View Full Version : 2014 League of Ireland.

12/11/2013, 5:15 PM
FAI Press Release this evening confirmed the start date for the 2014 League of Ireland season as Friday 7th March.

The full extent of the email was as follows:

"The 2014 Airtricity League season will commence on Friday, March 7.

Further details on the 2014 season will be announced in due course."

Interesting.

12/11/2013, 5:31 PM
No idea how many divisions or clubs we'll have but sure that's an issue for another day. People need to book time off work for this one well in advance.

galwayhoop
12/11/2013, 5:39 PM
In the FAI's defense at least by giving the start date clubs can start to prepare preseason and start dates for player contracts etc.

12/11/2013, 6:58 PM
I've seen reported in several places now that the fixtures will be released on 22nd December. There's been no official word from the FAI on this, so I'd imagine it's a rumour that spread a bit too quickly. There's no way they'll know what shape or form the league will even take by 22nd December.

gufc2000
12/11/2013, 7:02 PM
I've seen reported in several places now that the fixtures will be released on 22nd December. There's been no official word from the FAI on this, so I'd imagine it's a rumour that spread a bit too quickly. There's no way they'll know what shape or form the league will even take by 22nd December.
I think the Premier Division fixtures have been released just before Christmas the past few years, with the First Division fixtures being published once licences have been issued.

13/11/2013, 12:42 PM
I think the Premier Division fixtures have been released just before Christmas the past few years, with the First Division fixtures being published once licences have been issued.

You're correct. 17th February for 2010, 23rd December for 2011, 22nd December for 2012, 19th December for 2013. (I realise it's quite sad that I remember those dates)
It's great to the get the fixtures, Premier at least, out early these days.

13/11/2013, 1:41 PM
You're correct. 17th February for 2010, 23rd December for 2011, 22nd December for 2012, 19th December for 2013. (I realise it's quite sad that I remember those dates)
It's great to the get the fixtures, Premier at least, out early these days.

Speak for yourselves.

bluewhitearmy
13/11/2013, 1:48 PM
Safe to assume if the December 22nd thing is true that they have decided to stick with 2 divisions then?

stann
13/11/2013, 3:22 PM
That's been decided a good while ago I think, clubs were informed several weeks back that it will be a 12 team Premier with the numbers in the First "to be confirmed". Pretty sure we were told this anyway.

bluemovie
13/11/2013, 4:39 PM
Can anything really be guaranteed or ruled out four months in advance of a League of Ireland season (apart from Bray not being relegated)? Will it still be three points for a win? Eleven players per team? Round, oval or square ball?

bluewhitearmy
13/11/2013, 4:41 PM
Will it still be three points for a win? Eleven players per team? Round, oval or square ball?

Yes, yes(unless someone gets sent off) and round.

Hope that puts any concerns you may have about playing in a 7 team league to rest.

22/11/2013, 9:46 PM
The FAI have all but confirmed the structure remaining as Premier and First Divisions for the league next season in a press release today.

The 2014 Premier and First Divisions will kick-off on Friday, March 7, with the mid-season break taking place between June 14 and 26 with fixtures resuming on Friday, June 27. The EA Sports Cup Final is scheduled for Saturday, September 20 and the FAI Ford Cup Final is fixed for Sunday, November 2, at the Aviva Stadium.

Also interesting;

The FAI’s High Performance Director, Ruud Dokter, made a presentation to delegates on his vision for the future of Irish football and the role he envisages for the Airtricity League in its development.

They didn't actually specify anything he said though.

Also, Sligo Rovers were winners of the Fair Play award for the 2013 season, while UCD were runners up.

22/11/2013, 10:11 PM
Russell out. The one trophy he's supposed to win every year and he's made a hames of it.

Neish
27/11/2013, 4:17 PM
Russell out. The one trophy he's supposed to win every year and he's made a hames of it.

I heard he may take over the Rovers reserves if they do indeed join the first division

19/12/2013, 6:52 PM
Fixtures out noon tomorrow, according to Rovers' facebook. I assume that will solve the question of the number of teams in the FD too.

gufc2000
19/12/2013, 7:15 PM
Fixtures out noon tomorrow, according to Rovers' facebook. I assume that will solve the question of the number of teams in the FD too.
I wouldn't bank on it. Premier Division fixtures have been released before Christmas the last few years, with First Division fixtures usually following suit in another month's time.

19/12/2013, 7:24 PM
First Division fixtures are out in January. Only Premier Division fixtures tomorrow.

adamd164
19/12/2013, 7:36 PM
Also interesting;

The FAI’s High Performance Director, Ruud Dokter, made a presentation to delegates on his vision for the future of Irish football and the role he envisages for the Airtricity League in its development.

They didn't actually specify anything he said though.

Ruud Docktor? Is that a p1sstake? Sounds like one of these rappers, like Icey Tea or Scoopy Scoopy Dog Dog or one of these fellas.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/12/2013, 11:07 AM
http://www.airtricityleague.ie/images/2014-Airtricity-League-Premier-Fixture-List.pdf

ATFC-1887
20/12/2013, 11:20 AM
Easy 3 points :)

20/12/2013, 11:44 AM
Quite a few midweek fixtures again. Poor form.

Yossarian
20/12/2013, 11:59 AM
Quite a few midweek fixtures again. Poor form.

That's what happens when clubs insist on such a short season.

20/12/2013, 11:59 AM
Cork City vs Pats most likely to kick off the season on TV.

Yossarian
20/12/2013, 12:00 PM
Cork City vs Pats most likely to kick off the season on TV.

If there are any live TV games that is!

atfconline
20/12/2013, 12:17 PM
Home to Rovers, Bohs, Cork and Dundalk twice, though two trips up to Derry.

Monday games at home to Bohs and Dundalk, and one away to UCD.

Last game at home to Bray, pity!

Professor K
20/12/2013, 1:01 PM
I was anticipating Athlone nice and early for Rovers and they're they are. Looking forward to that trip. The 2 week mid-season break starts a day after the World Cup begins. In 2010 it was 2-and-a-half weeks and started before kick off in South Africa, doesn't matter too much when Ireland aren't in it I suppose.

ATFC-1887
20/12/2013, 1:16 PM
UCD away on a monday night. Oh god. Cant imagine too many will travel to that haha

20/12/2013, 1:18 PM
UCD away on a monday night. Oh god. Cant imagine too many will travel to that haha
Just a few thousand then? Plus the committee.

gufc2000
20/12/2013, 1:27 PM
Disappointing to see the annual Sligo vs Shamrock Rovers last day of the season fixture removed. Maybe the FAI have no faith in Croly either to provide them with a title decider on the final weekend!

20/12/2013, 5:40 PM
http://www.airtricityleague.ie/images/2014-Airtricity-League-Premier-Fixture-List.pdf

Guaranteed 9 points from 9 for Bohs in our opening 3 fixtures.

Bray Head
24/12/2013, 9:43 AM
Bray's Fixture list looks very similar to last season.
St. Pats, Derry, Dundalk and Sligo all at home twice.
Away twice to Shams, Bohs, Cork and Drogeda.

Any other club notice the same. I'd image that you should be away twice to a team you played twice at home the previous season to give some balance where it's possible.

White Horse
24/12/2013, 10:24 AM
Bray's Fixture list looks very similar to last season.
St. Pats, Derry, Dundalk and Sligo all at home twice.
Away twice to Shams, Bohs, Cork and Drogeda.

Any other club notice the same. I'd image that you should be away twice to a team you played twice at home the previous season to give some balance where it's possible.

Same for us, away twice to Pats and Sligo again. Though, as last season, we do have Shams and Derry at home twice.

24/12/2013, 10:33 AM
2013 was a reverse of 2012. So 2015 will be a reverse of 2014

I suppose they have to mix it up slightly for those 2 year cycles but they all even themselves out

bluewhitearmy
02/01/2014, 9:11 PM
Things not looking good at XXXX. From Gary Dempseys twitter: Rumour has it the whole XXXX backroom team, management, coaches, doctors physio's the whole lot have resigned. What the fooks going on?

Edit: That better Charlie?

02/01/2014, 9:15 PM
Lads, yous know you can't talk about that particular team on here.

02/01/2014, 9:18 PM
Whoever they are went to an awful lot of trouble stopping us going up only for the whole lot to fall apart, if reports are true!

bluewhitearmy
02/01/2014, 9:22 PM
Whoever they are went to an awful lot of trouble stopping us going up only for the whole lot to fall apart, if reports are true!

Cos they should have thown the game of course.

02/01/2014, 9:25 PM
Sure we'll be up anyway if they do fall apart. In theory. Sounds like we're signing Shane O'Connor from them too if Dempsey is to be believed.

bluewhitearmy
02/01/2014, 9:26 PM
Sure we'll be up anyway if they do fall apart. In theory. Sounds like we're signing Shane O'Connor from them too if Dempsey is to be believed.

Shels will stay up of there is still 2 divisions.

bluewhitearmy
02/01/2014, 9:27 PM
More great stuff from Conor Meade about Cobh. From his twitter: Such a shame to hear d carry on up in ramblers. A manager gettin paid n not giving a f.Club will be gone nx season cos of d dopes up dare

02/01/2014, 9:35 PM
Shels will stay up of there is still 2 divisions.

Oh yeah bit of a brain freeze from myself there.

02/01/2014, 9:58 PM
Cos they should have thown the game of course.
I wasn't saying they should throw anything sire, but it's a shame for them to seemingly fall to crap now after all they went through to survive.

02/01/2014, 10:04 PM
More great stuff from Conor Meade about Cobh. From his twitter: Such a shame to hear d carry on up in ramblers. A manager gettin paid n not giving a f.Club will be gone nx season cos of d dopes up dare
I assume he didn't go to Cobh because they were offering him an education.

Pablo Escobar
03/01/2014, 10:03 AM
You'd have to assume that alright.

disgruntled
03/01/2014, 11:52 AM

Perhaps he'd be better off to stay away from twitter & concentrate on his football.

mcgonigle
03/01/2014, 1:56 PM

How there you make those assumptions!

oriel
03/01/2014, 8:38 PM
Opening weekend should be good enough crowds, hopefully, we can continue this on the 2014 attendance thread when it opens. Some decent matches:

Cork v Pats
Rovers v Derry
Sligo v Athlone (Sat)
Drogs v DLK
Limerick v Bray
UCD v Bohs

I've listed these in order on what I think the biggest crowds will be, Cork always start very positively through the gate, and as they are playing the league champions, i think that might get the biggest crowd of the first weekend, possibly just over 3k?

Rovers probably next, hard to know what they will get on opening night, but would imagine close to 3k?

Sligo should break 2k for their first game.

The Louth derby probably would too if the ground was bigger, I think it's restricted to 2k max.

Limerick v Bray, hard to call, hopefully the novelty factor is not lost, and fans will stick with them, 1.5k ?

Finally UCD v Bohs, if this gets over 1k, it's probably a good crowd.

03/01/2014, 9:30 PM
It's Rovers that have the second team, oriel...

03/01/2014, 9:34 PM
Rovers probably next, hard to know what they will get on opening night, but would imagine close to 3k?
4,000 last year and that was week 2. Even allowing for growing apathy, I'd still be shocked if the decrease was anything close to 25%.

03/01/2014, 9:39 PM
It's Rovers that have the second team, oriel...

They do say you never know which Bohs will turn up*

*They probably don't