View Full Version : Mark Kennedy

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

20/02/2017, 6:26 PM
Killer interviewing Mark Kennedy on OTB tonight.

DannyInvincible
20/02/2017, 10:53 PM
You can listen again to a section of the 'Off the Ball' interview with Kilbane here: https://goo.gl/ys0fvj

Kennedy revealed that he doesn't take an interest in the national team and that he had had a previously-undisclosed falling out with Brian Kerr in early 2003. He didn't play for Kerr or Ireland after that. Some of what Kennedy said in the interview is quoted here: http://www.newstalk.com/mark-kennedy-chat-with-kevin-kilbane

"I couldn't tell you the last time I watched an Ireland game, not because I don't care about my country. I'm very, very passionate about my country. But I've no interest in the national team. None whatsoever," Kennedy said, before expanding on what happened.

"I vividly remember when - and I cannot be any more honest in this - Brian Kerr's first game in charge was against Scotland and I played for Wolves on the Saturday and I had a groin injury ironically.

"And I personally rang Brian Kerr, and said to him - a physio had spoke to him. I rang him that night on the Saturday and I'll never forget it.

"I personally said to him, 'Brian, I've got a groin injury. I'm struggling, and I promise you one thing, I'll play for Wolves next Saturday, because I'm not dying. I've got a tight, whatever it is... bit of a problem. I will play for Wolves next Saturday'. But I said, 'I'm not going to be one of these players that just says I'm injured. If you want me to play against Scotland I'll come up and I'll play, but I could do without that game'.

"And then he left a message on my phone, which was absolutely bizarre, that night, basically moaning 'I don't like hearing things third hand' and stuff like that. I was thinking, 'I've rang you, I've spoke to you, you're deluded, I've spoke to you'.

"And then the next trip, we played Georgia and Albania away. He put me on standby. I thought, 'You cheeky b*stard'. He called me up, and I told him, 'I'm not going'.

"I'll never forget it: we played Gillingham at home, we won 6-0, I banged in two. Dave [Jones] took me off, and I as I walked off I said, 'I'm injured'. He went, 'What?' And I said 'I'm not going to Georgia and Albania'.

"That was the day my Ireland career [ended] and I just refused to play for them after that."

He did add that Kerr did attempt to bring him back for a "Mickey Mouse tournament in London" some time later.

Balls.ie have also transcribed some of Kennedy's subsequent words: https://www.balls.ie/football/mark-kennedy-359523

He left me out for a long time after that, and he tried to call me up to some mickey mouse tournament in London. I remember speaking to Robbie [Keane], who was playing with Tottenham in the Premier League. There was this Tri-Nations tournament in Fulham, and I said to Robbie, 'What are you doing for your summer holidays'. Robbie said 'oh, I've spoken to so and so, and we've got this tournament'.

Brian Kerr never phoned me, never told me to do this, and do that, and then he called me up right near the end. And do you know what really annoyed me Kev? I just said, I'm not going. I'm injured, I have no interest. I always remember a headline in the paper, and it went 'Sicknote Injured Again', and I thought....you cheeky b*stards. That's nowhere near, I just don't want to play.

I don't want to play for people who I don't respect. And if that means I don't play for my country...then it doesn't bother me.

Strange story all round. It sounds like there must have been some communication mix-up or mistake - surely - but Kennedy had perhaps already made his mind up and taken a huff. He never struck me as having the most professional or ideal of attitudes. In fact, he admitted he was "really stubborn" and was a "black-and-white person" in the interview. I'd love to hear Kerr's version of events in order to make a proper judgment.

21/02/2017, 8:16 AM
What a sad bitter self interested jerk

21/02/2017, 8:45 AM
What a sad bitter self interested jerk

I was wondering how I would sum up my response but that pretty much covers it.

The most interesingt insight was "That was the day my Ireland career [ended] and I just refused to play for THEM after that." "Them" - obviously didn't get that your country is not THEM.

DeLorean
21/02/2017, 10:01 AM
It's never good when you look like a dick giving your own side of the story.

DannyInvincible
21/02/2017, 11:22 AM
Kennedy on being arrested with Phil Babb on Harcourt Street in Dublin a few days before our World Cup qualifier away to Holland in September of 2000 after Babb damaged the parked personal car of the garda doing security at the Harcourt Street garda station (as transcribed by Balls.ie): https://www.balls.ie/football/mark-kennedy-and-phil-babb-359539

Mark Kennedy: For once in my life, I tried to do something positive. We'd gone out, and myself and Babbsy were in this bar just off Grafton Street. Just the two of us, I wasn't sure where everybody was, as you said Kev, everyone was out. And I was drinking a drink that will remain nameless.

Kevin Kilbane: Oh go on, what was the drink?

Mark Kennedy: Oh it was a girl's drink...Smirnoff Ice. Babbsy had said that, 'What's that you're drinking? I've never had one'. And he actually said, ' I'll have one of them, what's the worst that can happen!?' Then, about three hours later, I'm cuffed in the back of a car.

But anyway, the night carried on, and as you'll well remember Kev, curfew was 12 o'clock. Now managers aren't stupid, some lads come in at twelve, so if you're going to stay out late, make sure and come back at six, when nobody is up. But I had actually said to Babbsy 'come on, let's go back, and we left everybody in Coppers.

Babbsy used to do this, it was called Death Stuntman. He would roll over the bonnet of a stationary car, but demonstrate a stuntman getting hit at sixty miles an hour. you had to see this to believe it, but it was really good!

But basically, Babb did Death Stuntman, and he damaged the bonnet of the car. Now bizarrely, and stupidly, he did this on Harcourt Street, which is probably the biggest police station in Dublin, and the car that was damaged was the Bangarda's, who was on security.

Kevin Kilbane: Of all the cars in Dublin...

Mark Kennedy: So that happened, she came out to see what was all the commotion, and a few lads who knew who we were, said 'oh, these were jumping on your car'. So, in my ignorance, and stubborness, my attitude was, which I'd never do again obviously, 'I haven't done anything wrong, so there's nothing you can do to me'. But before I know it, I'm cuffed in the back of the car again, and Babbsy is outside the car talking to the woman.

I was saying, 'I haven't done anything, what am I doing here'.

Next thing I know, I'm sure they put us in Mountjoy, in a holding cell. But the next day, we are taken to a courthouse, and before hand, we were put in a holding cell, and I remember there was a load of lads saying 'Jaysis lads, Mick isn't going to like this', and 'you're not going to get your game on Saturday when he sees ye'. Then when we walk up through the steps into the courthouse, it was absolutely rammed. And I'm thinking '...oh ****'.

This is big. This is really big. We didn't know, it was on the radio. So we then go back to the hotel after that, and naturally the gaffer wants to speak to us. I said 'Look gaffer, I haven't done anything', and the gaffer said 'you're out of the squad'.

I've not listened to this section of the interview, but Balls.ie added that "Kennedy later said that he didn't appreciate how big the incident had become, while he pleaded his case to McCarthy, he accepted that being arrested on international duty wasn't good enough".

21/02/2017, 11:34 AM
the segment they broadcasted last night is online here, along with the rest of last night's football show: http://cdn.radiocms.net/media/001/audio/000028/180280_media_player_audio_file.mp3
There's more tonight, and the entire interview is going out on Thursday

21/02/2017, 11:49 AM
Many thought he was the next big thing when as a teenager he went from Millwall to Liverpool for over a million at the time. I can't remember who said it about him, but it was something along the lines that he shone as a bright light for about five minutes before dimming down to a 15 watt bulb for the remainder of his career. I remember him as a languid player who could turn it on occasionally with some excellent crosses and shots. Can't recall where he went after Wimbledon and couldn't be ars*d looking it up.

DannyInvincible
21/02/2017, 12:05 PM
He moved to Manchester City after Wimbledon and then Wolves after that.

the segment they broadcasted last night is online here, along with the rest of last night's football show: http://cdn.radiocms.net/media/001/audio/000028/180280_media_player_audio_file.mp3
There's more tonight, and the entire interview is going out on Thursday

Interesting that Kilbane describes Kennedy as being "a very good character" and says that "people have got the wrong perception of him over the years" when asked if Kennedy is "spiky". Kilbane adds that Kennedy was a "very, very popular lad within the dressing room", was "good fun" and "enjoyed his life".

Kilbane does admit that Kennedy acknowledges having made a few errors in his life and could definitely have been more dedicated, particularly at Liverpool.

I'd either completely forgotten or simply not been aware that Kennedy was also arrested, aged 20, whilst on international duty for us in the US in 1996 after knocking over a plant pot outside a restaurant (seemingly by mistake) and getting himself into an argument with the owner who demanded $1,000 for the damage. Kennedy refused to pay, the police got involved (because "they're everywhere in America") and asked him to accept the damages, but Kennedy stubbornly refused again and was cuffed "before [he] knew it" and put in the back of their car.

DeLorean
21/02/2017, 12:45 PM
I never really had anything negative in my mind about him before reading the Newstalk quotes above. I remember the car thing with himself and Babb alright but that was harmless really.

Kilbane's an incredibly nice fella, I couldn't imagine him saying anything but nice things about any former teammate unless he had serious reasons not to. That's not to say Kennedy isn't a good character, but he doesn't come off too well in that interview.

Outside of moving from Millwall to Liverpool, I can only really remember him playing for Wolves with any real clarity, although I can picture him in the Manchester City jersey now that you say it.

I remember him having a brilliant shot off the bar for Liverpool at Anfield (Kop end I'm sure), a shame it didn't go in seeing as he never scored for them. He'll be forever remembered by the Millwall fans at least, most notably for this. (https://youtu.be/AH3Ky2shLl4?t=15s)

21/02/2017, 12:47 PM
It's never good when you look like a dick giving your own side of the story.
"I'm a black or white type person" i.e., a knob

21/02/2017, 1:16 PM
. He'll be forever remembered by the Millwall fans at least, most notably for this. (https://youtu.be/AH3Ky2shLl4?t=15s)
Seems like Stutts can't forget that one.

Park_Lane
21/02/2017, 1:16 PM
Came across a Muppet in that interview. Never to blame for his own actions - the original Steven Ireland. If I remember correctly there was a conversation between Dunphy and his former manager Kinnear on the premiership on rte along time ago where Kinnear alluded to Kennedy's attitude "Thinks the world owes him a living". He was no great loss during that era either way, we had regular premier league players that couldn't get a game for us at that time, all willing to turn up home and away for the green. Couldn't make it top level because of his attitude, championship player at best.

DeLorean
21/02/2017, 3:00 PM
"I'm a black or white type person" i.e., a knob

True. A strange pet hate too maybe, but I also find it gratingly condescending when somebody calls a fellow grown-up "cheeky". Kennedy does it twice in that short piece when referring to Kerr and whatever journalists called him sicknote as "cheeky b*stards". Comes across as smug or something.

21/02/2017, 4:01 PM
Seems like Stutts can't forget that one.
I had forgotten it until now. Great goal versus Yugoslavia but still a knob.

DannyInvincible
21/02/2017, 5:25 PM
True. A strange pet hate too maybe, but I also find it gratingly condescending when somebody calls a fellow grown-up "cheeky". Kennedy does it twice in that short piece when referring to Kerr and whatever journalists called him sicknote as "cheeky b*stards". Comes across as smug or something.

It's especially rich for him to complain about being dubbed "sicknote" when he actually admits - in the very passage before having a go at the so-called "cheeky b*stards" - to having (falsely) used the excuse that he was injured in order to avoid the call-up in question.

seanfhear
21/02/2017, 6:08 PM
He comes across as a Gobs***e even with a friendly interviewer (Kevin Kilbane)..Its safe to say he is a Gobs**e.....

21/02/2017, 6:59 PM
It's especially rich for him to complain about being dubbed "sicknote" when he actually admits - in the very passage before having a go at the so-called "cheeky b*stards" - to having (falsely) used the excuse that he was injured in order to avoid the call-up in question.
I heard it differently, he was just trying to remember the conversation he had.
Kerr called him late in day for that mini tournament and Kennedy said "I just wasn't going, i'm injured, not injured........." He more or less said he wasn't interested.
From what I gather, Kerr leaked it to the press that 'sick note was injured again', in order to deliberately show Kennedy in a bad light. Kerr abused his position.
Up to then, Kennedy had not said anything to the press about their previous falling out, not even to the other players like Kilbane.
When Kennedy said he was a black and white type guy he was referring to his stubbornness in such situations, it's either or.

Kennedy bad, everybody else good and honest?? I doubt it. But I don't really care, Kennedy had a long and very good club career, for us he might have just about made it into the squad on his good days.

DannyInvincible
21/02/2017, 9:50 PM
I heard it differently, he was just trying to remember the conversation he had.
Kerr called him late in day for that mini tournament and Kennedy said "I just wasn't going, i'm injured, not injured........." He more or less said he wasn't interested.

You've misheard/misquoted the passage. In the interview with Kilbane, Kennedy says: "I just said [to Brian Kerr], 'I'm not going. I'm injured, I have no interest.'"

I suppose it is still possible though that he mis-remembered or got his words mixed up and corrected himself. Hard to tell.

21/02/2017, 10:20 PM
You've misheard/misquoted the passage. In the interview with Kilbane, Kennedy says: "I just said [to Brian Kerr], 'I'm not going. I'm injured, I have no interest.'"

I suppose it is still possible though that he mis-remembered or got his words mixed up and corrected himself. Hard to tell.

"I have no interest" is actually more indicative of Kennedy's low regard for Kerr. Kennedy wasn't even peddling the injury excuse, just openly mocking Kerr by mentioning a phantom injury as a faux excuse.
"I just said [to Brian Kerr], 'I'm not going. I'm injured, I have no interest.'" He had no interest in playing, but Kerr choose to select the sick note thing to inform the press.
Kerr was just as much as a bóllix as Kennedy was over that little event maybe more so Kerr as he was the elder, Kerr had no such scruples in bending over backwards to get the rebel Keane back into the team.

samhaydenjr
22/02/2017, 1:05 AM
You can listen again to a section of the 'Off the Ball' interview with Kilbane here: https://goo.gl/ys0fvj

Kennedy revealed that he doesn't take an interest in the national team and that he had had a previously-undisclosed falling out with Brian Kerr in early 2003. He didn't play for Kerr or Ireland after that. Some of what Kennedy said in the interview is quoted here: http://www.newstalk.com/mark-kennedy-chat-with-kevin-kilbane

Originally Posted by Newstalk "I couldn't tell you the last time I watched an Ireland game, not because I don't care about my country. I'm very, very passionate about my country. But I've no interest in the national team. None whatsoever," Kennedy said, before expanding on what happened.

"I vividly remember when - and I cannot be any more honest in this - Brian Kerr's first game in charge was against Scotland and I played for Wolves on the Saturday and I had a groin injury ironically.

"And I personally rang Brian Kerr, and said to him - a physio had spoke to him. I rang him that night on the Saturday and I'll never forget it.

Er...what exactly is an ironic groin injury?

DannyInvincible
22/02/2017, 1:56 AM
"I have no interest" is actually more indicative of Kennedy's low regard for Kerr. Kennedy wasn't even peddling the injury excuse, just openly mocking Kerr by mentioning a phantom injury as a faux excuse.
"I just said [to Brian Kerr], 'I'm not going. I'm injured, I have no interest.'" He had no interest in playing, but Kerr choose to select the sick note thing to inform the press.
Kerr was just as much as a bóllix as Kennedy was over that little event maybe more so Kerr as he was the elder, Kerr had no such scruples in bending over backwards to get the rebel Keane back into the team.

So, Kennedy just stuck that line in now (during his interview with Kilbane) to mock Kerr or are you saying you think he used the "I'm injured" line at the time to Kerr (in 2003) in order to mock him then?

Whether he was mocking him sarcastically to emphasise just how little he cared for Kerr (which is disrespectful), whether it was now or then, or whether it was a made-up excuse to get out of the call-up (which is also disrespectful), I think it's still a bit rich for him to be dubbing Kerr a "cheeky b*stard". Kennedy is hardly in a position to be claiming the moral high-ground given his smart-alecky contribution.

22/02/2017, 9:25 AM
Er...what exactly is an ironic groin injury?
Kennedy used that irony word twice in the interview and both times misplaced.
I took it to mean that it just so happened that he actually was carrying an injury.

22/02/2017, 9:43 AM
It's like 10,000 spoons.

DannyInvincible
22/02/2017, 10:56 AM
Kennedy used that irony word twice in the interview and both times misplaced.
I took it to mean that it just so happened that he actually was carrying an injury.

As opposed to having to make one up, which may have been the more expected or usual mechanism by which Kennedy was able to avoid a call-up? :p

22/02/2017, 11:02 AM
So, Kennedy just stuck that line in now (during his interview with Kilbane) to mock Kerr or are you saying you think he used the "I'm injured" line at the time to Kerr (in 2003) in order to mock him then?
I think Kennedy made it very clear to Kerr that he wasn't interested to join up with the squad for the early summer tournament and that he had not time for Kerr. I wouldn't put too much emphasis on his exact recollection of a 10 year old conversation, most people just remember a sentiment, not the exact words they used to express that sentiment. It sounds like Kennedy has an active list of people who he has no time for.

Whether he was mocking him sarcastically to emphasise just how little he cared for Kerr (which is disrespectful), whether it was now or then, or whether it was a made-up excuse to get out of the call-up (which is also disrespectful), I think it's still a bit rich for him to be dubbing Kerr a "cheeky b*stard". Kennedy is hardly in a position to be claiming the moral high-ground given his smart-alecky contribution.
And Kerr can be narky, sarcastic, bitter.
In the newstalk program, Kilbane explained (in his experience) how these type of ego conflict situations can easily develop and fester unless nipped at the bud with communication.

I'd have thought the onus for that first encounter before the Scotland game was on the manger to clarify an issue with a player not throw fuel on it. It was Kerr's first game but he was an experienced 50 years old manager. Kennedy when fit was at least a squad member and it was a very thin squad with half the first team past their best.

Whatever the opinions are about O'Neill's acumen as a coach, it's obvious that he's a first class manager and you can see the benefits of that quality getting us through games, where the scales of football skills are weighed against us.

DannyInvincible
22/02/2017, 11:58 AM
I think Kennedy made it very clear to Kerr that he wasn't interested to join up with the squad for the early summer tournament and that he had not time for Kerr. I wouldn't put too much emphasis on his exact recollection of a 10 year old conversation, most people just remember a sentiment, not the exact words they used to express that sentiment. It sounds like Kennedy has an active list of people who he has no time for.

There's no dispute over the interpretation of the sentiment. I think that's pretty evident; he has very little regard for Kerr. How to interpret his inclusion of the "I'm injured" line was a more interesting focus for me given he was protesting in the very next line about being dubbed "sicknote". If he used that line at the time, even if it was used sarcastically in an "I couldn't care less, I'm 'injured'; take your pick, whatever... :rolleyes:" sort of manner, he could hardly complain if it came back to bite him. One reaps what they sow and all that.

And Kerr can be narky, sarcastic, bitter.
In the newstalk program, Kilbane explained (in his experience) how these type of ego conflict situations can easily develop and fester unless nipped at the bud with communication.

I'd have thought the onus for that first encounter before the Scotland game was on the manger to clarify an issue with a player not throw fuel on it. It was Kerr's first game but he was an experienced 50 years old manager. Kennedy when fit was at least a squad member and it was a very thin squad with half the first team past their best.

Maybe Kerr can be sarcastic/bitter, and I agree communication and dialogue is key (on both sides) in order to prevent needless escalations - often it takes one embroiled ego to yield, re-assess things professionally for a second and set the emotional baggage aside rather than dive in again personally - but I'd still like to hear Kerr's perspective as Kennedy's version of events is just bizarre and relies on Kerr being near-senile, which doesn't seem plausible to me.

Kennedy claimed they had a conversation with one another over the phone but says that Kerr left a message on his phone later that same day informing Kennedy that he didn't like hearing things "third-hand". Kennedy's reporting of this episode thus implied that Kerr believed that the alleged earlier conversation hadn't even taken place. That's just odd. How could Kerr simply forget an entire conversation a few hours earlier?

A more likely explanation is surely that Kerr erroneously left a message on Kennedy's phone that was actually intended for another unknown player; that Kerr called the wrong number on his phone due to a mix-up or a moment of carelessness, didn't realise it and left a message intended for some other player who he'd heard was injured through a third party. It seems Kennedy may have received this message and immediately jumped to the conclusion without seeking clarification that he was the intended target of Kerr's criticism when it mightn't have been the case at all.

That would be my guess. It seems a more plausible explanation. What do you think the explanation for that peculiar episode is?

If my guess was the case though, surely Kennedy would have had the gumption to realise it was a distinct possibility. It could have been easily resolved by him asking the simple, obvious question - "Was that message definitely meant for me?" - and/or Kerr or someone at the FAI updating him (if Kerr/they was/were even aware of the error) or clarifying in reply that the message was actually intended for another player but that Kerr had unfortunately dialled the wrong number without realising.

Whatever the opinions are about O'Neill's acumen as a coach, it's obvious that he's a first class manager and you can see the benefits of that quality getting us through games, where the scales of football skills are weighed against us.

Wholeheartedly agree.

seanfhear
22/02/2017, 5:18 PM
Surely the only reason Man City have Mark Kennedy coaching young players is as a " Bad Warning " .......If You carry-on like Mark Kennedy then you will have wasted a very large part of the talent you have .

Sometimes a "Bad Warning "is better than a " Good Example "

KrisLetang
22/02/2017, 7:22 PM
I wonder if he's rooting for Natalie Portman to win the Oscar this weekend?

22/02/2017, 8:15 PM
Off topic but you'd miss Crosby all the same.

samhaydenjr
22/02/2017, 11:35 PM
Off topic but you'd miss Crosby all the same.

Well, his season started early, what with winning the World Cup and all and he's had a concussion-free run so I guess he's too busy and clear-thinking to come on foot.ie

Eminence Grise
23/02/2017, 8:19 AM
What you wrote:

I wonder if he's rooting for Natalie Portman to win the Oscar this weekend?

What most of us saw:

Blah blah blah blah rooting blah Natalie Portman blah blah blah blah blah blah

:drool::drool:

23/02/2017, 8:23 AM
It's one of these progressive foot ie rehab programs, where the candidate is first cast out to the wilderness, is reborn, then returns to carry on exactly where they left off.

23/02/2017, 10:34 AM
Full interview released: http://cdn.radiocms.net/media/001/audio/000028/180457_media_player_audio_file.mp3

07/12/2018, 9:38 AM
Kennedy appointed first team coach at Macclesfield under Sol Campbell: https://www.mtfc.co.uk/news/2018/december/06.12.18-mark-kennedy-appointed-as-first-team-coach/

seanfhear
07/12/2018, 9:56 AM
Kennedy appointed first team coach at Macclesfield under Sol Campbell: https://www.mtfc.co.uk/news/2018/december/06.12.18-mark-kennedy-appointed-as-first-team-coach/We can only hope he is more dedicated to his coaching career than he was to his playing career .
Perhaps he has learned with age . Youth is wasted on the Young .

07/12/2018, 10:19 AM
Kennedy appointed first team coach at Macclesfield under Sol Campbell: https://www.mtfc.co.uk/news/2018/december/06.12.18-mark-kennedy-appointed-as-first-team-coach/
One of the most Championship-Managery appointments I've seen in a long while.

09/12/2018, 12:53 AM
Mark or Sol?

09/12/2018, 8:33 AM
The combination

Eminence Grise
09/12/2018, 10:57 AM
Just need Tonton Zola Moukouko to pitch up as Director of Football now. Ah, I miss CM!

09/12/2018, 11:29 AM
This book's next in my reading pile -

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51dK-t6hI2L._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Don't know if it's any good - it's more a random collection of stuff about CM rather than a book as such - but it does feature interviews with the likes of Tonton Zola Moukoko and even Tó Madeira FC. Should be a nostalgia hit if nothing else!

09/12/2018, 3:28 PM
I heard the author being interviewed on Phantom FM one time - he had to pause the game to take the interview!

peadar1987
09/12/2018, 6:31 PM
https://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2752&stc=1

One of my favourite ones Championship Manager threw up recently (yes, I'm still playing 01-02, what of it?!)

09/12/2018, 6:34 PM
September 2032?! Bloody heck.

I think this calls for a general CM thread actually

peadar1987
09/12/2018, 6:46 PM
September 2032?! Bloody heck.

I think this calls for a general CM thread actually

I did use a patch which started you in the 2017/18 season, but yeah, still...

IsMiseSean
10/12/2018, 11:41 AM
I've recently started playing it again. How did you get the background images?

peadar1987
10/12/2018, 7:44 PM
I've recently started playing it again. How did you get the background images?

You can download them (and a load of other cool stuff) from champman0102.co.uk

Fixer82
12/12/2018, 7:37 AM
Kennedy never watches Ireland matches and has no interest in the Irish team, I remember him saying in an interview with (I think it was) Kilbane.

That’s a big black mark against him for me

12/12/2018, 8:00 AM
Kennedy never watches Ireland matches and has no interest in the Irish team, I remember him saying in an interview with (I think it was) Kilbane.

That’s a big black mark against him for me

duffer said the same but i never believed that a lad who travelled to Ireland games as an injured player would lose interest like that

12/12/2018, 11:48 AM
I suppose given he was effectively banned from the team for the last ten years of his career, some resentment could be expected.