View Full Version : Lansdowne protest...?
26/10/2004, 12:07 AM
Right. Couple of drinks on me, so bear with me!
Next Ireland game is v. Portugal (or Croatia) next month. Most of the eL fans here and on other forums I've briefly read through seem to be in supoprt of Rooney, and also believe that the FAI is composed of idiots. Is there anything to be gained by getting the eL section starting a protest at the upcoming home game. Banners, chants, etc.? Any suggestions/comments?
yur man
26/10/2004, 12:58 AM
Financially Above Inspection
might be a good banner
26/10/2004, 6:43 AM
Financially Above Inspection
might be a good banner
What about F**kers Are Incompetent
I reckon any banners criticising the FAI will
be removed fairly lively by the stewards.
Robinski
26/10/2004, 9:52 AM
The next match is against Croatia. I like the idea of banners but instead of slagging off the cretins (and gettingthem taken off you), why not keep it simple with something like 'eL Fans Support Fran Rooney'.
26/10/2004, 10:25 AM
****in* Arseh*les Incorporated :) :)
26/10/2004, 10:28 AM
Unfortunately, I can't see Rooney being around for the Croatia match.
Bondvillain
26/10/2004, 11:48 AM
Unfortunately, I can't see Rooney being around for the Croatia match.
Sadly, Probably true. However, this is all the more reason to vocalise any discontent.
Let's not allow them to believe they are acting on anyones behalf except their own strange little "gentlemans club"....
26/10/2004, 12:04 PM
Im in favour of such a protest. The FAI is a joke and they think they are in control of all of irish soccer. I cant see Rooney lasting until croatia match but a protest should still be made !!
Robinski
26/10/2004, 12:06 PM
Im in favour of such a protest. The FAI is a joke and they think they are in control of all of irish soccer. I cant see Rooney lasting until croatia match but a protest should still be made !!
I agree with you. What do you suggest?
26/10/2004, 12:08 PM
Milo Corcoran's name will be announced on the intercom when he goes out to shake the players hands, booing him would be a start.
Robinski
26/10/2004, 12:12 PM
Milo Corcoran's name will be announced on the intercom when he goes out to shake the players hands, booing him would be a start.
I like that.
exile
26/10/2004, 12:39 PM
should we get together and form some form of protest before the match :eek:
26/10/2004, 12:58 PM
The stewards may be able to remove banners, but they can't take away your voice. Maybe someone can come up with a chant in support of Rooney. Any takers?
26/10/2004, 2:16 PM
There is a chance that they may take the banners away but we should still bring them. Just have them folded up until the match begins. If the stewards try to take them away no doubt the cameras will be showing them.
Chants would be great because everyone in the whole ground (and T.V) will hear them (since lansdowne road is always quite) and they cant stop anyone from singing them.
Simple chants work best because everyone can join in. Boo'ing Milo Corcoran's name is a good idea and what about "Roo -- ney , Roo -- ney" ? not exactly the best but simple :)
26/10/2004, 2:27 PM
Simple chants work best because everyone can join in. Boo'ing Milo Corcoran's name is a good idea and what about "Roo -- ney , Roo -- ney" ? not exactly the best but simple :)
When Corcoran goes out to greet the players, just do the "Roo--ney" chant as loud as you can and when he is on his way back to his seat, out with the Boo's!
green army
26/10/2004, 3:33 PM
what about this....
Milo Corcoran your a w@nker your a w@anker
just sing away to your hearts content.
$Leon$
26/10/2004, 3:48 PM
for too long the fai got away with running association football in this country into the ground. the croud up north are no better. might as well be the irish farmers association running the show. both organisations should be disbanded and a new 32 county all ireland body should be set up and play under the name of IRELAND. not the 2 names we have at present forced upon us by a foreign power who decided to partition our country almost a century ago. it is time to unite the "national" teams and use sport as a common passion between irish people.
1 country 1 team 1 association 1 ireland
26/10/2004, 4:09 PM
Dont start that " one all ireland soccer "stuff on this thread ! Its is about Rooney and the clowns in the FAI.
A protest has to be made about how things have been handled and the fact that Genesis hasnt been implement. Its nothing to do with the IFA.
Rooney hasnt done anything wrong, those muppets just want to keep the Circus going so they can have their jobs for life :mad:
Roooo - ney Rooo -ney Rooo -ney !!!!
$Leon$
26/10/2004, 4:21 PM
Dont start that " one all ireland soccer "stuff on this thread ! Its is about Rooney and the clowns in the FAI.
A protest has to be made about how things have been handled and the fact that Genesis hasnt been implement. Its nothing to do with the IFA.
Rooney hasnt done anything wrong, those muppets just want to keep the Circus going so they can have their jobs for life :mad:
Roooo - ney Rooo -ney Rooo -ney !!!!
in favour of rooney totally. the only true football fan in the organisation and the only one Competent enough to do his job. all the others are what rk would describe as the "prawn sandwich brigade" only der for the cushy number, the expenses, the publicity and the trips to far flung destinations. what the fai needs is a Committee with enough drive and vision to do justice to the ordinary football fans around the entire country. just suggestin that while the fai has gone in to free fall it might be a good oppertunity to rebuild the organisation as a 32 county body
Bondvillain
26/10/2004, 4:31 PM
just suggestin that while the fai has gone in to free fall it might be a good oppertunity to rebuild the organisation as a 32 county body
Errmmmm, I think however drastic their situation, our friends in the North might be a mite peeved at their absorbtion into an association that cant find its arse with two hands and a map....
Meanwhile, back at the ranch; How best to spread the word about the Rooney protests?
A geansai-load of 2/1 says the mainstream media wont touch it while the scent of litigation is in the air....
i reckon anyone who is interested should get together before hand block some traffic to get some notice unfurl a banner and get our point across to media :D a bit militant maybe but gets the point across and the media will take notice
26/10/2004, 5:45 PM
i reckon anyone who is interested should get together before hand block some traffic to get some notice unfurl a banner and get our point across to media a bit militant maybe but gets the point across and the media will take notice
I agree.
I dont agree with an 32 county all island Ireland team rubbish.
26/10/2004, 5:47 PM
would have no problem with it but dont know where "Lansdowme" is ;)
soccerc
26/10/2004, 5:47 PM
This is not about unpaid bills, it is not about his management style, it is not about any other smokescreen or device orchastrated by certain people, IT IS ABOUT POWER, THE NEED TO REMOVE POWER FROM HONORARY OFFICERS,CHANGE AND THE NEED TO DRIVE CHANGE.
Once Rooney stood up and said no we cannot appoint internally to the post of Director of Finance the hawks moved in to destroy him with innuendo, allegation and half truths.
Certain media have been complicit in this by not seeking to provide balance in their "objective reporting". Milo Corcoran is on record as saying he cannot see Rooney working in the current structures of the FAI - Rooney does not want the current structures, he wants to implement Genesis. The author of the Genesis Report Alastair Gray today said it was time for the volunteer Honorary officers to move on to be replaced by professionals.
He has been tried, found guilty and sentenced yet has not been asked to provide any evidence on his own behalf. Where is the moral or natural justice in that? There is none.
A number of football supporters of different el clubs have already met to discuss ways in which to support Fran Rooney as CEO of the FAI.
Recent events have once more brought disharmony in Merrion Square with people wanting rid of Fran because he wishes to fully implement Genesis - Football fans are stakeholders too in Irish football and our voices must be heard. For too long we've accepted whatever was thrown at us but in the past 18 months Rooney has met with, listened to and provided us with access to international tickets ( I know its only a small thing but no one else bothered).
Anyone interested in moving this group forward PM me
Cowboy
26/10/2004, 6:28 PM
well said Sir
26/10/2004, 7:00 PM
why not keep it simple with something like 'eL Fans Support Fran Rooney'.
Good idea to be honest !! That would be the job !!
26/10/2004, 7:24 PM
its about more than just supporting fran rooney... its also about getting rid of all the clowns that currently administer (joke!) our game. enough is enough. we just seem to be dragged from one internal FAI squabble to another. if its allowed to continue like this people who provide sponsorship etc. will go elsewhere with their money. who in their right mind would want to be associated with the FAI as things stand??
also, reports in the weekend papers suggested that the redevelopment of lansdowne would be at risk if the FAI couldnt sort itself out.... what a mess!
exile
26/10/2004, 10:36 PM
so we going to formulate a plan or what it could look by the end of the week there maybe no rooney
26/10/2004, 10:58 PM
so we going to formulate a plan or what it could look by the end of the week there maybe no rooney
Why not start with a bombardment of e-mails to:
(a) fran.rooney@fai.ie - offering support
(b) milo.corcoran@fai.ie - expressing disgust at his lack of support for his CEO and demanding he either support Rooney or resign.
(c) john.delaney@fai.ie - telling him how much is despised by fans, how he will never have the support of fans and urging him to resign before he drags Irish soccer into the gutter. :mad:
soccerc
26/10/2004, 11:15 PM
Why not start with a bombardment of e-mails to:
(a) fran.rooney@fai.ie - offering support
(b) milo.corcoran@fai.ie - expressing disgust at his lack of support for his CEO and demanding he either support Rooney or resign.
(c) john.delaney@fai.ie - telling him how much is despised by fans, how he will never have the support of fans and urging him to resign before he drags Irish soccer into the gutter. :mad:
fran@fai.ie is another of his direct email addresses
Why not use info@fai.ie too
Let the press officer know alsopressoffice@fai.ie or pat.costello@fai.ie
Bondvillain
27/10/2004, 12:58 AM
would have no problem with it but dont know where "Lansdowme" is ;)
Its im Dublim, silly. Its where the Irelamd tean play their hone Imtermatiomal ganes. I'n particularly excited about the upconing natch with Framce.
In all fairness, there was an admission of Pints taken. Fair play to Stu for not going back and trying a sneaky sober edit.
Anyway, Im fully in favour of an email campaign, once we're careful, & its kept firm, accurate & civil. The last thing anyone here wants is Delaney gaining sympathy from the press because he's whining about getting 'threatening Hate mail'...
Robinski
27/10/2004, 9:20 AM
Anyway, Im fully in favour of an email campaign, once we're careful, & its kept firm, accurate & civil. The last thing anyone here wants is Delaney gaining sympathy from the press because he's whining about getting 'threatening Hate mail'...
I think that's where you have to be careful. It has to be kept civil and clear, otherwise it won't work.
Does anyone have John Treacy's email address, so we can email him too?
Seamuslawless
27/10/2004, 2:46 PM
Would anyone with an eloquant pen (or keyboard) be willing to type a standard mail that people could simply cut and paste changing their signature at the end. That way, hopefully, it will rule out the possibility of people firing off mails including the likes of "Delaney, you're an awful bo**ox !!" ;) :confused:
Robinski
27/10/2004, 3:45 PM
Would anyone with an eloquant pen (or keyboard) be willing to type a standard mail that people could simply cut and paste changing their signature at the end. That way, hopefully, it will rule out the possibility of people firing off mails including the likes of "Delaney, you're an awful bo**ox !!" ;) :confused:
soccerc? You seem to have a way with words, interested?
27/10/2004, 6:41 PM
I reckon any banners criticising the FAI will
be removed fairly lively by the stewards.
Would the stewards have the wherewithal to take down banners of their own accord? Given my (highly prejudicial) view of Lansdowne stewards, I'd doubt it. Even if they do, by taking down banners, they'd only be drawing attention to them. Might as well try and get a few together sure and see what happens.
The Croatia game is a friendly, so the terraces are open and people can move and group freely. What would be the easiest way for anyone who wants to put up a few banners/chant a few anti-Corcoran and Delaney chants to gather together? Seeing as most of us on the board don't know each other to see, maybe to meet up outside the pub outside the ground would do? Or if someone puts up a distinctive, non FAI flag (like a club flag), maybe we'll know to head there?
27/10/2004, 6:44 PM
Meanwhile, back at the ranch; How best to spread the word about the Rooney protests?
A geansai-load of 2/1 says the mainstream media won't touch it while the scent of litigation is in the air....
If we do get a few banners together and decide to go with it, we might as well tip them off anyway. If they don't want to touch it, that's their call. We've nothing to lose by telling them.
4tothefloor
27/10/2004, 7:35 PM
Delaney is the one that should be targeted in chief, as he is the biggest schemer of them all. Anyone that bumps into him in Jurys before the game, (he's always in the foyer outside the restaurant\back bar without fail, giving out tickets to blazers and corporate $hits), should tell him exactly what they think of him. He thinks he's untouchable, when all he is, is a chancer from Waterford. He'll get his comeuppance though, as his actions are that of a man who has something to hide.
I'd be in full support of Rooney. I think the "Rooney, Rooney" chant would be very effective, especially when the teams are being presented at the start, also "There's only one Fran Rooney" etc etc. My banner would basically just read "Delaney Out, Corcoran Out" etc, as banners with curse words won't be shown on the tv, so there's no point to them. We also need an effective chant for each of Delaney and Corcoran.
Maybe we could muster a chant for Corcoran out of his Heineken controversy.
How about "Stand up", and turn it into "John Delaney Out" or something? Would be effective, but we need a few chants, one or two are no good.
Meeting and planning something before the game is a great idea, surely something can be organised between foot.ie and Soccercentral posters, surely someone knows journalists that they can inform?
27/10/2004, 7:53 PM
I would love to throw a big tup of paint (like the one for painting walls) over that delaney fella in the lobby.
keeping the swear words out of the banners is a good idea. I cant see them showing "Delaney scum - GET OUT !! " being shown :)
Good idea to be honest !! That would be the job !!
How about singing the tune to Looney Toons only singing 'Rooney Toons'.
Or a banner "FAI- Fatcats are incompetent" Something like this would probably be let go by the stewards even though it is chessy.
The best thing of all would be to get say 2000 T-Shirts with something printed on them such as above. ;)
How about setting up a small quick website just stating whats going on, whats the plan for the Croatia gameetc.
skbio_toronto
27/10/2004, 10:08 PM
O.K. I've regularly been viewing this site as a guest. And most of the time since I've felt I did'nt have much more to add I did'nt register on the site, choosing to post on soccer central from time to time. However this issue of Fran Rooney's apparent upcoming P45 has mobilised me into registering. I have just sent this to Fran Rooney, Milo Corcoran and John Delaney. I sincerely doubt the latter two will even be opening their e-mails but no matter - ye guys can see how I feel. Pardon the long winded nature of the e-mail.
P.S. My attitde is very much diplomacy no matter what luncay is going on!
SKBIO-TOR
For the good of Irish football
Gentlemen,
I'm a 22-year old Irish football supporter from Borris-in-Ossory Co. Laois currently living in Toronto. I would consider myself an avid supporter of the Irish team, no better no worse than anyone else, in that regard.
It is with great disillusionment and annoyance that I read about yet more (apparent) internal wranglings within the FAI. To be honest, (no offence intended) the actual reasons for the current impasse have no interest for me whatever. What does concern me is the future of Irish football. We currently have a senior team that is competing well in international competition with an excellant manager in Brian Kerr presiding over matters (deserved kudo's to the FAI on that score)
There also has been remarkable progress been made with the Eircom League which seems to have co-incided with the appointment of Mr. Rooney as CEO of the FAI. The evidence is there for all to see. I spent last Summer in Dublin and I believe I got great value for money going to games in Belfield, Dalymount, Richmond and Tolka etc. The European exploits of Shelbourne this season is the ultimate barometer of how much progress has been made (much more to do obviously but progress nonetheless)
Now maybe I am totally misinterpreting the reasons why this 'progress' has been made. But it definatley seems to me that Mr. Rooney has made profound impact on the administraion of the FAI during his tenure, thus far. The Genesis report did indeed reveal some home truths about the previous running of the organisation. My attitude would be that you guys have to take this advice on board and implement the directives being suggested. Surely the betterment of Irish football should be the prime motive for every FAI official. (Call me idealistic and naive but thats how I feel)
From my point of view, I implore all those concerned not to remove Mr. Rooney from his current position as CEO of the FAI. I'm not saying that he's the best thing for the FAI since sliced bread. But my overwhelming impression that the FAI will be a better organisation with Mr. Rooney at the helm than without. With a redeveloped Lansdowne Road on the horizon, now is no time for yet more internal strife in the FAI. I would implore all those concerned...
Please do not remove Mr. Rooney.
Regards
Shane Kirwan
King Street West
Toronto
Canada
skbio_toronto
27/10/2004, 10:13 PM
O.K. I have just sent that e-mail. And the only confirmation I have is for Fran Rooney. This is what I've recieved for Milo Corcoran and John Delaney.
Sent : Wednesday, October 27, 2004 10:10 PM
To : my e-mail
Subject : Delivery Status Notification (Failure)
| | | Inbox
This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.
Delivery to the following recipients failed.
milo.corcoran@fai.ie:john.delaney@fai.ie
Not in any way am I surprised by this. I doubt if anyone on this board would be either. What is it with these guys? A question which has had me blue in the face for most of my life!!
SKBIO-TOR
onenilgameover
28/10/2004, 2:20 AM
Everyone could make red cards and hold them up at the start of the game as a sign of our disapproval at what has happened to F. Rooney. This would be cheap and easy to do and if alot of people are together on this it would visually look well and thus get on the TV. We could hand them out to other people as I'm sure alot of Fans agree with the sentiments expressed here. I think we should recognise that we are all The F.A.I. collectively and they are not just the fat cats in Merrion Square, they represent us and we represent them and Ireland. We are getting a raw deal from these fools who make us all look bad. This can't go on for ever and a stand needs to be taken. What do some of the 1000+posters think of this they seem to be stayin out of this debate.
Cowboy
28/10/2004, 9:36 AM
Red card idea , excellent
Everyone could make red cards and hold them up at the start of the game as a sign of our disapproval at what has happened to F. Rooney. This would be cheap and easy to do and if alot of people are together on this it would visually look well and thus get on the TV. We could hand them out to other people as I'm sure alot of Fans agree with the sentiments expressed here. I think we should recognise that we are all The F.A.I. collectively and they are not just the fat cats in Merrion Square, they represent us and we represent them and Ireland. We are getting a raw deal from these fools who make us all look bad. This can't go on for ever and a stand needs to be taken. What do some of the 1000+posters think of this they seem to be stayin out of this debate.
aka Dus
28/10/2004, 1:56 PM
O.K. I have just sent that e-mail. And the only confirmation I have is for Fran Rooney. This is what I've recieved for Milo Corcoran and John Delaney.
Sent : Wednesday, October 27, 2004 10:10 PM
To : my e-mail
Subject : Delivery Status Notification (Failure)
| | | Inbox
This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.
Delivery to the following recipients failed.
milo.corcoran@fai.ie:john.delaney@fai.ie
Not in any way am I surprised by this. I doubt if anyone on this board would be either. What is it with these guys? A question which has had me blue in the face for most of my life!!
SKBIO-TOR
To be honest it looks like its your own fault. I could be wrong but try separating the email addresses with a semi colon or comma instead of a colon. Or do them separately.
i.e. milo.corcoran@fai.ie, john.delaney@fai.ie
Bald Student
28/10/2004, 4:54 PM
EPFL benefit for League's future
EIRCOM LEAGUE chairman Declan Ó Luanaigh made a rare public speaking appearance in Dublin yesterday as host of the European Professional Football Leagues (EPFL).
The 15-country organisation finalised their constitution yesterday and O'Luanaigh outlined how much the Eircom League could learn from the rest of Europe's big leagues.
"We can learn a lot from how these people do their business," said Ó Luanaigh. "Since joining in 2004, we have already discovered the benefits of being part of such an illustrious body."
EPFL chairman Dave Richards outlined the value that the EPFL offers to the game. "We are operating somewhat below the level of the G14, the continent's most powerful European clubs," admitted Richards.
"But ultimately, they only look after themselves, whereas we have the interests of every club in all our member countries at heart."
Meanwhile, a number of fans of different eircom league clubs have met to discuss ways in which to support Fran Rooney as FAI chief executive.
Rooney faces a crucial board meeting tomorrow which is likely to instigate an investigation into his performance since his appointment 16 months ago.
David Kelly
It looks like progress is being made.
28/10/2004, 5:34 PM
Everyone could make red cards and hold them up at the start of the game
Red cards are a good idea - can you get a coloured ream of paper in the likes of Read's? That and a marker (to write "Milo Corcoran" or "John Delaney") would be the cheapest way of doing it, and if we can get stronger paper or card, all the better. Two reams of paper would get us nearly 1,000 cards. The FAI banners would be good too - all it'd take is one photographer to see the stewards removing them (if it does happen) to get in the papers the next day.
But the other question is - who's going to pay? I've no problems putting a couple of banners together at my own expense if others are going to bring some more, or a ream of red paper, or other stuff.
Chants - what about "If you hate John Delaney/Milo Corcoran clap your hands", "MC/JD, you're a w@nker" (as mentioned - just have to make sure I don't start abusing Maurice Farrell! ;) ), "Milo Milo Milo OUT OUT OUT" or others. But I think banners are better than chants as more people will get the message (especially with no roof on Lansdowne) and you can't get a picture of a chant in a newspaper.
Think the best place to go in the ground would be right behind the goal, preferably beside a sound mic. If I can get in early (i.e. 6:30 or so), I can head into the ground and hang up a UCD tricolour as a meeting point. Maybe a carton of pineapple juice as well! :D
28/10/2004, 6:08 PM
Sent a one line message of support to Rooney yesterday and got a reply this morning thanking me. Nice touch on his part.
Cowboy
28/10/2004, 6:34 PM
Sent a one line message of support to Rooney yesterday and got a reply this morning thanking me. Nice touch on his part.
same here, hopefully not an autoresponder