View Full Version : Series 10
26/04/2014, 8:11 AM
Benson's goal online somehow -
9rPuMrSpR3k
Ezeikial
26/04/2014, 8:58 AM
Good Result tonight, well deserved, got Dundalk on a bad night, Scully, Cassidy and Kelly were excellent for us...some disgruntled away fans not too happy with Towells display.Bray punching above their weight even without a few key players, long may it last....
Totally deserved by Bray. Although Dundalk were poor on the night (for the 2nd match running), Bray were excellent - individually and collectively.
Apart from the 3 you mentioned - Scully was a big surprise to me - Adam Mitchell and Dave Webster were rock solid at the back and Ismahil Akinade caused a lot of problems up front. Based on that level of performance, Bray could upset many fancied teams this season.
Under Stephen Kenny, Dundalk have consistently reacted well to a defeat and bounced back quickly - Cork to suffer the backlash next week?
Pablo Escobar
26/04/2014, 9:32 AM
Look at the keepers reaction!
https://www.flickr.com/photos/39020932@N05/14009740512/
adamd164
26/04/2014, 9:37 AM
Robbie Benson goal for UCD v Derry:
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/12141/
Dalymountrower
26/04/2014, 9:50 AM
Shocking decision. Robbed of 2 points.
Some dilemna for Hoopy Doyle.Difficult to believe he would do Bohs a favour.
From all newspaper reports Bohs should have been well ahead if they had taken their second half chances
Pablo Escobar
26/04/2014, 9:58 AM
Some dilemna for Hoopy Doyle.Difficult to believe he would do Bohs a favour.
From all newspaper reports Bohs should have been well ahead if they had taken their second half chances
Bohs had the better of the game, but it was incredibly difficult for us. We couldn't get out of our half the wind was that strong. Your keeper kicked a few goal kicks out for a goal kick to us, which seems a good tactic as you just pushed up on us, we couldn't play anything short and McNulty was barely clearing the box. I've honestly never seen weather like that at a game before.
CityRebel
26/04/2014, 10:48 AM
Totally deserved by Bray. Although Dundalk were poor on the night (for the 2nd match running), Bray were excellent - individually and collectively.
Apart from the 3 you mentioned - Scully was a big surprise to me - Adam Mitchell and Dave Webster were rock solid at the back and Ismahil Akinade caused a lot of problems up front. Based on that level of performance, Bray could upset many fancied teams this season.
Under Stephen Kenny, Dundalk have consistently reacted well to a defeat and bounced back quickly - Cork to suffer the backlash next week?
Us to suffer your backlash? We're the ones who've been robbed of two points last night while ye were gifted two against Athlone.
26/04/2014, 10:51 AM
Us to suffer your backlash? We're the ones who've been robbed of two points last night while ye were gifted two against Athlone.
The same day they were 'gifted' points in Athlone, Cork's winning goal was clearly offside
CityRebel
26/04/2014, 10:52 AM
The same day they were 'gifted' points in Athlone, Cork's winning goal was clearly offside
No, it wasn't offside.
CityRebel
26/04/2014, 11:02 AM
Look at the keepers reaction!
https://www.flickr.com/photos/39020932@N05/14009740512/
That sequence of pics show it perfectly. None of the Bohs defenders were complaining either, they knew it was a goal. Unbelievable decision by the ref. The linesman on that side was half asleep too so I suppose it would've been a bit much for him to see it.
I suppose the ref will be happy since it's a good result for Shams.
Yossarian
26/04/2014, 11:16 AM
We were very poor last night again but unlike in Athlone we didn't get away with it. I think Kenny really needs to have a good look at midfield. The loss of O'Donnell is huge and Higgins has done absolutely nothing in his place. Towell was poor again last night and he could easily have been subbed. Bray played well and fully deserved the win. If they continue like that they'll be grand this season.
It's going to be a tough game for us next week. I would put Mountney in midfield as he plays with energy and can get up and down the pitch much more than Higgins.
26/04/2014, 11:41 AM
No, it wasn't offside.
Presume dodge was talking about your goal against us, which was blatantly offside (albeit that it looks strange because of the guy on the line, but with the keeper six yards out, it's still offside)
CityRebel
26/04/2014, 11:53 AM
Presume dodge was talking about your goal against us, which was blatantly offside (albeit that it looks strange because of the guy on the line, but with the keeper six yards out, it's still offside)
If you look at the footage the keeper was getting back and was back in line with O'Sullivan when Dennehy took a shot and it hit off him.
Ezeikial
26/04/2014, 12:26 PM
Excellent point.
Your reasoning is impeccable - Cork to canter to victory next Friday due to poor refereeing decision in previous matches.
26/04/2014, 12:28 PM
If you look at the footage the keeper was getting back and was back in line with O'Sullivan when Dennehy took a shot and it hit off him.
Sure the Cork guy was on the line when the shot was taken. And the keeper was six yards out.
CityRebel
26/04/2014, 12:31 PM
Excellent point.
Your reasoning is impeccable - Cork to canter to victory next Friday due to poor refereeing decision in previous matches.
Read the posts again, I didn't say we'll canter to victory next Friday, let alone due to poor refereeing decisions in previous matches.
Sure the Cork guy was on the line when the shot was taken. And the keeper was six yards out.
He wasn't on the line when the shot was taken, he was in the 6 yard box, as was the keeper.
Ezeikial
26/04/2014, 12:36 PM
Read the posts again, I didn't say we'll canter to victory next Friday, let alone due to poor refereeing decisions in previous matches.
No - I said that, while mocking the victim mentality displayed in your earlier post.
CityRebel
26/04/2014, 12:41 PM
No - I said that, while mocking the victim mentality displayed in your earlier post.
Maybe we should playact, dive and cheat like a lot of other teams instead of playing honest football, because at the moment we're getting ridden rock solid as Rico would say. To Bohs credit, they were honest throughout the game and they didn't complain to the ref after we scored at the end.
Ezeikial
26/04/2014, 12:46 PM
Maybe we should playact, dive and cheat like a lot of other teams instead of playing honest football, because at the moment we're getting ridden rock solid as Rico would say. To Bohs credit, they were honest throughout the game and they didn't complain to the ref after we scored at the end.
Do you think this is a pro-Dublin or anti-Cork conspiracy?
I really hope it is the latter............
CityRebel
26/04/2014, 12:58 PM
Do you think this is a pro-Dublin or anti-Cork conspiracy?
I really hope it is the latter............
There is no excuse for the goal that was disallowed last night. Everyone in the ground apart from the ref and linesman knew it was a good goal.
Pablo Escobar
26/04/2014, 1:01 PM
So you were trolling? That's not better.
Anyway, it'll be tough for us next week, as it is every week. I feel that we'll either win, lose or draw. Such is football.
Ezeikial
26/04/2014, 1:18 PM
So you were trolling? That's not better.
I don't know.........but I was certainly having a good chuckle at how City Rebel reacted to my innocent comment about a potential Dundalk backlash following a couple of poor performances.
CityRebel
26/04/2014, 1:22 PM
I don't know.........but I was certainly having a good chuckle at how City Rebel reacted to my innocent comment about a potential Dundalk backlash following a couple of poor performances.
Substitute "ridiculous" for "innocent".
PartySaint
26/04/2014, 3:02 PM
Honest football, brilliant.
I hope you get the honesty award at the end of the season.
Can Dundalk fans confirm if Bray played we are the Champions after they beat the 'Champions' last night?
I have to say I missed the unique cocky/victim whinge that only certain Cork fans are capable of.
Always good craic
CityRebel
26/04/2014, 4:05 PM
Honest football, brilliant.
I hope you get the honesty award at the end of the season.
Can Dundalk fans confirm if Bray played we are the Champions after they beat the 'Champions' last night?
You wouldn't know much about honest football, half of the Pat's team resemble Bambi on Ice.
CityRebel
26/04/2014, 4:16 PM
I have to say I missed the unique cocky/victim whinge that only certain Cork fans are capable of.
Always good craic
We should've had a peno at the start of the Sligo game when Rogers knocked out Buckley, so 4 points robbed by poor refereeing decisions. Not to mention the questionable sending off of Dunleavy against yourselves and the impact that had on the game.
Pablo Escobar
26/04/2014, 4:44 PM
We should've had a peno at the start of the Sligo game when Rogers knocked out Buckley, so 4 points robbed by poor refereeing decisions. Not to mention the questionable sending off of Dunleavy against yourselves and the impact that had on the game.
They say these things balance themselves out over the course of the season and as seen by our goal at UCD it may be true. However, blatantly bad refereeing decisions will continue to annoy fans and any clubs fans that says they're any different are burying their heads in the sand.
It would be great if Neil Doyle tried to make up for it in Dundalk should we get him. Here's hoping. ;)
What are you on about? Sure Roddy's doing a great job...
...of making Fenlon seem like a palatable option :o
Nutsy is available. :p
adamd164
26/04/2014, 5:03 PM
I tend to believe that luck evens itself out over the course of a season.
One week you get a bit of luck, the next it might go against you. But over the course of a season the best teams will usually come out on top.
sulywaterfordfc
26/04/2014, 6:00 PM
Deserved win for Waterford last night. Much improved from recent weeks. But I'd still be concerned about the lack of goals from our strikers. So far it's looking like its going to be our biggest downfall. Once again we kept another clean to give us 6 clean sheets out of 8 games. Former Bohemians man Shane Murray is starting to look a very good player in midfield for us since he returned after a spell on the side lines. We got a wee bit of luck for the first goal but it was deserved, through Winn missing the ball leaving Pa acting quickest to score for the second week running. Didn't really see the second goal only seen Doherty been played through on goal where he had good composure to slot it past the keeper. We deservedly got a red card when Doherty dived, think it's he's second or third hes got a booking for diving this year.
Overall we looked in control of the game from when we went one nil up and scored the second goal at the right time.
Finn Harps on the other hand are a poor poor side, I've seen them twice this year and they haven't looked good at all. Didn't create much, no real style of play and offered nothing to neither game. Even when we went down to ten men with 35 minutes remaining they didn't look like scoring. If anything we came closet to scoring. Burns mad a couple of saves for us but as he's a keeper you'd expect him to make them saves. Harps didn't deserve anything from the game. Harps players were tackling poorly at times. At one stage a Harps player torn a Waterford player off the pitch for no reason whats so ever. Number six for Harps fouled several times, chaps not able to tackle.
Referee was awful blew the whistle any chance he could. Wouldn't leave the game flow. The referee was right to send off Doherty for us, as from where I was standing it looked very minimal contact.
Poor attendance. Hopefully we can built on the last two wins as we're starting to play a lot better. Next week against Galway will be a big game where I'd take a draw.
Once again great atmosphere in the RSC great to see so many young teens involved.
I tend to believe that luck evens itself out over the course of a season.
One week you get a bit of luck, the next it might go against you. But over the course of a season the best teams will usually come out on top.
The best team always wins the league. Always.
Hitman
26/04/2014, 6:49 PM
By registered post...
PartySaint
26/04/2014, 7:03 PM
You wouldn't know much about honest football, half of the Pat's team resemble Bambi on Ice.
I'm glad this new Cork team was set up to save the integrity of football
Town Legend
26/04/2014, 7:23 PM
1-1 here at ht between the Town and Galway.
26/04/2014, 9:49 PM
I'm glad this new Cork team was set up to save the integrity of football
To be fair, there's been a massive void for a truly morally-superior football team ever since Barcelona took the money from the Qatar Foundation. We, in our drug-addled Dublin stupors, can only hope to learn from their example.
desaintsno.12
28/04/2014, 8:46 AM
ha ha, i forgot how much we upset you earlier on the season.
Well i hope Christy"Bambi on Ice" Fagan, keeps up his act. he's on fire.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/04/2014, 6:57 PM
Rubbish
28/04/2014, 7:49 PM
Rubbish
Agreed. They should have had two, one for the foul and a second for being the sole beacon of honesty and integrity in an increasingly dishonourable sport.
28/04/2014, 8:30 PM
Agreed. They should have had two, one for the foul and a second for being the sole beacon of honesty and integrity in an increasingly dishonourable sport.
Naw more like a score for putting the ball over the bar and 3 for back of the net and maybe even 1 for a wide. Bonus points too for being the only side that suffers from poor officialdom
patrickccfc
28/04/2014, 9:14 PM
Personally I don't think that should of been a peno against Sligo for the alleged punch on buckley.. sure I was raging about the goal not being given the other night but shur the ref is only human and made the decision he thought was right at that moment and from whatever angle he seen it from it wasn't the same as us or the the camera man that took the shots.. these kind of decisions can happen to anyone at any time.. delighted with our start so far but real tests coming in the next 2 weeks with dundalk and pats away would love at least 1 win out of those games
Always thought our last league title in 1995 was a little fortunate, we were 3rd on the last day, and I'd say if the season went on another 2 weeks we would not have held on. Think we lost something like 8 games too. Also it took 2 results and our own game obviously to go in our favour, including missed penalty by Derry away to Athlone, we won it by a point. Don't get me wrong i enjoyed the celebrations but still thought it was a most unlikely league title. We got relegated 4 seasons later.
29/04/2014, 9:04 AM
He wasn't on the line when the shot was taken, he was in the 6 yard box, as was the keeper.
Having looked at it again, you might have a point alright! Though the angle's not the best.
Here's the main bits from the Derry-UCD game on Friday. The last clip is our second goal ruled out for offside apparently. Now that's blatant.
Also worth watching for the reaction from the Derry fans to Benson's goal.
3GbGY7T72I8
Dalymountrower
29/04/2014, 2:06 PM
Always thought our last league title in 1995 was a little fortunate, we were 3rd on the last day, and I'd say if the season went on another 2 weeks we would not have held on. Think we lost something like 8 games too. Also it took 2 results and our own game obviously to go in our favour, including missed penalty by Derry away to Athlone, we won it by a point. Don't get me wrong i enjoyed the celebrations but still thought it was a most unlikely league title. We got relegated 4 seasons later.
Cork Iterations winning the league in `92-`93`after finishing third on goal difference is another one that might counter Dodges theory!
Just enough time has passed for me to speak of it!
adamd164
29/04/2014, 4:11 PM
They brought in that rule about goal difference after just to rub salt in the wounds. :p
Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/04/2014, 9:49 PM
There is no excuse for the goal that was disallowed last night. Everyone in the ground apart from the ref and linesman knew it was a good goal.
Not based on soccer republic coverage last night
29/04/2014, 10:07 PM
Are you questioning the honesty and moral superiority of Cork City Football Club?
Pablo Escobar
30/04/2014, 7:18 AM
I didn't see the show, but I was right in front of the incident. It should have been a goal. What did they show? I have an image of Murphy dropping the ball and then they just cut to the 'Blazzing Saddles' scene of Mongo punching the horse, and then we see Neil Doyle whistling for a free-out.
30/04/2014, 7:56 AM
Genuinely too difficult to tell from the footage because of the camera being so far away. They can zoom in only so many times before the quality of the footage is completely lost.
It was very, very close though. The goalkeeper seemed to have his hands on the ball just as the forward put his foot in, but milliseconds would be the difference really as to whether he actually had control of the ball or not, as I believe the rule is that the goalkeeper has to have control of the ball with both his hands before it's deemed a foul.
Some referees will give it, and some won't. It's just one of those things in football that can go either way, and unfortunately for Cork, it went against them this time. I know, as a goalkeeper myself, were that given as a goal against me, I'd be absolutely livid.