View Full Version : St Pats (A) 21-03-14

kingpin4
19/03/2014, 4:49 PM
I know there is the thread about the day out, so just keep this to the actual match.
Live on tv, big(gish) crowd heading up, playing the champions in their back yard and not one person giving us a chance in the predictions thread. These are the kind of games that I love...

I think with it being live on tv and us basically going looking for a point, the game itself will be awful to watch. Assuming we have Oji back, we'll be relatively solid at the back. Going forward, again, looks a problem but we might nick one from a Shane Tracy set piece.

Team probably will be:
Cusack
Kelly
Oji
Folan
Costelloe
Duggan
Nzuzi
Hughes
Tracy
Gaffney
Coughlan (if Curran doesn't make it)

If we can stop them playing, I'd be optimistic of a draw. If we make mistakes like last week, potential to be a bit of a kicking...

Thoughts? Predictions?

bluewhitearmy
19/03/2014, 4:53 PM
I know there is the thread about the day out, so just keep this to the actual match.
Live on tv, big(gish) crowd heading up, playing the champions in their back yard and not one person giving us a chance in the predictions thread. These are the kind of games that I love...

I think with it being live on tv and us basically going looking for a point, the game itself will be awful to watch. Assuming we have Oji back, we'll be relatively solid at the back. Going forward, again, looks a problem but we might nick one from a Shane Tracy set piece.

Team probably will be:
Cusack
Kelly
Oji
Folan
Costelloe
Duggan
Nzuzi
Hughes
Tracy
Gaffney
Coughlan (if Curran doesn't make it)

If we can stop them playing, I'd be optimistic of a draw. If we make mistakes like last week, potential to be a bit of a kicking...

Thoughts? Predictions?

I hope he keeps Tracy in the middle like he was in Dundalk and id be surprised if we see Garbhan again soon. Was taken off immediately after pulling out of a challenge with defender for the rebound of Gaffneys effort early in 2nd half Taylor didn't seem pleased with him at all.

Prediction 3-0 Pats.

19/03/2014, 5:00 PM
I hope he keeps Tracy in the middle like he was in Dundalk and id be surprised if we see Garbhan again soon. Was taken off immediately after pulling out of a challenge with defender for the rebound of Gaffneys effort early in 2nd half Taylor didn't seem pleased with him at all.

Prediction 3-0 Pats.

Taylor went mental down in Cork too when Garbhan was going for a ball 60/40 in his favour and pulled out. If he had won it he was clean through on goal.

On the match its hard to tell. If Pats click at all and we are even slightly off the pace then we will get a stuffing. A lot is going to come down to who is going to be back in contention and what kind of fight is in us. In this league I've seen worse teams than use get good results over the years so you never know.

Going to go for Pats 2-0 Limerick

bluewhitearmy
19/03/2014, 5:03 PM
Taylor went mental down in Cork too when Garbhan was going for a ball 60/40 in his favour and pulled out. If he had won it he was clean through on goal.

If he had won the one against Dundalk it was a goal for sure would have put us 2-1 up. He has great feet and some real talent but he pulls out way too much.

Depending on who is fit my team would be:

Ryan
Kelly
Oji
Folan
Costelloe
Tracy
Duggan
Hughes
McGrath
Gaffney
Rainsford

Also I wonder is Tam sorted yet?

kingpin4
19/03/2014, 5:09 PM
If he had won the one against Dundalk it was a goal for sure would have put us 2-1 up. He has great feet and some real talent but he pulls out way too much.

Depending on who is fit my team would be:

Ryan
Kelly
Oji
Folan
Costelloe
Tracy
Duggan
Hughes
McGrath
Gaffney
Rainsford

Also I wonder is Tam sorted yet?

If be very slow to put Ryan straight back in. If he's anyway off the pace; then it'll kill us. I'd rather leave Cusack for a little bit. I know Garbhan can be light, but I think he has more in him than McGrath or Rainsford. Definitely a bigger goal threat.

bluewhitearmy
19/03/2014, 5:18 PM
If be very slow to put Ryan straight back in. If he's anyway off the pace; then it'll kill us. I'd rather leave Cusack for a little bit. I know Garbhan can be light, but I think he has more in him than McGrath or Rainsford. Definitely a bigger goal threat.

I agree about Garbhan but if he isn't gonna put the work in then his talent is no good to us. If there is any chance at all Barry can play I would tbh not just on ability but for his experience. I'm just praying Curran is back soon.

19/03/2014, 5:26 PM
How did McGrath get on above in Dundalk? Been a while since i've seen him play for the first team.

bluewhitearmy
19/03/2014, 5:27 PM
How did McGrath get on above in Dundalk? Been a while since i've seen him play for the first team.

He did ok in fairness to him he was busy got stuck in and for a change offered Gaffney some support when he was holding the ball up.

fieldofmarkets
19/03/2014, 8:03 PM
Can't argue with the team selections above but I would expect they would both be beat handily. Our best 11 might get a draw but we will have significantly less out. It's football though so who knows what will happen. Hope they perform for TV though as it might make the odd fence sitter come to a home game. Enjoy it whoever is going.

CraftyToePoke
19/03/2014, 8:17 PM
I remember looking at the fixtures preseason & eyeing up this one as being unhelpfully located if we endured a less than inspiring start. We aren't beyond digging out a 0-0, it's not likely but not beyond us. Important not to take a hiding though, for the young lads to believe their futures are at this level as much as anything.

NeverFeltBetter
19/03/2014, 9:31 PM
Not seeing any goals coming for Limerick, at least not from the traditional avenues. Can't see past Pats, by at least two goals.

kingpin4
19/03/2014, 10:53 PM
I agree about Garbhan but if he isn't gonna put the work in then his talent is no good to us. If there is any chance at all Barry can play I would tbh not just on ability but for his experience. I'm just praying Curran is back soon.
That is true, but he's never going to be the jump in to 50 50 tackles type of player. I think to get the best out of him you just need to leave him float around...like we did with Paudie Quinn for a bit. I don't think Taylor wants that though because Galbraith seems to be the only one afforded that when he's fit. I'd have Barry for his experience, but I would worry if he's not fit, he won't be mentally sharp. Cusack has been fine shot stopping wise so he'd get the nod for me... I'd also be wary of doing any damage to Barry while his immune system would still be fairly weak. If it was a case of ease him in gently and have him perfect for the second half of the season, I'd be happy with that.

As long as we don't concede early on Saturday, we'll have an excellent chance at nicking a point and frustrating the life out of Pats. Going forward even with Curran back, we will still struggle massively. If we concede early and the floodgates open a bit, Prince should be getting a run out nice and early. Pointless if we bring him on 4 0 down with 10 mins to go...

20/03/2014, 6:39 PM
I don't rate Coughlan to be honest. He's forever pulling out of challenges, won't hold onto possession if there's any chance he'll get hit and, while decent for sure, is no more than that technically. For me he's the sort of player who'll look ok in spells for a team that's going well and can afford to carry him a bit (a good First Division side basically). I'd have more hope for both Rainsford and McGrath.

As for Saturday if I had to predict I'd go with a Pats win. We'll say... 3-0. Hard to see us getting any change out of this one.

bluewhitearmy
20/03/2014, 11:42 PM
We now have Tam McManus available for this game.

LFC Blue
21/03/2014, 10:25 AM
Taylor is very hopeful that Curran will be ready for tomorrow. With curran and macmanus up front it gives us a new dimension entirely from our first two games.
Cusack
Kelly
Oji
Folan
Costello
Nzuzi
Duggan
Tracey
Gaffney
Macmanus
Curran

With a rub of the green this line up could pull a score draw out of the bag.

blueblood
21/03/2014, 2:34 PM
Taylor is very hopeful that Curran will be ready for tomorrow. With curran and macmanus up front it gives us a new dimension entirely from our first two games.
Cusack
Kelly
Oji
Folan
Costello
Nzuzi
Duggan
Tracey
Gaffney
Macmanus
Curran

I'd like to see Ryan in goal tho, his experience will be key to how the back four play, I think it's a chance worth talking if he feels up to it.

21/03/2014, 2:54 PM
I'd like to see Ryan in goal tho, his experience will be key to how the back four play, I think it's a chance worth talking if he feels up to it.

I doubt Ryan will be up to it. He was pretty sick and missed most the pre-season because of it.

blueblood
21/03/2014, 2:59 PM
I doubt Ryan will be up to it. He was pretty sick and missed most the pre-season because of it.
Even if he could scream at our defence from the sideline would be a great help

21/03/2014, 3:12 PM
Even if he could scream at our defence from the sideline would be a great help

Ha ha true. Looking at the team above if we could put that out it would be the strongest yet this season.

bluewhitearmy
21/03/2014, 3:39 PM
Curran only back training since Tuesday no hope of him starting either id say.

kingpin4
21/03/2014, 4:04 PM
Cusack
Kelly
Oji
Folan
Costello
Nzuzi
Duggan
Tracey
Gaffney
Macmanus
Curran

Would be amazed if McManus got anymore than a half hour if he's in the squad. We could be expecting a bit too much from him too, he's pushed on a bit now and I don't see how he'd fit in to a 4 3 3. He'd have to be the central point with Curran and Gaffney on the wings. I don't know if you'd get enough work rate from him but he is a fantastic option off the bench.
Think it'll be a little while before we see the best of Curran too, he's pretty much missed all pre season (except for a couple of sessions here and there)

LFC Blue
23/03/2014, 10:41 AM
A hugely signifant point earned yesterday at the home of the champions.while saint pats may have been lethargic for long spells and we looked almost completely toothless in an attacking sense this result could provide a massive springboard for our season. Yesterday's point was built on three outstanding performances namely the returning Barry Ryan who looked like he'd never been away aswell as Sami oji and Shane duggan.for all pats possession the back four looked comfortable under the stewardship of oji and Ryan.even when nzuzi went to left back he rarely looked troubled.duggan gave a masterclass in the middle superior to anything I saw last season from gamble o Leary or Bradley and Taylor must be commended for such a signing.he was always available to take possession and crowned his performance with that sublime pass for the goal.at times duggan fought a lone furrow in the middle as Tracey looked a bit sluggish in possession at times with Hughes and McGrath struggling to get in to the game.gaffney worked hard up top but I think his touch isn't sharp enough at times at this level. All in all though a great point to earn. Does anyone know when we can expect to see curran back?the lack of info from the club relating to the extent of these injuries is a bit disrespectful to supporters in my opinion.what is the story with mick Leahy for instance

bluewhitearmy
23/03/2014, 3:14 PM
Delighted with that result and a decent performance imo. I have seen a few complain that Pats had most of the ball and that we didn't create loads but we were never going to against Pats really even at our strongest it was always going to be stay tight they have the ball and take a chance when it came. I think we went out with the right gameplan and it worked in the end we deserved the draw for work-rate and defensive work.

I am still convinced we will be better going forward when Curran is back he will be up top and Gaffney will be out wider where i think he is more effective. Still things to improve on of course but we improved a bit against Dundalk and even more yesterday if we could get the first win next week it would be a real lift to everyone.

da bishop
23/03/2014, 4:42 PM
make no mistake about it a brilliant result ,a great away point especially on the back of the last few results.the performance itself was poor enough and lucky ryan was back as he was our best player followed by duggan.Pats dominated and will wonder how they did not win it but they did not take their chances.small enough crowd there.

bluewhitearmy
23/03/2014, 5:58 PM
make no mistake about it a brilliant result ,a great away point especially on the back of the last few results.the performance itself was poor enough and lucky ryan was back as he was our best player followed by duggan.Pats dominated and will wonder how they did not win it but they did not take their chances.small enough crowd there.

I think the performance was what should have been expected given the players available to us for the game. Actually think the performance was a bit better then what most people thought they would see. Obviously just based on the defensive side of things.

23/03/2014, 6:26 PM
I'd fall into the "brilliant result, performance better than expected but not super encouraging either" camp too. There's not a lot of depth in the squad, we know that, short Leahy, Curran, Williams and Galbraith (will he ever play for us again?) I certainly didn't expect us to take a point so I'm delighted with that.

There were pluses for sure (Barry Ryan's return, Oji's performance) but we created very little again and lacked urgency, ideas and penetration in possession. A couple of players had quite poor outings too. It was a step in the right direction though and the team looked up for it anyway which is a good sign for sure. A good day for us overall.

23/03/2014, 6:54 PM
And dont forget the "mistake".....how he get away with endless mistakes and is still spoken highly of by club ppl is beond me. A total chancer. Good point though and delighted for mcgrath

23/03/2014, 7:23 PM
lads is Stephen Bradley with anyone now? couldnt believe he was let go from ye!

23/03/2014, 9:07 PM
lads is Stephen Bradley with anyone now? couldnt believe he was let go from ye!

He has signed for Lucan.

donnrua
24/03/2014, 4:14 PM
I'd fall into the "brilliant result, performance better than expected but not super encouraging either" camp too. There's not a lot of depth in the squad, we know that, short Leahy, Curran, Williams and Galbraith (will he ever play for us again?) I certainly didn't expect us to take a point so I'm delighted with that.

There were pluses for sure (Barry Ryan's return, Oji's performance) but we created very little again and lacked urgency, ideas and penetration in possession. A couple of players had quite poor outings too. It was a step in the right direction though and the team looked up for it anyway which is a good sign for sure. A good day for us overall.
What's the story with Galbraith?

24/03/2014, 4:21 PM
What's the story with Galbraith?

All we have been told it is is a torn hamstring with no idea when he'll be back.

bluewhitearmy
24/03/2014, 4:36 PM
All we have been told it is is a torn hamstring with no idea when he'll be back.

He told one of the lads himself that he shouldn't be too long more.

24/03/2014, 6:04 PM
He told one of the lads himself that he shouldn't be too long more.

I hope not (not too long more I mean). He's been active in the gym for a while apparently, I think he could be a really, really good player for us if he was to settle.

bluewhitearmy
24/03/2014, 9:33 PM
I hope not (not too long more I mean). He's been active in the gym for a while apparently, I think he could be a really, really good player for us if he was to settle.

I was expecting him to have a much better season this one I actually thought he was quite good at times last season. When/if he is back id like to see him played just behind 2 strikers rather then on the wing.

25/03/2014, 11:34 AM
I was expecting him to have a much better season this one I actually thought he was quite good at times last season. When/if he is back id like to see him played just behind 2 strikers rather then on the wing.

I thought he did well overall last year too. He was always looking to use the ball, the system didn't help him at times. I think a more central role could work also, he has more vision than most, can carry the ball and works hard when not in possession too so shouldn't be a liability in any way.