View Full Version : national team - Irish speakers

sean
26/10/2004, 1:30 AM
has there ever been an Irish speaker on the players pannel for the national team? what about the loi have there ever been a native speaker on a loi club?

26/10/2004, 8:07 AM
Eon Poill and Ciaran Foley are both Irish speakers...they played for Limerick for a few seasons..maybe this should be moved to general so other clubs can let you know.

26/10/2004, 8:46 AM
Heard Kenny Cunningham a couple of times with the cupla fochla.

$Leon$
27/10/2004, 2:17 PM
during an interview about a year ago clinton morrision was talkin about how some of his fellow team mates were teaching him how to speak irish and drink guinness.
"not doin too well at the speakin irish bit, but i'm wicked at the drinkin guinness"
absolute legend. is it any wonder all the other players drop what ever there doin as soon as clinton is in the vicinity of a microphone.

inexile
27/10/2004, 2:21 PM
clinto is a legend i loved his comment at the world cup after playing gaelic football in training he said "everyone is saying i is a natural" when informed that he wouldnt get paid he said "thats aiiight i do it for free" spoken like a true kerryman no?

27/10/2004, 2:26 PM
Dunno about Irish players, but I've heard Martin Keown is fluent as gaeilge.

Both his parents hail from Gaeltacht areas I think.

sylvo
27/10/2004, 2:38 PM
Kevin Kilbane is also an Irish speaker, I belive he done some interview's during the world cup on tg4 totally in Irish.

27/10/2004, 2:48 PM
Saw Martin Keown being interviewed at a GAA club in London where he played gaa for his local Irish club. However said he played hurling once and decided it was not for him.

27/10/2004, 3:01 PM
Charlie McCreevy ex Finn Harps manager is fluent.

Junior
27/10/2004, 3:28 PM
Saw Martin Keown being interviewed at a GAA club in London where he played gaa for his local Irish club. However said he played hurling once and decided it was not for him.

makes you wonder why he never declared for us. I wasn't aware of his gaa links, but generally those of 2g who partake in gaa would generally view themselves as Irish first. anyone got any more info on Keown?

Junior
27/10/2004, 4:11 PM
ya he is a gob****e, read an interview with him, they were asking why he never declared for ireland, his father was very musical, and he used to learn some irish instrument when he was younger. He said he used to listen to irish music the whole time growing up and that he would go back to tiperarry every summer as a youngster, tip was where his father was from.

there was a good bit more. cant beleive he could go and play for england, though at the time he prolly knew he wouldn;t have got into the irish side, at the age he was trying to break in

would he have had more chance of playing in the england side though? :confused:

barglee
27/10/2004, 4:42 PM
Why do we assume he'd play for Ireland. He was born in England so he's English! fair enough if he picked ireland but dont criticize him for picking the nation he was born in....

Sometimes the irish think we're some sort of special nation that everyone with any link to the country should claim to be Irish.

Say all this though, i read before that he'd like his children to play for Ireland!

Cowboy
27/10/2004, 5:48 PM
He was born in England so he's English!

Thats a ridiculous statement, is the Duke of wellington Irish? he was born in Ireland!

Are Dave O' Leary and Paul Mc Grath english ?

Please no more stupid generalisations

Adrianovic
27/10/2004, 8:06 PM
Thats a ridiculous statement, is the Duke of wellington Irish? he was born in Ireland!

Ahh you're taking the man literally, I assume he said that in the context that he was born in England so has every right to declare for England, rather than us being surprised he didn't declare for us.

Ade

Cowboy
27/10/2004, 11:49 PM
Ahh you're taking the man literally, I assume he said that in the context that he was born in England so has every right to declare for England, rather than us being surprised he didn't declare for us.

Ade

I think he can speak up for himself, if thats what he meant then he should have said so.

dynamo kerry
28/10/2004, 2:10 AM
I think he can speak up for himself, if thats what he meant then he should have said so.
this 2g thing has been done to death here before my time and long more.

I got what he meant

onenilgameover
28/10/2004, 2:26 AM
Yeah I heard Kev Kilbane was a dab hand with the ol irish. Someone on here met him out on the Aran Islands or so theyand he was speakin in Irish. Maybe the person who posted that would clarify.

Junior
28/10/2004, 8:14 AM
Why do we assume he'd play for Ireland. He was born in England so he's English! fair enough if he picked ireland but dont criticize him for picking the nation he was born in....

Sometimes the irish think we're some sort of special nation that everyone with any link to the country should claim to be Irish.

Say all this though, i read before that he'd like his children to play for Ireland!

I merely said I was surprised he opted for England with him having gaa links etc... And asked for more information.

No assumptions, no criticsim just an enquiry.

Cowboy
28/10/2004, 9:28 AM
this 2g thing has been done to death here before my time and long more.

and it will be done again when a statement which I personally find offensive is made.

Steviewonder
28/10/2004, 10:57 AM

Are Dave O' Leary and Paul Mc Grath English ?

Please no more stupid generalisations.............

ya he is a gob****e, read an interview with him, they were asking why he never declared for ireland, He said he used to.....go back to tiperarry every summer as a youngster, tip was where his father was from.
cant beleive he could go and play for england, though at the time he prolly knew he wouldn;t have got into the irish side.............

It might be offensive to some, but its true. Someone born in a country will be a citizen of that country until they're old enough to decide otherwise.

My parents are both Welsh, & I go back to their home town at least twice a year to meet the relatives, but me? I was born in the Bould Holles street, which, to my knowledge, entitles me to play for Ireland and Wales, (should either association require the services of a fat, lazy, useless, no-footed, slow & tired 'utility player')

Without a single doubt, my choice would be Ireland, because I was born here. Sure, I keep an eye on the Millennium on Match days, follow the Welsh results, and watch 'em when circumstances allow, (one of the benifits of Sky bankrolling football means less clashing of the international kick off times..) But living, working & socialising here, I naturally feel more Irish than Welsh.

However, if Cowboys laws are enforced, no matter what my passport says, or whatever my own feelings are, I'm Welsh plain and simple, and I should bust my nuts to play for Wales, whether I want to or not.

And to add insult to injury, Pronane reckons that my Loving one country's culture yet longing to declare for the country of my birth makes me a Gobsh*te! Jesus Wept!

This begs the question, What the HELL are some of you on? People on this board can be so bloody insular at times.

:mad:

noby
28/10/2004, 11:50 AM
(should either association require the services of a fat, lazy, useless, no-footed, slow & tired 'utility player')

Well, Wales already have Hartson...

Cowboy
28/10/2004, 12:12 PM
However, if Cowboys laws are enforced, no matter what my passport says, or whatever my own feelings are, I'm Welsh plain and simple, and I should bust my nuts to play for Wales, whether I want to or not.

This begs the question, What the HELL are some of you on? People on this board can be so bloody insular at times.

What laws are you referring to? You are totally mis representing my view which is exactly the opposite of what you are saying . My point is that being born in england does not mean you must be english and it should not be assumed so , nationality is a choice each individual must make for him/herself. I would ask you to read my post again as you seem to have misunderstood my view on this

TheJamaicanP.M.
28/10/2004, 12:38 PM
Back in 1997 when the Ireland under-20s came third in Malaysia, I recall George Hamilton saying that Thomas Morgan was a fluent Irish speaker.
On a different note, Kevin Kilbane is quite a good Irish speaker and always sings the national anthem.

Steviewonder
28/10/2004, 12:55 PM
What laws are you referring to? You are totally mis representing my view which is exactly the opposite of what you are saying . My point is that being born in england does not mean you must be english and it should not be assumed so , nationality is a choice each individual must make for him/herself. I would ask you to read my post again as you seem to have misunderstood my view on this

Maybe I did pick you up wrong, & if i did, my apologies, but your post above, in it's current form simply says to me that ones culture dictates ones nationality, and if that were the case, then despite my Irishness, My overwhelming cultural influences are those of Cymru, therefore I should be Welsh! (with regard to Nationality being something one chooses for themselves, I Dont think that at any stage The grand old duke ever stood up, finger pointed towards the heavens ,and said" Enough of this Paddywhack crap, its time for me to be English", Likewise O Leary and McGrath probably never had a ceremony where they burned their Birth certs so as to be reborn of Erin, It's just the whole cultural absorbtion thing, y'know?)

(As an example (in sociology, or whatever..), what would the story be if I told the same tale about being born in Dublin, working for an Irish Company, living it up on Irish taxpayers cash etc etc,played a bit of football, then Buggered off and declared for Wales?
How high do you reckon I'd score on the bollockometer then? (For this experiment to work, you have to imagine that im f*cking deadly at football...)

Cowboy
28/10/2004, 2:21 PM
Maybe I did pick you up wrong, & if i did, my apologies, but your post above, in it's current form simply says to me that ones culture dictates ones nationality

Appreciate the apology but thats not my position, I think its a personal choice, all I'm saying is that nationality should not be assumed or foisted on an individual the basis of geography or accent

(As an example (in sociology, or whatever..), what would the story be if I told the same tale about being born in Dublin, working for an Irish Company, living it up on Irish taxpayers cash etc etc,played a bit of football, then Buggered off and declared for Wales?
How high do you reckon I'd score on the bollockometer then? (For this experiment to work, you have to imagine that im f*cking deadly at football...)

I would respect your choice as to who you want to be but would not be buying you a pile of drinks either

'74KA
28/10/2004, 2:38 PM
Charlie McCreevy ex Finn Harps manager is fluent.

:D :D Charlie McGeever! :D :D

Cowboy
28/10/2004, 2:53 PM

Yeah mc creevy got a transfer to a bigger european club :)

oconghc2
28/10/2004, 7:28 PM
....On a different note, Kevin Kilbane is quite a good Irish speaker and always sings the national anthem.

think its great seeing kilbane singing anthem - reckon every player on the team should sing it. (and the fans at that!! too many people dont know it!! think thats a disgrace!)

why not have an entance exam to the team - learning the anthem as part of it!!! ... on second thoughts wed struggle to scrape 11 !! Clinton would prob do well in the english...innit!!!

On another note - it wrecks my head that the FAI dont use irish hardly at all!! even at games they have a great chance to promote amongst a lot of people who have lost all interest in their "native tongue"! Id love all the players to be announced by their irsh names, see how the PA manages!!! my favourite is still ClintĂșn MacMuiris

Pat O' Banton
28/10/2004, 8:43 PM
He was born in England so he's English!

Good God almighty, once we've finished with Sligoman and PJ another one pops up.

What the hell sort of statement is this. For the final time IMMIGRATION, it happen to quite a few Irish people in the past some of them brought their children up in an Irish sort of way, hence there is a good few posting on this board that otherwise might be looking at burberryrucks.com or something similar.

Steviewonder, the point is that we get sick of hearing that because we have an English accent, that because we were not born in Ireland that we are some how second rate Irish people. And before any sort of qubbiles the above statement does say that 'He was born in England so he's English' not a misinterpreting or anything like that a simple quote.

Dynamo Kerry; I know what you mean about this subject being done over again, but I'm sorry I get a different idea of what he means, and am not going to let it pass (again :rolleyes: )

On to other matters about Keown, Junior, I think that he viewed himself as being behind Lawernson, Moran, McGrath and O' Leary when he was first muted for the position so it is quite possible that the Ingerland team would have been easier to get into. (He definately also has eligiblity for the Occupied Territories - one of his folks is from Fermanagh and also possibly eligiblity for Scotland)

Cowboy
28/10/2004, 9:09 PM
Someone born in a country will be a citizen of that country until they're old enough to decide otherwise.

Not meaning to point score or get political Stevie but it has just struck me that since our last constitutional change the above is no longer the case.

sylvo
28/10/2004, 9:45 PM
[QUOTE=barglee] He was born in England so he's English!

:D I love it, another one who feel's that us 2g's should be following the fortune's of the Burburry clad country of our birth and not the country our hearts are in and the place we feel is our home. In my 84 senior international's i've heard them all be it the old classic, ''How come yer not at Wembley'', or ''what da fock yer doing following us'' even some clown saying to us during a conversation ''so yer mudder's OIrish, yer Fadder's Oirish yer grandperents are OIrish, so what are YOU doing though over here watching OIreland.'' But fair play to yer at least you've side stepped those kind of formalities and just said what yer felt stright out :rolleyes:, next time yer at Landsdowne and yer in the East stand take a trip up to blocks UW and UX, you'll find that area of the ground full of Irish fans who would'nt pass yer citizen test on the grounds of where they were born.

Cowboy
28/10/2004, 9:52 PM
[QUOTE=barglee] He was born in England so he's English!

: take a trip up to blocks UW and UX, you'll find that area of the ground full of Irish fans who would'nt pass yer citizen test on the grounds of where they were born.

Sylvo if there was a citizen test we would lose half the team

sylvo
28/10/2004, 10:23 PM
Sylvo if there was a citizen test we would lose half the team

To right, not to mention yer good self would be losing out on bevving with a lot of mates in Scruffys after the games. ;)

Cowboy
29/10/2004, 12:22 AM
To right, not to mention yer good self would be losing out on bevving with a lot of mates in Scruffys after the games. ;)

I would fail the test too so would not be there either :)

sylvo
29/10/2004, 8:05 AM
I would fail the test too so would not be there either :)

Of course, you'd also come under the term ''the lost generation'', I forgot about that.

Bondvillain
29/10/2004, 11:13 AM
Someone born in a country will be a citizen of that country until they're old enough to decide otherwise

Not meaning to point score or get political Stevie but it has just struck me that since our last constitutional change the above is no longer the case].

Fine Debating skills there pardner, altough im not sure if that affects Stevie re: Britain.

McDowell, (the Minister For Orwellian procedures and antagonising the public) has stipulated that this constitutional change should only affect people of 'a funny colour', who 'dont speak proper English, like we do' & the kind who would 'break into our homes and steal all our Jam' given half a chance.

Rumours that it was only narrowly decided not to call it the "Bloody Foreigner" amendment at the last minute have yet to be disproven... Has anyone else noticed, that as the years progress on their unkind crawl, McDowell starts to look more & more like a pudgy Alf Garnett?
Ooops. Politics....

I like football

There. Back on track.

Beavis
29/10/2004, 11:20 AM
think its great seeing kilbane singing anthem - reckon every player on the team should sing it. (and the fans at that!! too many people dont know it!! think thats a disgrace!)

Agreed.It's only what 8 lines and most of the crowd can't/don't even sing it.And most of the time those who do murmur it beneath their breath.

29/10/2004, 11:44 AM

Oops!! :D

Anyway everyone take a chill pill and remember the thread...........

Cowboy
29/10/2004, 1:03 PM
Agreed.It's only what 8 lines and most of the crowd can't/don't even sing it.And most of the time those who do murmur it beneath their breath.

I agree. The most rousing rendition I remember was before the england/combat 18 game.

I've also noticed that lately some guys dont give either ours or the opposing teams anthems the respect they deserve e.g talking loudly through it, trying to take their seats while its playing etc

I think its also through that a lot of people dont know the words.

I was dj at a wedding many years ago when a guy asked me to play the "Antrim" and not quite hearing him correctly I asked "How does that go"? to which he replied " ah you know the one, the last line is CHASIN CONNIE AROUND THE GREEN"

lopez
29/10/2004, 11:03 PM
It might be offensive to some, but its true. Someone born in a country will be a citizen of that country until they're old enough to decide otherwise.Keeping this strictly along the legal lines that you have decided to put this into, this is strictly b*llocks. What country are you talking about where if you are born there you're a citizen until you are old enough to decide otherwise? US, Australia, Canada, because it's nowhere in the EU. Not even Ireland anymore because although it might well have been the case that the Irish government handed out citizenship to all and sundry that were dropped there, but like other countries with growing immigration (rather than emigration) it doesn't anymore. In-ger-land, where I and Keown were born or Wales or Scotland? Surely Britain? Sorry to dissapoint you but this qualification was done away by Thatch in 1981. Noone, but noone is automatically a British citizen unless one of their parents are British citizens. You apply for it and providing you come up to scratch (all of this like any application to join a certain club is strictly up to the club itself) you might just get it.

Barglee? Congratulations mate! You have just picked up my 'W*nker of The Week' Award. Suggestions for some literature on Irish emigration is on its way to you soon as soon as you can prove to me that you'll be able to read it. :rolleyes:

Steviewonder
29/10/2004, 11:57 PM
Keeping this strictly along the legal lines that you have decided to put this into, this is strictly b*llocks. What country are you talking about where if you are born there you're a citizen until you are old enough to decide otherwise? US, Australia, Canada, because it's nowhere in the EU. Not even Ireland anymore because although it might well have been the case that the Irish government handed out citizenship to all and sundry that were dropped there, but like other countries with growing immigration (rather than emigration) it doesn't anymore. In-ger-land, where I and Keown were born or Wales or Scotland? Surely Britain? Sorry to dissapoint you but this qualification was done away by Thatch in 1981. Noone, but noone is automatically a British citizen unless one of their parents are British citizens. You apply for it and providing you come up to scratch (all of this like any application to join a certain club is strictly up to the club itself) you might just get it..

Aye, Canny, Grand. Good Man.

I should point out that Cowboy already put me straight on this earlier though, about 3 posts ago. He was quicker about it too mind, Less breath used.
(P.S. Whos this Noone Guy? & how come the law is different for him? :D )

Anyway, digression. My fault. Angry young celtic soul brother. So far the list has come up with Kilbane & Cunningham as 'maybes' for an cupla focail, anyone else? Law of stereotypical averages says the Donegal Lads should have a good grasp. Any Reports on Given having a lash?

30/10/2004, 11:54 AM
Any Reports on Given having a lash?Not sure that Lifford is a 'cupla focla' stronghold!

lopez
30/10/2004, 1:39 PM
Aye, Canny, Grand. Good Man.

I should point out that Cowboy already put me straight on this earlier though, about 3 posts ago. He was quicker about it too mind, Less breath used.
(P.S. Whos this Noone Guy? & how come the law is different for him? :D )

Anyway, digression. My fault. Angry young celtic soul brother. So far the list has come up with Kilbane & Cunningham as 'maybes' for an cupla focail, anyone else? Law of stereotypical averages says the Donegal Lads should have a good grasp. Any Reports on Given having a lash?Cowboy put you straight about the referendum (which you rightly claim I needn't have waffled on about). However as we're talking about Britain, the point I made is that the law was changed before someone like Aidan McGeavy was born. Mind you, even in the countries with the toughest of citizenship processes like Germany, this doesn't stop the fast and gifted 'noone' from gaining 'citizenship' denied to the not-so-fast-and-gifted 'noone' in order to represent their new found country. :)

LadyJane
04/11/2004, 1:03 AM
Mind you, even in the countries with the toughest of citizenship processes like Germany, this doesn't stop the fast and gifted 'noone' from gaining 'citizenship' denied to the not-so-fast-and-gifted 'noone' in order to represent their new found country. :)

Like for instance a certain Mr Hargreaves being offered a ''chance of a lifetime'' citizenship opportunity with the fatherland when it looked like their midfield was f*cked?

See what u mean....

barglee
04/11/2004, 5:18 PM
Barglee? Congratulations mate! You have just picked up my 'W*nker of The Week' Award. Suggestions for some literature on Irish emigration is on its way to you soon as soon as you can prove to me that you'll be able to read it. :rolleyes:

Apologies if i offended anyone, i wouldn't question any 2g ers irishness, if you read my post you'd see i just meant that Keown was born in English and his natural nationality is English.

Im not disputing the fact that a person can claim a different nationality if he/she feels this is right.

I was born in ireland and have irish parents etc so maybe i dont understand all this, i still feel irish because of WHERE i was brought up, WHERE i went to school, friends etc and not necessarily my parents.

im sorry if i struck a sensitive nerve with a few of ye , to be honest its a silly topic and not worth arguing about.

So what is the prize for 'W*nker of The Week' award ????? :)

Cowboy
04/11/2004, 5:54 PM
fair enough

04/11/2004, 6:33 PM
So what is the prize for 'W*nker of The Week' award ????? :)

The prize is that you win next weeks also. :D :D :D Just kidding!

Steviewonder
04/11/2004, 7:08 PM
Im not disputing the fact that a person can claim a different nationality if he/she feels this is right.

i still feel irish because of WHERE i was brought up, WHERE i went to school, friends etc and not necessarily my parents.

Bang on young'flla. Im with ya.

Group hug etc, from the Irish Welshman.. :D

lopez
04/11/2004, 8:14 PM
Apologies if i offended anyone, i wouldn't question any 2g ers irishness, if you read my post you'd see i just meant that Keown was born in English and his natural nationality is English. Apology gracefully accepted, and yes we 2G do have raw nerves on this question.

BTW, 'W*nker of the Week' orginated on that fantastic cultural institution of the nineties, The Girly Show, presented by Sarah 'We love the Queen Mum, even though she smells o' t'p*ss' Cox, a mixed race bird with a posh accent and someone else who I believe was the token lesbian. Just to show that this show is still relevent today, my most memorable 'W*nker of the Week' was Stan Collymore. My, how times have NOT changed. :D