View Full Version : Series 12.

09/05/2014, 9:27 PM
So.....there were a few games played tonight?

09/05/2014, 9:35 PM
Yeah, apparently. But mostly the LOI Blog's twitter was hacked.

"Highlights" included reports of a horse on the pitch in Waterford, a rapist on the pitch at Richmond and then a bunch of porny retweets.

09/05/2014, 9:57 PM
Wait - is that true or is that you being Mr A?

That's hilarious if so.

Absolutely nothing at all happened in Dalymount, bar one moment of genius from Benson when a 20-yard curler hit the post, after a lovely flowing passing move.

But it ends a run of 25 months without a 0-0, so I suppose we can't really complain much.

Still, two games recently where we haven't managed a sniff of goal despite playing against ten men for an hour; slightly worrying.

09/05/2014, 9:58 PM
I am being Mr A. But it's also true.

09/05/2014, 10:11 PM
Some Shels fans caused a bit of trouble in Waterford apparently. They acted up on their trip to the CCS too, broke seats and threw flares on the pitch. Shelbourne got fined over it. They apparently had a number of meetings with their supporters aimed at trying to prevent that element acting up again but it doesn't sound like it worked.

patsdad
09/05/2014, 10:19 PM
One of the most cynical things I have ever seen on a soccer pitch at Richmond tonight - in the very first minute Dan Murray kicked Christy Fagan hard - no attempt to play the ball, a quite clear intention to injure him. Which duly happened, and that was Fagan's game over. The normally card-happy Sutton inexplicably chose not to show a yellow, and that set the tone for Cork's approach for the rest of the half.

09/05/2014, 10:26 PM
Took in the Pats-Cork game. I was a couple of minutes late so I missed the Fagan incident, but thought Cork were very unlucky to come away with nothing. The penalty looked like a total dive from Bermingham. Can't say Cork were any more physical than Pats, just Pats got away with more as the home team. Sutton was oddly reticent to use his cards though, for once.

NeverFeltBetter
09/05/2014, 10:30 PM
Serious alarm bells ringing in Limerick right now.

PartySaint
09/05/2014, 10:33 PM
Delighted with that win tonight, Cork a horrible team. I gave then the benefit of doubt after the first game of the season but to be playing like that 10 games later is horrendous. Kicked anyone that moved and started to time waste after they scored in the 15th minute.

They played much better football under Dunne, if they had a Dub in charge this season he would have got the sack by now for the football they play.

desaintsno.12
09/05/2014, 10:35 PM
That Cork team are horrible, they really are. Thought it might have been a once off when we played down in Cork, but they showed again that their main tactic is to kick the opposition,terrible carry on. Thankfully I think they will finish well outside the top 4

Nah Nah Nah Nah
09/05/2014, 10:40 PM
Took in the Pats-Cork game. I was a couple of minutes late so I missed the Fagan incident, but thought Cork were very unlucky to come away with nothing. The penalty looked like a total dive from Bermingham. Can't say Cork were any more physical than Pats, just Pats got away with more as the home team. Sutton was oddly reticent to use his cards though, for once.

Blatant penalty according to the report on RTE

09/05/2014, 10:46 PM
Blatant penalty according to the report on RTE
Might have looked different from the media gantry but from the other side of the pitch it looked like Bermingham fell before Lenihan got near him. I might be wrong though, it happened quite quickly.

CityRebel
09/05/2014, 11:01 PM
Delighted with that win tonight, Cork a horrible team. I gave then the benefit of doubt after the first game of the season but to be playing like that 10 games later is horrendous. Kicked anyone that moved and started to time waste after they scored in the 15th minute.

They played much better football under Dunne, if they had a Dub in charge this season he would have got the sack by now for the football they play.

That Cork team are horrible, they really are. Thought it might have been a once off when we played down in Cork, but they showed again that their main tactic is to kick the opposition,terrible carry on. Thankfully I think they will finish well outside the top 4

Haha well according to a neutral at the game, quoted below, we were no more physical than ye and ye got away with more (as ye did in the first game this season). We played better football under Dunne? Hahaha :D

PartySaint
09/05/2014, 11:38 PM
We played better football under Dunne? Hahaha :D

It Cork fans are happy to watch that every week then fair play, other clubs fans opinions don't matter.

I'm going to guess tho that when Cork start falling down the table there might be a good few complaints about the style of football they play from the natives.

CityRebel
10/05/2014, 12:01 AM
It Cork fans are happy to watch that every week then fair play, other clubs fans opinions don't matter.

I'm going to guess tho that when Cork start falling down the table there might be a good few complaints about the style of football they play from the natives.

What style is that, going out to attack and win games?

10/05/2014, 6:40 AM
Rod after last nights game, pressure?
http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk/sport/football/derry-city/city-fans-boo-after-defeat-1-6051167

desaintsno.12
10/05/2014, 7:18 AM
What style is that, going out to attack and win games?

Really ? You genuinely like the style of play ? Not questioning that they go out to win , but it's atrocious football to watch.
Hack the team with the ball (preferably with studs down the ankles or kick the ankles) and hoof it forward as quick as possible when you have it. It's been effective up to a few weeks ago. I reckon you will start to slide now though and as you do and lose more games, the way they play will be more of an issue

oriel
10/05/2014, 7:40 AM
Sounded very hard luck on Cork, especially after pulling it level so late, but you can't switch off for a minute. This season I'd say the league leaders might change every second week. It's definitely getting very tight at the top.

Dalymountrower
10/05/2014, 7:42 AM
Wait - is that true or is that you being Mr A?

That's hilarious if so.

Absolutely nothing at all happened in Dalymount, bar one moment of genius from Benson when a 20-yard curler hit the post, after a lovely flowing passing move.

But it ends a run of 25 months without a 0-0, so I suppose we can't really complain much.

Still, two games recently where we haven't managed a sniff of goal despite playing against ten men for an hour; slightly worrying.
What did you see re the sending off? Looked to me as if both players fell over each other?
Ithought UCD had more ambition when playing against the eleven men.Two quality saves, one from each keeper, Benson hitting the post and Jayo missing a sitter at the end,that was about it.

10/05/2014, 8:06 AM
Rod after last nights game, pressure?
http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk/sport/football/derry-city/city-fans-boo-after-defeat-1-6051167

That's fantastic.

CityRebel
10/05/2014, 8:12 AM
Really ? You genuinely like the style of play ? Not questioning that they go out to win , but it's atrocious football to watch.
Hack the team with the ball (preferably with studs down the ankles or kick the ankles) and hoof it forward as quick as possible when you have it. It's been effective up to a few weeks ago. I reckon you will start to slide now though and as you do and lose more games, the way they play will be more of an issue

We go out to attack, we can put together some nice passing moves, hardly what you'd call atrocious. By all accounts we weren't at our best tonight and got punished. Pats fans seem to have this notion that we hack teams with the ball which is absolute rubbish, even the neutrals disagree with ye. Fagan got injured, nobody wants that to happen but that's football, we've had only one senior striker fit since the start of the season because the other three were injured, get over it.

10/05/2014, 8:37 AM
What did you see re the sending off? Looked to me as if both players fell over each other?
Ithought UCD had more ambition when playing against the eleven men.Two quality saves, one from each keeper, Benson hitting the post and Jayo missing a sitter at the end,that was about it.
I was down that end, and my first reaction was that it was a red, albeit a soft one. I thought there was contact, and if there was, then it was a red. I think neither player was helped by the back-spin on the ball; the ball definitely changed direction, and both players reacted to that, which probably knocked both off balance a bit.

No quibbles with the rest of your summary at all though. Awful game. We had something like ten corners in the first half (mostly against 11) and one in the second half (against 10)

Have to look on it as two points dropped really.

10/05/2014, 10:02 AM
Fagan got injured, nobody wants that to happen but that's football, .

He didn't get injured all by himself though. A blatant and cynical kick from Murray, who then proceeded to do the same to his replacement, Daryl Kavanagh. How he didn't get booked earlier in the game is a mystery.

PartySaint
10/05/2014, 10:10 AM
We go out to attack, we can put together some nice passing moves, hardly what you'd call atrocious. By all accounts we weren't at our best tonight and got punished. Pats fans seem to have this notion that we hack teams with the ball which is absolute rubbish, even the neutrals disagree with ye. Fagan got injured, nobody wants that to happen but that's football, we've had only one senior striker fit since the start of the season because the other three were injured, get over it.

Ah so you weren't at the game, feel free to keep telling us how you played so.

Cork fans singing 'I'd rather be a Paki than a Dub' that's good for them.

CityRebel
10/05/2014, 10:20 AM
Ah so you weren't at the game, feel free to keep telling us how you played so.

Ye were whinging about the same things after the first game this season.

Some of ye would get offended by a gust of wind. Ye really are a sensitive bunch. :D

10/05/2014, 10:25 AM
So you weren't even at that the game. Ah that explains it.

CityRebel
10/05/2014, 10:36 AM
So you weren't even at that the game. Ah that explains it.

Come back to reality Dodge, even the neutrals think ye're spouting rubbish.

10/05/2014, 10:42 AM
Come back to reality Dodge, even the neutrals think ye're spouting rubbish.

How would you know? You weren't there...

Hulsey
10/05/2014, 10:43 AM
Ye were whinging about the same things after the first game this season.

Some of ye would get offended by a gust of wind. Ye really are a sensitive bunch. :D

So you think that kind of singing is ok?

CityRebel
10/05/2014, 10:52 AM
How would you know? You weren't there...

How would I know the neutrals think you're spouting rubbish? Because I read their comments and articles, and none of them match the whinging coming from the Pats fans.

desaintsno.12
10/05/2014, 11:28 AM
How would I know the neutrals think you're spouting rubbish? Because I read their comments and articles, and none of them match the whinging coming from the Pats fans.

Your argument ended as soon as you said you weren't there.

We have no reason to make this up, you are no where near title contenders and haven't beaten us, this isn't sour grapes or rivalry issues.
Cork will finish 5th or 6th.
We played Cork twice this season, and twice they played a horrible brand of football and cyclically kicked us all night. They weren't tackling hard, they were kicking, bit if a difference. If they were hard tackles I'd say fair play, but that wasn't the case.

White Horse
10/05/2014, 12:06 PM

Did that really happen?

What did the stewards do?

10/05/2014, 12:07 PM
Give it a break CityRebel. Defending racist songs and challenging people on a game you weren't at. You're not really coming out of this smelling like roses...

10/05/2014, 12:11 PM
Did that really happen?

What did the stewards do?

Didn't hear it inside the ground. Was on Emmet Road though. Group of 15 or so young lads. Lasted for about 30 seconds or so

White Horse
10/05/2014, 12:18 PM
Didn't hear it inside the ground. Was on Emmet Road though. Group of 15 or so young lads. Lasted for about 30 seconds or so

Disgraceful carry-on. I thought those days were over.

CityRebel
10/05/2014, 12:25 PM
Your argument ended as soon as you said you weren't there.

We have no reason to make this up, you are no where near title contenders and haven't beaten us, this isn't sour grapes or rivalry issues.
Cork will finish 5th or 6th.
We played Cork twice this season, and twice they played a horrible brand of football and cyclically kicked us all night. They weren't tackling hard, they were kicking, bit if a difference. If they were hard tackles I'd say fair play, but that wasn't the case.
Still ignoring the comments made by neutrals then that ye matched our physicality? Ye came out with the same rubbish after the first game this season, where your players were cynically play-acting all night. By all accounts we didn't click and play as well as we could last night, but we go out to play attacking football and win games.

10/05/2014, 12:33 PM
we go out to play attacking football and win games.
Patently not true, from having seen Cork in the Bowl. Ten men behind the ball for most of it; didn't even pretend to play football in the second half.

Seriously, maybe the neutrals are right, maybe the Pat's fans are right, but as you weren't at the game, people are perfectly entitled to ignore your opinions.

CityRebel
10/05/2014, 12:36 PM
Patently not true, from having seen Cork in the Bowl. Ten men behind the ball for most of it; didn't even pretend to play football in the second half.

Seriously, maybe the neutrals are right, maybe the Pat's fans are right, but as you weren't at the game, people are perfectly entitled to ignore your opinions.

We had to play with 10 men for over an hour against ye, apologies for not turning it on like Brazil :D

Hulsey
10/05/2014, 12:37 PM
Still ignoring the comments made by neutrals then that ye matched our physicality? Ye came out with the same rubbish after the first game this season, where your players were cynically play-acting all night. By all accounts we didn't click and play as well as we could last night, but we go out to play attacking football and win games.
Just like you have ignored comments on you seemingly condoning the chanting? Opinions on how teams play are allowed, opinions on if rascism is out of order are not imo.

10/05/2014, 12:40 PM
We had to play with 10 men for over an hour against ye, apologies for not turning it on like Brazil :D
Against the side with the worst defensive record in the league, ye could at least have risked one man up.

So you'll forgive me laughing at your comments that Cork try to play football.

Sorry, but from what I've seen of Cork, I'll agree with the Pat's fans on this one.

And as for dismissing racist chanting like you have...

Real ale Madrid
10/05/2014, 12:41 PM

That's disgusting and a bit depressing.

Down to ten men for the most of that and being 1 up, then that can hardly be used as a barometer of how we normally play.

10/05/2014, 12:44 PM
Bohs were down to ten men for the same length last night, and created far more than Cork did.

I agree that it shouldn't be a normal measure, but when a fairly poor Bohs side play more ball than Cork under the same circumstances, then I think it's fair to use the example to challenge the OP.

CityRebel
10/05/2014, 12:57 PM
Bohs were down to ten men for the same length last night, and created far more than Cork did.

I agree that it shouldn't be a normal measure, but when a fairly poor Bohs side play more ball than Cork under the same circumstances, then I think it's fair to use the example to challenge the OP.

Against the side with the worst defensive record in the league, ye could at least have risked one man up.

So you'll forgive me laughing at your comments that Cork try to play football.

Sorry, but from what I've seen of Cork, I'll agree with the Pat's fans on this one.

And as for dismissing racist chanting like you have...

We were 1-0 up away from home before we had to play with 10 men for over an hour, in a ground where we had dropped points in recent years. Two different games entirely.

I don't condone racism and I apologise if I upset any Dubs or the PC brigade.

10/05/2014, 12:59 PM
We were 1-0 up away from home before we had to play with 10 men for over an hour, in a ground where we had dropped points in recent years. Two different games entirely.
See point above. If Bohs could play a bit of ball against us with ten men, surely the mighty Cork should be able to?

I absolutely acknowledge that Cork had a gameplan, playing on one of our weaknesses (inability to open up packed defences), but it kind of flies in the face of your idea that ye play nice, attacking football.

I don't condone racism and I apologise if I upset any Dubs or the PC brigade.
Wow. You really don't get it, do you?

El-Pietro
10/05/2014, 1:00 PM

bohs were at home. big difference. bohs werent winning. big difference.

we havent played well in a few weeks though now.

10/05/2014, 1:02 PM
bohs were at home. big difference. bohs werent winning. big difference.
Bohs are muck. Cork are being put across as a great team. Negates the differences.

we havent played well in a few weeks though now.
That's fair enough.

CityRebel
10/05/2014, 1:04 PM
See point above. If Bohs could play a bit of ball against us with ten men, surely the mighty Cork should be able to?

I absolutely acknowledge that Cork had a gameplan, playing on one of our weaknesses (inability to open up packed defences), but it kind of flies in the face of your idea that ye play nice, attacking football.

Wow. You really don't get it, do you?

No, it doesn't really. We were 1-0 up away from home in a ground where we'd dropped points in recent years, before going down to 10 men, and still created some chances while restricting the opposition. That sort of situation doesn't really call for all out attacking football. Bohs were at home, it was 0-0.

10/05/2014, 1:12 PM
Still not a single sign in that entire match that Cork were anything other than a rather pedestrian team.

Still not apologising for defending the racism? Apologising for others getting offended isn't the same thing, you know that?

CityRebel
10/05/2014, 1:17 PM
Still not a single sign in that entire match that Cork were anything other than a rather pedestrian team.

Still not apologising for defending the racism? Apologising for others getting offended isn't the same thing, you know that?

It's beyond me that you don't understand why a team 1-0 up away from home with ten men for over an hour would not go out an attack as if they had eleven.

Defending racism? I said that I don't condone racism.

10/05/2014, 1:20 PM
You dismissed those criticising the chants as PC, or Dubs getting easily offended.

You absolutely do condone racism going by those comments. It's others' fault for getting offended easily.

It never even occurred to you that Asians might be offended by the comments too. Quite a blinkered view overall there.