View Full Version : FAI Senior Cup 2014

Pages : 1 [2]

03/09/2014, 5:12 PM
Reckon the cost would be no problem once they're guaranteed a big crowd in the Cross. Wouldn't imagine there'd even be half the same size travelling support if there was no spectator facilities, as well as the floating Cork City fans that'd probably take in the game in Cross.

As for a rental of Turners Cross, I don't think you'd get 700/800 even with City having a weekend off.
Not sure what you'd charge, suppose it'd have to be €10, last Saturday was €5.
Maybe play it during the day and eliminate the cost of floodlights?

I don't think Cork got 800 for their first Cup game this season so there's no chance they'll turn up at Avondale/Harps.

As for Finn Harps, surely there's at least as many people who'd prefer a trip to somewhere new to cover all the 80 year old women who won't go if it isn't the luxury of Turner's Cross?

03/09/2014, 5:29 PM
I don't think Cork got 800 for their first Cup game this season so there's no chance they'll turn up at Avondale/Harps.

As for Finn Harps, surely there's at least as many people who'd prefer a trip to somewhere new to cover all the 80 year old women who won't go if it isn't the luxury of Turner's Cross?

Well, history shows people will turn up for the latter stages of a cup competition anyway. Reckon there'll easily be 800 or so there for this game if it was in Turners Cross. Wouldn't be the same attendance at Avondale Park, but that's just my opinion.

I'd wager more travelling fans would prefer the comfort of a seat in a nice stadium than having to stand in a field, somewhere new or not.

Juan Sheet
03/09/2014, 5:43 PM
Well, history shows people will turn up for the latter stages of a cup competition anyway. Reckon there'll easily be 800 or so there for this game if it was in Turners Cross. Wouldn't be the same attendance at Avondale Park, but that's just my opinion.

I'd wager more travelling fans would prefer the comfort of a seat in a nice stadium than having to stand in a field, somewhere new or not.

Next thing you will want is the game played at terryland to lessen the travel,I think personally the best option would be turners cross but the final decision should be left up to Avondale,they probably see their chances increased if they played on their own pitch

Southsider
03/09/2014, 7:57 PM
Next thing you will want is the game played at terryland to lessen the travel,I think personally the best option would be turners cross but the final decision should be left up to Avondale,they probably see their chances increased if they played on their own pitch

I'd be looking for it to be played at Dale Park but besides the seating being a problem the main stumbling block might be the parking situation. Us Corkonians know that after the players and staffs get space for there car there isn't much space left. Maybe if they opened the training pitch like the Everton intermediate Semi final it might make a difference but not much. I know this shouldn't come in to affect because were talking football but this health and safety Craic is gone huge these days.

06/09/2014, 2:09 PM
Avondale Park confirmed for 3pm next Sunday

06/09/2014, 4:22 PM
Avondale Park confirmed for 3pm next Sunday

2pm Avondale Park.

06/09/2014, 5:50 PM
Apologies, 2pm it is.
The PRO mis-informed me.

08/09/2014, 2:41 PM
Apologies, 2pm it is.
The PRO mis-informed me.

The same PRO that confirmed Turners Cross as venue last week?! ;)

Glenbuck
08/09/2014, 5:06 PM
The same PRO that confirmed Turners Cross as venue last week?! ;) I dont think anyone ever confirmed it for the cross. Home draw for Dale. Why should they change venue against a not so big (anymore) Finn Harps.

08/09/2014, 9:52 PM
I dont think anyone ever confirmed it for the cross. Home draw for Dale. Why should they change venue against a not so big (anymore) Finn Harps.

PRO had initially said it would be in Turners Cross. Don't shoot the messenger.

For the record, all this messing around has severely hit the amount of Harps fans that'll be travelling down. Most don't fancy a 6am start to head to Cork and back for a 2pm kick-off.

08/09/2014, 10:02 PM
PRO had initially said it would be in Turners Cross. Don't shoot the messenger.

For the record, all this messing around has severely hit the amount of Harps fans that'll be travelling down. Most don't fancy a 6am start to head to Cork and back for a 2pm kick-off.No wonder if most of them are OAPs.
I'll tell them to cancel the 50 seater covered stand so.

No one involved with the club ever mentioned the Cross to me, Avondale always had their minds set on playing at home.

09/09/2014, 9:02 AM
For the record, all this messing around has severely hit the amount of Harps fans that'll be travelling down. Most don't fancy a 6am start to head to Cork and back for a 2pm kick-off.

Not being funny but what messing around? You were drawn away to Avondale and they're playing it at their home ground on their normal day. Any messing around is purely down to Harps thinking it might go to Turners Cross, when it seems clear that was never a runner.

Even with the messing, its still a week away and the game is a Sunday so likely no need to arrange days off for most

09/09/2014, 3:07 PM
Not being funny but what messing around? You were drawn away to Avondale and they're playing it at their home ground on their normal day. Any messing around is purely down to Harps thinking it might go to Turners Cross, when it seems clear that was never a runner.

Even with the messing, its still a week away and the game is a Sunday so likely no need to arrange days off for most

Hotels and accomodation are more expensive on short notice. Nobody knew what day or what venue it'd be until a few days ago. The club weren't able to book any accomodation or travel arrangements until they knew what day it'd be.
Supporters were due to travel in larger numbers if it was a Friday night. It's proving very difficult to get people to travel at 6am.

Whatever the lads are saying above, Avondale PRO had initially said it'd be held in Turners Cross and the FAI were pushing for the game to be held in Turners Cross. It was only when Avondale kicked up a fuss about it that it was allowed to be held in a ground not up to any sort of standard.

The messing around was a lack of communication between Harps and FAI and Avondale. Even when the FAI released the media list of fixtures, nobody had actually contacted Finn Harps to confirm the date/venue/time.

09/09/2014, 10:03 PM
Whatever the lads are saying above, Avondale PRO had initially said it'd be held in Turners Cross and the FAI were pushing for the game to be held in Turners Cross. It was only when Avondale kicked up a fuss about it that it was allowed to be held in a ground not up to any sort of standard.

The messing around was a lack of communication between Harps and FAI and Avondale. Even when the FAI released the media list of fixtures, nobody had actually contacted Finn Harps to confirm the date/venue/time.

If the ground didn't meet the FAIs requirements then it wouldn't be in Avondale Park.

I'm not involved with Avondale so wouldn't have been party to what communication they had with Harps.

Surely any official communication on the whole thing should come from Abbottstown.

10/09/2014, 3:42 PM
If the ground didn't meet the FAIs requirements then it wouldn't be in Avondale Park.

I'm not involved with Avondale so wouldn't have been party to what communication they had with Harps.

Surely any official communication on the whole thing should come from Abbottstown.

My main annoyance lies with the FAI, as I said above, the lack of communication between Harps, the FAI and Avondale was where all the messing has come from.

I'm only going by the information I've been given too, like yourself razor.

The problems with Avondale Park lay with dugouts being too small and the dressing rooms being too far from the pitch going by what I was told.

I've said it elsewhere, but it's the only league and only governing body in the world that'd let rubbish like this happen.

Sparks
10/09/2014, 5:00 PM
My main annoyance lies with the FAI, as I said above, the lack of communication between Harps, the FAI and Avondale was where all the messing has come from.

I'm only going by the information I've been given too, like yourself razor.

The problems with Avondale Park lay with dugouts being too small and the dressing rooms being too far from the pitch going by what I was told.

I've said it elsewhere, but it's the only league and only governing body in the world that'd let rubbish like this happen.

Whats has the distance the dressings rooms are from pitch got too do with anything?? In fairness now your clutching at straws! Yer away from home get over it!

10/09/2014, 8:46 PM
Whats has the distance the dressings rooms are from pitch got too do with anything?? In fairness now your clutching at straws! Yer away from home get over it!
To be fair to Nigel I think he's correct.
Avondale are having to cordon off a pathway from the dressing rooms to the pitch and increase the size of the dugouts.
Graham Kelly reffing so they won't have the travel expense for the ref at least.

10/09/2014, 9:21 PM

You'd want to wise up with your chat Sparks. The dressing rooms have to be within a certain distance from the pitch as per regulations, I'm not clutching at any straws here, I'm going by what the FAI have said.

Superkeeper
10/09/2014, 9:58 PM
You'd be going mad for Finn Harps , said no one ever !! Get on with it, you've been drawn away from home, except that the home team will suit themselves, let's not forget that LOI teams very rarely help ameture sides when there drawn away from home. Fair play to Avondale for sticking by there guns.

10/09/2014, 10:04 PM
You'd be going mad for Finn Harps , said no one ever !! Get on with it, you've been drawn away from home, except that the home team will suit themselves, let's not forget that LOI teams very rarely help ameture sides when there drawn away from home. Fair play to Avondale for sticking by there guns.

I'm sorry, but I can't take you in any way seriously with such bad spelling and grammar.

10/09/2014, 10:12 PM
I'm sorry, but I can't take you in any way seriously with such bad spelling and grammar.sure if you were talking and not typing we wouldn't have a clue what you were on about either :D

Superkeeper
10/09/2014, 10:17 PM
I'm sorry I can't take you seriously either as you support Finn Harps !!

Shuffleruns
11/09/2014, 9:01 AM

Ouch!!!!

Just my opinion
11/09/2014, 11:18 AM

Classic.

12/09/2014, 1:33 PM
I can see why so many Intermediate threads and posts are binned on this site now.

Chiefscout
14/09/2014, 2:46 PM
Dale 1 harps 1 with 10 to go.harps were 1 up

Chiefscout
14/09/2014, 3:04 PM
All over.finished 1-1.

Glenbuck
14/09/2014, 4:36 PM
Mid week replay in Donegal. Alot of expense between today and Wednesday.

moonman
14/09/2014, 8:15 PM
Not a great game to be honest, Podge getting MOTM speaks volumes really , made some great saves true out the 90mins. still cant understand how the harps manager didnt keel over . he never stopped roaring , good laugh all the same from a really poor affair. Also when harps went 1 up the deliberately tried to slow down the game and hit the deck at any stage to get the ref to stall dales getting any momentum but credit dales they got the equalizer and held out for a draw.

nr637
15/09/2014, 10:03 AM
What estimate on the crowd at the game and the fact that any gate recipts are split between both clubs plus a percentage to the FAI?
A Crowd of a few hundred and there would'nt be much to cover all the overheads!
I can only guess that Avondale had some good sponsors helping out I hope!
I suppose the Cross was an obvious non-starter considering the MFA wanted somewhere in the region of €5,000 rental.

Glenbuck
15/09/2014, 12:40 PM
What estimate on the crowd at the game and the fact that any gate recipts are split between both clubs plus a percentage to the FAI?
A Crowd of a few hundred and there would'nt be much to cover all the overheads!
I can only guess that Avondale had some good sponsors helping out I hope!
I suppose the Cross was an obvious non-starter considering the MFA wanted somewhere in the region of €5,000 rental. 5 grand ?? I was told last night that it was nearer 500. Dale were adament that they were going to play at home.

15/09/2014, 1:37 PM
5 grand ?? I was told last night that it was nearer 500. Dale were adament that they were going to play at home.
500 is on the ball for local cup finals, so maybe that's what they would have been charged.
Nothing near what we pay to play there though.

16/09/2014, 11:05 AM
Big Mount - Dale game off tomorrow night as the Dale express readies itself for the long trip north.

Departing for Sligo after work tonight, staying there tonight and onwards in the morning.

Players extremely upbeat after the weekends result and now having Mucky and Graham back for the replay.

Tried for a 7pm kick off instead of 8pm but it wasn't to be.

Chiefscout
17/09/2014, 7:22 PM
Harps 1 up

Pass pass pass
17/09/2014, 7:39 PM
Harps 1 up cold up in ballybofey id say chief?

Chiefscout
17/09/2014, 8:09 PM
cold up in ballybofey id say chief?
2-0 halftime

Chiefscout
17/09/2014, 8:17 PM
cold up in ballybofey id say chief?
11 degrees,partly cloudy

Chiefscout
17/09/2014, 8:18 PM
3-0 now

Chiefscout
17/09/2014, 8:24 PM
4-0.podge sent off

Chiefscout
17/09/2014, 8:45 PM
4-1..five min to go..Roy long with the goal

24/09/2014, 11:10 AM
watched the highlights on Soccer Republic.
Podges sending off was harsh in the extreme.

http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/10326541/
at about 3:25

24/09/2014, 1:12 PM
watched the highlights on Soccer Republic.
Podges sending off was harsh in the extreme.

http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/10326541/
at about 3:25

A shocking sending off alright. It should have been a free out. Game was dead at that stage though.

Bubba
24/09/2014, 1:36 PM
You could clearly see the ball go the other way which shows that Podge got the ball and the finn harps player leaning on Podge. Either nothing or a free out. Don't know how the ref made that decision.

24/09/2014, 2:07 PM
A shocking sending off alright. It should have been a free out. Game was dead at that stage though.

All the more reason to give the already beaten amateur team a break and especially as he wasn't up with play.
Ray Matthews? never heard of him before, is he a Division One ref?

24/09/2014, 4:39 PM
Ray Matthews has reffed a heap of Harps games this season. While he's not the worst in the division, he's been at the centre of a few awful decisions this season.

Honestly though, other than the sending off, he actually had a very decent outing.

atfconline
30/09/2014, 4:10 PM
Fond of the attention. Ruled a goal of ours out before for handball. He was the 4th official!