View Full Version : Gameweek 3 - Wexford away

19/03/2014, 4:23 PM
It's only gameweek 3 and already TC has some huge decisions to make.

Decision number 1 - Does he stick with young Jamie Mulhall who has served him so well and is in hot form having gained an under-18 call-up thanks to his performance against Shels or does he go with the tried and trusted Noel Haverty who is back from suspension.

Decision number 2 - Stick with Peter Hynes or drop him and change the shape. - Hynes was cack against Shels and as soon as he made way for Kevin O'Connor we looked a much much better team so does he stick with Hynes or does he bring KOC in alongside Ricer and push Rhys in behind Sully in a 4-2-3-1 formation, personally I think that is ideal for Rhys and KOC and Ricer so if I was TC id seriously consider it as long as Sully doesnt become isolated on his own. I get the feeling (and a few others ive spoken too as well) that Don is not overly happy out wide and would like his chance through the middle so its a big choice for TC to have to make when it comes to formation.

In terms of team news were are full strength bar salmo and etanda but Youths are without their main CB Shane Nolan and James Dermody too so I feel Sully should find a lot more space in and around the penalty area so I'm predicting a 1-0 town win as Wexford are always hard to break down. One things for sure it's not a game we want to lose. This favorites pressure is a c*nt.

What's everyone elses thoughts on the game?

19/03/2014, 4:52 PM
we have a great record in wexford. i also go for a 1-0 and a sully winner..

19/03/2014, 4:54 PM
we have a great record in wexford. i also go for a 1-0 and a sully winner..

Havent lost to Wexford since October 2010 and havent lost to them in Wexford since 2009 so that stat always gaves you confidence.

Darklordsbane
19/03/2014, 5:32 PM
Defo get Cowan off the wing, agree with the 3 man midfield, how about Glen on the wing and Willie at the back if one overlapped the other it wouldn't matter as they can both go forward or track back, I think Willie is a better defender than Glen, but Glen has more pace not sure about the final ball though, I think I read Wexford beat Cobh last weekend so it won't be easy whatever selection plays

Mister X
19/03/2014, 7:26 PM
Defo get Cowan off the wing, agree with the 3 man midfield, how about Glen on the wing and Willie at the back if one overlapped the other it wouldn't matter as they can both go forward or track back, I think Willie is a better defender than Glen, but Glen has more pace not sure about the final ball though, I think I read Wexford beat Cobh last weekend so it won't be easy whatever selection plays

put glen o conner on the wing.. ive heard it all now!

id drop glen for willie or havo and put one of them lb and mulhall rb, mulhall has been in good form!

as for don, hes not 100% yet atall, rather tc brought him on for the last 30 on the wing where he can cause havoc like in athlone!

imo unless we stuck for players hynes should not start! especially in that role just behind sully, shels were all over us as hynes didnt track back at all!! both rhys and sean russell are far better in that role and actually look as if they are trying for aslong as the are on the pitch!

19/03/2014, 8:45 PM

Glenn O'Connor has pace? Now I have heard it all! Don't want to slate the lad he had a good game in Galway but he's not half the player Willie Tyrell is and the fact Willie didn't have a great pre-season with injuries etc has to be the only reason he isn't starting at the moment but his cameo in Galway proved his class and he has to start ahead of GOC who I thought was awful against shels he got skinned countless times, willie Tyrell mightn't be lightening quick either but he won't let himself get caught out of position like that.

Agree with Mister X that Mulhall is In superb form so I'd stick with him although Wexford can be a very physical side so I'd understand if TC went with Havo.

Town Legend
21/03/2014, 4:30 PM
Just arrived in Wexford, time for a few pre match scoops. Hopefully get the three points, if not back to the hotel to get locked!!

21/03/2014, 9:17 PM
That'll do lads. Sounds like we saw it out comfortably enough once we got in front, from the limited updates.

L.T.F.C.
21/03/2014, 10:21 PM
**** sake... Whats the point in having clubapp if you're going to have two updates during the game and no subs list?

21/03/2014, 10:28 PM
**** sake... Whats the point in having clubapp if you're going to have two updates during the game and no subs list?

Was frustrating tonight alright especially with extratime having nobody there. It's the games like tonight that most people can't make that it'd be most useful for. It's reliant on the person at the game sending the updates, they could have had difficulties with their phone or something, as far as I know the usual updater was there.

Darklordsbane
21/03/2014, 11:23 PM
if we see a better goal this season we will be very lucky absolute cracker good on ye Rhys

21/03/2014, 11:25 PM
I wasn't there tonight obviously but Rhys was excellent in the Galway and Shels games. He seems to have kicked on again from last year and looks a really good young midfielder.

Mister X
22/03/2014, 1:30 AM

unfortunately the phone died and the 3g ran out on the back up phone!! couldnt even txt on info to the backup person at home as he was away.. a series of unfortunate events!

Darklordsbane
22/03/2014, 6:00 AM
the internet didn't work on my phone either got a connection to extratime at half time but nothing afterwards, anyway I didn't think we were great at all, highlights for me were
Chris Bennions double save from the penalty and rebound,
Rhys Gormans goal
Kevin O Connors shot
Wexford keepers save
Kevin O' Connor header
Wexford keepers save
Stephen Rice's 3 tackles all superb
couldn't pick a man of the match, but boy did we miss Rhys in the middle when he was taken off for Hynes

22/03/2014, 7:25 PM
did many town fans travel? wot happnd that bus was late?

Darklordsbane
22/03/2014, 8:26 PM
They were in the pub allegedly

Mister X
22/03/2014, 10:45 PM
They were in the pub allegedly

not sure if your messing or not, the bus driver didnt know where the pitch was and took a wrong turn and got lost, added about 30 min onto journey!

Darklordsbane
22/03/2014, 11:05 PM
Sorry my mistake I read Town legends post and assume he was with section O, it's a hard place to find alright especially in the dark, at least they made up for it when they got there they sang and banged their drum for the rest of the match

23/03/2014, 7:06 PM
not sure if your messing or not, the bus driver didnt know where the pitch was and took a wrong turn and got lost, added about 30 min onto journey!

awful pity i wasnt on bus as i would ave known exactly how to go to it. i couldnt make it due to work.

23/03/2014, 8:16 PM
The pitch is signposted, and it's along a main road..it's not that hard to miss?

Darklordsbane
24/03/2014, 6:20 AM
The pitch is very easy to see from the main road alright, but when you turn off the N11 there may be a sign to go next left but I haven't seen one, once you are on the right road there are sign posts (very small non council ones) everything is easy when you know how, it is a very dark road,I had been there before but thought I was going the wrong way, thankfully I had left work early and got to see Rhys's goal, and another 3 points

24/03/2014, 3:14 PM
The pitch is signposted the whole way from the main road to the pitch itself. Off the little back road, there's a left turn to make, the signpost is very small, but it's there.

Town Legend
25/03/2014, 12:01 AM
I won't believe it until I see photo evidence of this small sign!! ��

25/03/2014, 9:08 PM
I won't believe it until I see photo evidence of this small sign!! ��

God bless Google Maps.

http://i.imgur.com/Syw7aM3.jpg

Town Legend
25/03/2014, 10:20 PM
Haha I believe ya now Nigel!! ��

L.T.F.C.
25/03/2014, 10:57 PM
Just what is required driving down the road at night.

25/03/2014, 11:21 PM
I would assume your car/bus would have lights that work during the night.

Darklordsbane
26/03/2014, 5:35 AM
Fair play Nigel, but you wouldn't usually look on the ground for a sign now would you, the first time you saw it, was it daylight ?

27/03/2014, 2:55 PM
I know, if behind the wheel of a car, I usually take note of what's on the road and the ground, so as not to hit it. First time I saw it, it was during the night. A bitter, bitter cold night, as it always is down there.