View Full Version : Re:Tolka

23/10/2004, 1:46 PM
CAn a mod make this a poll please.

looks as though we'll have our biggest away support in the capital this year next friday. A couple of things came up in discussion yesterday.

Do we a) go to the riverside stand

or

b) go behind the goal opposit shels new stand.

I'm for the riverside stand as the noise that we will generate under the roof there will be far greater than behind the goal where the noise will go straight up in the air.

Can those who are going voice their opinion and we'll go with the majority?

23/10/2004, 1:51 PM
I normally prefer behind the goal, but noise-wise its better to be under a roof, so I'll go for the riverside.

23/10/2004, 1:53 PM
Behind the goal is good for television but under the gantry is better for sound.

Fair_play_boy
23/10/2004, 1:54 PM
Never there before. As usual, bringing a flock of kids, so under a roof for that reason, plus the noise factor has to count, so the Riverside it is for me. :ball:

23/10/2004, 1:55 PM
Behind the goal is good for television but under the gantry is better for sound.

this isnt about TV on this occasion IMO its about maximising the noise to urge the team on.

Riverside.

Fair_play_boy
23/10/2004, 1:57 PM
It is being televised?????? :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

23/10/2004, 1:58 PM
It is being televised?????? :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
not as yet. i'd say not

23/10/2004, 2:00 PM
mmmmm, this is a real dilemma imo.
The riverside would probably be better noise wise but personnally (and a few others said this yesterday aswell) I'd much prefer to be behind the goal.

The only plus the riverside has is the noise factor but behind the goal will look a lot better both on the night and on TV and if there's enough of us there we'll make the noise regardless of where we stand.
Also, if we go to the riverside it will result in a split imo because in the end half our crowd will end up going behind the goal for whatever reason anyway. It happened in Dublin City, Rovers and Waterford and will happen again on Friday if we got to the riverside.

I voted for behind the goal.

23/10/2004, 2:03 PM
i think our spiritual leader shed end john should pick ;)

Ruairi
23/10/2004, 2:03 PM
Behind the goal, we'll be more visible, and pyschologically it'll be good for the players seeing hundreds of city fans behind the goal they'll be attacking for 45 minutes. unless it's p!issing raining,of course

23/10/2004, 2:06 PM
Behind the goal, we'll be more visible, and pyschologically it'll be good for the players seeing hundreds of city fans behind the goal they'll be attacking for 45 minutes. unless it's p!issing raining,of course

My thoughts exactly.
We'll be far more visible and noticeable behind the goal and that matters big time.

23/10/2004, 2:07 PM
Behind the goal, lads. The team can see us much better there, and we will of course have to exchange some polite chit-chat with Stevie.....;)

23/10/2004, 2:08 PM
keep it coming lads we'll go with the majority

23/10/2004, 8:07 PM
I think you're the only away fans in the league who goto the Ballybough end behind the goal.

23/10/2004, 10:26 PM
I think you're the only away fans in the league who goto the Ballybough end behind the goal.
sure we've always been a bit different haven't we?

adamd164
24/10/2004, 11:15 AM
In more ways than one - we've also got much more fans!

24/10/2004, 2:40 PM
behind the goal too for me

but i do think we need SEJ to give this planned move his backing
where are ya SEJ ?

kevincronin2000
24/10/2004, 5:40 PM
Why not in section A in the main stand. Thats where we were for the last game of the season a few years ago when we qualified for the toto cup and handed the title to bohs. Good crack that day.

Will generate lots of noise and will be seen on tv

24/10/2004, 6:01 PM
i suppose nobody has considered that we may be assigned somewhere rather than us actually picking?

i wonder if we will following our last visit to tolka?

25/10/2004, 1:59 AM
we decide on here where we want to go and then we'll go where we want to go. **** those stupid jack thieves of they think they're gonna tell us where to sit. thats our decision

25/10/2004, 2:49 AM
we decide on here where we want to go and then we'll go where we want to go. **** those stupid jack thieves of they think they're gonna tell us where to sit. thats our decision

i fcuking like it ;)

DolansWaistcoat
25/10/2004, 12:17 PM
Its at 50-50 at the moment lads but I reckon it should be decided before heading up to the pale and everyone should stick together to make as much noise as possible for the boys in green. :cool:

Ruairi
25/10/2004, 1:04 PM
i wonder will Ronan Seery turn up.Ya know, just for the laugh like

25/10/2004, 1:21 PM
Under the TV gantry.
We'll create more noise, and a sea of Green will be the first thing both teams see when they come out of the tunnel. :cool:

adamd164
25/10/2004, 3:02 PM
Well the Riverside stand's winning 19:16 @ time of post so it looks like that'll be our spot. Once we don't have half of the lads ****ing off behind the goal now!

25/10/2004, 6:27 PM

Spot on. No corrupt Shels scumbags are going to tell me where I can stand and if they try we should do the exact opposite!

I think I'm going to go behind the goal anyway and I was talking to a few others today and they reckon they are too. I'd say unless everyone goes behind the goal they'll be a split in the City fans again.
FFS, there's 3 buses going, there's a load people driving and there's the exiles. With a crowd that size we won't need a roof to make noise.
Everyone should go to our usual spot behind the goal.

25/10/2004, 8:34 PM
the last thing we need is any kind of split. I suppose we'll just have to get there early and set up, and hope everyone joins us!

25/10/2004, 10:11 PM
behind the goal id say...like last season up there, we will still make noise

if u wanna hand with the big flags this time,ill help out....love for mr.byrne to come over again

P.S. ANYONE FOR A PINT AT HALF TIME ;)

harry crumb
25/10/2004, 10:48 PM
Are we getting ahead of ourselves here.

What happens is we don't have a choice because the of the size of the crowd?

25/10/2004, 10:51 PM
that won't happen harry. the crowds in tolka are always fairly poor anyway, and those two stands are usually virtually empty. the only reason we wouldn't have a choice is that they've closed the riverside beacuse there's not enough of a crowd......which has happened before!

25/10/2004, 10:53 PM
Arent all clubs meant to have a pre-designated Away Fan section? Surely there shouldnt even be a choice?

25/10/2004, 10:55 PM
Arent all clubs meant to have a pre-designated Away Fan section? Surely there shouldnt even be a choice?
yeah, they're also supposed to have proper stewarding and segregate away fans from home fans, and ban the use of flares and smoke bombs, not have people on the pitch after the game etc etc :rolleyes: seems like city are the only club that actually do as they're told

NorthoftheLee
26/10/2004, 8:49 AM
I think the riverside is the best option as with ALL the city fans together there, we will ake a hell of a lot of noise. Who cares if we can be seen on the cameras or not..does it matter?? no! we should be trying to give the team the best support we can and by being in the riverside we can generate that support a hell of a lot better than behind the goal as the sound just goes straight up into the night sky.

26/10/2004, 8:51 AM
the last thing we need is any kind of split. I suppose we'll just have to get there early and set up, and hope everyone joins us!

In fairness lads, what's the point in having a poll on this if you're all intending to ignore the result and head behind the goals anyway :p :D

26/10/2004, 9:33 AM
In fairness lads, what's the point in having a poll on this if you're all intending to ignore the result and head behind the goals anyway :p :D
i meantthat we go wherever the poll decides early!

26/10/2004, 9:47 AM
Shure it wouldn't be Oirland if we didn't have a split......:p

exile
26/10/2004, 11:00 AM
can city fans show some unity for once

daveh
26/10/2004, 11:57 AM
Ive an even better idea.......shut up!!!!

26/10/2004, 12:54 PM
I've a better idea stay down in tour little **** hole of a village and iwatch shels for the 10th time this year on tv!!!Could someone translate this into English?

exile
26/10/2004, 1:14 PM
I've a better idea stay down in tour little **** hole of a village and iwatch shels for the 10th time this year on tv!!!

well seeing as you watch them on tv for the 10th time this year what the hell would you know about the rest of the country never mind your own club cause if you cant get up of your ass to go to tolka cause your watching them on tv all the time id say you are probably doing to much heroin so **** off

26/10/2004, 4:49 PM
well seeing as you watch them on tv for the 10th time this year what the hell would you know about the rest of the country never mind your own club cause if you cant get up of your ass to go to tolka cause your watching them on tv all the time id say you are probably doing to much heroin so **** off

Beaten to it, d'ah nuts !!

Pure Shels ... sitting at home with the feet up, when the team are playing only down the road. :eek: :rolleyes:

26/10/2004, 5:04 PM
Could someone translate this into English?

What are the bets on City fans outnumbering the home fans in Tolka on Friday...

adamd164
26/10/2004, 5:08 PM
FFS, there's 3 buses going, there's a load people driving and there's the exiles. With a crowd that size we won't need a roof to make noise.
Everyone should go to our usual spot behind the goal.

Too right colm! 3 BUSES THOUGH??!! WHOO! I was onto Ian yesterday and I've booked my place!

adamd164
26/10/2004, 5:18 PM
iwatch shels for the 10th time this year on tv!!!
You're some fan! Does it mystify you that we might want to travel to see our beloved City beat ye in Tolka??

(City fans ignore, I speak dub) ;)
Jaysus mayh- shuiht yaaarr noh bleeeeeeeedin sipaartuur! Ur weeh shaaaghin insayin urr wah... gooon up on da buhs (an akshally payin luike!) tu da pizhoole uzz kaaaal a stadyum luike?!

:p

26/10/2004, 5:29 PM
Jaysus mayh- shuiht yaaarr noh bleeeeeeeedin sipaartuur! Ur weeh shaaaghin insayin urr wah... gooon up on da buhs (an akshally payin luike!) tu da pizhoole uzz kaaaal a stadyum luike?!

Finally someone on Foot.ie who knows how to talk properly :D

There's no risk of the Riverside being closed I'd say lads, it's been open for nearly every game this season even ones where the away fans sit elsehwere.

adamd164
26/10/2004, 6:52 PM
Nice to see you taking the comments with a pinch of salt slash/ED!

FourFiveOne
27/10/2004, 10:39 AM
Sounds like the game on Friday will be on TV alright.
Has to be behind the goal in that case?
Gonna try and be in the ground well early and arrange flags etc. Need plenty of people to lend a hand.
Say 7pm?

daveh
27/10/2004, 10:49 AM
Forgot about the possibility of the match being called off,its a fairly real possibility like.It would ruin my week if it got called off,been looking forward to going to this game for a while.Why did they build there stadium on a flood basin?!! Idiots!!

27/10/2004, 2:07 PM
Sounds like the game on Friday will be on TV alright.
Has to be behind the goal in that case?
Gonna try and be in the ground well early and arrange flags etc. Need plenty of people to lend a hand.
Say 7pm?

i'm inclined to say behind the goal now too. unless its raining then we'll need a cover

27/10/2004, 2:32 PM
Apparently it's behind the goal where shels are putting us anyway, so decision made. Wrap up warm.