View Full Version : Attendances

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

TommyT
18/03/2004, 2:41 PM
We can start it this week, if they start publishing them then we can just stop.

18/03/2004, 2:51 PM
Under the ufea licence all clubs must now give attendence figures a half an hour (after kick-off i think) to the fai (i think !). Matches must be all ticket now as well. Weve installed a little ticket booth thingy just up from the turnstiles now and ALL matches with be all-ticket.

I presume that this will kick in from the 1st round of matches ?

18/03/2004, 2:53 PM
Originally posted by Roo69
Under the ufea licence all clubs must now give attendence figures a half an hour (after kick-off i think) to the fai (i think !). Matches must be all ticket now as well. Weve installed a little ticket booth thingy just up from the turnstiles now and ALL matches with be all-ticket.

There's a few clubs that were already doing that anyway, just not releasing the attendance.

18/03/2004, 3:29 PM

I'd say Derry will post theirs a day before the game takes place - they're fierce sophisticated up there now!

TommyT
18/03/2004, 4:30 PM
No doubt they'll be claiming that if other clubs don't match that achievement at their away games they should be awarded the points too.

18/03/2004, 4:48 PM
Originally posted by TommyT
No doubt they'll be claiming that if other clubs don't match that achievement at their away games they should be awarded the points too.

Well aren't ye's all a jealous lot! :p

dortie
19/03/2004, 8:49 AM
Originally posted by wws
I'd say Derry will post theirs a day before the game takes place - they're fierce sophisticated up there now!

Your Just a jealous ******* ;)

IJsbrandij
19/03/2004, 2:00 PM
Didn't find the Dundalk attendance anywhere?

jofyisgod
19/03/2004, 7:37 PM
6,000 at Turners X tonight. Bodes well for the bigger games considering this is only Dublin City. Only 1,300 at the RSC!

19/03/2004, 9:52 PM
Is 6,000 an estimate or an offical figure?

There was no ticket office at Tolka today by the way, it was pay in at the gate as ever.

eoinh
19/03/2004, 10:08 PM
Originally posted by jofyisgod
6,000 at Turners X tonight. Bodes well for the bigger games considering this is only Dublin City. Only 1,300 at the RSC!

Ild say there was more than 6000 there!

19/03/2004, 10:43 PM
What's the story with the attendences anyway, I know clubs have to give offical attendences to someone but when will the average punter get access to them?

Beavis
19/03/2004, 10:57 PM
Weve installed a little ticket booth thingy just up from the turnstiles now and ALL matches with be all-ticket.

Didn't need any ticket for the Bray UCD game tonight.....

Attendance was fairly poor,estimate 1,000-1,200 mostly kids not even watching the game....f*ckall atmosphere.

Dr.Nightdub
19/03/2004, 11:45 PM
A bit over 2000 in Richmond tonight, maybe 2500. Stand about two-thirds full = 1200 plus probably the same again between the Camac and the turnstile end.

Suetrol Ned
20/03/2004, 9:19 AM
4000-4500 in Tolka

adamcarr
20/03/2004, 11:41 AM
Originally posted by eoinh
Yeah I woulod say 7-8000 there tonight

20/03/2004, 12:50 PM
Echo said 6,500, Times estimated it at 6,000 at the Cross.
So between 6,000 - 6,500.
I just wish people would get their tickets earlier.....

Is that true about the numbers at the RSC?
I would have thought Paul McGrath would have brought out a few more punters than that.

dortie
20/03/2004, 12:52 PM
Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub
A bit over 2000 in Richmond tonight, maybe 2500. Stand about two-thirds full = 1200 plus probably the same again between the Camac and the turnstile end.

No chance.....I was there...Id say more like 1,500.....your shed behind the net was empty and the seating stand half full.

You done well against half a Derry team ;)

21/03/2004, 12:44 PM
Is that true about the numbers at the RSC?.

I thought i heard that they had got a record crowd ... (i could be wrong on this one) Can any one confirm this ... i wouldn't have thought it would have been that bad.

21/03/2004, 4:45 PM
I thought i heard that they had got a record crowd ... (i could be wrong on this one) Can any one confirm this ... i wouldn't have thought it would have been that bad.
They are saying 1700 on their MB.
Thats fairly poor, so hardly a record crowd?

Footie_Fan
21/03/2004, 10:10 PM
Even at Lansdowne Road for the International matches when the attendance is announced it always a surprisingly round figure. E.g. 34,000 or 36,000. Tax scam.

TommyT
21/03/2004, 11:09 PM
Tolka 2600-3000, I'd say. 4500 not a chance

brandy86
22/03/2004, 12:43 AM
So i see that we are still guessing. Can anyone tell me when are official figures are going to be released? Or are they not going to bother their ass releasing them! :confused:

mc cash
22/03/2004, 9:18 AM
there was definitely more than 6000 at the match.also what a joke selling the tickets outside the turnstyles.i couldnt believe the congestion outside the ground.if this is the case every game will be delayed for 15 minutes.mind you its great to see cork city having the best crowds!!

eoinh
22/03/2004, 9:40 AM
Aye,hardly accurate figures...about 6000,1700,1000-1200....do not clubs have to produce EXACT figures for VAT/Tax purposes....or is this just ano.Gombeen,albeit'national',scam........?!

Also its a legal requirement to supply a wages slip with the players pay. 90% of clubs do not supply wages slips :confused:

i wonder do Cork City? :rolleyes:

22/03/2004, 9:43 AM
No chance.....I was there...Id say more like 1,500.....your shed behind the net was empty and the seating stand half full.

You done well against half a Derry team ;)

twas 2,000 approx, that was the figure from the guy who tots it up

22/03/2004, 10:35 AM
4000-4500 in Tolka

Does anyone believe that number?

22/03/2004, 11:12 AM
A joke though really for EL to ramble about Irish supporting foreign clubs,when they cant even say their gates in the 21st.century.....or are they that embarrassed? :D
No, it's a joke if you think that's a valid excuse for not going...

22/03/2004, 11:13 AM
See this adage seems to apply also to the IL;Know their gates are smaller?A joke though really for EL to ramble about Irish supporting foreign clubs,when they cant even say their gates in the 21st.century.....or are they that embarrassed? :D

thats precisely the reason why they dont release them or want accurate facts in the public domain - they're worried the low figures will put off potential fans and re-enforce the negative image. Ollie Byrne himself had a fit at one of the el forums a few years back when one speaker asked for accurate attendance figures to be released - "more harm than good" was his response

22/03/2004, 11:55 AM
Ollie Byrne himself had a fit at one of the el forums
thats a new one :rolleyes:

dortie
22/03/2004, 11:56 AM
twas 2,000 approx, that was the figure from the guy who tots it up

Didnt look it, and im no man for exagerated figures, if i had to bet id have said 1,500 but if your boyo said 2,000 how can i argue ;)

Anyway aprox 80 Derry fans outsung you..Whats that all about wws ?

22/03/2004, 11:59 AM
Anyway aprox 80 Derry fans outsung you..Whats that all about wws ?
probably not a big enough game for the pats fans to get interested in and worked up about. Same as when they play us- they don't sing or bring flags cos the games aren't really important. They're probably saving their throats for their champions league semi in two years :rolleyes: :D :D

22/03/2004, 12:02 PM
probably not a big enough game for the pats fans to get interested in and worked up about. Same as when they play us- they don't sing or bring flags cos the games aren't really important. They're probably saving their throats for their champions league semi in two years :rolleyes: :D :D

haha. well obviously derry are more important than the "rebel army" so as we brought the flags out.

Dortie - I'd say you 'out drummed' us rather than 'outsang' us ;)
our vocals are poor at home but we create a good racket up in the brandy - looking forward to that one now with the new seating arrangements

dortie
22/03/2004, 12:15 PM
we create a good racket up in the brandy - looking forward to that one now with the new seating arrangements

Its going to be great we will be able to throw things at you for a change ;)

22/03/2004, 12:17 PM
And there was about 20 derry fans, not 80. Couldn't hear you singing either. Drumming was good though...

My guess at the crowd would be about 2,000. New season ticket system at Pats with a voucher booklet not a card. So Pats should be able to give exact figures

dortie
22/03/2004, 12:25 PM
And there was about 20 derry fans, not 80. Couldn't hear you singing either. Drumming was good though...

Do you want hard facts then....

Brandywell Pride Supporters Club - 18 (I collected the money)
Pride Of Northside Supporters Club - around 25-30 (Their bus was beside us)
Post Office Club SC - 8 (Was talking to them in McDowells)
Dublin Derry SC lads - around 8 (Standing with us)
Belfast SC - around 3 (MariborKev can clarify)

Not to mention the usuals in cars.......(Not sure of numbers but maybe up to 15)

Whats that come to....?? Around 80

I dont lie with figures although i always look at it out of interest....

Arent I just great

And BTW.......Nobody in your seating stand made a peep

22/03/2004, 12:32 PM
ALL matches with be all-ticket. All matches except Friday's is it?

Attendance was fairly poor,estimate 1,000-1,200 mostly kids not even watching the game.Doubt there was that many to be honest. A complete guess as I didn't even try to estimate but I'd put it at 6-700 or thereabouts.

22/03/2004, 12:57 PM
No attendances in The Star today - anyone know if they're still doing their eL round-up every Monday or if that wasn't English enough for them?

22/03/2004, 1:07 PM
They already know there are low crowds from the media(Press photos/TV coverage),
What press coverage?

22/03/2004, 2:20 PM
Tolka 2600-3000, I'd say. 4500 not a chance

TT, taking you and Billy Lord's legendary pessimism re attendances and dividing by the Star's make them up as we go along figures, I'd say there was the guts of 4000 there.

22/03/2004, 2:57 PM
And BTW.......Nobody in your seating stand made a peep
They never do.. Same all over the country. hardcore go on the terrace...

And if there was 80 of you there was 2,700 at the game...

dortie
22/03/2004, 4:13 PM
And if there was 80 of you there was 2,700 at the game...

There was around 80....listen mate I dont bull**** about attendance it makes no sense.....(Why would you with 100 or less away support...whats the point) The Pride of Northside SC are generally older and sit seperate right in the middle of most seating stands in the EL....a reason you dont see them.

Now stop frying my head if there was 20 of us I would admit it.

And theres no way in hell your crowd was over 2,000.

TommyT
22/03/2004, 4:19 PM
TT, taking you and Billy Lord's legendary pessimism re attendances and dividing by the Star's make them up as we go along figures, I'd say there was the guts of 4000 there.

Funny you agreed there were **** all Rovers in the Riverside when I was actually doing the estimate. The lads saying 4-5000 seem to be basing it on ''all the Shels sections were full and we had about half the crowd''

wws,

Another good post, they may (that's may not do) have a point re the ''more harm than good'' the other codes all get ''Star'' figures except in Croker where the attendences are released straight away. I remember reading a report about the Gaaliban's annual haj, sorry congress, where they gave a list of real attendences, on from Navan had been given as 23000 in the papers but had been 12,600. Also the fact that the Celtic League crowds are ****e enough escapes attention. I think it'd be good as it would give us a realistic assessment of where we are and whether summere soccer (and the previous panacea floodlight football) actually work.

By way of comparison the Dub hurlers away to Laois on Sunday attracted 661 punters, I happened to be at their previos game in Parnell Park, I'd say there were 2200 there.

eoinh
22/03/2004, 4:25 PM
flicking through the channels last night, i came across the sunday sport programme on ITBetterwork2. Very Very few at the Dublin v Cork gaa match - it looked like a couple of hundred at most.

Did they show any LOI football on it? :confused:

22/03/2004, 4:38 PM
Funny you agreed there were **** all Rovers in the Riverside when I was actually doing the estimate. The lads saying 4-5000 seem to be basing it on ''all the Shels sections were full and we had about half the crowd''

I agreed that there were much less than I thought in the Riverside. Still about 1500 though same or slightly more in the Main Stand, 800 in the New Stand and the stragglers on the Ballybough end. So my estimate of the guts of 4000 stays. (guts off = slightly less than)

22/03/2004, 5:58 PM
I'd say the Shels Rovers match had the guts of 4,000 alright.

caolan
23/03/2004, 10:25 AM
[QUOTE=Dortie]And theres no way in hell your crowd was over 2,000.QUOTE]

I'd say 2000 was about on the mark, which is still relatively poor. The stand holds 2000 and was about 2/3 full, then the crowd on the terrace.....

23/03/2004, 11:16 AM
Be it... 112 @ Century Homes Pk...You can't count the cattle in the attendance. :rolleyes: ;)

dortie
23/03/2004, 11:17 AM
Well we wont find it hard in Derry to calculate our attendances this year because we are restricted to one stand with a capacity of 2,500 seats.

We will lose out (a reason for the £30 increase in season ticket prices)...as I reckon for the big games last year we had 3,500 -4,000 in attendance

23/03/2004, 12:01 PM
Well we wont find it hard in Derry to calculate our attendances this year because we are restricted to one stand with a capacity of 2,500 seats.

So in order to get your A licence ye have had to close most of your ground but everyone else free to keep all the ground open with no need for A licence.