View Full Version : Longford 1-2 Cork City
Good to hear. Gary Redz ate a branch off it though last night so we ll have to have a chat with him Italian style on Friday. You get the black gloves and i'll get the bodybag
Disrespecting the championship tree is unacceptable especially considering he's the one who brought it into the car in the first place. This cannot wait until friday, he will have to be sorted at the dog track tomorrow!
Yes, i think under the cover of darkness we shall launch a pre emptive strike against the usurper. We shall attack him with nail bombs and after this beat him to a pulp with our iron bars until he is dead. Then we shall use our gloves and lift the body into our bodybag. The tree shall not take such disrespect and the heathen shall be cast into hell
Yes, and then we can feed him to the greyhounds on which we have placed bets in order to give them that extra spring in their step!
20/10/2004, 4:38 PM
I thought that it was a horifically boring match (although I did manage to miss both of Citys goals). Too much hoofing in the 2nd half which was a shame because when we play the ball to feet we rip through teams. Hoofing a ball to an uninterested JOF does nothing besides give away posession. 'Protecting the lead' means keeping the ball and not letting the opposition have the run of play IMO. Still though, its 3 points and not sexy football that matter at this stage.
I like the sound of the corporate boxes though, I recon that the 20 of us could prob rent them out, we'd probably get better amplification for our ref abuse if it has a covered balcony part + we wouldnt have to freeze our @sses off! :eek:
Stadler
20/10/2004, 7:05 PM
This sounds like another one of those 'pat ourselves on the back for making it to an away match' thread, but anyway.
brilliant stuff
its now mathametically possible to win the league and its also ACTUALLY possible we can win the league
eh..stadler,aswad,euphoria ;)
never said it wasn't mathematically possible, but don't let that get in your way now will you. Still don't think it's actually possible btw.
Pipe down people ..... take each game as it comes. If we lose on Friday ... the árse will fall out of it and Stadler and co. will be in full flight again. We'll be the worst team in the league we should hang our heads in shame for even thinking that we could win.
We are still behind and Bohs can still ACTUALLY do it aswell !!
once again the 'if you don't agree with me then you can bugger off' brigade strikes.
Football, and forums, are all about opinion. I don't think we will win the league. I think we will be doing well to take second place from Bohs. Is there something wrong with this opinion? I don't think so. Some of ye see a half-full glass and think it's overflowing. Personally I think we need to work harder to fill the glass up. I'm ecstatic about the fact that we've won five games on the trot and can't remember the last time we did that (though a quick glance at City Edition tells me we won eight in a row around this time in '98) but you have to look at the opposition as well. Two of the teams we played are the worst two in the top flight and possibly the worst two 'Premier' Division sides since Monaghan United a few years back and the other three games were against teams with more than one eye on the Cup Final. If we win against Pats on Friday then even better but let's see how we do against Derry and Shels next week. In fact, let's see how we do in the remaining seven matches this season before we decide anything.
This sounds like another one of those 'pat ourselves on the back for making it to an away match' thread, but anyway.
With an attitude like that you'd be outraged at what Dolan said to us at the end of the game last night!
Anyway, none of us need to pat ourselves on the back because there's a sizable number of people on here who have been at as many away games as possible, go on the buses, went on 1/2/3 of the European trips etc. We all know who goes and who doesn't and obviously you don't.
I actually hate, no despise, people like you who look down their noses at those who make the effort to travel to games.
If you couldn't be arsed going to any away games fine, none of us care but don't come out with that sh!t.
I know lads, I'm worse for responding to the fool but I couldn't let that one slide.
quite a few ppl deserve credit for pure effort though so let all the begrudgers shag off!
*pats Colm on his funny colored head*
If one can believe anything that Spillage reports, it seems that Matthews showed his miserable, begrudging cnut form again last night.
I wasn't at the game but did Longford "dominate the whole game"?
He (supposedly) went on to say that "Cork....are supposedly challenging for honours"...:rolleyes: what a pr*ck and
City "didn't hurt us"...
Oh yeah? 2 points in two seasons from us, 20 taken by us. How much more hurt does he want?
and then "Typical Pat Dolan team.....reward only from set pieces". ????? Is he for real? How may goals have we scored from set peices this season out of the 40 that City have scored?... 5 or 6?
Well Matthews, this shows you to be yet another whinging, jealous, petty little Dub. G'way ya l@nger
Fair_play_boy
20/10/2004, 8:38 PM
This sounds like another one of those 'pat ourselves on the back for making it to an away match' thread, but anyway.Stadler, from time to time, I wonder how people can get themselves banned in this forum. That didn't happen in your case.
. . . let's see how we do in the remaining seven matches this season before we decide anything.Groan. What a ludicrous idea, even for you. There will be no possibility of speculating at that point, because we will know our final position.
Fair_play_boy
20/10/2004, 8:41 PM
. . . I know lads, I'm worse for responding to the fool but I couldn't let that one slide. . . . . . :D
daveh
20/10/2004, 11:06 PM
W'eve scored a fair few goals from set pieces alright patsh,but i cant understand what matthews means.I doubt he'd be complaining if longford scored from a corner or a free,theyve only scored something like 20 goals so theyre not exactly playing champagne football themselves.How can he say we didnt hurt them either?Even though I wasnt there myself, 2-0 up inside 30 minutes would cause any opposing team some harm.
ccfcman
21/10/2004, 7:42 AM
I think he was procastinating myself.
I think the lads recounting their match night experience is one of the things message boards like these are all about.
Great credit is due to those that travel week in week out, I used to do it myself before I got married/had kids etc etc. I met some good people over the years and it is definitely a worthwhile experience.
Football, and forums, are all about opinion. I don't think we will win the league. I think we will be doing well to take second place from Bohs. Is there something wrong with this opinion? I don't think so. Some of ye see a half-full glass and think it's overflowing.
I do agree with this point and while a fair few have been cautious theres too much talk in my opinion about winning the league. The real test will come next week with Derry & Shels away in the space of a few days. To be worthy of winning the league we need 4 point minimum from these 2 games. I think we can take anyone on our day at the Cross but on an off day anyone can take us. Interesting times ahead.
NorthoftheLee
21/10/2004, 8:41 AM
I do agree with this point and while a fair few have been cautious theres too much talk in my opinion about winning the league. The real test will come next week with Derry & Shels away in the space of a few days. To be worthy of winning the league we need 4 point minimum from these 2 games. I think we can take anyone on our day at the Cross but on an off day anyone can take us. Interesting times ahead.
I'd agree with that and as most would know i'm one of the more optimistic heads around but I think this season is too early. we have some realy difficult games ahead with trips to Derry, Shels and Drogs included. Our record against the top teams hasnt been great so far this season, but hopefully we can turn that around in the coming weeks. I will be happy with 2nd as it will be good progress. Our aim this year was to close the gap on Shels and we are currently doing so. Of course I's be over the moon with the league but I'm staying overly cautious cause my heart cant take the strain.:)
21/10/2004, 8:42 AM
we have some realy difficult games ahead with trips to Derry, Shels and Drogs included. Our record against the top teams hasnt been great so far this season,
and we are long overdue a win against shels
ccfcman
21/10/2004, 8:45 AM
I still reckon we may not get a great result v Derry, Stephen Kenny sides have a nack of playing well against us.
Is the Derry match in hand over Bohs and Shels?
21/10/2004, 8:46 AM
Is the Derry match in hand over Bohs and Shels?
we still have 2 games in hand over bohs
I wasn't at the game but did Longford "dominate the whole game"?
in fairness they pretty much did. City scored the two goals and then let longford do what they wanted for the next hour. Longford were no threat and City obviously decided to conserve their energy.
and we are long overdue a win against shels
We've got one win in eight games against Shels/Bohs/Drogs this season and four of our remaining games are against them - it remains to be seen whether the confidence gained from the current form, albeit against weaker opposition, can drive the lads on to do better in those key games. Against Shels at home this season we've been like dazzled rabbits.
very good point. That said, the closest we've come to beating shels this season was IN tolka, where we should have won. I think we can do it.
Fair_play_boy
21/10/2004, 8:01 PM
We've got one win in eight games against Shels/Bohs/Drogs this season and four of our remaining games are against them - it remains to be seen whether the confidence gained from the current form, albeit against weaker opposition, can drive the lads on to do better in those key games.That is the sort of informed analysis tht livens up this forum. Spot on SSS.
Against Shels at home this season we've been like dazzled rabbits.My impression of the last game at Turners Cross was very different. The result did not reflect City's performance; IMO, Shels were a bit lucky to get the win.
ild agree with SSS on his last point. Shels were professional and did the job, we didnt. Next time :cool: lets put it right