporting murder in my book.

so are you saying that we let others dictate to us whether we support our team or not ? Are you really saying that the team is supporting murderers by taking part in the game? I think your arguement is seriously flawed and honestly is such a topic really suitable for a football forum?

resovoirdub
03/11/2004, 1:41 PM
Well said Cowboy. I might go to Isreal...then again I might not?

Whatever my decision...it will be for footballing reasons and the support of the 11 boys in green that walk out on the park....and nothing else!!! Especially politics.

lopez
03/11/2004, 2:46 PM
Just been reading a Lonely Plant guide about Taiwan and I was reminded of the nice people currently running the People's :rolleyes: Republic of China. Seems that because the Yanks gave a visa to a Taiwanese official in the nineties those lovely Chinese government folk threatened to nuke LA. Point being made is that nobody would object to playing China even though their human rights record is worse than Israel (Israel at least allows its own favoured ethnic population and Arabs that stuck around when it was partitioned in 1948 to vote in the crack-pots running its country).

When I visited the country 20 years ago, Ireland later embarked on playing two games against the USSR. Again a nasty state if ever there was one, and one in which there was ill-treatment of many of its minorities, including Jews. I can't imagine if the USSR was still around there'd be too many objections.

I'm no fan of the ZOP, but I've visited quite a few other dodgy countries following Ireland. Yugoslavia was the worse and frankly the three points that we were threatened with deduction in 1999 would have been worth it IMO for the stance taken then. But I visited the place the year before, knowing full well what was going on. Then there is Iran. Another place with a gobsh*te government. But I went there aswell even though people can't drink, dance and women are compelled to cover their hair, arms and ankles. Oh and you can't criticise the government. I believe you can do that in the US and Israel.

While I think that people should be allowed to demonstrate against the representatives of this hoodlum state - just as people demonstrated against the Chinese over Tibet - I also think that people have the right to visit wherever they want to. Personally I'd draw the line at pre-nineties South Africa and, of course, anywhere I'd be in danger of coming back in a box.

03/11/2004, 4:57 PM
Or you could argue that going to a cork game is supporting traitors and olympic cheats :rolleyes:

Moron......

Equating us with the murderous Israeli scum. Nice one. Tósser.

Jaysus lads, relax!
I was making a ridiculous point to highlight how ridiculous the point Éanna made was.
You Rovers fans are so touchy!

1 9 2 8
03/11/2004, 5:28 PM
I'd go to the game if it's moved from Tel Aviv to Cyprus. I don't want to help the Israeli economy by spending my money in that murderous state.

TheJamaicanP.M.
03/11/2004, 7:07 PM

Haven't we all become very important in our little Tiger economy. If we picked who we played and where we played them, we would have a very small list of nations to play against. It's not so long ago since this country was experiencing the Troubles. I didn't hear too many nations complaining about playing us. It really p!sses me off how some hypocrits decide to take the moral high ground on issues that they dont understand. In 1999, our shambolic government stopped the Yugoslav football team from entering the country for political reasons. Three months later, the Taoiseach decided that he had the right to walk onto the pitch in Lansdowne and shake hands with the same players he had previously discriminated. As far as Im concerned football and politics shouldn't mix.

I believe any Irish fan who sees fit should go to Tel Aviv to support our national team and be proud to do so.

Pat O' Banton
03/11/2004, 8:46 PM
Like it or not though politics and football do mix. Don't forget that teams refused to visit Belfast during the conlict there - mainly for, what they believed, were reasons reasons of personal safety.

Sport has a massive part to play in the role of politics, how many governments in the past have used it for their own ends - the dictatorship in Argentina infamously (allegedelly) used the'78 World Cup as a way of promoting their country as a successful, happy, peaceful nation, while giving the nation a way of forgetting what a crap time they were having - a sporting version of cultural imperialism. Mussolini, Franco and many others have used sport (and football in particular) as a way of diverting the masses and attempting to legitimising their regime.

I certainly wouldn't go to Isreal as a) I'm a coward and b) I've only just persuaded Mrs O' B to let me go to the Faroes. But even if it were moved to London I would have problems with going due to my political beliefs on Isreal, however I know that I'm a hypocrit because I would go and watch Ireland play, for example China, I'm not actively interested in what they have done - and I know thats a rubbish excuse but thats the way it is.

ccfcman
03/11/2004, 8:50 PM

So by being in a country where attrociteis have/are being commited is like supporting the killing of an innocent human being?

03/11/2004, 9:10 PM
I certainly wouldn't go to Isreal as a) I'm a coward .

:eek: :D :D

03/11/2004, 10:21 PM
if you go to israel, you spend money in israel and you support the economy of a genocidal regime. south africa were kicked out of international sport for similar offences but because the US supports Israel its ok. it makes me sick, and I repeat, anyone knowingly giving even a cent to the israeli economy is supporting murder and genocide.

sylvo
03/11/2004, 10:52 PM
But even if it were moved to London I would have problems with going

Did'nt a few years ago they asked Spurs if it was possible to play games at White Hart Lane before they decided to play them instead in Cyprus.
I can see why you'd have a problem if the games were moved to London due to the fact that you would be so locked proberly in O'Raffertys pre match that walking half a mile down the road to Tottingham or getting a W3 bus would be a major problem for yer.
you would proberly be also leaving yer bag around the place as well like yer normally do causing a security risk also.

Cowboy
03/11/2004, 10:55 PM
if you go to israel, you spend money in israel and you support the economy of a genocidal regime. south africa were kicked out of international sport for similar offences but because the US supports Israel its ok. it makes me sick, and I repeat, anyone knowingly giving even a cent to the israeli economy is supporting murder and genocide.

so have you given up jaffa cakes?

03/11/2004, 10:58 PM
never eaten them

lopez
04/11/2004, 12:06 AM
Ireland v China see http://www.fatherryan.org/holocaust/Tibet/history.htm

Ireland v Iran see http://www.endgenocide.org/genocide/bahai.html

Ireland v Turkey. see (I like this country as we get more than one ethnic group getting killed with this mob)

http://www.diaspora-net.org/Turkey/kurds.html

http://www.armenianhouse.org/genocide.html

Ireland v Russia see http://www.gfbv.de/gfbv_e/docus/russ_e.htm

Ireland v Nigeria see http://www.nigerdeltacongress.com/garticles/genocide_in_nigeria.htm

Ireland v Yugoslavia (Now Serbia & Montenegro) see http://www.chgs.umn.edu/Links___Bibliography/Links/G/g.html

Junior
04/11/2004, 7:09 AM

I'm guessing you didn't go to USA94 (due to your D.O.B) however, if you didn't, have you ever been to the states/would you ever go?

Just a question - but I guess based on your strong beliefs you have not / will never set foot in the place?

ccfcman
04/11/2004, 8:10 AM

Going to the Uk supports the war in Iraq then?

Buying Oreos drops another bomb on Baghdad?

Where does it end? A pint in Kerry fuels Jackie Healy Ray?

Cowboy
04/11/2004, 8:44 AM
never eaten them

Bet you have eaten at Mc Donalds KFC or burger King though

lopez
04/11/2004, 9:03 AM
Four more years of not drinking Jack Daniels for me I'm afraid. :( :(

Beavis
04/11/2004, 9:36 AM
I think it's too risky
Did I hear correctly that this is the first bombing in Tel Aviv in more than a year?
There is virtually no homicide rate,so given that four died at the weekend the murder toll is probably between 4-10 for a whole year.In this case wouldnt it be more risky to go to Dublin for the game?

*edit* Forgot I already wrote this :o

04/11/2004, 10:48 AM
Four more years of not drinking Jack Daniels for me I'm afraid. :( :(

I'll bring you back a nice bottle of Middleton the next time I'm home.
You'll be grand, no worries. ;)

lopez
04/11/2004, 10:54 AM
I'll bring you back a nice bottle of Middleton the next time I'm home.
You'll be grand, no worries. ;)Actually my doctor says forget about four more years, try the rest of your life without Jack, Jim, James, Paddy, Wild Turkey, Four Roses and all my other 'liquid' pals. :D

04/11/2004, 11:34 AM
anyone knowingly giving even a cent to the israeli economy is supporting murder and genocide.

What a ridiculous statement to make!

On that basis it's interesting to know that so many Irish fans who will be spending money following Ireland in Isreal support murder and genocide. :rolleyes:

You go from accusing loads of City fans of being hooligans after the Rovers game earlier in the season to now basically accusing a load of Irish fans of suppporting murder and genocide. :rolleyes:

Get a grip man, this football match has nothing to do with any political stuff and people are perfectly entitled to go and support their national football team in ANY country they see fit.

Closed Account 2
04/11/2004, 11:35 AM
Ireland v China see http://www.fatherryan.org/holocaust/Tibet/history.htm

Ireland v Iran see http://www.endgenocide.org/genocide/bahai.html

Ireland v Turkey. see (I like this country as we get more than one ethnic group getting killed with this mob)

http://www.diaspora-net.org/Turkey/kurds.html

http://www.armenianhouse.org/genocide.html

Ireland v Russia see http://www.gfbv.de/gfbv_e/docus/russ_e.htm

Ireland v Nigeria see http://www.nigerdeltacongress.com/garticles/genocide_in_nigeria.htm

Ireland v Yugoslavia (Now Serbia & Montenegro) see http://www.chgs.umn.edu/Links___Bibliography/Links/G/g.html

Weve played all except China over the past 3-4 years havent we ? To be honest you could include more in that list...

Croatia (hear they were not too nice during WWII, Ushtase and all that)
Portugal (well they didnt leave Southern Africa with a great reputation)
Switzerland (hear they were fond of banking (http://www.cnn.com/US/9705/07/swiss.guard/) dubious money for the Germans between 1933-45, much of which still resides in Switzerland unless im mistaken ?)
France (I hear they didnt cover themselves in glory in Indochina or Algeria (http://reference.allrefer.com/country-guide-study/algeria/algeria39.html)).

Still I think the Cypriots and Faroese have better human rights records... just dont mention thewhales (http://archives.cnn.com/2000/NATURE/09/11/faroe.islands.enn/).

Pat O' Banton
04/11/2004, 11:54 AM
Think your being a bit hard on Eanna here.

For example as he points out there was a sporting boycott of South Africa during the period of their most dubious political practices, I certainly supported it, didn't most of the people on here? On issues like this, or Tibett or say Iraq's role in Kurdistan people do feel that there is injustice and that it will not be an issue that their democratic mandate covers, no Irish or Brit govt was ever going to rise or fall on these issues, so one of our only courses of action is to do something like refuse to visit or buy produce from these countries. A small form of direct action.

In fairness to anyone who belives that sport, and particularly international sport, and politics don't mix, it is well documented that they are tightly intertwined. Afterall why was there a boycott of South Africa in the first place?

The real fact of politics is that the most of us will pick and choose our battles, it just so happens that this is Eanna's. (Sorry if I'm speaking out of turn for you hombre.)

Pat O' Banton
04/11/2004, 12:44 PM
Pat your not going to israel so why dont you nip out of here back to the wife

Oooo bitchy... Sorry for giving my point of view on a subject, I'll try to remember not to voice opinions on a discussion board in future. :rolleyes:

Anyway your argement that politics isn't important to supporters hardly stands up. Can you honestly tell me that politics don't matter to many of the fans of any of the following teams, St. Pauli, Lazio, Bolonge, Genoa, Barca, Bilbao, R. Madrid, Cliftonville etc... there is a massive list.

Secondly why did the Argentinian government (1978) or the Italian govt (1934) put so much time and effort making abosolutely postive that the world cup was won by the host nation? As I pointed out before it was cultural imperialism, give the people something to divert their attention and to show how dynamic and suucessful that their country can be under the dictatorship.

Pat O' Banton
04/11/2004, 1:05 PM
Listen forget all your points. Do you think we should boycott our national team in Israel.Yes or No?

I'll fence sit here. Its an individual descision hombre, on balance, as I have pointed out i would not go even if the game were to be held outside Isreal. However this to me is an individual descision and if others want to go its up to them, I would respect their descion, I would expect people to respect mine.

Anyway why should you forget all the points and arguements, how else can you arrive at a rational descision with out weighing up all the facts in the first place. Now would you have gone to South Africa in the age of apartheid or do you think that the national team should take precedents over absolutely everything.

04/11/2004, 1:30 PM
The match will be in Cyprus if all this trouble continues. Cyprus twice in a year, now there is a thought. :) :) :) ;)

boc123
04/11/2004, 1:39 PM
Do you think we should boycott our national team in Israel.Yes or No?

I'd have to say No

Cowboy
04/11/2004, 1:48 PM
Now would you have gone to South Africa in the age of apartheid or do you think that the national team should take precedents over absolutely everything.

I would not have gone but neither would the Irish team at that time as South africa was quite rightly isolated. Once the decision is made by the team/govt to take part in a game my feeling is that I should support them. I will also tell any israeli who cares to listen what i think of their current policies.

I do respect your decision Pat but lets remember that this thread was started with the purpose of giving us some un asked for "advice"

I also note the earlier point made about our Taoiseach shaking hands with Yugslav players who he had previously prevented from entering the country, total hypocracy.

lopez
04/11/2004, 2:14 PM
...there was a sporting boycott of South Africa during the period of their most dubious political practices, I certainly supported it, didn't most of the people on here?The boycott of South Africa was totally different. SA was not just a nasty little state, but in the realms of international sport it proceeded to do two things that was guaranteed to put every country's noses out of joint (Ian Smith's Rhodesia excepted). Firstly it sought to discriminate who got into its own sides on the basis of colour (or sometimes not if you compare the skin tone and hair colour of some SA 'coloureds' with some of the master race). This was bad enough until, secondly, it sought to do the same to other people's sides. SA were already kicked out of the IOC by the time they started telling the MCC who not to send out to play for them (the Basil D'Oliveira case). To their disgrace, only the right-wingers running rugby decided otherwise, of which the IRFU were just as culpable.

Not since the third Reich had this happened. Not even when discrimination was a stated government policy of the Stormont junta did the IFA follow this course. Israel does not seek apartheid in its sporting teams. It has no apartheid in the elections aswell, although discrimination is another matter. Israeli Arabs (those living within Israel proper) are entitled to vote and get picked to play for Israel. Two of them played against us in 1984, one of them even scoring.

Still I think the Cypriots and Faroese have better human rights records... just dont mention thewhales (http://archives.cnn.com/2000/NATURE/09/11/faroe.islands.enn/).Take a visit to the border partitioning Cyprus and you'll get groups pestering you not to go to the other side holding up pictures of the other's deeds. As for the Faroes, them and Iceland and Norway are nothing but a bunch of mammal slaying f*ckers. They're almost as bad as...erm... :o ...the Spanish with their bullfighting.

Karlos
04/11/2004, 2:21 PM
Ok, I'm not very politically minded and for me personally politics plays no role in sport (although I understand it has and does). I completely support any Irish fan who would decide not to attend a game based on their political beliefs and people have got to do what THEY feel is right and stand by it! Does it make it you an less of a supporter if you make a polictical stance & watch a game from TV instead of travelling? I know my support never wains whether I'm at a game or not and I feel most of the individuals here are the same.

I'm far more concerned with supporters who have access to home match tickets, can afford to go and then choose not to attend attractive fixtures like Canada, USA & Faroes at Lansdowne because they don't feel like it, or 'it's gonna be crap' , or it's a little bit chilly out! They should burn in hell....!!!!!!!!!!! :D

04/11/2004, 3:02 PM
I think anyone who doen't go to the Israel Away game should be refused tickets for future home games. :p

Pat O' Banton
04/11/2004, 4:23 PM
The boycott of South Africa was totally different. SA was not just a nasty little state, but in the realms of international sport it proceeded to do two things that was guaranteed to put every country's noses out of joint (Ian Smith's Rhodesia excepted). Firstly it sought to discriminate who got into its own sides on the basis of colour (or sometimes not if you compare the skin tone and hair colour of some SA 'coloureds' with some of the master race). This was bad enough until, secondly, it sought to do the same to other people's sides. SA were already kicked out of the IOC by the time they started telling the MCC who not to send out to play for them (the Basil D'Oliveira case). To their disgrace, only the right-wingers running rugby decided otherwise, of which the IRFU were just as culpable.

Not since the third Reich had this happened. Not even when discrimination was a stated government policy of the Stormont junta did the IFA follow this course. Israel does not seek apartheid in its sporting teams. It has no apartheid in the elections aswell, although discrimination is another matter. Israeli Arabs (those living within Israel proper) are entitled to vote and get picked to play for Israel. Two of them played against us in 1984, one of them even scoring.

Take a visit to the border partitioning Cyprus and you'll get groups pestering you not to go to the other side holding up pictures of the other's deeds. As for the Faroes, them and Iceland and Norway are nothing but a bunch of mammal slaying f*ckers. They're almost as bad as...erm... :o ...the Spanish with their bullfighting.

Yes, but surely the ban of SA was also a way of the international community to show a solid front on its disapproval of the apartheid system (or am I being to idealistic here?) something that would prove far more difficult to do in the field of economics. It was also something that would directly affect white South Africans as they would see their beloved cricket and rugby teams isolated therefore using sport to show the population of a country that their political system was an anathema to right thinking people of the world.

I suppose as a vegetarian I should also be boycotting the Faroes Islands too, its going to get to a stage where I will need to get my mum and dad recognised as an international state so that I will be able to watch Ireland play with a clear conscience. :D

04/11/2004, 5:14 PM
Israel does not seek apartheid in its sporting teams. It has no apartheid in the elections aswell, although discrimination is another matter. Israeli Arabs (those living within Israel proper) are entitled to vote and get picked to play for Israel.
and who decided who lives in Israel "proper" and who lives in the land run by the palestinian authority? Israel! They kicked people out of their homes and denied them any status. If all the Palestinians who were kicked out byIsrael were giventheir lawful right to return, there would be no Israel. If that ain't apartheid, I dunno what is.

lopez
04/11/2004, 8:39 PM
Yes, but surely the ban of SA was also a way of the international community to show a solid front on its disapproval of the apartheid system (or am I being to idealistic here?)...
You are!

I suppose as a vegetarian...Huhh?? :eek: I'm almost certain you were tucking into some Fois Grois in Troyes. I gave meat up myself for a year (92 to 93) but the lure of bacon got the better of me. I do still give it up for lent, though.

and who decided who lives in Israel "proper" and who lives in the land run by the palestinian authority? Israel! They kicked people out of their homes and denied them any status. If all the Palestinians who were kicked out by Israel were giventheir lawful right to return, there would be no Israel. If that ain't apartheid, I dunno what is.No black person was given the right to vote in Apartheid SA. A classification known as 'coloured' were able to elect a select ammount of representatives to the Parliament. Calling Israel an 'apartheid state' is little short of an insult to the intelligence.

Again Eanna, you're being selective. Approx. the same ammount of Jews were forced out - in the same way as those in Israel, through fear - of Arab countries as Arabs were forced out of 'Israel proper.' Israel took them in. The Arabs let them carry on throwing stones at Israeli troops in sh*thole camps, while no doubt the discarded properties of Jews were distributed amongst the needy :rolleyes: of Cairo, Damascus and Rabat.

I've said it before, but the taking part of someone's country is theft. I wrote a letter to a London rag when a Jew wrote in complaining about Arafat being born outside of Palestine/Israel. I pointed out that both David Ben Gurion and Golda Meir were both born in Europe. The letter was never printed. However, the 'realpolitik' is that Israel is here to stay. 6 million Jews were murdered in that civilised continent of ours and someone had to pay the price in a country for the Jews. Unfortunately, it was the Arabs, not the Germans. Rightly or wrongly population exchanges have been a part of the 20C. Turkey/Greece, Germany/Poland & Czech Republic, Poland/Belarus & Ukraine, North-South Cyprus. A similar exchange in Ireland or with Britain may have saved 3.5K lives.

It's time that the Arabs realised that a similar population exchange has already happened and do something for their own people in the same way that the Israelis have done for theirs. Spend some of that oil money on resettlement rather than on $100M His and Hers yachts for themselves, make peace with Israel, and work towards an independent Palestinian state. Anyway, what do you suggest should be done to the Jews currently living in the ZOP?

1 9 2 8
04/11/2004, 9:18 PM
if you go to israel, you spend money in israel and you support the economy of a genocidal regime, and I repeat, anyone knowingly giving even a cent to the israeli economy is supporting murder and genocide.
That's basically what I was saying

04/11/2004, 9:40 PM
No black person was given the right to vote in Apartheid SA. A classification known as 'coloured' were able to elect a select ammount of representatives to the Parliament. Calling Israel an 'apartheid state' is little short of an insult to the intelligence.
I know exactly what happened in SA. I've studied it in quite a bit of detail (have you read Mandela's autobiography? Great read). I can see several very good reasons why israel is an apartheid-like state. its not exactly the same, but its a similar type of situation.

Again Eanna, you're being selective. Approx. the same ammount of Jews were forced out - in the same way as those in Israel, through fear - of Arab countries as Arabs were forced out of 'Israel proper.' Israel took them in.
Thats undeniable, and must of course be condemned.

I've said it before, but the taking part of someone's country is theft. I wrote a letter to a London rag when a Jew wrote in complaining about Arafat being born outside of Palestine/Israel. I pointed out that both David Ben Gurion and Golda Meir were both born in Europe.fair play to you,at least you can see through the lies and spin of Zionism and its allies.

Spend some of that oil money on resettlement rather than on $100M His and Hers yachts for themselves, make peace with Israel, and work towards an independent Palestinian state.
admirable hopes. can't see it working though. but you're right the oil money is going to a select few.

Anyway, what do you suggest should be done to the Jews currently living in the ZOP?this came up in the thread on bush and as I said there its a very hard call. I certainly don't accept any solution that forces more people to leave their homes. they live there now and are entitled to stay.

Cowboy
05/11/2004, 8:46 AM
I thought this was supposed to be a football forum ?

lopez
05/11/2004, 9:07 AM
Admiral hopes I concede, but then 'you may call me a dreamer. But I'm not the only one.' :D

Never read much on South Africa: only read the book to Cry Freedom while I did an analytical essay on John Vorster's Bloemfontein speech in which SA would not accept any touring sports team selected by people 'with certain political aims,' essentially kicking off the sporting boycott. I have been tempted to buy 'Long Walk to Freedom.' Another difference between the SA and the ZOP was the lack of a formidable opposition in the white minority of the former, compared to Jews in Israel, which either shows that SA was far more tyrannical or SA whites were more indifferent. There is a huge anti-zionist movement among Jews (collectively known in Zionist spin as 'self-hating Jews') stretching from leftist peaceniks (a friend of the Londoner peacenik murdered in Israel last year by a soldier, who was on TV condemning the shooting, had a clearly Jewish name) to the Hasidic Jews who are still awaiting the first coming. We should not judge all Israeli Jews - many of whom whose families have been in Palestine as long as any Arab - just because of Zionists.

I remember reading a book called Dispossesed about Palestine and another about Lebanon twenty years ago and feeling very angry about the treatment of Palestinians in both their own country and Lebanon. I can understand anyone wanting to protest against or boycott this country.

Pat O' Banton
05/11/2004, 10:42 AM
Huhh?? :eek: I'm almost certain you were tucking into some Fois Grois in Troyes.

I could have been as I don't have a clue what this is, am I being uncultured :confused:

lopez
05/11/2004, 11:29 AM
I could have been as I don't have a clue what this is, am I being uncultured :confused:It's goose liver pate, apparently derived from geese that are force fed nothing but fat to give it that special flavour. The bloke in 'Size Me Up' was told by doctors that after a month of nothing but McMurders his liver began to resemble Fois Gras. Anyway, this inhumane treatment of Geese, along with the French penchant for shooting anything that flies and scarve sellers conning customers is enough for me to boycott any of future meeting that Ireland may have in this thug state. Looking forward to some Puffin pie in the Faroes, are you? :D

Cowboy
05/11/2004, 12:19 PM
Dont forget the pilot whale steak :)

It's goose liver pate, apparently derived from geese that are force fed nothing but fat to give it that special flavour. The bloke in 'Size Me Up' was told by doctors that after a month of nothing but McMurders his liver began to resemble Fois Gras. Anyway, this inhumane treatment of Geese, along with the French penchant for shooting anything that flies and scarve sellers conning customers is enough for me to boycott any of future meeting that Ireland may have in this thug state. Looking forward to some Puffin pie in the Faroes, are you? :D

Pat O' Banton
05/11/2004, 12:41 PM
It's goose liver pate, apparently derived from geese that are force fed nothing but fat to give it that special flavour. The bloke in 'Size Me Up' was told by doctors that after a month of nothing but McMurders his liver began to resemble Fois Gras. Anyway, this inhumane treatment of Geese, along with the French penchant for shooting anything that flies and scarve sellers conning customers is enough for me to boycott any of future meeting that Ireland may have in this thug state. Looking forward to some Puffin pie in the Faroes, are you? :D

I think I'll be surviving on a healthy diet of Pot Noodle and canned lager, not a great deal different to my norf landan diet. ;)
As for France, I can take their unwarrented nuclear tests in a tropical paradise, their nasty colonial history, sinking Greenpeace boats. But their f*cking scarf sellers :mad: no way! I'm with you they go on my Axis of evil.

When I work out how this will effect the French nation then they'll be worried :eek: