View Full Version : Fandom & Fanatics

1 9 2 8
01/03/2014, 10:27 AM
With the new season nearly upon us I was thinking of having a thread dedicated to different fan cultures in the league of Ireland, namely the ultras movement. I’ll try and keep this thread updated throughout the season.

First tifo of 2014 Shamrock Rovers vs. Glens inspired from No country for old men

http://scontent-a-fra.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-frc1/t1/1898238_671610789563217_276267041_n.jpg

01/03/2014, 9:07 PM
Great idea for a thread good to see displays like this one when they take place. Any displays planned for the presidents cup tomorrow I wonder?

Kiki Balboa
02/03/2014, 11:23 AM
Yeah super idea for a thread !

02/03/2014, 11:38 AM
Wasn't there an almost identical thread last season that petered out fairly quickly?

wonder88
04/03/2014, 8:34 PM
One of the great things about the LoI is the Ultras. Good idea for thread.

Yossarian
05/03/2014, 1:55 PM
These displays are all grand until someone decides it's a good idea to set off a few flares and in that act cost their club money through fines.

05/03/2014, 4:27 PM
These displays are all grand until someone decides it's a good idea to set off a few flares and in that act cost their club money through fines.

Nothing wrong with that as long as the ultras are paying the fines as shamrock rovers do.

05/03/2014, 4:45 PM
Rubbish. Any fan that imposes a fine directly to their club is a fool. Whether that fine is paid for by the fan or not. I'm all for colour and noise in a ground, but you have to draw the line with pyro and smoke.

Hulsey
05/03/2014, 5:16 PM
Rubbish. Any fan that imposes a fine directly to their club is a fool. Whether that fine is paid for by the fan or not. I'm all for colour and noise in a ground, but you have to draw the line with pyro and smoke.
I'm with you on this one. Had this arguement before. Always seems to be the lads who complain that the club can't afford decent players too. Braindead stuff

05/03/2014, 5:20 PM
Im sorry but fans do it on the continent without too much bother, its a bit of sport and fun, jesus its not like the LOI should be turning away fans

Yossarian
05/03/2014, 7:46 PM
Im sorry but fans do it on the continent without too much bother, its a bit of sport and fun, jesus its not like the LOI should be turning away fans

You do realise clubs on the continent get fined aswell. I think it's ridiculous that the cost of one of those flares is equivalent to 20 or so fans paying in. For clubs that are so strapped for cash this is a needless cost when the same people will then give out that the club isn't spending money on players.

Djm1901
05/03/2014, 9:49 PM
While the fines do hurt clubs, the ultras' scene is one of the unique things the LOI has over the premiership. When I first started going to Irish football matches that was the main reason I came back. I'd love the FAI to try and replicate the situation in Norway where pyro is legal to an extent. I think the fans tell the club in advance and receive training and an area to do it in. Certainly looks great and adds to atmosphere.

dong
06/03/2014, 4:51 AM
I love the flares. Should be allowed.

06/03/2014, 5:57 AM
You do realise clubs on the continent get fined aswell. I think it's ridiculous that the cost of one of those flares is equivalent to 20 or so fans paying in. For clubs that are so strapped for cash this is a needless cost when the same people will then give out that the club isn't spending money on players.

So what. Some clubs you get fined for singing songs about the CEO! Some clubs you get kicked out for standing. Why dont you follow the good clean fun of the gah!

No place in football!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQ2VeBoaOig

06/03/2014, 5:57 AM
I love the flares. Should be allowed.

Allowed or not, its what fans do!:D

Yossarian
06/03/2014, 7:18 PM
So what. Some clubs you get fined for singing songs about the CEO! Some clubs you get kicked out for standing. Why dont you follow the good clean fun of the gah!

If people setting off flares want to pay the associated fines and insurance then let them at it. But as it is, hard earned money from fundraisers, membership fees and the like are being wasted paying for these 'displays' with the people involved not giving a damn about the cost to the club. I'll admit they do look impressive but it's a cost that clubs can ill afford and I'm delighted that my club are taking a zero tolerance approach to the issue now.

dundalkfc10
06/03/2014, 8:34 PM
Allowed or not, its what fans do!:D

Fans in the UK have been sentenced to prison after been caught setting off flares/smoke bombs

You keep up and some day will be unlucky and be spotted by the guards and it could be you son

wonder88
06/03/2014, 11:09 PM
We all should copy more of what they do in the UK here in Ireland.

07/03/2014, 5:01 AM
It seems its do as your told, good lads:rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqPMvNmbzTQ

Bu the way here in basel, the Ultras totally control their section, police it very well, havent seen any pyro yet but we will see, they might get Zurich in the cup final and that will be fun n games

JC_GUFC
07/03/2014, 8:11 AM

Weren't some Harps "element" find for throwing paper on to the pitch in a cup game against Derry (or maybe it was the City fans!)

I think if co-ordinated properly pyro and smoke can look brilliant - but there is an obvious safety risk if it's just one person letting off a flare in the middle of a large group.

CityRebel
07/03/2014, 9:28 AM
Flares are so 1970s lads.

http://www.izzys-party-shop.com/images/G__Smiffys_LARGE_IMAGE_28669.jpg

07/03/2014, 12:25 PM
It seems its do as your told, good lads:rolleyes:

Bu the way here in basel, the Ultras totally control their section, police it very well, havent seen any pyro yet but we will see, they might get Zurich in the cup final and that will be fun n games

Me bad, i forgot about the bad boys of fc Zurich at Gallen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X9qLM1agD08

07/03/2014, 3:13 PM
Weren't some Harps "element" find for throwing paper on to the pitch in a cup game against Derry (or maybe it was the City fans!)

Ah, I've seen many a young lad throw rubbish at players on the pitch at Finn Park during a bigger game. There's usually a raft of Harps fans that will scream at them to cop themselves on or throw them out if they persist.

Flares are so 1970s lads.

I resent that, as I wear my corduroy flares currently.

ATFC-1887
07/03/2014, 6:33 PM
Some of the new Athlone flags arrived today just in time for tomorrow.

adamd164
08/03/2014, 9:50 AM
Crowd cover at Turner's Cross last night looked well.

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-QCcLNllge-A/UxpdKkC3W-I/AAAAAAAB2K8/J5On6YPx_vU/s720/City%201-1%20Pats%20091.JPG

08/03/2014, 10:24 AM
Small band of Waterford fans last night in Finn Park. Credit to them, they created a decent bit of noise and had a few flags with them.

redarmyfaction
08/03/2014, 1:58 PM
Some of the new Athlone flags arrived today just in time for tomorrow.
Anybody travelling from Athlone to the Showgies tonight I see raffertys on lord Edward St, across from train station ate doing free food and drinks promo, about 10 minutes to ground.

Neish
09/03/2014, 1:56 PM
I do like flares at games but they are dangerous in the wrong hands, some kid could see some one set one of and then decide to do it themselves at another game. Better that there banned altogether.

blueblood
09/03/2014, 4:01 PM
What are the legalities on flares, if they're not illegal could they be used in a safe way, ie designate someone responsible with some kind of certificate or something to say the person is qualified to use them . I think flares look impressive at games so it's a pity they're banned.

ATFC-1887
09/03/2014, 6:35 PM
Athlone is Sligo
http://i.imgur.com/xgPioXC.jpg

09/03/2014, 8:17 PM
Was at the Showgrounds last night, fantastic atmosphere all sides of the ground. Athlone brought a great crowd and were well organised with their flags and had some very nice pyro.

1 9 2 8
09/03/2014, 10:04 PM
The discussion on pyro here is irrelevant and pointless as those who are against will never accept it. It doesn’t matter what fines are imposed on clubs it will still be used. So if we could park the “debate” and just use this thread to document what’s happening in the stands. Cheers lads.

Anyway back on topic.

Drogs vs Dundalk

Return of Famous 45 Ultras. Gardai took their drum of them during their corteo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rc84cAd9Bh4

Dundalk's Shed Side Army had their display refused but still action.
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/ab246/dannydfc/1966710_219881511552018_831079881_n_zpscbb0a5a7.jp g
http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/ab246/dannydfc/10009681_659707060754870_1700612579_n_zps51ec888a. jpg

Shels vs Wexford
https://scontent-a-ams.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-frc3/t1/q71/s720x720/1780861_10152304373746411_1755794312_n.jpg

1 9 2 8
09/03/2014, 10:05 PM
Sligo Rovers vs Athlone

http://i.imgur.com/fbIzTjA.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/t1/1798051_614434501972746_1660917404_n.png
https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/t1/q75/s720x720/1964879_614122665337263_187476275_n.jpg

1 9 2 8
09/03/2014, 10:09 PM
Galway trying to give it a go this year.

Galway vs Longford

http://scontent-b-fra.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/l/t1/1441240_278561012308352_166707301_n.jpg

1 9 2 8
09/03/2014, 10:15 PM
Shed End Invincibles – Group Statement

As of today, 8th of March 2014, the Shed End Invincibles will no longer remain active at home games in Richmond Park in response to the significant reduction in size made to the groups section in recent weeks. The section has been reduced from 280 to approximately 160 seats due to a number of broken seats in Block H. As a group we feel that it would be a massive step backwards to simply accept this reduction.

The group’s presence in Richmond Park has grown in recent years and after the clubs recent successes on the pitch, this is a huge blow to us during a period in which the growth of the group was being planned. The SEI provides passionate support, colour and noise at games and is an asset to Richmond Park in the view of many Saints supporters.

The group will not enter this reduced section, or provide vocal support and displays from any other section in the ground until the issue can be resolved. The group will remain fully active at away matches. This decision has not been taken lightly, and we have discussed the situation with the club. We hope to resolve the issue as soon as possible so we can continue to provide the team with the passionate support they deserve. Thanks to those who have supported us over the last few weeks regarding this situation.

Shed End Invincibles.

ATFC-1887
09/03/2014, 11:25 PM
Highlights from The sligo vs Athlone game. Can see few clips of the displays in it too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LvZnBXII7JA

1 9 2 8
17/03/2014, 9:33 AM
NBB tifo for Kampa Showman. NBB have a friendship with Supras Malmö.

http://fbcdn-photos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/t1.0-0/1888646_680989718625324_458164502_n.jpg

More info about Showman here
http://thenotoriousbooboys.tumblr.com/

1 9 2 8
17/03/2014, 9:37 AM
Shels away to Longrord.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/t1/1939903_681526701904959_181826271_n.jpg

1 9 2 8
17/03/2014, 9:43 AM
Shams vs Derry

Shams
http://scontent-a-mad.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/t1/1524872_10200574921814221_549338249_n.jpg

Derry
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=yeH4gmRPMAY

1 9 2 8
17/03/2014, 9:52 AM
Derry City
http://scontent-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-frc1/t31.0-8/1071150_255272654644895_523362751_o.jpg

Solidarity with Kampa Showman
http://fbcdn-photos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/t1/1912506_681706628553633_598488654_n.jpg

29/03/2014, 6:59 PM
Speaking of fireworks and the like, sorry its not LOI, but heh Im in Switzerland! Zurich V Thun Swiss cup final midweek:o

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/t1.0-9/1970719_637550986294082_1464858375_n.jpg