View Full Version : U21 VS Faroe Islands and Montenegro
15/11/2013, 2:29 PM
U21's playing the Faroe Islands in Sligo in 15 minutes
Team announced earlier on twitter: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/status/401365479656128513
The line-ups from today's UEFA U21 qualifier in Sligo (3.45pm). #IrlU21 (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23IrlU21&src=hash) pic.twitter.com/w1hLA1Xeac (http://t.co/w1hLA1Xeac)
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BZHvxviCAAAM0_S.jpg
Live text updates on uefa.com here: http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2015/matches/round=2000412/match=2011495/prematch/player-lists/index.html
(http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2015/matches/round=2000412/match=2011495/prematch/player-lists/index.html)Think that's Grealish's first start at this level? Wonder if he's playing on the wing, as at club level, or behind O'Brien with Murray and Forde on the wings?
1-0. carruthers on 17.
2-0 now, o'brien.
15/11/2013, 3:02 PM
2-0, O'Brien. Let's stuff these mothers!
3-0, grealish. we want ten!
15/11/2013, 3:06 PM
Before the game I'd have settled for 10 but I want 50 now.
15/11/2013, 3:08 PM
3-0 Grealish. Playing up front on the left of a 4-3-3 according to uefa.com
<EDIT>
3-1 now. Faroes must have scored straight from the kick off
Grealish assisted the second goal as well.
uh oh, 3-1 now.
shut up shop lads.
15/11/2013, 3:16 PM
just noticed Duffy has been flagged for offside a few times, must be pushing up to help out at set pieces
<EDIT>
and now he's given away a penalty and it's 3-2
crazy game
15/11/2013, 3:19 PM
3-2 now, penalty. The comeback is on! I'd settle for 10-2 at this stage.
back of the net
15/11/2013, 3:19 PM
ah jaysus ...3-2 - squeaky bum time and its still the first half
ah relieffff
Get in Forde
4-2
15/11/2013, 3:25 PM
5-2 now, value for money
http://i.imgur.com/6OlaQC7.png
15/11/2013, 3:26 PM
5-2. two goals in 3 minutes from Forde and O'Brien
still not half time!
15/11/2013, 3:33 PM
As Dunphy might say "scarcely for the palettes of students or advocates of the defensive arts" then?
15/11/2013, 3:49 PM
8 minutes without a goal now. I want my money back.
swinfordfc
17/11/2013, 8:08 PM
Have to win away on Tuesday night or their chances of qualifying are over .....
18/11/2013, 8:02 PM
Not looking good all bar one of our points are from the Faroes, Germany could only draw
away to Montenegro.
Faroes Islands doing very well despite only 1 point v Romania, they only lost 3-2 to Germany.
Some erratic results eg us getting a better goal difference v the Faroes than Germany.
19/11/2013, 9:05 AM
Faroes were leading 2-1 in Germany until quite late.
Razors left peg
19/11/2013, 9:30 AM
Dont suppose theres a hope in hell this is on tv anywhere??
DeLorean
19/11/2013, 10:41 AM
Don't think so. I checked Eurosport but they're showing the Alpine Skiing World Cup followed by the Figure Skating Grand Prix :rolleyes:
DeLorean
19/11/2013, 10:47 AM
Just looking at the qualifying criteria there. The ten group winners and four best runners-up enter a playoff (7 v 7). The winners join the Czechs who qualified as hosts. Montenegro currently have the lowest points of any of the second placed teams and we've played a game more than them. Qualification isn't a realistic possibility but I suppose two wins against Monty would put us in the picture some bit.
Razors left peg
19/11/2013, 10:50 AM
Don't think so. I checked Eurosport but they're showing the Alpine Skiing World Cup followed by the Figure Skating Grand Prix :rolleyes:
I never understand why in this day and age all the underage games arent shown on the FAI website
19/11/2013, 12:44 PM
I never understand why in this day and age all the underage games arent shown on the FAI website
it's not like the largest video hosting site in the world has its european headquarters in the same city as the FAI...oh wait
Dont suppose theres a hope in hell this is on tv anywhere??
live text commentary on uefa.com from 4 here: http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2015/matches/round=2000412/match=2011493/prematch/player-lists/index.html
19/11/2013, 12:46 PM
Are you serious? The FAI caring about anything other than the senior team?
19/11/2013, 2:59 PM
Team: 16McDermott(GK)
3McGinty
4Williams
5Duffy(C)
12Harriman
6Carruthers
8Reilly
10Murray
11Forde
17Grealish
9O'Brien
Real ale Madrid
19/11/2013, 3:22 PM
They look well spread out anyway.
DeLorean
19/11/2013, 3:43 PM
H/T: 0-0 (http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2015/matches/live/index.html?day=27&session=1&match=2011493)
19/11/2013, 4:18 PM
Still 0-0
DeLorean
19/11/2013, 4:41 PM
F/T: 0-0 (http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2015/matches/live/index.html?day=27&session=1&match=2011493)
Couldn't help noticing that King didn't make any substitutions. Does he not believe in them? Going by the video printer we seemed to be under the cosh a little bit, conceding a good few corners, etc. Obviously impossible to tell how much pressure we were actually under.
DeLorean
19/11/2013, 4:43 PM
90 +3 That was a good chance for Republic of Ireland!
Feck it anyway!
DeLorean
25/02/2014, 11:55 AM
Noel King has announced his U21 squad for the upcoming qualifier against Montenegro in Dublin. (http://www.fai.ie/international/under-21/103779-king-announces-squad-for-uefa-u21-clash-with-montenegro.html)
Republic of Ireland U21 Squad:
Aaron McCarey (Wolves)
Sean McDermott (Sandnes Ulf)
Sean McGinty (Sheffield United - on-loan to Northampton)
Shane Duffy (Everton - on-loan to Yeovil Town)
Pierce Sweeney (Reading)
Matt Doherty (Wolves)
Tommie Hoban (Watford)
Jeff Hendrick (Derby County)
Jack Grealish (Aston Villa - on-loan to Notts County)
Calum Reilly (Birmingham City)
Anthony Forde (Wolves)
Sean Murray (Watford)
Connor Smith (Watford - on-loan to Gillingham)
Liam McAlinden (Wolves)
John Egan (Sunderland)
Ken McEvoy (Tottenham)
Michael Drennan (Aston Villa - on-loan to Portsmouth)
Aiden O'Brien (Millwall - on-loan to Torquay United)
25/02/2014, 2:00 PM
squad looks very weak up front. I guess you could play Murray and Forde on the wings, and McEvoy through the middle?
Forde has completely fallen out of the first team picture at Wolves, anyone know what's going on there?
25/02/2014, 2:07 PM
squad looks very weak up front. I guess you could play Murray and Forde on the wings, and McEvoy through the middle?
Forde has completely fallen out of the first team picture at Wolves, anyone know what's going on there?
He was supposed to be going to Hibs on loan but a foot injury nixed it: http://www.expressandstar.com/sport/transfer-rumours/2014/02/07/transfer-rumours-feb-7-2/
Yard of Pace
25/02/2014, 2:41 PM
squad looks very weak up front.
Is Drennan not showing himself to be a decent front-man in recent weeks? Also, as tets said, we've plenty of class in midfield to create chances. And we have Jack Grealish.
McGinty? Wasn't he one of our deserters? I mean obviously hes not but I thought there were doubts?? Am I confused? Do I need to take my meds?
TheOneWhoKnocks
25/02/2014, 2:56 PM
McGinty? Wasn't he one of our deserters? I mean obviously hes not but I thought there were doubts?? Am I confused? Do I need to take my meds?
You think England would touch him with his well documented lack of application, professionalism and poor club form?
25/02/2014, 3:00 PM
He was left out of the U19 Euros squad a while back (along with Brady) because he missed the qualifiers playing in the FA Youth Cup. Some hysterical people around here decided it was an example of Doolin waging a hate campaign against talented young players and they wouldn't be surprised if he was pushed, kicking and screaming, back in the cold, uncaring arms of Mother Albion. He was out of the squad for a while but has received the odd call-up since. It was Michael Keane who turned his turncoat once again.
thanks Charlie. That sounds familiar.
I think im going to take some happy pills anyway. :)
25/02/2014, 3:16 PM
Is Drennan not showing himself to be a decent front-man in recent weeks? Also, as tets said, we've plenty of class in midfield to create chances. And we have Jack Grealish.
weak as in lack of depth, only O'Brien and Drennan are strikers in that squad, but yeah the strengths do lie elsewhere
Predator
25/02/2014, 5:12 PM
He was left out of the U19 Euros squad a while back (along with Brady) because he missed the qualifiers playing in the FA Youth Cup. Brady, Duffy and McGinty all played during the first qualifying stage of that tournament and were subsequently left out of the next stage by Doolin. Rumours were that there were a few disagreements.
IsMiseSean
25/02/2014, 9:25 PM
weak as in lack of depth, only O'Brien and Drennan are strikers in that squad, but yeah the strengths do lie elsewhere
I thought Liam McAlinden was a striker?
gastric
26/02/2014, 2:02 AM
I thought Liam McAlinden was a striker?
McAlinden is a striker and he has lots of potential according to some on here and Smith can play as a forward too. I think Tets was possibly referring to the quality of striker?
However, there is strength in the overall squad. Good to see Hoban back and Hendrick is an experienced player. Grealish to give us sexy football, something we could do with!
26/02/2014, 8:22 AM
Some people bang on about our rigid and unimaginative formations but when King goes all Spanish and plays with a false 9 we start giving out? :)
Yard of Pace
26/02/2014, 11:09 AM
Is this game on in Tallaght, yeah?
I'm unemployed from Friday so I'll be heading to it and providing a full match report for you all.
A whipround for my bus-fare would be much appreciated.
DeLorean
26/02/2014, 11:25 AM
Sorry to hear that YOP. Yeah, it's in Tallaght. 5th March @ 3pm.
Yard of Pace
26/02/2014, 12:15 PM
Sorry to hear that YOP. Yeah, it's in Tallaght. 5th March @ 3pm.
Thanks DeLorean. I'm resigning but I suppose it's not really of my own free will. My boss is an awful person altogether and has had it in for me from day one.
Anyway, looking forward to being able to go to this game and hopefully we stuff Black Mountain!
liamoo11
26/02/2014, 10:26 PM
http://www.fai.ie/international/under-19/103783-doolin-announces-u19-squad-for-friendlies-in-cork.html
No jack byrne or conor wilkinson, some interesting inclusions
26/02/2014, 10:40 PM
http://www.fai.ie/international/under-19/103783-doolin-announces-u19-squad-for-friendlies-in-cork.html
No jack byrne or conor wilkinson, some interesting inclusions
Liamoo, I reposted this over at the U19s thread so it doesn't get lost in the U21s thread: http://foot.ie/threads/166499-under-19-squad?p=1738709#post1738709
TheOneWhoKnocks
27/02/2014, 9:15 AM
Thanks DeLorean. I'm resigning but I suppose it's not really of my own free will. My boss is an awful person altogether and has had it in for me from day one.
Anyway, looking forward to being able to go to this game and hopefully we stuff Black Mountain!
The only way I would tolerate a bad boss is if it was Demi Moore circa early to mid 90s.
05/03/2014, 2:06 PM
live commentary of the game on uefa.com: http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2015/matches/live/day=29/session=1/match=2011503/index.html
seemed to have lined up 4-3-3, or possibly 4-5-1