View Full Version : Gascoigne.....

22/10/2004, 12:58 PM
Artist known as Gazza becomes 'G8'

22 October 2004

Prince Once became a squiggle, while Madonna recently declared that she is now Esther. Now Paul Gascoigne - the artist formerly known for being daft as a brush - will henceforth be known as "G8".

The former England, Newcastle, Tottenham and Lazio midfielder, who recently resigned as Boston's player-coach, made his announcement on Wednesday. "G8 is right for us now," he said. "It sounds a bit like 'great', or at least it does with my Geordie accent."

Gascoigne said the name change would help him put his troubled past - he has battled against alcoholism and depression - behind him.

"Paul's not right for us because it's too closely linked with the past," Gascoigne said. "I just want to be the guy that enjoyed his football and entertained the fans."

Us?
How many of himself does he think there is?:confused:

22/10/2004, 1:00 PM
Us?
I think it's the Geordie 'we', similar to the royal 'we' but harder to understand. :D

$Leon$
22/10/2004, 1:02 PM
the guy obviously has serious mental problems. what sort of a name is G8. dey wouldn't even let him on foot.ie with a name like that. (needs to be 6 characters long, hence the 2 $ in my name)

sylvo
22/10/2004, 1:18 PM
He should have his name changed for him, a name like ''wife beating scum'' would be a good name for him.

22/10/2004, 1:24 PM
''wife beating scum'' would be a good name for him.

WifeB8R maybe? :D

22/10/2004, 1:28 PM
He should have his name changed for him, a name like ''wife beating scum'' would be a good name for him.

well according to research, 1 in 5 men have beaten a woman, so thats how many footballerss or is it just former rangers plyers :rolleyes:

read his book, an interesting insight into a man with serious problems.

sylvo
22/10/2004, 1:34 PM

Does it come with free crayons.

22/10/2004, 1:42 PM
Does it come with free crayons.

no, but you do get lots of lovely papers

sylvo
22/10/2004, 1:42 PM
well according to research, 1 in 5 men have beaten a woman, so thats how many footballerss or is it just former rangers plyers :rolleyes:

He's not one of yer showbiz pal's is he Max, the Celtic punch up's going on in the general football page's.
For the record Alan Mcinally (spelling's wrong I know :rolleyes: ) has also attacked his ex wife, my feeling's are the same toward's him also. Glad we cleared that up. :rolleyes:

22/10/2004, 1:47 PM
He's not one of yer showbiz pal's is he Max, the Celtic punch up's going on in the general football page's.
For the record Alan Mcinally (spelling's wrong I know :rolleyes: ) has also attacked his ex wife, my feeling's are the same toward's him also. Glad we cleared that up. :rolleyes:

yes but as u know a lot of people just see former rangers player and go to town without knowing any of the facts, my view of him changed when i read the book. great read.

oh and collymore's is next, but i just think he is plain loopy :D

22/10/2004, 2:00 PM
Every time I see or hear Gazza now, sorry G8, I just feel sorry for him. Solely because it's obvious he's got mental problems and his speech is all wonky ala the great Ali.
Sounds as if he's p!ssed all the time.

sylvo
22/10/2004, 2:16 PM
oh and collymore's is next, but i just think he is plain loopy :D

I agree, class player but something very wrong in the head with him, another one who has attacked a woman. What's wrong with these people.

noby
22/10/2004, 2:26 PM
yes but as u know a lot of people just see former rangers player and go to town without knowing any of the facts

Not me. I thought he was a head-the-ball long before he joined rangers.

22/10/2004, 2:38 PM
Not me. I thought he was a head-the-ball long before he joined rangers.

but as a footballer the guy was on another level at times, flawed genius i think is the term

Fair_play_boy
22/10/2004, 3:30 PM
WifeB8R maybe? :DGood one! :p

sylvo
22/10/2004, 7:37 PM
WifeB8R maybe? :D

Great new name for him. Problem is deed poll don't take name's with numbers in them.

liam88
22/10/2004, 8:48 PM

Aye or even "wife beating, secaterian hatred inciting racist scum"! Actually, that includes a 5 syllable word! Sure he cannae manage that :D
His book in ma opinion would be expensive bog roll ;) surely he can't even write himself, though it's not that hard:

Beat up the wife, made a mockery of secaterian hatred in Northern Ireland despite being from Newcastle, made some racist comments, drunk to much, buggered up the career, got depressed, wrote a book"

Couldn't care less for the arsehole-doesn't matter who he played for :rolleyes: (though admittidly it fuels it). If a Celtic player scored and stuck his fingers in a gun shape behind a teammates knees it'd still be disgraceful :mad:

dortie
22/10/2004, 9:34 PM
The mans a mentalist, always was one. Hes an ugly mentalist now though with his anorexic features and dyed blonde facial hair.

Was the rumour about him wanting to go to Cork true or what ?

lopez
22/10/2004, 10:43 PM
Does it come with free crayons.No! But it comes with a free onion and a knife to cut it with, by the sounds of it. :rolleyes:

sylvo
23/10/2004, 9:00 AM
Aye or even "wife beating, secaterian hatred inciting racist scum"! Actually, that includes a 5 syllable word! Sure he cannae manage that
His book in ma opinion would be expensive bog roll surely he can't even write himself, though it's not that hard:

Beat up the wife, made a mockery of secaterian hatred in Northern Ireland despite being from Newcastle, made some racist comments, drunk to much, buggered up the career, got depressed, wrote a book"

Couldn't care less for the arsehole-doesn't matter who he played for :rolleyes: (though admittidly it fuels it). If a Celtic player scored and stuck his fingers in a gun shape behind a teammates knees it'd still be disgraceful :

Right enough of sitting on the fence about him, ;) totally agree with yer Liam
the bloke's a total d**khead.
No matter how much yer tried to avoid the hype about this superstar in 1990 who helped his country so much in that semi v Germany that he spent most of the game bawling his eye's out over not playing in a final that thankfully the rest of his teammate's did'nt play in either :D it was impossible.
He played up to the thick yob image to the full in front of the media and thankfully his antic's including battering his wife and bravely trying to cover it up by getting her seen to by his club docter are now yesterday's new's as well as other such classic's like telling the people of Norway to f off as well as trying to end other player's career's like he tried to do to Gary Charles of Notts Forest and f**king himself up in the process.
He represented the same thug mentality on the pitch as what follow's his national team around.
F**k him.

23/10/2004, 9:11 AM
Ahh, maybe it's old age, gut I've mellowed towards him ever since seeing a documentary earlier this year in which his mental illnesses were all too apparent. The poor man suffers from Tourette's syndrome and obsessive-compulsive disorder to name but two. No ****ing picnic, either one of them.

Yes, I was apoplectic about the flute-playing incidents at the time (quelle surprise? ;) ) and yes, I hated him for it at the time, but hindsight is clear enough for me to see that Gascoigne is nothing more than a poorly-advised and seriously ill man.

I can't and won't condone or accept what he did to his wife and certainly won't use his illnesses as an excuse for this vile behaviour. However, the man could use a little compassion right now. I wish him all the best.

:ball: PP

Duncan Gardner
23/10/2004, 9:21 AM
Hmm. Clearly the guy has behavior problems, a record for domestic violence and (like Beckham and Mutu) is being very badly advised, about his image rights and the like.

But some of the criticism and analysis here goes over the top. He realised he'd miss the World Cup final- who wouldn't cry? (Robbie Savage and James Quinn reacted similarly to being ruled out of mere qualifiers against England). He kicked Gary Charles, sure, but many have worse disciplinary records on the field. And he somehow represents England's hoolie following? Don't be silly. I don't remember him banging on any French cars the last time England played in Paris :)

The flute-playing was naughty but hey, don't be so po-faced. Did ye notice he was holding it upside down?

23/10/2004, 9:30 AM
I don't remember him banging on any French cars the last time England played in Paris :)

Dontcha mean Algerian cars, DG? :rolleyes: ;)

:D PP

Duncan Gardner
23/10/2004, 9:35 AM
Thank God none of the foot.ie thought Police were around the night I finished my exams at TCD way back. We ran up and down the roofs of the line of parked cars on Nassau Street, outside the Alliance Francaise. Luckily, the UEFA Cup Final was on the same night, so we blamed football hooligans...

Spurs in a European final? Aye, i'm an old ******* :)

sylvo
23/10/2004, 1:03 PM
[QUOTE=Duncan Gardner]

But some of the criticism and analysis here goes over the top. He realised he'd miss the World Cup final- who wouldn't cry?

Michael Ballack for a start DG, went on and scored a goal after he got his booking ruling him out of the 2002 final.
Also a certain Cork man against Juventus in a champion's league semi, he went on and done the same.

Fair_play_boy
23/10/2004, 1:27 PM
. . . He represented the same thug mentality on the pitch as what follow's his national team around. Are you branding all fans of the English soccer team with the same brush here? The thugs certainly do get plenty of free press, but the majority of decent ordinary fans seem to be getting the same treatment as the Travelling people. It is too easy to dump on them all as if they conform to some horrible stereotype.

sylvo
23/10/2004, 1:27 PM
[QUOTE=Duncan Gardner] And he somehow represents England's hoolie following? Don't be silly.

He don't speak on behalf of them I'm sure ;) but he's the same kind of scumbag.
Here's a bloke who had everything, and every one else seem's to be at fault for his fall from grace, be it his wife or the media who he was alway's happy enough to perform for when they stuck a camera in his face and was happy to have them follow him around, but then it was their fault he did'nt get picked for the World cup in France after his night on the tear in the west end.
One bunch he don't lay any blame at his his old mate's who he used to chuck his money around at and his show biz drinking pal's.
I don't feel sorry one bit for him, the Loch Lomond incident was'nt the first time he beat his wife, he'd down it in Italy before not to mention the cowardly use of his elbow's on oppenent's.
He was more then happy to treat us through the media to his wit and wisdom :rolleyes: and now the media are'nt really interested anymore. What a shame. :D

23/10/2004, 2:15 PM
he's signed for East stirlingshire it seems! a wage cap of a tenner per player and boyyom of the Scottish 3rd division!

a sponsership deal with Littlewoods pools is paying his wages. was just on bbc radio 5 there

sylvo
23/10/2004, 2:37 PM
Are you branding all fans of the English soccer team with the same brush here? The thugs certainly do get plenty of free press, but the majority of decent ordinary fans seem to be getting the same treatment as the Travelling people. It is too easy to dump on them all as if they conform to some horrible stereotype.

Why not, did'nt their media and police force's seem happy enough to brand the entire Irish community in Britain during the 70's and 80's as bomber's.

liam88
23/10/2004, 6:35 PM
Why not, did'nt their media and police force's seem happy enough to brand the entire Irish community in Britain during the 70's and 80's as bomber's.
aye and carry out searches, imprisonment and disgraceful treatment of anyone with an Irish accent or Irish parent!
Well said and well said regarding not feeling one bit sorry for scumscogine-young and passionate as I am: I don't care about him at all now-wouldn't wish bad luck but just don't care!

Fair_play_boy
23/10/2004, 10:00 PM
Why not, did'nt their media and police force's seem happy enough to brand the entire Irish community in Britain during the 70's and 80's as bomber's.Whose media? Whose police force? You speak as if the entire English community was of one opinion. They were not then, no more than they are now. I am not standing up for some thugs in the police force who made life miserable for many Irish people. And there are probably some serving, and definitely some retired civil servants in the Home Office whose behaviour in the 70s and 80s should be investigated with a view to bringing criminal charges against them for their treatment of Irish working in the UK, and even for Irish people on holiday. But that is no reason to smear all English soccer team supporters, as you seem to do.

Thomo
23/10/2004, 10:06 PM
I hate gazza, aside from him playing for three of the teams i hate most (spurs, rangers, and Lazio). But he ****ed up some amazing talent, and hit a woman. any man who lays a finger on a woman, NO MATTER WHAT, should be taken out the back and given a swift one in the back of the head. its despicable, and i hope the **** bag gets everything he deserves. as for his new name, 'gate' is clearly a complete screwball. but frankly, i couldnt care less.

lopez
23/10/2004, 10:40 PM
Whose media? Whose police force? You speak as if the entire English community was of one opinion. They were not then, no more than they are now. I am not standing up for some thugs in the police force who made life miserable for many Irish people. And there are probably some serving, and definitely some retired civil servants in the Home Office whose behaviour in the 70s and 80s should be investigated with a view to bringing criminal charges against them for their treatment of Irish working in the UK, and even for Irish people on holiday. But that is no reason to smear all English soccer team supporters, as you seem to do.Ahh sure it was only a few wrong-uns! :rolleyes: Get real hombre! As we 'auslanders' are always told, if you are going to talk about a subject make sure you know what you are talking about, or have a smoke, a coke and shut da f*ck up! You clearly know f*ck all about what most Irish people went through here in the seventies and eighties.

Suspicion of the Paddies ran right through British society. My old man got it at work, I got it at school and I witnessed it myself towards others (and confronted it head on where it needed some blunt Anglo-Saxon expletives) when I went to work. One bloke, who I still work with, being particularly suspicious to the natives cos he :eek: read Irish books (well he must be a Provo if he's reading Irish). Everyone with an Irish passport got stopped on leaving the country on boats that weren't going to Ireland (here, due to the pressure of numbers the police were more selective), even the John 'Coco' Whites of this world who only got an Irish passport because the Belfast office was on strike or sommut. One I worked with - from Ballymena - claimed that they managed to strip search him and the only other Paddy on a flight to Tenerife and still didn't find his stash of ganja he had left in his pocket.

Every time I left Britain I got my passport stamped up until around 1986, when an enlightened TD brought this illegal practice up with the EU. What truly made me laugh was the pure f*cking stupidity of the Special Branch morons. Take this from one of my mandatory pull-overs at Harwich, this time just after the Brighton bombing. Knucklehead: 'Sir :rolleyes: How long have you lived in England?' My reply: 'All my life.' KH: 'Oh so you were just born in Ireland?' Me: 'No.' KH: 'Oh you were born in England. Oh that's alright then, sir.'

Another memorable moment of how lovely the natives were to the Irish was when someone at work mentioned that he had come to the conclusion :rolleyes: that there must be some 2Gs in the provos and that they should all be put under watch aswell. Congratulations Sherlock, until I mentioned that I was one of that said fraternity. Soon shut the c*nt up. England fans? Bunch of scum IMO. :p Oh and before you say anything, if you read my profile you'll notice that I've got a chip on both shoulders.

sylvo
24/10/2004, 12:05 PM
Whose media? Whose police force? You speak as if the entire English community was of one opinion. They were not then, no more than they are now. I am not standing up for some thugs in the police force who made life miserable for many Irish people. And there are probably some serving, and definitely some retired civil servants in the Home Office whose behaviour in the 70s and 80s should be investigated with a view to bringing criminal charges against them for their treatment of Irish working in the UK, and even for Irish people on holiday. But that is no reason to smear all English soccer team supporters, as you seem to do.

Here we go, it seem's it's all right for people to slag off every Algerian in Paris because some of the lad's had a one off dust up with some of them the other week ,but mention a bunch like the Tans who there's been more then a one off dust up and that's a no no.
I take it you've lived and grew up in Britain or you've met up with the nice guys who follow Inguurlund when on yer travels.
Also you sound like you've had great experiance with mr PC Plod over here.
The Humberside Police force which came into the new's recently over it's couldn't be bothered attitude towards Ian Huntley and vetting paedophiles was also a police force which told it's officers to get it's priortys right instead :rolleyes: at the time to check on every Irish person living in Hull or passing through Hull port.
I take it members of your own family have been pulled up the Tan police force, my father who never done anything to anyone in all his year's in Ingurlunnd was still held a few time's on the basis of being Irish in the 70's, a situation which has got a lot better but as I found out with getting dragged over at Stansted airport on my way to the Faroe's match a situation which has not gone away.
Another great experiance I encountered with regards to the next best fans at WC 2002 was the night they got knocked out by Brazil, in which myself and a couple of mate's had to jump in and back up a group of Brazilian's who were about to get a doing on a tube in London that night, and it were'nt from thugs in Burburry it was from joe bloggs public, who were'nt to happy that their so called superstars could be knocked out by a bunchhh of Dagoo's as they put it.
When Wembley reopen's I challange you to go up to Kilburn or Willisden in North West London on the route to Wembley And have a quite pint in one of the many Irish pubs around that area, you might find that yer change yer tune about Ingurluund fans.

liam88
24/10/2004, 7:23 PM
Also you sound like you've had great experiance with mr PC Plod over here.
The Humberside Police force which came into the new's recently over it's couldn't be bothered attitude towards Ian Huntley and vetting paedophiles was also a police force which told it's officers to get it's priortys right instead :rolleyes: at the time to check on every Irish person living in Hull or passing through Hull port.
I take it members of your own family have been pulled up the Tan police force, my father who never done anything to anyone in all his year's in Ingurlunnd was still held a few time's on the basis of being Irish in the 70's, a situation which has got a lot better but as I found out with getting dragged over at Stansted airport on my way to the Faroe's match a situation which has not gone away.

Ma grandad was stopped by armed-ARMED police during the trouble for walking around London with a pot of stew! Searched and held other time, my uncle beaten up by the police who gave him the choice to have a pillow tied round him in the cells and get a kicking or to run down a nearby alley and get a kicking if they caught him!
Your right Sylvo-it hasn't gone away! Was reading today about an Irish lad-who went to uni in London (!) being held for 6 hours after they said "we can do this in six hours of seven days"!! Also they wouldn't let him have his phone call "you ain't been aressted so you don't need one!"

They still sing "no surrend*r" in the pubs over here during ingurland games, i still get abuse for the jersey's I wear, I still get kids pulling the flags off ma roof during WC and i'd still get a beating if I went up the road to Aldershopt in ma Ireland jersey!
On top of this there is a loy*list parade in Birmingham in a couple of weeks-hijacking the anniversary of the bombings, and there are still or*nge order parades down the track in Portmouth during July.
It may have got a bit better but it hasn't gone away......

Babysis
24/10/2004, 7:40 PM
I have no time for Gascoigne, the ****er, whatever name he chooses to call himself. He is wife beating scum, for which there is no excuse. If he has mental issues, commit the *******. He can shove his flute up his arse, where it will probably sound better.

24/10/2004, 7:44 PM
I've been surprised by a few of the responses to this... pointing no fingers, but I've met a few of the posters on this thread who are much more liberal and tolerant in the flesh than they appear here in writing. No names, no pack drill and all that, but I'm still a little surprised, 'tis all...

:confused: PP - Woollyliberaloldgits RISSC

Babysis
24/10/2004, 7:47 PM
I've been surprised by a few of the responses to this... naming no names, but I've met a few of the posters on this thread who are much more liberal and tolerant in the flesh than they appear here in writing. No names, no pack drill and all that, but I'm still a little surprised, 'tis all...

For me its always been very clear cut. He beat his wife. After that there is no way back, no excuse, no explaining it! Ive disliked him ever since. Only my view.

lopez
25/10/2004, 1:17 AM
...On top of this there is a loy*list parade in Birmingham in a couple of weeks-hijacking the anniversary of the bombings, and there are still or*nge order parades down the track in Portmouth during July.
It may have got a bit better but it hasn't gone away......I was intrigued about this as I'm visiting Birmingham in 'a couple of weeks' myself and started doing the old 'search' on this subject and quickly found that a young hot-head like yourself has been giving out to the stiff-armed brigade on one of their sad sites. Take it from an old head, I'd leave it alone. Mind you I bet they were kind of excited then confused with your username, eh?! The '88' bit? The 8th letter of the alphabet? HH? Heil Hitler? :eek: :D :D

Duncan Gardner
25/10/2004, 8:49 AM
Correct me if mistaken PP, but I assumed your lament to lost liberalism referred the stick the English generally (rather than just Gascoigne), are getting above. If so I agree with you.

I doubt anyone reading here- whether they grew up in Britain or not- doubts that the Irish suffered prejudice in this country. Fair Play Boy offers a pefectly reasonable criticism, as below

You speak as if the entire English community was of one opinion. They were not then, no more than they are now. I am not standing up for some thugs in the police force who made life miserable for many Irish people. And there are probably some serving, and definitely some retired civil servants in the Home Office whose behaviour in the 70s and 80s should be investigated with a view to bringing criminal charges against them for their treatment of Irish working in the UK, and even for Irish people on holiday. But that is no reason to smear all English soccer team supporters, as you seem to do

and runs into a barrage of self-righteous abuse from Lopez and exaggeration (Messrs Sylvo and Liam),

You clearly know f*ck all about what most Irish people went through here in the seventies and eighties

mention a bunch like the Tans who there's been more then a one off dust up and that's a no no

i'd still get a beating if I went up the road to Aldershopt in my Ireland jersey

FPB's description is more recognisable to me, as someone who lived and worked in England in the 80s. Of course, I can't speak for the 70s, as I was at school in Belfast. I'll admit it may have been rather less intimidating than Hemel, London or Guildford :)

I go to Aldershot FC at least once a season and amazingly, the squaddies haven't beaten me up once, or even got lairy in a pub!

BTW Lopez, Paul Emmick asks me to say you are a surly fcuker who should chill. He will buy ye a cornetto as belated birthday gift when ye next come down to McGovern's bar for the supporters' do ...

sylvo
25/10/2004, 8:53 AM
I've been surprised by a few of the responses to this... pointing no fingers, but I've met a few of the posters on this thread who are much more liberal and tolerant in the flesh than they appear here in writing. No names, no pack drill and all that, but I'm still a little surprised, 'tis all...

;) We have not got that nice Belgian gargle this time PP to calm us all down. ;) . Next time we meet up we won't talk about Gateshead's answer to James Galway. ;)

liam88
25/10/2004, 9:39 AM

Sorry-just using my youth to get it all out so if I make any mess up's people can always use "young hot-head". When I'm older i'm sure people will be a lot less tolerant of any intolerance so i'll get it all out now.......if that makes sense ;)

I think g*asgcoine is a subject that people find it hard to be tolerant about considering he was such an animal...

DG-re. Aldershot I was just going on what i've head ;) only time I've been up there before has been for martial arts tournies so obviously no Erin jersey there...;)

liam88
25/10/2004, 9:59 AM
Can anyone tell me the game? Not that I doubt you, just that I never heard that one before and, lets face it, it would be important to seperate fantasy from reality before thrashing a person.

EH? :confused:
Using the word 'if'! I was saying what g*asgcoine did was a disgrace and not just because he played for the huns. IF a Celtic player performed a secaterian celebration it would still be disgraceful! (just so happens that none of ours ever have :D :rolleyes: )

25/10/2004, 10:51 AM
Happy to correct you there.

Have you forgotten Mo Johnston's 'sign of the cross' gestures at Rangers fans when in a Celtic shirt. Something he never did at Watford...maybe Celtic fans will argue that he was genuinely religious... :rolleyes:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2090-533235,00.html

Could you really class that as sectarian Conor?
I mean I suppose it would be if Rangers fans didn't believe in God at all but that's not the case.

sylvo
25/10/2004, 10:53 AM
I particularly liked the one about him using elbows. Did he? Really? Well I never? A player who got physical...burn him at the stake. Imagine what that poster will say when he sees the replay of that Keane/Haaland moment.

No need for the lecture on those incident's bud, Keane was a pr**t and ended up f**king himself up for a year, and deserved more of a punishment then what he got for his next attack on Haaland which Haaland has not got over .
Your next point please Conner. :rolleyes:

sylvo
25/10/2004, 11:06 AM
[QUOTE=Duncan Gardner]

and runs into a barrage of self-righteous abuse from Lopez and exaggeration (Messrs Sylvo and Liam),

Check out the amount of arrests against the Irish community under the PTA since 1974 and the amount of convictions that have been made from those arrests, and we'll see about exaggerations.

liam88
25/10/2004, 1:51 PM
Well, as it was a religious gesture, a lot more sectarian than miming playing a musical instrument. But given the context, both gestures were unacceptable and inappropriate.

No; Players make the sign of the cross when they take corners, penalties etc. all the time!
You can't honestly say the gas*coine was miming an instrument and it just so happend to be the flute and could have just as easily been the French horn!
The sign of the cross is associated with Christianity; the flute is associated with an anti-Catholic group with links to lo*alist paramilatery groups; slight difference?

liam88
25/10/2004, 1:54 PM
Yer being more than a tad pompous there DG......Par for the proverbial ;)

Who was too busy,singing 'The S*sh' & about chicken takeaways :( ,with :rolleyes: an unhealthy fascination for eating Fish suppers.....bizzarely,Always on a Friday! :confused:

Am going to take your word for it......... ;)

sylvo
25/10/2004, 1:58 PM
[QUOTE=Conor74]

Irish people get so excited about Gazza and his private life. Yet, say, if someone's mentions Keane or McGrath and their drinking people get very defensive and go on about judging a player on the pitch and not off it.

Get excited, more sick to death of it and the over exposure the media gave him and his hysterical antics :rolleyes: which now thankfully they don't find to funny. I don't think I ever heard Keane or McGrath blaming anyone else but themselves about their drinking, unlike Gascoigne. Keane got his act together on that subject I hope McGrath one day fully will also.

liam88
25/10/2004, 4:06 PM
Artist known as Gazza becomes 'G8'

22 October 2004

Prince Once became a squiggle, while Madonna recently declared that she is now Esther. Now Paul Gascoigne - the artist formerly known for being daft as a brush - will henceforth be known as "G8".

The former England, Newcastle, Tottenham and Lazio midfielder, who recently resigned as Boston's player-coach, made his announcement on Wednesday. "G8 is right for us now," he said. "It sounds a bit like 'great', or at least it does with my Geordie accent."

Gascoigne said the name change would help him put his troubled past - he has battled against alcoholism and depression - behind him.

"Paul's not right for us because it's too closely linked with the past," Gascoigne said. "I just want to be the guy that enjoyed his football and entertained the fans."

Us?

Patsh-congratulations on starting the most heated debate round these parts for a while :D
It's all good craic-hope no one is taking anything personally; better to get it all out in the open now so we don't spend our Christmas party discussing the flutemaster; though admittidly after an hour or so can see any conversation becoming difficult ;)...