View Full Version : The Pats Match

ccfcman
20/10/2004, 9:57 AM
Are we to expecta good 5000 at this match, 'cos we've all the got the "we still have a chance" bug, and the barstoolers may be out in force for Fri. nights match.

If City win we will have 18/18 points, that right there is Championship winning form! I genuinely am so excited about this match I've told all my barstooling mates to show up or else! Again if City win, Shels will be having a few sleepless nights, the animal that is CCFC is breathing down on their necks, as regards second place it is more of a formality in my eyes, we've suddenly found out how to "put away" the so called lesser teams of the league.

REBEL ARMY

PS. If 451 want any1 for the flags gimme the nod ;)

FourFiveOne
20/10/2004, 10:27 AM
PS. If 451 want any1 for the flags gimme the nod ;)
Yeah it's "Full Regalia" for Friday night, as the Pats lads would say themselves!

We badly need people to help with the TIFO flags, 6 volunteers?

We should get the banners up the back of the Shed early aswell on Friday. Again we need help.

Might try and get some till rolls and tickertape... Although it's best if individuals get them going.

ccfcman
20/10/2004, 10:28 AM
Flag lads
1)Graham/ccfcman.

I'll get onto Gav about sorting something out for a UCC Suporters club effort.

Graham

*cool 1,000 posts!*

20/10/2004, 11:16 AM
Lads i'm afraid its looking bad for Friday night.

Having missed the last number of matches for reasons beyond my control I am available again for Fridays game.

Hopefully the lads won't notice i am there and we'll win comfortably.

NorthoftheLee
20/10/2004, 11:25 AM
Lads i'm afraid its looking bad for Friday night.

Having missed the last number of matches for reasons beyond my control I am available again for Fridays game.

Hopefully the lads won't notice i am there and we'll win comfortably.

dont even think about it........take teh missus out for a bite to eat, catch a flick, go bowling, anything but go near the box....we dont anyone messing this run up..... ;)

Fair_play_boy
20/10/2004, 11:40 AM
Flag lads
1)Graham/ccfcman.

I'll get onto Gav about sorting something out for a UCC Suporters club effort.

Graham

*cool 1,000 posts!*Congrats CCFC man.

20/10/2004, 11:43 AM
yup, ure biggest game of the year as usual as the mighty pats roll into town :)

Fair_play_boy
20/10/2004, 11:46 AM
Flag lads
1)Graham/ccfcman.
2) Fair Play Boy's kids.
Just a question or two first:
- What does TIFO stand for?
- Could the flags be somewhere more prominient than in the corner? At the RSC, the flags were near where the teams came out. It looked good. What about starting there for the few minutes before and after the teams coming out, and then to the corner where they have to be away from the sideline anyway?

DolansWaistcoat
20/10/2004, 11:50 AM
Can't wait now,should be a full house if anybody is this City is taking notice of what our club is doing at the moment.

Hope the lads keep the head and the run goes on. :cool:

WE CAN DO IT. :)

ccfcman
20/10/2004, 12:00 PM
2) Fair Play Boy's kids.
I can barely handle the flag myself, how big are the little lads?!

Fair_play_boy
20/10/2004, 12:09 PM
Average 12 year olds. Are they that heavy???

ccfcman
20/10/2004, 12:16 PM
A bit, they're more cumbersome than heavy and if the wind picks up you'll end up in Musgrave!

20/10/2004, 12:55 PM
Average 12 year olds. Are they that heavy???

While we're looking for as much help as possible, I don't think any 12 year old would be able to lift one of the flags never mind wave it.
They're more than welcome to try but I'd say it would be pointless to be honest. Sorry about that FPB.

20/10/2004, 1:28 PM
a bit of a hand putting up the flags in the shed would be appreciated lads?

its seriously eating into myself and Colms drinking time :)

20/10/2004, 1:50 PM
wouldnt it be great if Home farm took a point of Shels Thursday night. you never know they played well agianst Pats!

20/10/2004, 1:53 PM
wouldnt it be great if Home farm took a point of Shels Thursday night.

I'd be hoping for that aswell. They're fighting for their lives so it's quite possible.

20/10/2004, 1:55 PM
I'd be hoping for that aswell. They're fighting for their lives so it's quite possible.

all it takes is for shels to draw a game and if we keep winning its in our hands!

connaithe
20/10/2004, 2:00 PM
all it takes is for shels to draw a game and if we keep winning its in our hands!

well said pablo man. I dont think a lot of people realise that...

20/10/2004, 2:05 PM
well said pablo man. I dont think a lot of people realise that...

i aim to inform

ccfcman
20/10/2004, 2:07 PM
Well Shoddy Collins was on TV3 thgis morning, less than a focused manager in my opinion! Oh wait Dolan did that too :p

If Shels drop more points they'll be quite worried of a rampant City

20/10/2004, 2:08 PM
wouldnt it be great if Home farm took a point of Shels Thursday night. you never know they played well agianst Pats!

was thinking that myself

its the ultimate proverbial banana skin

ccfcman
20/10/2004, 2:28 PM
What are the odds though, that said who taught Derry would brush aside Shels.

How have DCFC faired against Shels?

observer
20/10/2004, 2:51 PM
I am almost swept away by the flow of optimism and joy which has taken over this site. Am I to understand that there will not be a return to the "Dolan out" and doom and gloom postings of not so long ago, should the wheels come off the wagon and 2nd place (not to mind 1st) elude ye? ;)

20/10/2004, 2:56 PM
I am almost swept away by the flow of optimism and joy which has taken over this site. Am I to understand that there will not be a return to the "Dolan out" and doom and gloom postings of not so long ago, should the wheels come off the wagon and 2nd place (not to mind 1st) elude ye? ;)

The majority of people never said Dolan out, that was just a few fickle muppets.
A lot of us have been saying all anong that we'll get back into Europe and that Dolan is the right man for the job.
But I've never been one to say I told you so!! :D

20/10/2004, 3:14 PM
The majority of people never said Dolan out, that was just a few fickle muppets.

I hope you're not referring to me with that bold statement!?
I have my opinion on Mr Dolan and it has never changed.
I don't think he's a good football manager and I don't think he's the right man for the job. That has been my opinion since he first got the job and I've seen nothing to make me think otherwise.
We've got games against, Drogs, Shels and Bohs coming up.
Our performances in those games will tell a lot.
If we win the league I'll be the first person to give credit where it's due.
Wont be counting my chickens yet though...

20/10/2004, 3:16 PM
I hope you're not referring to me with that bold statement!?

We'll you've ALWAYS had a negative opinion of Dolan so that would mean that you're not fickle.
Is there anything he can do to win you over Peadar?

ccfcman
20/10/2004, 3:18 PM
Lads lets forget those days of Dolan out hysteria and focus on the **** up, i mean match, damn teen drinkers!

20/10/2004, 3:19 PM

Concentrate on football.
It's widely accepted that men can't do two things at the same time.
I want a manager who concerns himself with football and the welfare of his players only. That's not the type of person Pat Dolan is.
He loves to be busy with everything by taking on loads of work.
I fear that certain areas of his job suffer as a result.

Dricky
20/10/2004, 3:22 PM
A lot of us have been saying all anong that we'll get back into Europe and that Dolan is the right man for the job.
But I've never been one to say I told you so!! :D

Even some with a not entirely positive view of Dolan from the start believe that the end of season is when he can be judged as he has done enough during his tenure, would be surprised If Shels imploded but second is the bench mark we need to set to have a season we should be happy with. Lets get there first......
Anyone who say the second half of Shels Bohs and saw how good they were with ball retention would agree, I hope that they have the skills to win it, we are aiming to be better than that.
If we won the title I wouldn't complain but we will have to be superb against Shels on the 29th which is another chance to judge our progression and Pat's. Intertoto is not worth it..... and my view we are a better team than Bohs so Third is failure.

20/10/2004, 3:23 PM
Concentrate on football.
It's widely accepted that men can't do two things at the same time.
I want a manager who concerns himself with football and the welfare of his players only. That's not the type of person Pat Dolan is.
He loves to be busy with everything by taking on loads of work.
I fear that certain areas of his job suffer as a result.

He generally is concentrating on the football side of things at the moment.
Apart from being a pundit on RTE the odd time he's not doing much else besides managing the football side of Cork City.
I think it's a common myth that Dolan is constantly running around doing all sortd of jobs within the club. We have a lot of capable people running other aspects of the club so Dolan is able to do what he's supposed to do i.e. manage the football team.

Dricky
20/10/2004, 3:23 PM
We'll you've ALWAYS had a negative opinion of Dolan so that would mean that you're not fickle.

Win the Champions league and then he has everyone happy :D me anyway.

20/10/2004, 3:24 PM
cant u just feel the love in this thread ;)

20/10/2004, 3:34 PM
He generally is concentrating on the football side of things at the moment.

...and at the moment, we're doing well.
We must keep everything in context though and as I say, the performances against Drogs, Shels and Bohs will tell an awful lot.

I personally have nothing against Pat Dolan outside of football.
When he puts XI City players on the field though, I'm watching him like a hawk and probably over critical.
That's just the way I am about football.
I want to feel that the manager knows much more about the game than I do.
Never get that feeling with Mr Dolan.

20/10/2004, 3:39 PM
You never got over your love for Liam Murphy did ya Peadar!

20/10/2004, 3:51 PM
You never got over your love for Liam Murphy did ya Peadar!

That was a vicious rumour, spread by the "Gang of 5" Conspiracy Theorists.
I think he's good coach but his lack of interpersonal skills prevented him from being a good manager. Jose Mourinho is a classic example of the type of strong character needed to deal with petulant players and the meddlesome media. That's not the type of person Liam Murphy is and therefore would never have lead us to Champions League glory. ;)

20/10/2004, 3:53 PM
That was a vicious rumour, spread by the "Gang of 5" Conspiracy Theorists.

Agh the "Gang of 5"...
Who were they again?

Ollie Cahill was one anyway...

20/10/2004, 4:40 PM
Johnny C was 3

On a side note, John Caulfield was at the game in Longford last night. It was the first time I've seen him at a City away game in years.

20/10/2004, 4:42 PM
first time I've seen him at a City away game in years.

Maybe that's because he normally sees you first. :D

20/10/2004, 5:05 PM
Lads, the thread is about the SPA game on Friday, not Mountfield, or Dolans management capabilities.

Please try and stay on topic.

20/10/2004, 6:49 PM
I've seen nothing
that would be a fairly accurate statment alright :p

21/10/2004, 7:07 AM
that would be a fairly accurate statment alright :p

Perhaps, Éanna, if it were a statement! :p

ccfcman
21/10/2004, 7:29 AM
The Pats match may be affected by the rain, not called off but the conditions wont make for great stuph.

I think the Derry match is the key to our season. A win there and it really does blow the whole league open again.

21/10/2004, 8:37 AM
Shels to beat DCHFFC by at least 4 golas, SPA to grind out a dour scoreless draw......:(

21/10/2004, 8:39 AM
Shels to beat DCHFFC by at least 4 golas, SPA to grind out a dour scoreless draw......:(

DCHFFC to "shellshock" shels

city to continue their winning streak

21/10/2004, 8:53 AM
For whatever reason, I am not confident of getting a win against SPA. They will come with awful spoiling tactics, as they have tended to do in recent seasons (since the departure of Mr Dolan in fact).

I know the SPA fans are not confident as they have been drawing alot lately. I hope i am wrong, but a 0-0 wouldnt suprise me.

21/10/2004, 8:59 AM
City's run has brilliant but they were all against teams below us in the table so we should have expected to win them.

Hopefully we'll continue that against Pats and Derry but the crunch games will be against Shels, Drogs(twice) and Bohs.

Our record against the other top teams this season is poor so we'll have to perform in these games.

If we do it's off to Windsor Park next year :D

21/10/2004, 9:16 AM
Shels to beat DCHFFC by at least 4 golas

Never!
Shels are away! :p :D

FourFiveOne
21/10/2004, 9:37 AM
- What does TIFO stand for?

Torcida International Fans Organization

21/10/2004, 10:27 AM
Torcida International Fans Organization

I thought it was an abbreviation of Tifosi :confused:

21/10/2004, 10:36 AM
What does Tifosi mean so?

I just hope that the rain stays away, or indeed, goes away. A sh*tty night could cause a small crowd :(

Im assuming there will be no change in the line up again?

It'll be great if Doyle could get a few against SPA - make them even more sick that they lost him...for nothing...to CCFC...and Pat Dolan.