View Full Version : Cycling 2014
Real ale Madrid
09/06/2014, 9:44 PM
Did we know that Chris Froome had asthma before today?
No. Unfortunate for a top cyclist to first have a disease affecting the blood and then one affecting the lungs. He really can't catch a break.
No mention in his book either, apparently. I'm not saying he is or he isn't, but it beggars belief that Walsh can be so sure of him, whilst being openly sceptical of others who have a much more consistent career path.
Yeah.. Froome suddenly got it together at the Vuelta a few years ago and went from being a guy who wasn't going to get any sort of decent contract renewal to suddenly being a GC contender. Now he can outclimb Contador and out-TT Cancellara on his day.
Walsh has totally lost the plot.
Either Froome is possibly the greatest cycling talent of all time, or there is something else going on.
And incidentally- an inhaler can make an unbelievable difference on the bike. A couple of weeks ago I went for a spin on the bike and was utterly fecked after my usual 20k lap with a 15% ramp near the end, really in bits, because my asthma had affected my lungs. Usually I don't bother with the inhalers this time of year as the asthma rarely affects me- but really I'm meant to take it all year round. I took a few puffs after this spin and went out and did the same lap again not twenty minutes later and this time it was so much easier it was amazing to me. If it makes that much difference to a rotund bloke on a hybrid the difference it must make to a top pro in the mountains must be very significant.
10/06/2014, 11:26 AM
Yeah.. Froome suddenly got it together at the Vuelta a few years ago and went from being a guy who wasn't going to get any sort of decent contract renewal to suddenly being a GC contender.
He was by far the strongest rider on that Vuelta too, despite being a late call up. He would have won it easily if Sky weren't trying to hand it to Wiggins. The year before he was 5th in the Commenwealth games time trial
Real ale Madrid
10/06/2014, 11:28 AM
Froome is ludicrously thin as well at the moment. He made Contador look like a fatty on the bike yesterday, and he is hardly motoring on just bread and water himself.
He was by far the strongest rider on that Vuelta too, despite being a late call up. He would have won it easily if Sky weren't trying to hand it to Wiggins. The year before he was 5th in the Commenwealth games time trial
Worth remembering who he was second too (and actually beat on the road) too!
Piece on this: http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/news/latest-news/froome-sky-respond-inhaler-video-125751
"At last year’s Tour de France, Froome said that TUEs are “rather personal” and that he did not have any"
"The UCI’s rules say that the requirement of a TUE depends on the drug which is used to treat asthma. You do not need an exemption for Salmeterol (up to a daily dose of 1600 micrograms) and/or Formoterol (up to a daily dose of 54 micrograms). Terbutaline requires an exception."
That reminds me.. whatever happened to that Cobo bloke....
Edit.. also- things are getting weird: http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2005/sep/05/research.health
"Irish scientists may have a drastic answer to the great asthma epidemic. It is called bilharzia."
So.. the parasite goes, causing asthma to return. May actually make sense.
Real ale Madrid
10/06/2014, 9:44 PM
But Froome doesn't actually have asthma right?
He says he has exercise induced asthma.
Deignan will race the Tour of Switzerland. Probably mostly in support of Wiggins.
Konig is 14th for Netapp at the Dauphine for Netapp- hardly inspiring. Big showdown at the weekend but if he doesn't improve they may well decide focussing on him at the Tour isn't a good bet and will bring Bennett. Meanwhile, an interview with Bennett on CN: http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/incycle-video-sam-bennett-rider-profile
Deignan second in Switzerland today, and 7th overall.
Roche shoring pre Tour De France form: http://www.stickybottle.com/races-results/nicolas-roche-narrowly-misses-podium-spot-on-racing-return-at-route-du-sud/
Martin doesn't look like making the Tour it would seem. He's going to do the national championships though, which Roche isn't.
Roche wins stage 2 of Route du Sud! Get in!
Deignan with another good ride to take 6th in today''s stage of Tour of Switzerland.
Edit:
Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DLiT23NHC7E&feature=youtu.be
Report:
http://www.stickybottle.com/races-results/magnificent-roche-conquers-col-du-tourmalet-col-daspin-for-route-du-sud-stage-yellow/
Should be able to finish it off and take the overall today.
Overall win confirmed. Nice.
22/06/2014, 7:48 PM
Some of that tour is nearby, pity as football takes preference!
Bennett also won today. A Kermesse in Belgium. http://www.stickybottle.com/races-results/sam-bennetts-dream-season-continues-with-latest-victory-from-breakaway-in-belgium/
Deignan must be in with a shout of going to the Tour - he's about the only Sky climbing domestique showing any kind of consistent form. I know it wasn't the plan, but who else have they that's showing any form?
Unless they're being "cycled" to peak at the Tour...
They're normally advanced enough coming into the Dauphine, and they were pretty rubbish from what I saw/ heard/ read - I doubt Henao busting his kneecap was part of the programme either!
Martin misses Le Tour- no surprise there really. On the bright side it'll add interest to the Vuelta which I generally enjoy a lot more anyway. http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/dan-martin-to-miss-the-tour-de-france
National championships this weekend, no Roche but Martin will take part there. Bennett will be there but of course Brammeier will win.
Netapp have announced their Tour team- Bennett does not feature. Disappointing.
http://www.netapp-endura.com/en/news/detailview/news/netapp-endura-names-line-up-for-its-tour-de-france-debut/
A bit more explanation here: http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/tour-de-france-netapp-endura-focuses-on-koenigs-gc-ambitions
"Our approach with Sam is much more long-term orientated. We want to build him up carefully and step-by-step. Compared to his last season, Sam has raced a very intense program already and he did it very successfully. So after the Nationals, we’ll give him a break so he can build-up a proper form for the second half of the season. Starting with the RideLondon Classic (August 10), we strongly believe that Sam will add even more wins to his and the Team’s account.”
Kreuziger in bother over bio-passport values, out of the Tour: http://velonews.competitor.com/2014/06/news/tinkoff-saxo-sidelines-roman-kreuziger-pending-doping-inquiry_333747
Bennett interview : http://cyclingtips.com.au/2014/06/bennett-disappointed-to-miss-out-on-tour-ride-i-could-have-snuck-a-podium/
Nice use of the word snuck.
Ryan Mullen takes both the TT and Road Race champion's jersey's. http://www.lakesidewheelers.ie/news/ryanmullenisnationalroadracechampion
Serious talent- more to come in future for sure.
Kelly's Trophy room:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IVT5GseFw0U&feature=youtu.be
Long Kimmage interview with Froome. In two parts. Pretty interesting.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/cycling/cyclist-chris-froome-is-right-in-the-eye-of-the-storm-30391816.html
http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/paul-kimmage-chris-froome-in-the-eye-of-the-storm-part-2-30394950.html
Real ale Madrid
02/07/2014, 11:56 AM
Long Kimmage interview with Froome. In two parts. Pretty interesting.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/cycling/cyclist-chris-froome-is-right-in-the-eye-of-the-storm-30391816.html
http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/paul-kimmage-chris-froome-in-the-eye-of-the-storm-part-2-30394950.html
It's an interview with Froome and his Girlfriend Michelle Cound. Thats pretty important - he obviously can't be left alone to speak for himself.
Indeed yes- she seems to be a very domineering lady while he seems quite naive and almost childish at times.
02/07/2014, 8:55 PM
I think RaM's point was a bit more sinister than that. Froome might say something incriminating without her mindful media savvy eye watching over him.
Anyway, regardless of Froome, Team SKY's halo is being exposed. And I don't buy this Sir Dave having a rubbish memory. I'm very sceptical of him. Is he a visionary genius or just a quite good manager-cum-sports scientist who benefitted from a British Olympic Committee decision to massively increase funding to cycling? It's well known that they singled out cycling as a sport that funding would benefit, and which poorer countries won't allocate funding to. Easy medals.
Real ale Madrid
03/07/2014, 7:15 AM
I think RaM's point was a bit more sinister than that. Froome might say something incriminating without her mindful media savvy eye watching over him.
I think that ship sailed though - head over to Cyclingnews forums - there's a list of contradictions on that interview thats as long as your arm.
I'm still not sure what gives with the whole interview - Its not like Kimmage to let Sky control the narrative like that - classsic Lance tactics back in the day - yet maybe Kimmage thought - lets interview him, be gentle and let his own words get him into trouble. It would be interesting to see a Kimmage follow up piece - that will surely follow on Sunday as Le Tour De Fraud kicks off.
03/07/2014, 11:20 AM
I'd say Kimmage is trying to build up a profile, get closer to the guy. So far his judgments and suspicions have been from afar.
Walsh is really putting his money where is mouth is, so to speak. Cassandra-in-chief for Armstrong: much kudos. Paid ghost writer: will undo all his good work and reputation if he has been duped.
Netapp-Endura to have new named sponsors from next year as both the current ones are stopping: http://www.netapp-endura.com/en/news/detailview/news/new-german-naming-sponsor-for-team-netapp-endura-starting-in-2015/
5 year deal, that's a nice level of stability.
Real ale Madrid
03/07/2014, 1:49 PM
Walsh is really putting his money where is mouth is, so to speak. Cassandra-in-chief for Armstrong: much kudos. Paid ghost writer: will undo all his good work and reputation if he has been duped.
Walsh doesn't give a crap about cycling - he got lucky with Armstrong. Big Ego - got the high profile case - couldn't be bothered with the rest.
As far as Kimmage goes, it's better to go and actually talk to the guy than just throw digs from afar as Stuttgart says. After all he did want to interview Armstrong as far as I recall. At least he got to ask some good questions and got them answered. As for Cound, I agree that she's there to keep Froome in line.
It's hard to know with Froome in some ways. His story is pretty unbelievable, but I'm not as convinced he's doping as some of the other guys in the peloton.
Incidentally- does it bug anyone else that Kimmage so often starts his pieces with little stories about himself? I find it tiresome at this stage.
gastric
04/07/2014, 9:00 AM
Interesting article on Armstrong and Emma O'Reilly. She has reconciled with him, but is no Walsh fan.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/other-sports/armstrong-s-whistleblower-reveals-all-1.1854582?page=3
10/07/2014, 9:11 AM
Roche doing his diaries again this year. Always makes for an interesting read. Sounds like absolue carnage yesterday. http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/cycling/nicolas-roche-i-went-head-first-and-my-bike-went-one-way-and-i-went-another-andriy-grivko-fell-behind-me-and-his-bike-landed-on-my-head-30420691.html
Was a brilliant stage to watch. They got a little unlucky with the heavy rain. I'm happy to see a cobbled stage in it every year
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 8:40 AM
This was first broadcast on BBC Four on the 6th of July (http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b048wq0z):
Documentary telling the intimate but explosive story about the man behind the greatest fraud in recent sporting history, a portrait of a man who stopped at nothing in pursuit of money, fame and success.
It reveals how Lance Armstrong duped the world with his story of a miraculous recovery from cancer to become a sporting icon and a beacon of hope for cancer sufferers around the world. The film maps how Armstrong's cheating and bullying became more extreme and how a few brave souls fought back, until eventually their voices were heard.
Director Alex Holmes tracks down some of his former friends and team members who reveal how his cheating was the centre of a grand conspiracy in which Armstrong and his backers sought to steal the Tour de France. Friends and fellow riders were brought into a dirty pact that no-one could betray, lest the horrifying extent of complicity be revealed. But the former friends whose lives he destroyed would prove to be his nemesis, and help uncover one of the dirtiest scandals in sports history.
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x219cat_storyville-2013-2014-29-the-lance-armstrong-story-stop-at-nothing-1_sport
The Lance Armstrong Story - Stop at Nothing (Part One)
Some of you might already have seen it, but it's worth a watch.
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 8:41 AM
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x219cc1_storyville-2013-2014-29-the-lance-armstrong-story-stop-at-nothing-2_sport
The Lance Armstrong Story - Stop at Nothing (Part Two)
28/07/2014, 8:27 PM
Rough Rider starts in 10 mins...
http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/roughrider.html
28/07/2014, 8:36 PM
I don't think I can get it on rte player in UK, not live anyway.
Hopefully it'll be on rte player later on.
28/07/2014, 8:55 PM
You can't get it on RTÉ Player in Ireland either. Seems that it is a once-off broadcast. It'll hopefully be on RTÉ One+1 later.
28/07/2014, 11:18 PM
Watched it on RTÉ One +1
Very very good. Nothing new for anyone who has followed this story since the year dot but it was still worth a watch.
29/07/2014, 10:55 AM
Really enjoyed the documentary. It's clear that Kimmage has suffered a lot for his conviction and it's understandable how he can come across as bitter at times. It was a great insight into what drives him and keeps him going. The book has been on my list for a long time and I'll definitely give it a read now.
Have neglected this a bit due various holidays and commitments over the last couple of months... anyhoo...
Martin returned in Austria and was in top 30 at San Sebastian. Not in bad shape heading into the Vuelta- usually the most fun Grand Tour.
Roche had a solid tour in support roles and played a part in Majka salvaging the mountains jersey for Tinkov and one of their stage wins. He was top twenty in San Sebastian but with a move from Tinkov looking likely and loads of racing under his belt already we may not see much more of him this year. Sky looks his likely destination.
Deignan is currently in the Tour of Poland and may well show in the mountain stages to come. Not sure whether he's in contention for a Vuelta spot.
Bennett has been very quiet. In fairness to Netapp they had a great Tour with Konig so their decision was justified in not bringing him. He returns at RideLondon Classic at the weekend. Cyclassics in Hamburg will be a big target for the team so if he can show there his stock will rise further.
Brammeier also returns at RideLondon having been unwell for a couple of months.
07/08/2014, 10:26 AM
Sticky bottle said Deignan and martin were being set up to go to Vuelta.
ROche is riding GP Hamburg and GP Plouey. They'll be his last WT events I think
Yeah, just saw a provisional startlist last night that had Deignan on it. Happy days, should make the Vuelta interesting.
Piece on Bennett: http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/other-sports/sam-bennett-fighting-fit-as-he-faces-into-second-half-of-season-1.1890739
Also mentions: "The Prudential RideLondon Classic is set to include seven Irish riders. Bennett will be joined by Peter Hawkins (Madison Genesis), Felix English (Rapha Condor JLT), Ryan Mullen and Sean Downey (both An Post Chainreaction Sean Kelly), plus Matt Brammeier and Connor McConvey (both Synergy Baku)."
So this Ryan Mullen lad is pretty talented: http://www.stickybottle.com/races-results/unstoppable-ryan-mullen-clocks-17-minute-10-mile-tt-third-fastest-of-all-time/
His effort was the third quickest time for a 10 ever recorded on British roads; besting such legendary figures as Chris Boardman and Bradley Wiggins.