View Full Version : Martin O'Neill and Roy Keane

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

02/11/2013, 5:38 PM
Looks like it's going to be announced soon.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24786016

If all the ducks are in order - and that should be the case in the next few days - the Martin O'Neill-Roy Keane Republic of Ireland dream ticket could prove fascinating to observe.

DannyInvincible
02/11/2013, 6:02 PM
So I've been hearing. In fact, we've kind of been discussing that development here (http://foot.ie/threads/157804-Trapattoni-who-would-you-replace-him-with/page70). :rolleyes:

cestlavie
02/11/2013, 6:06 PM
Now your talking, would be great to see if true.

02/11/2013, 6:24 PM
So I've been hearing. In fact, we've kind of being discussing that development here (http://foot.ie/threads/157804-Trapattoni-who-would-you-replace-him-with/page70). :rolleyes:

Well given the decision has as good as been made a new thread seems the way to go.

Gonna look a bit silly in 3 month time otherwise, gotta think ahead ;)

NeverFeltBetter
02/11/2013, 10:43 PM
"Dream team"

Presume you're referencing the Sky TV show, where tragedy occurred every few weeks and it always ended in tears.

02/11/2013, 10:59 PM
If it happens I think its a disaster waiting to happen. The FAI will be happy as its a big ticket appointment and box office enough to fill the Aviva for a few months. It makes no sense to appoint O'Neill first and foremost, I think the likes of Wes & Andy Reid have played their last games for Ireland (Walters too but for other reasons).

The only team that has played decent football under Martin O'Neill was a hugely talented Celtic side that, while he motivated them to an inch of their lives, I probably could have won a few SPL titles with.

Other than Leicester, O'Neill & Keane have tried to buy success and neither have been hands on really. It does seem odd that Keane is prepared to play the subordinate role here although it may serve him well in the long run. He needs to spend time on the training ground.

It has all the signs of a big time razzmatazz appointment and all for the wrong reasons, filling the aviva is what the FAI & IRFU need but not what Ireland need.

I can see us being back here in 18 months time with Ray Houghton & someone else frantically scouring the CV's of available managers again.

I hope I'm massively wrong.

Fergie's Son
02/11/2013, 11:39 PM
Not that impressed either but I'm struggling to think of an alternative.

legendz
03/11/2013, 7:55 AM
Lazy journalism so far has focussed on how they've been working on ITV. The real connection between O'Neill and Keane was struck in '11. Keane had been sacked by Ipswich. O'Neill was out of work having quit Aston Villa. Both got to know each other at LMA management/coaching courses. Before O'Neill took on Sunderland in late '11, Leicester wanted him as their manager. He turned down their approach waiting for a Premier League role. He recommended Leicester go for Roy Keane instead. Leicester didn't but O'Neill's faith in Keane then is telling. A manager generally can't be out of the game for long. With Keane out of work for a while, it's the right time to take on an assistant role and get back involved in the game. O'Neill is probably the only person who could have Keane as his assistant. I've no worries about it. Results really is what's it's going to be about.

03/11/2013, 8:28 AM
So I've been hearing. In fact, we've kind of been discussing that development here (http://foot.ie/threads/157804-Trapattoni-who-would-you-replace-him-with/page70). :rolleyes:

No, "managed" rather than "manage" is in the thread title. Tricky left out the word "have". He has started a thread predicting the demise of this management team.

Straightstory
03/11/2013, 9:07 AM
'There may be trouble ahead'....

youngirish
03/11/2013, 9:09 AM
Very happy with O'Neill. A far better manager than McCarthy who I felt would have represented a step backwards. Some of the other attractive candidates when the post initially became vacant are also not looking so attractive now (I'm thinking Chris Hughton here) after a very poor start to the season.

I think Keane at number 2 is a big gamble though but O'Neill knows the man very well so I have to trust that he has thought through what he's doing.

I think Tony O'Donoghue should be asking for danger money though for his post match interviews.

I wonder what odds you can get on Keane walking into the RTE studio post match and strangling Dunphy in front of a live television audience?

ArdeeBhoy
03/11/2013, 10:06 AM
Strange thread title...
Does it even make sense?

DannyInvincible
03/11/2013, 10:37 AM
'There may be trouble ahead'....

'There may be double trouble ahead...', surely?

I think Tony O'Donoghue should be asking for danger money though for his post match interviews.

Hehe, will Tony preserve for O'Neill and Keane the same irreverent attitude we had to suffer in latter post-match interviews during Trap's reign?

He has started a thread predicting the demise of this management team.

And has set the wheels in motion for the demise of language itself!

Well given the decision has as good as been made a new thread seems the way to go.

Gonna look a bit silly in 3 month time otherwise, gotta think ahead ;)

Meh, perhaps, although you do have form in suspect thread-starting. Anyway, whatever about the confused tense, couldn't you have at least spelled Martin O'Neill's name correctly? It is plastered all over the media, after all. It just makes things look a bit rash and disorderly with the tangents causing needless clutter on the forum, don't you think? And shouldn't Martin be accorded titular precedence?

Jaysus, you're turning me into an awful curmudgeon!

03/11/2013, 12:02 PM
Strange thread title...
Does it even make sense?
the thread, the proposed management team, life in general?
so..many..levels

03/11/2013, 12:05 PM
There are at least 3 spelling or grammar mistakes that I can find. Pretty impressive in an 8 word sentence.

KK77
03/11/2013, 12:09 PM
Very happy with O'Neill. A far better manager than McCarthy who I felt would have represented a step backwards. Some of the other attractive candidates when the post initially became vacant are also not looking so attractive now (I'm thinking Chris Hughton here) after a very poor start to the season.

I think Keane at number 2 is a big gamble though but O'Neill knows the man very well so I have to trust that he has thought through what he's doing.

I wonder what odds you can get on Keane walking into the RTE studio post match and strangling Dunphy in front of a live television audience?

Hardly likely Keane will be doing many after match interviews if he is assistant manager!

the doc
03/11/2013, 1:32 PM
So O'Neill and Keane are getting the job?

Feck it!

I had my money on
Noel "Mrs Brown" King!

Crosby87
03/11/2013, 1:35 PM
Dang I had my money on Gary Speed.

03/11/2013, 2:05 PM
dude, uncalled for

DannyInvincible
03/11/2013, 2:22 PM
I don't even get it to make an enlightened judgment on its taste. :confused:

03/11/2013, 3:53 PM
There are at least 3 spelling or grammar mistakes that I can find. Pretty impressive in an 8 word sentence.

Yes it's quite low isn't it?

back of the net
03/11/2013, 5:21 PM

Not funny and highly disrespectful.

youngirish
03/11/2013, 7:10 PM
Hardly likely Keane will be doing many after match interviews if he is assistant manager!
So assistant managers don't give post match interviews? I'd be surprised if the Irish media aren't just as interested in interviewing Keane after games as Martin O'Neill. Though Keane might not be contractually obliged to give interviews I'm sure he'll give his opinion from time to time.

03/11/2013, 8:39 PM
I suppose if Roy is still working for ITV? sport he could interview himself?

ArdeeBhoy
03/11/2013, 11:45 PM
How??

04/11/2013, 2:32 AM
How??

He could have two different caps and swop caps to indicate what role he was playing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKblP3_EkM0

Fergie's Son
04/11/2013, 3:32 AM
Apparently they are on serious money.

back of the net
04/11/2013, 5:09 AM

Thought I read somewhere = 1.2 mill Euro per Year for O'Neill and 500k Eur Per year for Keane

dr_peepee
04/11/2013, 7:21 AM
Do D'do D'doooooo, Do D'Do Do D'Dooo Do!!

04/11/2013, 9:39 AM
It is like Caesar appointing Brutus as his second in command.

04/11/2013, 6:09 PM

Yes however, if the 'soap' opera pulls in bigger crowds and a bigger TV audience it may be money well spent.

04/11/2013, 8:55 PM
It is like Caesar appointing Brutus as his second in command.

Or Del Boy appointing Rodney as his second in command.

Drumcondra 69er
04/11/2013, 9:24 PM
http://afalsefirstxi.blogspot.ie/2013/11/the-keane-edge.html?m=1

Blog on upcoming appointments for those interested....

04/11/2013, 10:02 PM
http://afalsefirstxi.blogspot.ie/201...-edge.html?m=1

Blog on upcoming appointments for those interested....

Seems to have been removed due to lack of interest.

Drumcondra 69er
04/11/2013, 10:31 PM
Seems to have been removed due to lack of interest.

Ha ha! Very weird. Original link working now.

SolitudeRed
04/11/2013, 11:12 PM
I suppose if Roy is still working for ITV? sport he could interview himself?

That suggestion has reminded me of this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNrxbRyM7EI

05/11/2013, 9:58 AM
from the FAI's twitter feed: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/397680209299644416

We can confirm that the management appointment process with Martin O'Neill & Roy Keane is at an advanced stage.Updates from @FAIreland (https://twitter.com/FAIreland) today

Razors left peg
05/11/2013, 9:59 AM
Just heard on the radio that it has been confirmed and Delaney making announcement in the next half hour

05/11/2013, 10:25 AM
I'm out tonight. Can someone stick on youtube, or whateverm, anything the duo say about the appointment on ITV tonight?

I'm also out for both the forthcoming internationals. If anyone can record the games and stick on youtube or a disc I'd be hugely grateful. As yet, neither is on SKY.

ArdeeBhoy
05/11/2013, 10:25 AM
Old news.
http://thescore.thejournal.ie/martin-oneill-roy-keane-ireland-manager-announcement-1160730-Nov2013/?utm_source=facebook_short

Razors left peg
05/11/2013, 10:28 AM
Delaney talking to Pat Kenny on Newstalk now lads

05/11/2013, 10:33 AM
Seems I was indeed right oo start this thread :D

05/11/2013, 10:37 AM
Delaney talking to Pat Kenny on Newstalk now lads
interesting that they spoke last week, and the past was discussed, and forgotten in about 25 seconds
The whole interview should be on the listen back service on newstalk's website soon

ArdeeBhoy
05/11/2013, 10:41 AM
Seems I was indeed right oo start this thread :D

No, not really. Given the pig's ear that was made of it...

Razors left peg
05/11/2013, 10:46 AM
Pat Kenny is such clown

05/11/2013, 11:45 AM
No, not really. Given the pig's ear that was made of it...

It's not that bad if you just glance at it you get the general idea, most people just scan for key words, keane o'neil manage Ireland etc..

Anyhow if you thinks it's pigs ear, just you wait until you see what the dynamic duo will do to Ireland team :D

05/11/2013, 11:46 AM
OK, so in the absence of any clues I'd say Forde, Coleman, Dunne, O'Shea are the most likely to keep their places.

What type of team will they prefer? Traditional 442, the currently popular 4231 or a very bold 352?

SSL and Clark have something to play for, so to speak.

Gibson should be a shoo-in when he returns.

Will they see Wilson as left back or defensive midfield?

Will Keane retain the captaincy and even his starting place?

Will McCarthy benefit from Keane's presence?

Will the door open more for Meyler? At Whelan's expense?

Room for Hendrick?

Will this appointment inspire or scare off Stephen Ireland?!

Which of the following attacking players will they find room for - and how? McClean, McGeady, Brady, Ireland, Walters, Reid, Hoolahan, Long, Doyle, Stokes, Keane…

So many variables...

05/11/2013, 11:52 AM
I have hope and and there is definitely a buzz about the Irish team again. If it all ends in tears then so be it but it will be fun whilst it lasts.

Razors left peg
05/11/2013, 12:01 PM
Good time for Steven Ireland to come back, he wont be the main story :)

DeLorean
05/11/2013, 12:13 PM
Stephen probably views that as a negative.