bluewhitearmy
29/10/2013, 11:25 AM
Out:

Joe Gamble
Brian O Callaghan
Paddy Purcell
Axel Bossekota

I may have missed one or two but thats all i can remember that are confirmed Stephen Bradley to be confirmed soon i think.

In:

Shane Duggan ( Cork City)
Ali Abas ( Right to Dream)
Prince Agyemang ( Right to Dream)

Asked about the two lads from Right to Dream in Derry and was told that they will be coming in for next season.

kingpin4
29/10/2013, 3:13 PM
Out:
Jeffrey Judge?
Dom Foley

I would think Barry Ryan could potentially retire, but would like to see us make a big offer to keep him.

29/10/2013, 3:32 PM
Ya Judgy gone I would think. His silly sendings off cost him badly I would imagine.

Barry should and most likely will be kept on unless he himself feels it's time to call it a day.

29/10/2013, 3:34 PM
I asked on the main forum was Lee Lynch out of contract and according to a Sligo fan he is out of contract next week and they expect him to sign for us. That would be another excellent signing and two good replacements for Gamble and Bradley.

NeverFeltBetter
29/10/2013, 4:06 PM
I had forgetton that Dominic Foley was even still involved with the club.

kingpin4
29/10/2013, 4:09 PM
I asked on the main forum was Lee Lynch out of contract and according to a Sligo fan he is out of contract next week and they expect him to sign for us. That would be another excellent signing and two good replacements for Gamble and Bradley.

2 excellent signings... But I would think the money from Bradley and Gamble leaving would be nearly all used up to cover Duggan and Lynch's wages. Still, I'm more than happy with a midfield 3 of Duggan, O'Leary and Lynch next season.

29/10/2013, 4:14 PM
O'Leary going on trial in the UK as far as I know and I've a feeling he won't be with us next season.

NeverFeltBetter
29/10/2013, 5:03 PM
Inevitable really. It was a minor miracle he stuck around for this year.

kingpin4
29/10/2013, 8:09 PM
Inevitable really. It was a minor miracle he stuck around for this year.

He's still under 23 isn't he? So don't think he has much choice in sticking around or not, someone has to pay compensation for him if he goes. (He is under 23 isn't he?)

Bayern Munchies
29/10/2013, 8:13 PM
He's still under 23 isn't he? So don't think he has much choice in sticking around or not, someone has to pay compensation for him if he goes. (He is under 23 isn't he?)

He's under 23 yeah, pretty sure he's 21 or maybe just turned 22

Has the signing of Duggan been confirmed by the club btw?

29/10/2013, 9:51 PM
Dave's only 21. Seems older because he made his debut for us at 17.

If anyone wants him they will have to pay a development fee which I think Limerick can set.

The only way around it is to do what Derry did with Griffin. They signed him and are making Dundalk take them to court over the signing to settle a fee meaning they had Griffin for the whole season in the meantime.

Been mentioned on twitter by two lads that do Limerick match reports for websites and papers. They have press briefings with Taylor and I have yet to see them put up something unless it was true so I'd take their word for it.

bluewhitearmy
29/10/2013, 10:14 PM
He's under 23 yeah, pretty sure he's 21 or maybe just turned 22

Has the signing of Duggan been confirmed by the club btw?

Not yet but its been reported in Cork. Will probably be announced by club tomorrow.

30/10/2013, 10:27 AM
Confirmation

http://www.limerickfc.ie/new-signing-duggan-joins-hometown-club

bluewhitearmy
30/10/2013, 11:17 AM
Out:

Jeffrey Judge
Stephen Bradley
Carel Tiofack
Stephen Walsh

kingpin4
30/10/2013, 2:17 PM
Out:

Jeffrey Judge
Stephen Bradley
Carel Tiofack
Stephen Walsh

Carel Tiofack? Really? We only signed him in the transfer window about 3 months ago...
That's a strange one, any speculation on why?

expected Bradley and Judge, thought Walsh would have gone too as one of the Right to Dream players is a keeper isn't he?

bluewhitearmy
30/10/2013, 2:33 PM
Carel Tiofack? Really? We only signed him in the transfer window about 3 months ago...
That's a strange one, any speculation on why?

expected Bradley and Judge, thought Walsh would have gone too as one of the Right to Dream players is a keeper isn't he?

Tiofack just hasnt done enough to earn a long term deal i think it was. Think he was signed til the end of the season to see if he could earn a longer deal.

Ya Ali Abbas is a keeper.

Also Duggan is signed on a 2 year deal..

kingpin4
30/10/2013, 3:41 PM
Tiofack just hasnt done enough to earn a long term deal i think it was. Think he was signed til the end of the season to see if he could earn a longer deal.

That's a pity. It took him long enough to get in to the team too.
Great news about Duggan, it'd be nice to get Dave O'Leary and Shane Tracy tied down to longer term deals too.

30/10/2013, 5:18 PM
At only 19 I thought Carel had a bit to offer. He could certainly improve but would have offered something off the bench.

30/10/2013, 8:30 PM
Don't like the look of Barry Ryan's tweet.

bluewhitearmy
30/10/2013, 10:45 PM
Don't like the look of Barry Ryan's tweet.

Saw that too doesnt look too good.

NeverFeltBetter
30/10/2013, 10:48 PM
"Ur bust ur balls all yr and for what. Hash tag" for anyone not on that site. Ominous for sure.

30/10/2013, 10:59 PM
Can someone explain to me why the feck he writes hash tag at the end of every tweet, its been annoying me for months.

30/10/2013, 11:11 PM

Typical Limerick, splashing the cash as usual.

Can someone explain to me why the feck he writes hash tag at the end of every tweet, its been annoying me for months.
I'd imagine he's taking the **** out of people who hashtag everything on twitter. You have to admire somebody who commits to a joke even when he's clearly angry about something else.

bluewhitearmy
30/10/2013, 11:14 PM
Typical Limerick, splashing the cash as usual.

I'd imagine he's taking the **** out of people who hashtag everything on twitter. You have to admire somebody who commits to a joke even when he's clearly angry about something else.

I heard we dont even talk to players at meetings we just keep throwing money at them until they sign.

Ive actually never seen him make a tweet without it.

30/10/2013, 11:16 PM
I heard we dont even talk to players at meetings we just keep throwing money at them until they sign.

Ive actually never seen him make a tweet without it.
Pat Dolan told me exactly the same thing. It's ominous for the rest of the league the way Limerick are throwing money at each and every player.

bluewhitearmy
30/10/2013, 11:18 PM
Pat Dolan told me exactly the same thing. It's ominous for the rest of the league the way Limerick are throwing money at each and every player.

Heres footage of our negotiations with Duggan.

http://collegecandy.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/make_it_rain.gif

IrishRossi
30/10/2013, 11:20 PM
what are the odds on limerick running out of money?

30/10/2013, 11:22 PM

Pat O'Sullivan's looking well.

bluewhitearmy
30/10/2013, 11:23 PM
Pat O'Sullivan's looking well.

We sent Axel to do it Pat was busy dropping gold bricks onto Rory Pattersons roof from a helicopter.

Bayern Munchies
30/10/2013, 11:23 PM

Bull****..we'd be throwing 100s not 50s'

30/10/2013, 11:24 PM
We sent Axel to do it Pat was busy dropping gold bricks onto Rory Pattersons roof from a helicopter.
I'm guessing Rory headered each and every brick.

bluewhitearmy
30/10/2013, 11:26 PM
I'm guessing Rory headered each and every brick.

Unconfirmed reports he caught one or two on the volley.

NeverFeltBetter
30/10/2013, 11:27 PM
what are the odds on limerick running out of money?

Well, I heard on MNS that we'll be renting out the Gaelic Grounds for the U-19s next year, so pretty high.

30/10/2013, 11:31 PM
Unconfirmed reports he caught one or two on the volley.
I heard he took a bite out of one too.

bluewhitearmy
30/10/2013, 11:41 PM
I heard he took a bite out of one too.

Had to check if they were real.

30/10/2013, 11:46 PM
Had to check if they were real.
This excuse didn't stand up in court for some reason.

bluewhitearmy
30/10/2013, 11:48 PM
This excuse didn't stand up in court for some reason.

He was nervous because in one of his Derry contracts it had in tiny tiny font (fish) in the part where it said he was to be paid in gold. Man has an aquarium to die for though.

NeverFeltBetter
31/10/2013, 3:34 PM
http://www.limerickfc.ie/limerick-fc-confirm-the-release-of-seven-players

Confirmation on Joe Gamble, Stephen Bradley, Brian O’Callaghan, Axel Bossekota, Carel Tiofack, Jeffrey Judge and Stephen Walsh.

Joe Gamble doesn't sound too happy. From Twitter:

"We will get this ****ing straight first and foremost I wasn't going to sign back with LimerickFC so don't be giving the big one saying...We didn't or couldn't offer a contract and I'm being release BS I wasn't taking a contract too much travelling 3 kids at home.. #sogetto**** (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23sogetto****&src=hash)"

31/10/2013, 3:47 PM
Joe Gamble doesn't sound too happy. From Twitter:

"We will get this ****ing straight first and foremost I wasn't going to sign back with LimerickFC so don't be giving the big one saying...We didn't or couldn't offer a contract and I'm being release BS I wasn't taking a contract too much travelling 3 kids at home.. #sogetto**** (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23sogetto****&src=hash)"

I think most people knew this already, or at least anyone with a bit of cop on would have knew this was the case. There's a barrage of idiots out there who think Gamble is either screwing Cork over, or have come up with their own stories as to why he was leaving to go to Cork.

He'll do himself no favours with tweets like that, but at the end of the day, it must be frustrating reading all these fabrications about himself everywhere.

31/10/2013, 4:37 PM
Did I miss something that was said about Gamble somewhere? Because it's poor comment from a professional footballer who captained the club and a total over reaction from him. What difference does it make what the press release says? He says he was never going to sign on again and the club say they weren't going to offer a new contract because they weren't in a position to. Using aggressive comments like he has in the twitter comment posted above is needless. He was happy to accept the wages with young kids for the last two and a half seasons. If he felt that strongly why didn't he request his contract to be torn up a season or two ago? He played two seasons for us and was well paid for it. Both parties have gone their separate ways, no more no less.

31/10/2013, 4:54 PM
I think most people knew this already, or at least anyone with a bit of cop on would have knew this was the case. There's a barrage of idiots out there who think Gamble is either screwing Cork over, or have come up with their own stories as to why he was leaving to go to Cork.

He'll do himself no favours with tweets like that, but at the end of the day, it must be frustrating reading all these fabrications about himself everywhere.

Are there people saying stuff like that? I haven't seen anything around myself.

bluewhitearmy
31/10/2013, 5:34 PM
Did I miss something that was said about Gamble somewhere? Because it's poor comment from a professional footballer who captained the club and a total over reaction from him. What difference does it make what the press release says? He says he was never going to sign on again and the club say they weren't going to offer a new contract because they weren't in a position to. Using aggressive comments like he has in the twitter comment posted above is needless. He was happy to accept the wages with young kids for the last two and a half seasons. If he felt that strongly why didn't he request his contract to be torn up a season or two ago? He played two seasons for us and was well paid for it. Both parties have gone their separate ways, no more no less.

He seems annoyed at the fact the club have made it out that it was their decision to release him when what i heard happened was that Joe told the club a few weeks before the end of the season that he didn't want a new contract and he wouldnt be staying because of the travelling. Now that is just what i have been told i have no idea if its true.

If that is true then i cant see why the club couldnt just say that Joe was leaving because he couldnt commit to travelling anymore but either way its definitely an over reaction by Joe which is a pity as it stains the good work he did for the club and the fact that he was always a lovely fella off the pitch.

Jeff Judge not happy either:
Wow that Taylor talks some rubbish what an absolute hamster #stealingaliving (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23stealingaliving&src=hash)

31/10/2013, 5:52 PM
He seems annoyed at the fact the club have made it out that it was their decision to release him when what i heard happened was that Joe told the club a few weeks before the end of the season that he didn't want a new contract and he wouldnt be staying because of the travelling. Now that is just what i have been told i have no idea if its true.

If that is true then i cant see why the club couldnt just say that Joe was leaving because he couldnt commit to travelling anymore but either way its definitely an over reaction by Joe which is a pity as it stains the good work he did for the club and the fact that he was always a lovely fella off the pitch.

Jeff Judge not happy either:
Wow that Taylor talks some rubbish what an absolute hamster #stealingaliving (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23stealingaliving&src=hash)

Ya the club could have just said that but as you say a total overreaction by gamble. I don't think it makes any difference really. If the club had said something like joe wanted big wages and we couldn't afford it I'd understand his reaction but they didn't.

We all know why Judgy was released, he was his own worst enemy all season with the sendings off. No point taking that out on Taylor now.

NeverFeltBetter
31/10/2013, 5:58 PM
Jeez, between Gamble, Judge and Ryan this is becoming Trap-esque.

bluewhitearmy
31/10/2013, 6:01 PM
Jeez, between Gamble, Judge and Ryan this is becoming Trap-esque.

Have a look at who favourited Barrys tweet.

Also is favourited a word?

31/10/2013, 6:12 PM
Have a look at who favourited Barrys tweet.

Also is favourited a word?

Ya was worried about that favourite alright.

If Barry is gone then I wouldn't bee too impressed with the club slapping it all over Facebook about him making the rte team of season if I was him. Looks like a slap in the face in my opinion.

They must be still in discussions with Tracy and Barry though, otherwise they would have announced them being gone. Barry never replied to people asking was he gone either.

kingpin4
31/10/2013, 9:06 PM
Ya was worried about that favourite alright.

If Barry is gone then I wouldn't bee too impressed with the club slapping it all over Facebook about him making the rte team of season if I was him. Looks like a slap in the face in my opinion.

They must be still in discussions with Tracy and Barry though, otherwise they would have announced them being gone. Barry never replied to people asking was he gone either.

I have heard it was over contract talks, apparently (take it with a pinch of salt as its 3rd hand info) the club have offered the same contracts as last year. Some players who felt they deserved an increase, aren't happy.
When I heard it, I thought it was initially just opening offers to show their intent to keep them. But it appears the club haven't increased their offer since and have said they won't be.
2 ways to look at it ...fair play to the club for sticking to their guns and saying 'we think you're worth this much, so this is your offer'
But the other side, if I was Barry Ryan or Dave O'Leary and just had a very good season, I'd be expecting an increase in my wages.

I don't think any of those players will have many other options of where they can go so the club could be playing hardball until they see who they can get.

31/10/2013, 9:29 PM
I have heard it was over contract talks, apparently (take it with a pinch of salt as its 3rd hand info) the club have offered the same contracts as last year. Some players who felt they deserved an increase, aren't happy.
When I heard it, I thought it was initially just opening offers to show their intent to keep them. But it appears the club haven't increased their offer since and have said they won't be.
2 ways to look at it ...fair play to the club for sticking to their guns and saying 'we think you're worth this much, so this is your offer'
But the other side, if I was Barry Ryan or Dave O'Leary and just had a very good season, I'd be expecting an increase in my wages.

I don't think any of those players will have many other options of where they can go so the club could be playing hardball until they see who they can get.

If we had won a cup or something I could see why players would want increases but we finished 7th in the league. It was a good season and the players did very well for the club, that certainly can't be taken away from them but I can't see why players would get pay increases to be honest. The only way I could see players deserving an increase is if they were on small wages last year then definitely the likes of Barry and Dave deserve an increase. I suppose none of us really know the finer details (like what they got last season) so we can't comment on it too much.

Twitter isn't the place to be airing grievances to be honest and certainly doesn't do a player any favours when it comes to negotiations.

Hopefully some deals can be hammered out though. Keeping a core of the team is vital to pushing on next season in my opinion.

kingpin4
31/10/2013, 10:46 PM
If we had won a cup or something I could see why players would want increases but we finished 7th in the league. It was a good season and the players did very well for the club, that certainly can't be taken away from them but I can't see why players would get pay increases to be honest. The only way I could see players deserving an increase is if they were on small wages last year then definitely the likes of Barry and Dave deserve an increase. I suppose none of us really know the finer details (like what they got last season) so we can't comment on it too much.

Twitter isn't the place to be airing grievances to be honest and certainly doesn't do a player any favours when it comes to negotiations.

Hopefully some deals can be hammered out though. Keeping a core of the team is vital to pushing on next season in my opinion.

Completely agree with you... Only a handful of people could tell you what they actually earn, so if it was a case that Barry (just using him as an example) earned 100 a week, then fair enough, he deserves an increase. If he earns 700 a week, it's harder to agree he deserves an increase. But as one of our best performers this season, he should be rewarded.

I think the club are probably making them sweat a bit to see who they can get and for what wages. after losing Gamble, Bradley, Purcell, O'Callaghan, Foley, Tiofack and Judge, there should be a good bit freed up in the budget.

In one of Taylor's interviews though, he was talking about having as many local lads as possible, if he really meant that, you'd think Shane Tracy would be a priority.

31/10/2013, 11:29 PM
Are there people saying stuff like that? I haven't seen anything around myself.

Seeing a lot of it on Facebook. Those 'airtricity banter page' and the like are comedy gold at times.