View Full Version : Euro 2016 Qualifying
TheOneWhoKnocks
23/02/2014, 9:19 PM
27 teams progress, another 10-15 (fourth and fifth seeds) will feel they have an outside chance. Granted NI were rubbish in the current and previous tournaments, but if you win more games than lose, as we did in 2008 and 2010 then third place is very gettable. As indeed it is for the current FIFA-ranked 33rd country in Europe.
It really isn't as others have explained above. They could also have added that England's second seed Switzerland had an even better record in the current tournament.
You do realise that Sweden managed 20 points in current qualifying to Scotland's 11? What else is your opinion based on?
Some of them do have a rather better understanding of how international football works than you've demonstrated in the last few posts...
That's one analysis- another is that obvious trolls and wind-ups are tolerated more briefly on some sites than others. For the record, there is a modest annual fee (currently £5) to gain access to some areas of the site, eg archives for previous tournaments and travel arrangements for future away games. I understand something similar has been considered here, albeit set at a higher level.
It's true that most regular posters- like NI fans generally- are broadly unionist. Fancy that. What did you expect, a Polish-speaking caucus? Parity of esteem for embittered border culchie Nordic exiles?
Now now. I'm confident OWC would not merely tolerate and respect but welcome your own contribution, if it ever progressed from extended and self-important sneers?
Is your life really that unfulfilling that you post 1,487 comments on a forum for a country you don't support, little guy?
And having just sifted through your (mostly) political and generally harebrained comments on this website, you have some cheek saying that.
Would usually mastur.... Maybe you should stick to that? Or at least stick to your own forum?
Gather round
23/02/2014, 9:33 PM
Is your life really that unfulfilling that you post 1,487 comments on a forum for a country you don't support, little guy?
Just think of me as your sub-editor, big boy ;)
Look, if you're going to dish it out it's probably a good idea not to post nonsense. Makes you look a bit silly.
To save you analysing my posts any further, they tend to answer the recurring theme of 'let's take over [the] NI [team] even though they're rubbish and most of the fans are sectarian bigots. I sub-contract out the detail to a willing team of elves.
Should you progress to moderating or owning this site, go right ahead and kick me off.
TheOneWhoKnocks
23/02/2014, 9:38 PM
Just think of me as your sub-editor, big boy ;)
Look, if you're going to dish it out it's probably a good idea not to post nonsense. Makes you look a bit silly.
To save you analysing my posts any further, they tend to answer the recurring theme of 'let's take over [the] NI [team] even though they're rubbish and most of the fans are sectarian bigots. I sub-contract out the detail to a willing team of elves.
Should you progress to moderating or owning this site, go right ahead and kick me off.
Such vitriol.... Build a bridge, little guy. It is the year 2014. People can play for who they want to play for and babbling and whining about it isn't going to change anything.
TheOneWhoKnocks
23/02/2014, 9:51 PM
Come gather 'round Gather round
Wherever you roam
And admit that the International waters
Around you have grown
And accept it that soon
You'll be depleted to the bone
If Chris Brunt to you
Is worth savin'
Then allegiances you better start switchin'
Or you'll sink like a stone
For the times they are a-changin'.
23/02/2014, 10:16 PM
Less of the WUMming TOWK.
Foot.ie is a welcoming place. We accept all sorts. But we don't deal in wumming. You don't wanna be the next TiocfaidhArmani.
Nothing GR said was out of order.
TheOneWhoKnocks
23/02/2014, 10:27 PM
Less of the WUMming TOWK.
Foot.ie is a welcoming place. We accept all sorts. But we don't deal in wumming. You don't wanna be the next TiocfaidhArmani.
Actually, I think politics and sectarianism should be kept out of the forum and there should be zero tolerance for anyone that trades in it.
And Bonnie, I would accept that coming from pretty much everyone else but you obviously have a problem with me already based on one or two comments in the past so I don't think you are exactly impartial. No offense intended.
23/02/2014, 10:37 PM
Actually, I think politics and sectarianism should be kept out of the forum and there should be zero tolerance for anyone that trades in it
But GR doesn't bring secretarianism into it and I think most people here would concur with that. He's never wummed or tried to stir up any sort of bigotry, which is why he's always welcome here. We do, however, feel that he is fundamentally misguided in his belief that the IFA understands FIFA's own laws and regulations better than FIFA istelf, however it is a sincerely held belief and he's treated with the respect he's shown us. There have been the odd OWC wum on here, and the odd republican wum too, in the past and they've been politely told where to go but he's not one of them.
23/02/2014, 10:42 PM
I don't want to go round in circles with this as it is off topic. But despite your sensible contributions you have a penchant for being overly stubborn.
I have no problem with you. I have a problem with your attitude sometimes. GRs contributions on this forum have by and large been worthwhile so when a regular contributor such as himself does nothing wrong and you criticise him after he dismantled your post and then follow it up with a contribution slagging of NI then of course I'll call you on it.
Don't forget dude, you jumped at geysir earlier whilst a couple of minutes of thinking may have led you to the promised land of copping on to what he said.
Just calm down. No one is out to get you but reign it in please. There's a reason most of us have stuck around here for so long.
TheOneWhoKnocks
23/02/2014, 10:43 PM
But GR doesn't bring secretarianism into it and I think most people here would concur with that. He's never wummed or tried to stir up any sort of bigotry, which is why he's always welcome here. We do, however, feel that he is fundamentally misguided in his belief that the IFA understands FIFA's own laws and regulations better than FIFA istelf, however it is a sincerely held belief and he's treated with the respect he's shown us. There have been the odd OWC wum on here, and the odd republican wum too, in the past and they've been politely told where to go but he's not one of them.
OK but he showed me a complete lack of respect which was unprovoked in my book so I don't know why I should show him anyway. I thought I was being light hearted anyways and in fairness he was being light hearted back. :p
I didn't think the WUM thing was that malicious on my part. I just don't see the fundamental point of someone registering on a forum and spending over 75% of his time complaining about players democratic and legal right to choose what country they want to play for.
It's akin to me signing up on OWC and complaining about Rory Donnelly, Ryan McLaughlin and Chris Baird not declaring for us and complaining about NI not doing enough to stamp out the ugly atmosphere around their International games until they felt threatened by a section of their players defecting.
TheOneWhoKnocks
23/02/2014, 10:46 PM
I don't want to go round in circles with this as it is off topic. But despite your sensible contributions you have a penchant for being overly stubborn.
I have no problem with you. I have a problem with your attitude sometimes. GRs contributions on this forum have by and large been worthwhile so when a regular contributor such as himself does nothing wrong and you criticise him after he dismantled your post and then follow it up with a contribution slagging of NI then of course I'll call you on it.
Don't forget dude, you jumped at geysir earlier whilst a couple of minutes of thinking may have led you to the promised land of copping on to what he said.
Just calm down. No one is out to get you but reign it in please. There's a reason most of us have stuck around here for so long.
I can be stubborn and I can be wrong. I admit both of those two things but there was no need for Gather round to be so snide and rude in some of his comments. I genuinely think that.
DannyInvincible
23/02/2014, 10:47 PM
Well, bar that bit about Fly and myself being obvious trolls!
http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/41786_4878345899_7504_n.jpg
Actually, I think politics and sectarianism should be kept out of the forum and there should be zero tolerance for anyone that trades in it.
Politics can tend to colour certain discussions just as they colour all aspects of life in general, including sport, but, thankfully, GR doesn't trade in sectarianism. I don't know what you thought was vitriolic about what he said above.
23/02/2014, 10:47 PM
The difference is that Adam is an accepting sort and foot.ie is a democracy with a ruler who has an iron fist.
You'd not be allowed near OWC.
23/02/2014, 10:49 PM
Danny, you're the biggest troll of all. How dare you highlight the rules and regs re eligibility. Danny you wum!
TheOneWhoKnocks
23/02/2014, 10:50 PM
Well, bar that bit about Fly and myself being obvious trolls!
http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/41786_4878345899_7504_n.jpg
Politics can tend to colour certain discussions just as they colour all aspects of life in general, including sport, but, thankfully, GR doesn't trade in sectarianism. I don't know what you thought was vitriolic about what he said above.
In all fairness, that is pretty low.
23/02/2014, 10:53 PM
OK but he showed me a complete lack of respect which was unprovoked in my book so I don't know why I should show him anyway. I thought I was being light hearted anyways and in fairness he was being light hearted back. :p
I didn't think the WUM thing was that malicious on my part. I just don't see the fundamental point of someone registering on a forum and spending over 75% of his time complaining about players democratic and legal right to choose what country they want to play for.
So what if he spends his time complaining about the rules? It's his opinion and as long as he treats people respectfully that's no problem with anyone. What he said to you isn't something that hasn't been said to him many times on here. It's the nature of debate - you assume people are being genuine unless they suggest otherwise, which is why accusing people of wumming is out of order.
ArdeeBhoy
23/02/2014, 10:54 PM
Ignore GR...
Known him for years and his real views, whilst not the most extreme, are nothing like his 'persona' on here...
But still not worthy of further debate.
ArdeeBhoy
23/02/2014, 11:05 PM
You don't wanna be the next TiocfaidhArmani..
Why?
What did he do?
DannyInvincible
23/02/2014, 11:10 PM
Was TiocfaidhArmani banned?
23/02/2014, 11:12 PM
It's akin to me signing up on OWC and complaining about Rory Donnelly, Ryan McLaughlin and Chris Baird not declaring for us and complaining about NI not doing enough to stamp out the ugly atmosphere around their International games until they felt threatened by a section of their players defecting.
Life would be very boring. Your life would be too if you surrounded yourself with that.
23/02/2014, 11:16 PM
Not according to his profile.
http://foot.ie/members/16067-TiocfaidhArmani
23/02/2014, 11:22 PM
Not according to his profile.
http://foot.ie/members/16067-TiocfaidhArmani
He could never hope to attain the osarusan level of bannedness.
23/02/2014, 11:39 PM
No. He just disappeared.
He wasn't a bad sort until he got tied up in knots.
He was no The Lep.
SwanVsDalton
24/02/2014, 12:40 AM
Keep it up lads - this is golden era foot.ie. North/south dust up's, Worzel WUMmidge's, references to infamous members, emotive instances of the 'I disagree with what he says but I defend his right to say it!' post and all mere hours after a qualifiers draw.
Brings a tear to the eye.
24/02/2014, 1:01 AM
And we've not even started on Mypost
TheOneWhoKnocks
24/02/2014, 1:59 AM
And we've not even started on Mypost
What happened to him? Trap apologist, wasn't he?
gastric
24/02/2014, 2:16 AM
What happened to Ealing Green? When I asked this question a while ago, you all told me not to encourage him to come back onto this forum. What I loved was the sheer inordinate amount of time he spent trying to educate us all! And come back Worm too.
TheOneWhoKnocks
24/02/2014, 2:54 AM
The Worm..
He looks.... like he takes things too seriously.
24/02/2014, 11:06 AM
The mere mention of OWC on footie sets off loud bleeps on the OWC paranoia radar, the command is sent out to a OWC counter propaganda patrol to combat any perceived threat. Everything that bleeps is a perceived threat, whether it's a threat or not. That's why Gather Round hits the thread with the subtlety of an elephant.
"Oh I was just passing by, and I couldn't help overhearing a misguided conversation about...."
We use to have about 10 of them hitting the thread at the same time time, but I guess they weren't get paid enough for the humiliations suffered. But Gather Round is impervious to humiliations, no servile task is too servile for this warrior at the gates, to protect the OWC from ..... armageddon.
24/02/2014, 1:57 PM
No one spells it that way BS, its 'a' not 'e', and pronounced with an 'a' not an 'e'.
24/02/2014, 3:08 PM
We've been through this.
The sign says Termonbarry. It's Termonbarry.
24/02/2014, 4:10 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tarmonbarry
Wikipedia says Tarmonbarry. It's Tarmonbarry.
peadar1987
24/02/2014, 4:24 PM
I'm guessing you haven't read the third word in that article.
Anyway, no mention of Xano or monkey knife fights, and the sarcasm detector hasn't been broken out. We're far from the full set of memes even before we mention the egregious crime of leaving Cool Dog out of the equation.
24/02/2014, 4:46 PM
I did and I know the area very well and colloquially its known as Tarmonbarry.
ltfc_2004
24/02/2014, 5:07 PM
Being from Strokestown ... Its ****ing Tarmonbarry and the dirty shower who play in Green & White
DannyInvincible
24/02/2014, 5:19 PM
Here, wait a minute... Since when did you start relying on written/online sources to verify facts?
24/02/2014, 5:21 PM
I did and I know the area very well and colloquially its known as Tarmonbarry.
As someone who has the misfortune in having so many Mayo friends I am aware of the colloquial spelling and pronunciation. But as a resident of the capital and the fountain of all wonder, we officially spell it Termonbarry. So deal with it Weshtie.
Even the sign crossing the Shannon says so!
https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.741942,-7.915812,3a,75y,287.48h,92.71t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1swxFiOAzbDIkWHqoyKA7qUA!2e0
:P
24/02/2014, 5:22 PM
Being from Strokestown ... Its ****ing Tarmonbarry and the dirty shower who play in Green & White
Stroke-yerself-town. :)
24/02/2014, 6:26 PM
As someone who has the misfortune in having so many Mayo friends I am aware of the colloquial spelling and pronunciation. But as a resident of the capital and the fountain of all wonder, we officially spell it Termonbarry. So deal with it Weshtie.
Even the sign crossing the Shannon says so!
https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.741942,-7.915812,3a,75y,287.48h,92.71t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1swxFiOAzbDIkWHqoyKA7qUA!2e0
:P
Its in Roscommon.....
Ah di come on dont take everything so literally! Sense the sarcasm
24/02/2014, 7:02 PM
Its in Roscommon.....
Ah di come on dont take everything so literally! Sense the sarcasm
It sure is in Roscommon. Did I say otherwise?
How dare you think that as an authority on Termonbarry as a the cradle of Irish football that I wouldn't know this? Cheek of you sir.
24/02/2014, 7:13 PM
By saying mates in mayo...they are in mayo they wouldn't know how its pronounced.I know a few lads in Dundalk who know how phisboro is pronounced...:D
He was saying his Mayo mates pronounce it Tarmonbarry (I think)...but that it doesn't matter cos they're filthy mucksavages that can't speak properly inanyways.
Anyway I wish the two of ye would Termonfeckin shut up! ;)
Eminence Grise
24/02/2014, 7:57 PM
We've been through this.
The sign says Termonbarry. It's Termonbarry.
Thank heavens! Almost hit the new season without a single contentious reference to Termonbarry.
Johnser Byrne takes it with an 'e'. Mind you, Johnser started taking everything with an 'e' and the state of his urine meant he missed half the last season with the Alberts!
24/02/2014, 9:05 PM
Thank heavens! Almost hit the new season without a single contentious reference to Termonbarry.
Johnser Byrne takes it with an 'e'. Mind you, Johnser started taking everything with an 'e' and the state of his urine meant he missed half the last season with the Alberts!
And Johnser Byrne. SvD can now rest easy.
Bottle of Tonic
24/02/2014, 9:09 PM
Would any of ye lads be so kind as to let this fleeting user of foot.ie in on the source of the Termon-talk? On previous visits I had seen it as Bonnie's sig and was confused as to why such a relatively insignificant Shannon crossing was getting name checked on a national board.
I can also confirm, being a Ros, that it's Tarmon. The signpost spelling only surfaced 10-15 years ago. Around the same time they decided to rename Ballinagare Bellanagare. It's a wee village on the way to darkest Mayo though, so is forgotten about in the cult-creating realm of foot.ie.
On the group. I'm wary, though quite excited by it. Our poor record at beating anyone with any slight whiff of pedigree in recent times suggests it will be the tight one most early forecasts predict. I think Scotland are on the up, and Strachan is a more than decent manager. The Poles have a couple of players operating high up in the Bundesliga. We should be better under MON, but he doesn't pick players for their club sides and a season or two of underachievement for the likes of Long, McGeady, McCarthy and so could leave us fielding a patched up side in many games. Has happened all too often in the last decade or so. But the opposition will provide a challenge and points will be dropped by all making every game bigger than the last. Looking forward to it!
24/02/2014, 9:32 PM
The mere mention of OWC on footie sets off loud bleeps on the OWC paranoia radar, the command is sent out to a OWC counter propaganda patrol to combat any perceived threat. Everything that bleeps is a perceived threat, whether it's a threat or not. That's why Gather Round hits the thread with the subtlety of an elephant.
"Oh I was just passing by, and I couldn't help overhearing a misguided conversation about...."
We use to have about 10 of them hitting the thread at the same time time, but I guess they weren't get paid enough for the humiliations suffered. But Gather Round is impervious to humiliations, no servile task is too servile for this warrior at the gates, to protect the OWC from ..... armageddon.
Interesting to see that none of the posters who jumped to Gather Round's defense earlier had any comment to make on this hyperbolic trolling nonsense.
24/02/2014, 9:53 PM
Would any of ye lads be so kind as to let this fleeting user of foot.ie in on the source of the Termon-talk? On previous visits I had seen it as Bonnie's sig and was confused as to why such a relatively insignificant Shannon crossing was getting name checked on a national board.
I can also confirm, being a Ros, that it's Tarmon. The signpost spelling only surfaced 10-15 years ago. Around the same time they decided to rename Ballinagare Bellanagare. It's a wee village on the way to darkest Mayo though, so is forgotten about in the cult-creating realm of foot.ie
It ballooned from some mention in the barstool facepalm thread.
This was the post...
http://foot.ie/threads/144185-Barstool-facepalm?p=1426712&viewfull=1#post1426712
Interesting to see that none of the posters who jumped to Gather Round's defense earlier had any comment to make on this hyperbolic trolling nonsense.
Because that is the general reaction to GR's trolling. Ignorance. TOWK is new and needed to be learned [sic].
24/02/2014, 9:55 PM
I had a coffee and a scone there, driving from Dublin to Mayo last September. Some dark pub on the LHS just over the bridge. What was it called? I think I only stopped there because of Bonnie's t-shirt in Poznan.
24/02/2014, 9:55 PM
Keenan's the Purple Onion.
24/02/2014, 9:57 PM
Bot I've been away over ten years go back once a year at least but I noticed that bellanagare one too where did that come from?that place was synonymous with fighting for me and lads trying to get the shift and asking each other what they "got". It was serious bonus territory if ye got her out the back...so good infact you could lie about what really happened....
I've been to tarmombarry but I've never been to termonbarry or termonfecking for that matter either.good man Dustin.
I think scotland will be trickier than everyone thinks and Poland showed against england and evenour friendly they will be very tough to beat.
24/02/2014, 9:58 PM
Thats a well known eaterie place stutts or at least it was. You should have splashed out on lunch or maybe there was some plastic plates to get a hold of.
Stutrs how did ye pronounce scone there?did everyone laugh when you ordered it?