View Full Version : Walking to $hels?

colblimp
28/10/2004, 2:38 PM
If anyone has a spare seat in their car, coach, boat, plane, train or whatever could they please get in touch with me.

Ians coaches are full and I'm desperate to go to the $hels game tomorrow....

I'm willing to pay my way and would really appreciate it.

My mobile number is: 086 050 9567.

Thanks, in anticipation. (An Englishman in Cork.)

28/10/2004, 2:43 PM
what about the train?????????

Soko
28/10/2004, 2:59 PM
Ya but getting out of there then

What about the bus or taxis? Are they all on strike or what? I'm getting the train and theres not a hope in hell I'm walkin out there.

28/10/2004, 3:03 PM
What about the bus or taxis? Are they all on strike or what? I'm getting the train and theres not a hope in hell I'm walkin out there.

Get a Luas from Heuston Station to O'Connell/Abbey Street. Then get 3, 11, 11A, 16, 16A at North end of O'Connell St or Westmoreland Street and get off at Fagans.

28/10/2004, 3:06 PM
Lads a few options for those who want to go to the match.

Get a return ticket for the aircoach www.aircoach.ie (http://www.aircoach.ie) for €30. Now there is none straight after the match but...the first one to Cork is at 6 in the morning so just go out for a few drinsk and then onto a club, bit to eat after wards and tada its 6 o clock, or alternitvly you coudl skips the drinking etc and go get a few hours kip on a seat in the airport

ollie
28/10/2004, 3:08 PM
what about the train?????????

i'm takin the train as well.hostel overnight.down the next morning easy as pie...?not hard to get to fagans in all fairness especially if you go to croke park occasionally

28/10/2004, 3:10 PM
especially if you go to croke park occasionally

we will have less of that language in here!!!!!!!!

colblimp
28/10/2004, 3:22 PM
Hmmmm....... Lots of great suggestions BUT (!) I have to be in Cork for 08.00 because my (football loving haha) girlfriend is going away for the weekend and I am the pack-horse with all her luggage. :mad:

So, I'm still hanging for that 1 seat in a car.

HELP!!!!!!

ollie
28/10/2004, 3:31 PM
we will have less of that language in here!!!!!!!!

sorry if your a regular visitor to whitehall

28/10/2004, 3:34 PM
sorry if your a regular visitor to whitehall

thats better

one_bounce
28/10/2004, 3:37 PM
why dont the lads getting the train all gather in the 1st or last carriage and that way ye can split cabs to fagans.. 5er a head would do it with 4 in a taxi

28/10/2004, 3:43 PM
What about when City are playing in the FAI Cup final there next year? ;)

suppose we will make an exception then

adamd164
28/10/2004, 7:02 PM
I'd rather bloody play it in Cardiff.

sullanefc
29/10/2004, 8:33 AM
Anyone know the closest Luas stop to Tolka? I'm getting the train up to Heuston, but after that I'm lost. Never been to Tolka before. Is the bus from O Connell St the best bet??

29/10/2004, 9:00 AM
Anyone know the closest Luas stop to Tolka? I'm getting the train up to Heuston, but after that I'm lost. Never been to Tolka before. Is the bus from O Connell St the best bet??

U COULD NEARLY WALK FROM THE TRAIN STATION

sullanefc
29/10/2004, 9:05 AM
In what direction?? Never been before. Ollie i've PM'd you my mobile number. Maybe we could meet up on the train. I'm getting the 14.40 from Killarney

29/10/2004, 9:10 AM
from fourfiveone (http://www.fourfiveone.net/ontheroad.html)

From the city centre... Follow signs for the airport, which will bring you out along Dorset St. which becomes Drumcondra Road. Cross the canal and go under the railway bridge. As you keep driving, you'll pass houses on your left, which are back from the road, behind trees. After these houses, you go through a set of lights and over a bridge. Richmond Road is the next right and Tolka Park is a couple of hundred yards along on the right hand side. Any of buses 3, 11, 11A, 11B, 16, 16A, 36, 36A, 41, 41A, 41B, 41C will get you there.

sullanefc
29/10/2004, 9:17 AM
Thanx. See youse biys at the game in Dubland

29/10/2004, 1:09 PM
U COULD NEARLY WALK FROM THE TRAIN STATION
It'd be a bit of a trek from Heuston. 30 mins to O'Connell St and the bones of 45 mins from there to Tolka! Your best bet would be to get a Luas to Abbey St, walk back to O'Connell St and get an 11 bus from there to Tolka.

29/10/2004, 1:10 PM
It'd be a bit of a trek from Heuston. 30 mins to O'Connell St and the bones of 45 mins from there to Tolka! Your best bet would be to get a Luas to Abbey St, walk back to O'Connell St and get an 11 bus from there to Tolka.
Or a 16 (think the 16 might be more regular)

b_mcsweeney
29/10/2004, 1:55 PM
as mentioned above, the 11s 16s and 13a will all go out past fagans. they all leave from more or less the same spot at the top of o'connell street just up from the bus office, so wait around and jump on the first one you can get on. its only about 15-20 minutes out, depending on traffic.