View Full Version : Winsor Park and a tri-colour

GalwayFrancis
20/10/2004, 12:47 AM
if i was to go to WP with a tri-colour how would be received?

Lux Interior
20/10/2004, 12:51 AM

GF, Im no Russell Grant, but I predict that it may be forcibly removed and you would be dispatched with something not approaching a handshake.

Basically, a stoopid idea and one that begs the question .... why?

20/10/2004, 9:24 AM
About as well as a Union Flag in Lansdowne.

green goblin
20/10/2004, 9:35 AM
I think common sense is the order of the day, Francis. If you're going to support Norn Iron, then get a yourself an ulster flag, wave it for all it's worth, sing your heart out and have a great time. :cool:

Unless, as Dav says, it's to cheer on an EL side, ROI or the Bhoys, in which case get yourself one the size of an adult blue whale!

20/10/2004, 3:13 PM
if Cork City play linfield in the setanta cup are you saying there will trouble if we bring tricolors?

ccfcman
20/10/2004, 3:14 PM
you mean when we bring tricolours pablo, when ;)

20/10/2004, 3:16 PM
of course 'when'

its a serious point though cause we'd no doubt bring 4-500 fans with us and would we be safe

TheJamaicanP.M.
20/10/2004, 8:44 PM
Pablo, you bring that tricolour with you and be proud of it. There's safety in numbers. The Linfield contingent will have to remain quiet.

21/10/2004, 8:57 AM
if Cork City play linfield in the setanta cup are you saying there will trouble if we bring tricolors?
Well will there be trouble if they come to the cross with Union Flags?

ccfcman
21/10/2004, 9:21 AM
its a serious point though cause we'd no doubt bring 4-500 fans with us and would we be safe

Will it be 2 legged ties, resulting in 1 definite trip to Windsor so?

21/10/2004, 9:27 AM
Will it be 2 legged ties, resulting in 1 definite trip to Windsor so?
There's two groups, so even if you qualify still a chance you won't be in Linfields group.

boc123
21/10/2004, 10:53 AM

I'd like to think there wouldn't be. Maybe a few young fellas mouthing off as usual. I wouldn't have a problem with it.

Wait for the barage off criticism now :o :( :o :(

ccfcman
21/10/2004, 12:50 PM
Well people will hato stop writing on the flags then.

Dublin12
21/10/2004, 1:34 PM
The last time Linfield were down at Milltown,Uefa cup '84,their fans were banned from coming down,thats what we thought anyway!!,we were walking up to the game and a couple of mini bus type vans sped past us with Union jacks all over the shop.From what I remember there were about 40/50 Linfield there and there were plenty of Union jacks too :rolleyes: .I would imagine it will be the same if they are going to Cork but they will have more numbers this time and more flags :eek:.

21/10/2004, 3:00 PM

I wouldn't think so .... if any mindless fúckwits come along they should be dealt with and handed over to the guards.

21/10/2004, 3:40 PM

There wouldnt be too much hassle from City fans I'd say, Rovers or Waterford or someone would probably cause more of a stir!
However, the problem would be that every Celtic jersey wearing, IRA loving hard man for miles around would come out to have a go.

Dublin12
21/10/2004, 4:12 PM
Linfield are not exactly a fun loving bunch of lads,I'd imagine alot of their "support" wouldn't come just for the football,there would be massive trouble at a game like this.

21/10/2004, 4:59 PM
i think there would be a little unrest if a lot of Union flags appeared at the cross

remember the booing of god save the queen at the u19 international a few week ago!

Dricky
21/10/2004, 4:59 PM
You may as well go up with a few jokes as well, Fran Rooney could give you a few pointers.

21/10/2004, 5:55 PM
Not sure if this is a serious question or not but bringing a tricolour to windsor or indeed Shamrock Park or the Oval is very naive and likely to cause trouble.

It is our national flag and shouldn't be seen as sectarian however it most certainly is in Northenr Ireland.

I suspect away fans will be discouraged but frankly the security implications of this tournament don't appear to have been thought through.

Having said that I have attended RoI B International and UEFA youth qualifiers in Shamrock Park and the Oval an dcheered openly for us on both occasions (no colours on) without a cross word however these were relatively low key football occasions.

ditto for pre-season friendlies for Limerick up there but again low key affairs with a few hundred die hard fans.

If it is kept to normal fans then no problem however with live tv coverage and media hype it could attract a lunatic fringe from either side.

Having said all that I plan on going to quite a few of these games (certainly all the Dublin ones) and Portadown is easily accessible however it will be wihtout colours and in the home end each time.

Stefanlord
21/10/2004, 10:43 PM
if your fans are segrageted from the scum at whinger then there is no reason not to bring the national flag, there are plenty of cville flags with the tri-colour and we dont get told to take them down, not that we would take them down anyway

liam88
22/10/2004, 7:42 PM
Pity,Gerry A.is No longer 'their' T.D./M.P.! ;)

Though how much more popular will he be with them being responsible for disbanding the 'ra in the next few weeks?

is Cork vs scumfield deffinatley gfoing ahead? Has anybody got dates etc, (sorry we bit out of touch here-been out for the week ;) )
Cheers lads (and lasses)!

Irishgael
25/10/2004, 3:34 PM
Gerry Adams, TD, West Belfast :cool:

Role on the All Ireland Dáil...;)

25/10/2004, 3:51 PM
Though how much more popular will he be with them being responsible for disbanding the 'ra in the next few weeks?

is Cork vs scumfield deffinatley gfoing ahead? Has anybody got dates etc, (sorry we bit out of touch here-been out for the week ;) )
Cheers lads (and lasses)!

Cork haven't even qualified yet. Need to finish in the top 2 to join Longford and presumably Shels.

I believe the draw has been determined but not public afaik, I presume it will be the league winners going with the runners up and cup winners from the other league or else the Cup winners joining the top 2 in the league from then other league. Anyone know for sure?

25/10/2004, 4:02 PM
Gerry Adams, TD, West Belfast :cool:

Role on the All Ireland Dáil...;)

BTW this is a football site to disucss football not politics.

liam88
25/10/2004, 5:09 PM
Everyone to the Off Topic board!
:D :eek: :D

Irishgael
25/10/2004, 11:17 PM

Jaysus, Some ring the Cops :rolleyes:

26/10/2004, 1:50 PM
I suspect away fans will be discouraged but frankly the security implications of this tournament don't appear to have been thought through.

The security at the games might cause a bit of trouble but with a bit of planning by the clubs and the guards it shouldn't be impossible for matches to pass off peacefully.

No doubt games down here will attract people out to cause trouble but I'd like to think that at Turners Cross anyway, real City fans should be able to quieted those chaps.

The success of the Setanta Cup could be vital to the future of league football both sides of the border.

26/10/2004, 3:40 PM
Ah,but as you know fine well,any totems of Irish sporting culture,eg.Soccer,GAA etc. will always be inextricably entwined with the history of Ireland( :rolleyes: Inc.politics!).....you know it is so ;)

Should be much less entwined IMHO.

By and large football here has been separated from the class issues (rugby) and political issues (GAA) that causes huge problems.

My real cocnern here is that Irishgael is new to the board - had 3 posts at that stage all related to a SF/IRA agenda and nothing at all to do with football. I suspect he/she cam eon here to promote a awwebsite and not to talk football.

26/10/2004, 3:57 PM
The security at the games might cause a bit of trouble but with a bit of planning by the clubs and the guards it shouldn't be impossible for matches to pass off peacefully.

No doubt games down here will attract people out to cause trouble but I'd like to think that at Turners Cross anyway, real City fans should be able to quieted those chaps.

The success of the Setanta Cup could be vital to the future of league football both sides of the border.

Agree that it can be organsied to pass off peacefully however concerned that it won't be.

Plenty of low key north v south friendlies have been played in recent years and no issues. I have cheered on Limerick in colours in Bangor, Ballymena et al without any problems.

However the prize money and live tv coverage makes this a much bigger competition. It will attract people out to cause trouble as opposed to just football fans.

Clear segregation, meeting of buses outside towns and escorting fans to the ground needs to be organsied properly.

The novelty factor of new opponents in new grounds will mean huge gates. Linfield/Glentoran/Portadown haven't been to Cork for 30 years. Cork haven't played in Belfast for 30 years and never in Portadown afaik. Longford have never crossed the border (apart from Derry games) afaik and did have problems a few years back when Cliftonville visited. Less of a novelty for Shels as they play all 3 regularly in friendlies but stil bigger games.

I plan on atytending as many of these games a spossible. Should be some cracking games. I'm sure it will be a success particularly if it is policed properly.

26/10/2004, 4:00 PM
Before someone reacts I know Cork hibs and Cork City are totally different clubs et al. It was Hibs who met Portadown, Glentoran and Linfield in those games (Blaxnit, Texaco, Testimonials etc)69-74.

Irishgael
27/10/2004, 12:48 AM
My real cocnern here is that Irishgael is new to the board - had 3 posts at that stage all related to a SF/IRA agenda and nothing at all to do with football. I suspect he/she cam eon here to promote a awwebsite and not to talk football.

O would you ever **** off

27/10/2004, 12:27 PM
Longford have never crossed the border (apart from Derry games) afaik
Played a few friendlies in the North in recent pre-seasons. Played Portadown this season in Shamrock Park without incident.

skbio_toronto
27/10/2004, 11:31 PM
Well people will hato stop writing on the flags then.

Not even particulary interested in this discussion. But your spot on there boy. To me you bring a tri-colour to the game with no lettering descrating it. Of course, everyone has a right to do what they choose with their purchase. It does'nt mean that the likes of me have to agree with it.

As for feckin' Eircom been plastered accross the current Ireland jerseys been sold to supporters. Don't get me started on that one or I'll get going on an ill advised rant!

SKBIO-TOR

padjoe
29/10/2004, 1:28 PM
whats the point in bringing the tri-colour why not just go up with the club colours and flags. there is absolutely no need to bring a tri-colour, that only rubs peoples noses in it. so why shouold anyone bring a tri-colour just as there is no need to bring the union jack down south. by doing either it brings the league from a footballing event into the realms of sectarianism. its going to be hostile enough without creating a reason for people to go over the top.
there is not one club in the south that has the entire colours of the tri-colour, feel free to correct me on that one, so there is no call for it.

Dublin12
29/10/2004, 4:56 PM
Because thats the way football is when played by a team from the republic of ireland and a team from northern ireland,always has been and the idea of "rubbing peoples noses in it",well,thats is the whole point,certainly gets peoples blood boiling and makes the match more interesting,thats football I suppose,the more intense the better it is.

TheJamaicanP.M.
29/10/2004, 5:22 PM
whats the point in bringing the tri-colour why not just go up with the club colours and flags. there is absolutely no need to bring a tri-colour, that only rubs peoples noses in it. so why shouold anyone bring a tri-colour just as there is no need to bring the union jack down south. by doing either it brings the league from a footballing event into the realms of sectarianism. its going to be hostile enough without creating a reason for people to go over the top.
there is not one club in the south that has the entire colours of the tri-colour, feel free to correct me on that one, so there is no call for it.

Have to agree with you Padjoe. A lot of the people who like to wave the tricolour and try to be Republican know little about either the flag or Republicanism. If a person is supporting their club team, then the club flag should be sufficient. The Irish flag is for Ireland games. We don't like it when those in the North try to rub our noses in it with their Union Jacks.

30/10/2004, 3:28 PM

we've few if any irish ticolors in or array of flags. most of our flags are the italian type flag in reverse so we shouldnt have any problems up there

but...........union jacks in Cork? it wouldnt go down well with some i know that for a fact. personally i dont care. but thats just me!

JohnB
30/10/2004, 3:34 PM
I'm not sure what effect an RoI flag would have, but I personally think that they should be waved at matches where IL clubs play LoI clubs. If it rubs people up the wrong way, then that is their problem. People display flags for many reasons: if your reason is to show alliegance and support for your country and your team, I say go for it.

Incidentally, how would a NI flag go down in Dublin? I have a top with a large NI flag on the back and have toyed with the idea of wearing it to an Ireland rugby international.

30/10/2004, 3:38 PM
I'm not sure what effect an RoI flag would have, but I personally think that they should be waved at matches where IL clubs play LoI clubs. If it rubs people up the wrong way, then that is their problem. People display flags for many reasons: if your reason is to show alliegance and support for your country and your team, I say go for it.

Incidentally, how would a NI flag go down in Dublin? I have a top with a large NI flag on the back and have toyed with the idea of wearing it to an Ireland rugby international.

its not as provocative as the union jack i suppose but i dunno man? maybe the ulster one would be a better choice!

30/10/2004, 10:28 PM

NI flag would not be a problem - most people would not know what it was. About 40,000 of them in Lansdowne Road in Jan 99.

Cork city fans would have had tricolours in Sweden, holland and France this summer without any problems. Agree it is not appropriate but sad that a flag that was designed to unite green and orange is seen as sectarian and offensive, and ditto for one containing the cross of St. Patrick.

01/11/2004, 11:51 AM
from what I've seen on TV Linfield fans seem to bring the Union Jack to a lot of games.

They'd say the colours are same as their club colours. Its not as if they'd be just bringing them to cross border games.

I don't think a Union Jack with Linfield FC written on it would cause too much trouble in Turners Cross. Could be wrong though.

Ulster/NI flags wouldn't be seen as provocative at all.

I personally wouldn't bring a tricolour to a game in the North but provided it wasn't waved in anybody's face it shouldn't cause too much grief.

JohnB
01/11/2004, 2:59 PM
its not as provocative as the union jack i suppose but i dunno man? maybe the ulster one would be a better choice!

Shows you what I know, I'd have thought the UJ was less provocative that the NI flag. :confused:

And Gary, would people really not know what an NI flag looked like? I mean, I imagine there are a lot of grannies who don't, but they're not the ones who are likely to express their national identity by dishing out abuse.

Flynninio
05/11/2004, 10:58 AM
if linfield come to the cross there will be war.these cnuts are just biggots who will wreak havoc.and i doubt the cork crowd will stand for it. i for one will not accept there orange *******s trying it on.

kevincronin2000
05/11/2004, 12:41 PM
I remenber a couple of years back when Linfield went to play cliftonville. The cliftonvill fans had a large tri-colour with failte linfield on it

TheJamaicanP.M.
05/11/2004, 9:03 PM
I remenber a couple of years back when Linfield went to play cliftonville. The cliftonvill fans had a large tri-colour with failte linfield on it

It was actually Cead Mile Failte Linfield. That was the first game between the two at Solitude in a number of years. Dont think many of the Linfield players would have understood what the slogan meant!

Pat O' Banton
06/11/2004, 11:10 AM
It was actually Cead Mile Failte Linfield. That was the first game between the two at Solitude in a number of years. Dont think many of the Linfield players would have understood what the slogan meant!

Now that was always a dodgy thing in my book. I still can't understand why the Cliftonville home games against Linfield had to be moved to Battenburg Park, I mean if they couldn't play them at home, for whatever the reasons given, why weren't the games moved to a neutral venue. In effect Linfield were given an advantage firstly over Cliftonville by never having to play them away then secondly over the rest of the league by having two extra home games. Anyone know the IFA's reasoning for this?

Pat O' Banton
06/11/2004, 2:22 PM
They were Orange bigots,who then couldn't give a f*ck about their constituent members(& now :confused: ).....'Football For All',my ar*e! :o

Yeah, but surely they were doing Portadown, Crues or anyother club with a large section of Unionist support no favours either by giving Linfield two extra home games a year. Is it really because Linfield are the establishment club or was there any 'logical' reason given by the IFA for their action?

08/11/2004, 12:12 PM
Yeah, but surely they were doing Portadown, Crues or anyother club with a large section of Unionist support no favours either by giving Linfield two extra home games a year. Is it really because Linfield are the establishment club or was there any 'logical' reason given by the IFA for their action?

I think it was because Windsor Park was thought to be best stadium for segregation of opposing fans.

Agree though that it was suprising other clubs didn't protest about the advantage Linfield had.

08/11/2004, 12:16 PM
if linfield come to the cross there will be war.these cnuts are just biggots who will wreak havoc.and i doubt the cork crowd will stand for it. i for one will not accept there orange *******s trying it on.

What it your opinion would constitute "trying it on"?

i'd say chill out and see what happens. Why assume they're going to cause trouble?