View Full Version : Where do Longford Town FC go from here?

Pages : 1 [2]

Dillo
04/11/2004, 3:54 PM
Try not to let us down in europe next year then.
As much as I have huge respect for LTFC and think they are one of the biggest assets to the Premier, it's important to remember that every EL club would love to play in Europe and those that get the opportunity have a duty to give a good account of the league.
I'll forgive your uefa sins however if you do us a favour and beat shels!

As I pointed out before on this forum, we played a quality side in FC Vaduz and although we didn't perform to our capacity we went out 4-2 on aggregate to a team containing eight Liechtenstein internationals. The Liechtenstein international team recently drew with Euro 2004 finalists Portugal, thus reflecting the quality I'm talking about Paddigo. We have nothing to be ashamed of!

paddigol
05/11/2004, 9:15 AM
And how well exactly have Vaduz gone on to do in Europe? They lost 5-2 on agg to Beveren in the next round, who in turn have lost their two group games 5-1 and 6-1. Not exactly spectacular.
Don't get me wrong, I'm not having a cheap shot at LTFC, I just think they could have done better. For themselves as well as anyone else.
Anyway, Boh's performance was the real disgrace.

Dillo
05/11/2004, 9:31 AM
And how well exactly have Vaduz gone on to do in Europe? They lost 5-2 on agg to Beveren in the next round, who in turn have lost their two group games 5-1 and 6-1. Not exactly spectacular.
Don't get me wrong, I'm not having a cheap shot at LTFC, I just think they could have done better. For themselves as well as anyone else.
Anyway, Boh's performance was the real disgrace.

Can't argue with you there but you've got to realise that FC Vaduz are a professional and superior outfit with experienced internationals playing in the swiss second division which is a huge step up from our ten team Eircom League. Bohs' performance at home in Europe was a shambles. Bohs are a full-time club and would have been expected to overcome their estonian counterparts. Instead they conceeded three of the softest goals you're ever likely to see in a european competition and they, for me are the team who really let the league down. It's hard to accept but as a league, we are miles behind meeting the required standards.

boots
05/11/2004, 12:21 PM
To say the swiss second division is a huge step up for the eircom premier is an awful insult to Shelbourne and Cork City who have succesfully competed with the best of Spain, Croatia and France this year...
We made it look like a a huge step up because we put in such an inept preformance of shambolic defending and ineffective midfield play at home to Vaduz. If we played the way we did that day against Shels, Bohs r Cork we would have got a worse hiding.
The Swiss second division is crap.. we really have to lose the inferiority complex

paddigol
05/11/2004, 1:26 PM
Still, i'm sure you'll improve next season, and best of luck with that.
At the end of the day, nobody could have put in a worse account of the league than Bohs. They should have been made change on the pitch after the game. They didn't deserve a shower.

05/11/2004, 5:31 PM
Dillo, you'd want to COP ON to yourself in all fairness. Vaduz are rubbish. Absolute muck. Brutal. Liechenstein internationals ? In the name of good Lord. How many youth internationals do WE have ?? You'd want to get a grip. We were brutal against them. You should be ashamed to be defending the indefensible.
Next you'll be saying that it was no embarassment to lose to Dublin City !!

just wondering have u ever said the above to ny of the players ???

Dillo
08/11/2004, 4:18 PM
[QUOTE=Cop on]Dillo, you'd want to COP ON to yourself in all fairness. Vaduz are rubbish. Absolute muck. Brutal. Liechenstein internationals ? In the name of good Lord. How many youth internationals do WE have ?? You'd want to get a grip. We were brutal against them. You should be ashamed to be defending the indefensible.
Next you'll be saying that it was no embarassment to lose to Dublin City !![/QUOTE

Stall the ball there now a minute Cop on like a good lad. You mean to tell me Vaduz are rubbish. I presume you were at the home game at least! Vaduz totally outplayed us for the 90 minutes in Flancare Park. They didn't even perform in the Rheinpark as they obviously underestimated us but nonetheless still managed to come away with a victory. I agree, we WERE brutal against them. But we were made look brutal against them!! They played ball, we played "hit and hope". Having said that however, we definitely could have played a lot better on the day. They took their foot off the pedal for the last few minutes as they knew they were home and dry. And due to this brief lapse in concentration, we scored a couple of consolations in the dying minutes which only added a bit of respectability to the scoreline.
You are saying Vaduz are muck...... but that depends to what context you're referring to. Vaduz's subsequent results against Beveren of Belgium tell us that they are nothing but minnows, they're incapable of making any kind of impact in Europe and pose little threat to the vast majority of European sides. They were dumped convinincly by a poor Beveren side who were then easily knocked out in the next round. But if you're describing this Vaduz team as "muck" and "rubbish", where does this leave Longfod Town may I ask??
Cop on, I am not defending the indefensible here. Nobody more than me, was disgusted by the manner in which we were dumped out of Europe. It was an absolute disgrace loosing to Dublin City that night in Tolka, I never ever witnessed as a poor a town performance. Yes, we do have a number of youth internationals. But do you forsee Sean Dillon, Stephen Paisley and Graham Gartland representing Ireland in a World Cup?? Because I seriously doubt it!! I have high standards and high hopes for the future of LTFC. I am not an optimist or a pessimist. I am a REALIST!

TheJamaicanP.M.
08/11/2004, 7:42 PM
Agree with everything you said Dillo. Cop On is talking rubbish. Longford were knocked out of Europe by a bigger club. We can only hope that the experience of European competition will stand the Town in good stead next season. It took ManUre a long time to get used to European football. They lost to the likes of Gothenburg and Barcelona. When Blackburn entered Europe, they lost their first five games. So all I would say is that Longford may have learned from their experience in Europe.

Dillo
09/11/2004, 9:01 AM
OK, OK. Can I ask you a question - not loaded or anything. I know its dependent on many, many things, but how do you see us getting on in Europe next season ? Is it realistic for us to get past the first round (look, I know its dependent on who we are drawn against; if we can sign a couple of decent strikers) BUT, is it a realistic aspiration to get past the first round (considering most teams are minnows at this stage.)

It most certainly is a realistic aspiration for us to advance past the first round. This will be our third crack at Europe! It is a learning experience and hopefully this will stand to us. I think we will be better equipped this time round but as you say, it depends on a number of factors not least the quality of our oppostion.

09/11/2004, 2:57 PM
hope we have the same hunger as sat, even when the lads were havin acup of tea before the game they seemed really up for it...

Dillo
10/11/2004, 8:49 AM
We certainly didn't show the same appetite for victory last night but it was a job well done and another three points in the bag. Let's face it, Dublin City are first division material. They done exceptionally in getting to the premier in the first instance but such a club, with minimal support and no home ground do nothing to enhance the reputation of the EL and therefore belong in the first division. John Martin is finally making his mark and proving his worth to the Longford. Going off the point slightly, I think it's marvellous to see Finn Harps back where they belong, a club with great support and tradition and their recent promotion should really revitalise soccer interest in the North West and surrounding areas.
As for Longford Town, I am hoping we can finish this season out with a bang and return next season a resurgent and determined outfit with a few additional quality signings on show. After our performance against Shels on saturday night, a lot of people are very optimistic about our chances of further success next season. Fingers crossed! :cool:

Flea
10/11/2004, 6:17 PM
Could somebody give thir ratings of each player for last nights game :ball:

Dillo
11/11/2004, 7:17 PM
That game was a couple of nights ago now so doubt my ratings would be accurate. We were solid at the back though. Johnny Martin did well apart from his two goals. It was by no means a great performance but a comfortable three points in the end.
Expecting at least a draw from the Brandywell on Saturday night. Dublin City managed to take all three points off them up there but Derry have picked up considerably since that. We should be taking three points from Waterford the following wednesday but they'll be wanting revenge for that 'smash and grab' victory in Lansdowne back a few weeks ago! :p Drogs at home the following Saturday won't be easy but seeing it's the final game of the campaign I'm expecting us to go out with a bang, a bumper crowd and of course three points to cap off a memorable season!

Dillo
17/11/2004, 8:21 AM
Hoping for three more points tonight just to rub it into Ratface and co! :D
Two cups and a fifth place finish would go down well for this season I suppose.
Hear Willie Bruton could be on his way to Flansiro by the end of the season with Kirby returning to Waterford? Any truth in these rumours? Bruton would be a good addition to the squad but I'd hate to see Kirbs depart.

Terry Phelan
17/11/2004, 9:32 AM
That rumour was floating about at the Dublin City game,that Bruton was on his way to the Flansiro.Could be a load sh it though.He'd be a fantastic buy.
I honestly couldn't see kirby leaving Longford now,i'm sure is very settled at this stage wiyh family,job with Flancare etc....
I dont think he'd want to miss out in European footie either.What have Waaaaaaterford got to offer em sere? ?
I couldn't see a dignified gentlemen like kirby getting on with that scumbag reynolds!!!! :)

17/11/2004, 12:20 PM
Kirby says the only way he'll go to Waterford is if Longford dont want him any more, i dont think that day has arrived yet..He told Reynolds this too when Reynolds was on to him, again..

17/11/2004, 12:39 PM
Kirby says the only way he'll go to Waterford is if Longford dont want him any more, i dont think that day has arrived yet..He told Reynolds this too when Reynolds was on to him, again..

and why wasn't that piece of scum reported for tapping up players

17/11/2004, 12:44 PM
If he's within the last six months of his deal he can talk to whoever he likes, and Kirbs' deal is up at the end of the season plus himself and Reynolds are friends anyway, they speak regularly.

17/11/2004, 12:48 PM
he's still scum :D

Dillo
18/11/2004, 7:06 PM
Terrible to see the scumbag take a point off us last night. It's about all he's got off us though! :p

Dillo
20/12/2004, 9:01 PM
Players linked with De Town so far:

Andy Myler, Dan O' Connor and Gary Cronin of Drogheda

Dave Morrison, Fergal Harkin and Darren Burke of Bohemians

This Lithuanian midfielder and the Crystal Palace number two goalkeeper

Young McNicholas of Athlone has joined us but any others being linked with De Town??
Nothing much to get excited about as of yet.

20/12/2004, 9:07 PM
Players linked with De Town so far:

Andy Myler, Dan O' Connor and Gary Cronin of Drogheda

Dave Morrison, Fergal Harkin and Darren Burke of Bohemians

This Lithuanian midfielder and the Crystal Palace number two goalkeeper

Young McNicholas of Athlone has joined us but any others being linked with De Town??
Nothing much to get excited about as of yet.

we are a part time club after all with a limited budget, you do the best with the money you have......fact.

21/12/2004, 9:09 AM
Bloody hell Max, would you change the bleeding record. You've been coming out with the same mantra for years. If we got a million in the morning, you'd come out with the same inane line zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

yeah i would because it will cost over 600k to finish the ground to european standards for next season.........

Flea
21/12/2004, 11:14 PM
Bloody hell Max, would you change the bleeding record. You've been coming out with the same mantra for years. If we got a million in the morning, you'd come out with the same inane line zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzYeah we don't have a mil, do we :mad: Max is right we are limited and any development on the transfer market is progress

22/12/2004, 6:16 PM
Barring any last minute hitches we've apparently agreed a deal with Drogs for Myler and O'Connor, the players agreed terms a good while ago so hopefully the deal will be done soon, Gary Cronin is coming too

Dillo
06/01/2005, 9:23 AM
Barring any last minute hitches we've apparently agreed a deal with Drogs for Myler and O'Connor, the players agreed terms a good while ago so hopefully the deal will be done soon, Gary Cronin is coming too

The deal still isn't done though! :(

Any word on the Lithuanian international??

06/01/2005, 10:51 AM
The only hitch is getting Doolin to accept our offer, he initially told the players he would accept it but is now holding out for more, and threatening to keep the two lads for the U21s, they're willing to bide their time and are committed to coming here, I believe they've signed pre-contracts already. Once pre-season starts and Drogs have to start paying them, it won't make alot of sense to keep being awkward when there's a decent offer on the table. The Lithuanian fella is coming over for pre-season at his own expense so he can trial with the squad, worth having a look at him, it's not costing us anything as I believe he's being put up in Longford by connections

Flea
07/01/2005, 5:24 PM
read the lithuanian post :ball: :D

Dillo
12/01/2005, 8:17 AM
According to today's Star Town will finalise the signings of Drogheda's Andy Myler, Danny O' Connor and Gary Cronin later this week. How good are O'Connor and Cronin does anybody know?? Bit strange signing a trio like that from the one club if you ask me.

On a separate note, did anybody see yesterday's Star. Pictured on page 53 was Robbie Doyle of St. Pats with a stunning Fair City actress. Quite ironic as there's a rumour in circulation that actor Bella Doyle also of Fair City is an uncle of Robbie's.

12/01/2005, 12:15 PM
O'Connor was their captain and is rated very highly by all Drogs fans, he was runner up in their player of the year..Cronin I know less about but he's a left sided player which is something we're short on

Dillo
14/01/2005, 5:09 PM
The squad is definitely improving but compare it to Shelbourne and it's miles behind. However I think the addition of Myler is a positive move. If nothing else we badly need a set piece specialist and Myler has the potential to fill this void.
Defensively we can cope. Between the sticks, Digger is as good as there is in the business. With Dillo, Prunty, Baz, Paiso, O' Connor and Spud we are more than solid.
In midfield a lot will be expected of Deano. Question marks still hang over Martin in my view. We all know Barrett has tremendous ability. I'm just hoping for a resurged Shane come March. Kirby won't let us down. Not expecting Vinny to feature too often this season but it's still great to have him at the club.
The final third with Baker, Myler and Lavine is slightly limited. Baker's consistency comes into question but a lot will depend on the final ball.

All in all I'm looking forward to next season with a lot of optimism. If Town perform to their capacity a top three finish is very much obtainable. To win both cups again would be extra special. But perhaps most important is to progress beyond the first preliminary round tie in Europe. Who knows what the future holds. Fingers crossed! :cool:

TheJamaicanP.M.
14/01/2005, 5:14 PM
Great post Dillo. Europe has to be to the forefront of our ambitions this season. Fingers and toes crossed. :cool:

Sonic
14/01/2005, 6:53 PM
The squad is definitely improving but compare it to Shelbourne and it's miles behind. However I think the addition of Myler is a positive move. If nothing else we badly need a set piece specialist and Myler has the potential to fill this void.
Defensively we can cope. Between the sticks, Digger is as good as there is in the business. With Dillo, Prunty, Baz, Paiso, O' Connor and Spud we are more than solid.
In midfield a lot will be expected of Deano. Question marks still hang over Martin in my view. We all know Barrett has tremendous ability. I'm just hoping for a resurged Shane come March. Kirby won't let us down. Not expecting Vinny to feature too often this season but it's still great to have him at the club.
The final third with Baker, Myler and Lavine is slightly limited. Baker's consistency comes into question but a lot will depend on the final ball.

All in all I'm looking forward to next season with a lot of optimism. If Town perform to their capacity a top three finish is very much obtainable. To win both cups again would be extra special. But perhaps most important is to progress beyond the first preliminary round tie in Europe. Who knows what the future holds. Fingers crossed! :cool:

unfortunately baker has an attitude problem and thinks he is better than anyone else which could be a problem should he not get playing next year.

15/01/2005, 2:07 AM
You cant say that he has an attitude problem if you don't know the lad, from what i've heard he's never been a minute's bother in terms of discipline and attitude, can be inclined to need a rocket every now and again to get him tracking back but he's no different to alot of players, never heard anything to suggest he thinks he's better than everyone else and any time I've spoken to him personally, not that often admittedly, he seems grand

observer
17/01/2005, 8:57 AM
I feel that the squad has been significantly strengthened and with a further midfield signing the front runners should get a better supply of ball this season.
The pressure for starting places should ensure that Baker and Lavine do give 100% when they are on the field.
It is important that the attitude within the squad is positive from day one and to this end I believe that Brian McGovern should be let go to whoever wants him. It is not a help to the general athmosphere to have him on the books when he will not be featuring as a player and I doubt if the club can afford to keep paying him for nothing.

Flea
17/01/2005, 8:50 PM
Limited in ambition flea ...
You left your Leeds Utd. scarf at home :cool:

Lavine do give 100%
Lavine's committment has never been in question :D

18/01/2005, 3:49 AM
poo.........

Dillo
18/01/2005, 5:58 PM
poo.........

Poo Max?? Did you know AC Milan's Brazilian star Kaka? Kaka translates as Poo Poo in English! Deadly serious. Quite ironic given that his natural position is in the hole behind the front two! ;)

Dillo
06/02/2005, 3:51 PM
Am I right in saying that Sean Dillon will be on TV tonight at 8 for the FAI/Eircom awards?? Great to see Longford been represented alongside the likes of Robbie Keane, Mattie Holland and many more!

06/02/2005, 4:05 PM
He'll be there alright in his penguin suit, the club have table at it

Dillo
08/02/2005, 2:03 PM
Hard luck on poor Dillo. At least he got a night out at citywest. Heary has been rock solid all season but then again he's been playing with a much more talented bunch. It was inevitable that he was going to win it.

Dillo
17/02/2005, 4:28 PM
God forgive ya! :eek:

17/02/2005, 4:30 PM
That wont happen we're almost across the line now..