View Full Version : Crowdometer

blobbyblob
14/10/2004, 12:02 PM
Welcome to the Republic of Ireland Crowdometer

This will record the crowds performance in Lansdowne for the remainder of its illustrious life

Rep of Ireland v Faroe Islands
Game kicked off with a gutsy National Anthem. Decent performance in the 1st half with a mixture of Stand up for the boys in green, Ole ole and come on you boys in green. Athmosphere added to by the Mexican Wave and definitely added to the Irish performance. Second half was hard to build up to. Keano Keano made an appearance followed by No 1 is Robbie Keane, No 2 is Robbie Keane. Crowds enthusiasm petered out as time wore on and limped to a quiet finish. Marked improvement on previous performance. Lacking fitness but heading in the right direction. 7/10

Bluetonic
14/10/2004, 12:12 PM
7 out of 10....do you work for the S*n?

The atmoshopere was ****e yesterday, more like 3 out of 10. Same boring old chants. Same ****s asking you to constantly sit down. Same poeple getting into the ground 10 minutes late and leaving 10 minutes early. Same people taling ****e about their day in work and how they prefer the "rugger" as it's on at the weekends. Same old cheers for the ****ing DART going by. Same old ****s who know nothing about football.

End of rant. Feel the love.

14/10/2004, 12:30 PM
Thought the atmosphere was much better last night than it has been recently, especially considering everyone was expecting to roll the Faroes over.

G-Man
14/10/2004, 12:34 PM
I was in the West Upper, and while glad to get a ticket, especially for free, I was preferring to have one in South bucket. But having seen it from a good central view, the atmosphere there seemed pretty poor. The lads in the North bucket stood for the whole game and kept on singing and kept the Paris atmosphere going, but the south end was only keeping in touch with the rest of the ground. the west was slow to catch onto the 'stand up . .' song, but myself and 2 others used to stand up every time it started, would have preferrd to stand for the whole game like saturday, really gets the singing and atmosphere going better like the lads in the north bucket.

14/10/2004, 12:38 PM
whats a crow - dometer :confused:

blobbyblob
14/10/2004, 12:45 PM
whats a crow - dometer :confused:

An ometer for a crowd

Dublin12
14/10/2004, 12:48 PM
I thought the atmosphere well below par,we need to it into a cauldron of fear for the opposition,maybe get some boos and whistling going when the opposition are on the ball and when we are slowing down get behind the team rather then just when we attack.We could also do with a later kick off time,maybe 9 o'clock,this way there will be a proper build up of atmosphere around the city,plus the cnuts that might turn up in suits can think about getting home to get some proper clobber on .

Beavis
14/10/2004, 12:55 PM
Not great but an improvement - hopefully heading in the right direction.

Kowalski
14/10/2004, 12:55 PM
i felt last night the crowd were expecting a lot more than they got, thats why it was subdued at times, i went last nite expecting 4 or 5 goals at least.
i feel the bigger the game we have, the better the fans are.
stand up in the boys in green is a very good chant & has been the best one at the two wc qual home games so far.
que sera, sera is load of crap & should'nt be chanted for a while yet, maybe if were doing the business against the french or swiss at home it will be ok but at the moment its very cocky & premature.

KildareBhoy
14/10/2004, 1:20 PM
Have to admit the south terrace is becoming **** poor for atmosphere. Apart from the schoolboy part and the area around it hardly anyone wants to sing. There are others who try to start songs going but are told to 'sit down'. Anyone else agree

zinedineontour
14/10/2004, 1:41 PM
Agreed it seems to have reversed from the north been the crap terrace now the south terrace is crap. With it been the bigger terrace the songs should be coming from there but nothing last night. By the time we joined into most of the songs they were over. Too many muppets on the terrace giving out about everything we did. Thought atmosphere not bad but could be hell of a lot better .. I think people on the terraces ( buckets ) should be allowed and encouraged to stand for the whole game

Pat O' Banton
14/10/2004, 1:47 PM
Doing the bar stool bit last night.

In the first half the atmosphere came across really well (even the commentators commenting on it on more than one occasion), sounded like the place was rocking, second half died a bit.

I agree that there is too limited an amount of songs, but for the time being they may as well be sung until we get some more.

onenilgameover
14/10/2004, 1:54 PM
I was east lower and I really got a feel for what people have been moaning about it was dull and people didnt want to support....I am usually in the north and thats a bit (only a bit we can all do better) of crack but this sitting at football matches is a farce. Will not be in the stands for awhile again with people telling you to sit down and comin in 15 minutes late to the second half....

ger121
14/10/2004, 2:20 PM
was in the north myself and we did make an effort even if at first we were told to sit down by some auld fella when we tried to get a "stand up for the boys in green" chant going after 5 mins. Thought the north and the North part of the East stand were good. South was a bit quieter than I thought and well we all know about the west. Overall better the usual so its a start.

Rover 2 U
14/10/2004, 2:34 PM
Have to admit the south terrace is becoming **** poor for atmosphere. Apart from the schoolboy part and the area around it hardly anyone wants to sing. There are others who try to start songs going but are told to 'sit down'. Anyone else agree

I was one of the ones sitting (or standing actually) just under the school boy section, trying to get the crowd going in the South Terrace. Around us was great craic but we had to work damn hard to get the rest of the lads going. The schoolboy section were great though. They'd hear us singing a new song and then a few minutes later they'd be singing it with their own version of the words they thought they heard. Great bit of buzz it was too. Fair play to each and every one of them. Horse as anything I am today though. Bloody good job I don't work in a call center cause they would have gotten nothing out of me for the last 4 days! :D

14/10/2004, 3:13 PM
Keano Keano made an appearance followed by No 1 is Robbie Keane, No 2 is Robbie Keane.

Blasphemy! People should sing it properly or not sing it at all ;)

And No. 1 is Gary Breen, and No. 2 is Gary Breen
And No. Threee is Gary Breen... :)

Karlos
14/10/2004, 3:22 PM
Having spent almost all of my Lansdowne years on the South Terrace (my first being Vs Spain in '89) with the exception of occaisionally nicking the old man's west stand freebie during times of hardship, I must admit it's fairly crap sitting there now! After the introduction of the seats on the south, it seemed like the place to be was the east as they had the largest amout of fans clumped together but even now that seems to be dropping and god knows where we'd be now without the introduction of the Eircom League fans on the North! If I could I'd be exchanging my ticket for one in the North.

Maybe the FAI should look to introduce a 'singing section' like many UK clubs have adopted as a way of clumping singing fans together (not just Eircom League) and leaving the boring ones behind! Unfortunetly doing this involves organistation and that's not necessarily the FAI's strong point (2 charges for French tickets on my credit card spring to mind!)

NOTE TO FANS: it is NOT a necessity to leave 25 minutes into the first half to get a burger and chips!! :mad: go to fu*king McDonalds if you want them, it's a football match not a walk through entertainment section on the way to your dinner!!! :eek:

regards

joeraki
14/10/2004, 5:27 PM
Was on the North Terrace, good craic amoung the EL fans. Just wondering what sections of the North are EL fans based ?? Just wondering cos where I was in N04 it was full of EL fans then down the front there where more EL fans wanting to stand followed by a couple of rows of people moaning telling people to sit down, got a bit heated as well until a few stewerts sorted had words

Beavis
14/10/2004, 5:47 PM
I was one of the ones sitting (or standing actually) just under the school boy section, trying to get the crowd going in the South Terrace. Around us was great craic but we had to work damn hard to get the rest of the lads going.
We were in the East for the first half,and could see yous singing down there so thought we'd head down and try give yiz a hand.Fortunately no one was checking tickets and there were 2 free seats beside the schoolboy.

Schoolboys do sing but no one takes their high pitch voices seriously and there a pack of wannabe scumbag @rseholes if you ask me.South is terrible,all second half the back section of the south was a chorus of 'will ye sit down for fuch sake' :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Docboy
14/10/2004, 5:50 PM
Don't think that anything can really be done bout this.I've had east upper tickets by the north terrace now for the last three campaigns and last night was one of the best atmospheres that I've experienced,not that thats saying much.Maybe its to do with the older crowd ie.50+ that tend to sit there,me thinks that singing and the craic are the youngs lads game.Away games the excitement is there of being on the hols plus you're looking forward to it weeks in advance and the beer helps.

P.S. I've had the same lad sit behind me for 3 years who commentates the whole way through the game,nice!

14/10/2004, 6:14 PM
I've said it before but the EL fans really should be in one of the lower sections of the stands not the bucket seats. I was in the east lower and while I could see all the lads in the bucket seats standing up and clapping, you couldn't hear a thing from them, despite the fact they were obviously singing. The noise simpley gets completley lost when there's no roof overhead, it really does make a big big difference. I think in one of the stands with a roof overhead, which is why the lower would be best, you'd get alot more people chanting along with you all.

Don Vito
14/10/2004, 6:56 PM
plus the cnuts that might turn up in suits can think about getting home to get some proper clobber on .

Whats the fcuking problem with wearing a suit? The time of the matches doesnt allow people time to go home and change so its either miss the match or go in the suit. Its highly unintelligent of you to tar all those who wear a suit with the same brush. Tosser.

14/10/2004, 7:16 PM
Bring a jersey with you to work? :confused:

14/10/2004, 7:24 PM
Bring a jersey with you to work? :confused:

I assume you mean an Ireland jersey!

Still too many Celtic. Shamrock Rovers and Donegal shirts....and worst of all Ireland Rugby shirts. :mad: :mad:

p.r.o.c.
14/10/2004, 10:31 PM
yeah, was in west upper and atmosphere was ****e ! everytime we stood up some gob****es started shouting sit down ! no one around us were singing or clapping....pathetic!..........also those gob****es left 15 mins before end of game.......i wish these "supporters" would realise that YOU HAVE TO MAKE NOISE to support your team.......lads if we dont do something soon landsdown will lose any intimadation factor it has left for visiting teams!

Dublin12
15/10/2004, 9:51 AM
The only person that needs to wear a suit is the manager anybody else that turns up to a football match in a suit should be barred from entering :D ,next time bring a change of clothing

Bluetonic
15/10/2004, 10:13 AM
Whats the fcuking problem with wearing a suit? The time of the matches doesnt allow people time to go home and change so its either miss the match or go in the suit. Its highly unintelligent of you to tar all those who wear a suit with the same brush. Tosser.

The thing is it's necessary to wear a suit to a call center job you tosser!

feel the 15k a year!

Cowboy
15/10/2004, 10:21 AM
The thing is it's necessary to wear a suit to a call center job you tosser!

feel the 15k a year!

Why? your on the phone, no one will know

Bluetonic
15/10/2004, 10:25 AM
Why? your on the phone, no one will know

Touché.... :D

barglee
15/10/2004, 10:29 AM
thats a load of crap.
so having a jersey on makes you a REAL supporter.
like all those kids who have Man Utd jerseys on..........

it deosnt matter whether ur wearing a fuc*in wet suit, as long as you cheer on the team you a REAL supporter

RIGHT!

Bluetonic
15/10/2004, 10:33 AM
as you cheer on the team you a REAL supporter

RIGHT!

Whats this got to do with "Real"! ...bloody Spanish! :D

15/10/2004, 1:02 PM
was at the munster v wasps rugby semi final in lansdowne earlier this year and the Irish football supporters could learn a lot from the munster fans. every person had a red top on and it was mighty impressive sight........ even felt obliged to wear my "be the reds" t-shirt from korea '02 even though not a munster man!!

also... many of them had fog-horns with them and the noise was terrific before the match........ real proper big-game atmosphere in lansdowne...... no reason why lansdowne cant be a sea of green and a cauldron of noise every time we play

15/10/2004, 1:48 PM
also... many of them had fog-horns with them and the noise was terrific before the match........ real proper big-game atmosphere in lansdowne...... no reason why lansdowne cant be a sea of green and a cauldron of noise every time we play

Fog horns are banned at football matches but you're right though.
Pete and I were at that game too and the atmosphere was impressive.
Helped in no small part by the beer tents on the back pitch.
I genuinely think that football suffers because so many people who go to International games don't regularly attend football games and therefore assume that atmosphere is provided for them.
Too much watching Sky Sports and not enough being a supporter.

Breener
15/10/2004, 2:54 PM
thats a load of crap.
so having a jersey on makes you a REAL supporter.
like all those kids who have Man Utd jerseys on..........

it deosnt matter whether ur wearing a fuc*in wet suit, as long as you cheer on the team you a REAL supporter

RIGHT!

I was at the French game and feck all of the French Supporters were wearing Blue and it looked terrible in theyre home ground. all the irish were dressed in green and it looked excellent. All u could c in the stadium was the green of the irish. I think everyone should wear green at lansdowne. I got changed outta my shirt and tie and into my jersey b4 i went to the Faroe game and i think everyone should do the same if they havent got time to go home!!

End of Rant ;)

15/10/2004, 3:32 PM
I got changed outta my shirt and tie and into my jersey b4 i went to the Faroe game and i think everyone should do the same if they havent got time to go home!!

That used to be part of my pre-match ritual.
It was the official start of my match build-up.
Ducking into the gents at work and donning the green.
I also think that everyone should have a scarf.
They look deadly when everyone is holding them up for "The Fields" of swinging them around their head while "singing",
la, la la,
la, la la, la,
la la, la, la, la, la....

barglee
15/10/2004, 4:51 PM
I was at the French game and feck all of the French Supporters were wearing Blue and it looked terrible in theyre home ground. all the irish were dressed in green and it looked excellent. All u could c in the stadium was the green of the irish. I think everyone should wear green at lansdowne. I got changed outta my shirt and tie and into my jersey b4 i went to the Faroe game and i think everyone should do the same if they havent got time to go home!!

End of Rant ;)

i was at the game too and believe me i was as green as could be....

just wanted to make the point that wearing the jersey doesnt make u a top supporter...
therell always be enough green in landsdowne road , its just many of them arent making enough noise!

i agree with u as far as the french were concerned....

joeraki
15/10/2004, 6:50 PM
Just cos you wear a jersey doesn't make you some sort of super fan. I went over on the eurostar to Paris with all that Rovers lot. (I was a bit worried to be honest) But none of them wore colours of any sort and sang all the way over and during the game. Went to the game the other night and the same boys where there no colours again (stone island and bloody armani everywhere) but trying their best to get the songs going

1 9 2 8
15/10/2004, 7:13 PM
Just cos you wear a jersey doesn't make you some sort of super fan. I went over on the eurostar to Paris with all that Rovers lot. (I was a bit worried to be honest) But none of them wore colours of any sort and sang all the way over and during the game. Went to the game the other night and the same boys where there no colours again (stone island and bloody armani everywhere) but trying their best to get the songs going
Casuals should be banned too! :cool:
A few green flares would add to the atmosphere

joeraki
15/10/2004, 7:29 PM
Casuals should be banned too! :cool:

B4 I went to Paris with them Yes. After Paris a definite No

16/10/2004, 5:52 PM
Fog horns are banned at football matches but you're right though.
Pete and I were at that game too and the atmosphere was impressive.
Helped in no small part by the beer tents on the back pitch.
I genuinely think that football suffers because so many people who go to International games don't regularly attend football games and therefore assume that atmosphere is provided for them.
Too much watching Sky Sports and not enough being a supporter.

Here here

I had a bugle on the North Terrace on Wednsday- myself and the Faroese trumpeter had a bit of a jam during the game :D

Donal81
19/10/2004, 4:06 PM
I thought the atmosphere against the Faroes was good in the first half but rubbish in the second half. I was in the north buckets with my friends and was extremely annoyed by the crowd surrounding me. Not everyone has to belt out songs constantly but people were chatting to themselves while the match was ongoing. Fair enough, the match was brutal and no matter how hard you try, when the team aren't bothering their arse, it's difficult to keep on singing and chanting, but people were actually talking amongst themselves. I'm not a snob and anyone who really wants to go to an Ireland match should be allowed to but I suspect many tickets are given away as corporate gifts. The FAI should be strung up for this, it's terrible form.

Dotsy
20/10/2004, 8:41 AM
I thought the atmosphere against the Faroes was good in the first half but rubbish in the second half. I was in the north buckets with my friends and was extremely annoyed by the crowd surrounding me. Not everyone has to belt out songs constantly but people were chatting to themselves while the match was ongoing. Fair enough, the match was brutal and no matter how hard you try, when the team aren't bothering their arse, it's difficult to keep on singing and chanting, but people were actually talking amongst themselves. I'm not a snob and anyone who really wants to go to an Ireland match should be allowed to but I suspect many tickets are given away as corporate gifts. The FAI should be strung up for this, it's terrible form.

Ah here. I'm all for people making an effort to create an atmosphere but I can't believe you are suggesting we can't talk to our mates during the match. I sing and chant with the best of them when I attend a match but I have to hold my hand up and admit that occassionally I might have a brief word with me mates about something that isn't to do with football.

$Leon$
21/10/2004, 8:36 AM
as far as i'm concerned all fans should wear sits to matches. maybe wearing a green white and gold tie could be used to show who ur supporting

Karlos
21/10/2004, 10:19 AM
:D how about we all wear suits to the next Ireland match but go with our scarfs, headgear etc on aswell and sing our hearts out - would make a very good point to some of the corporate clients and be a good laugh and prove it's not what you wear but how much noise your making. that's one thing I've always liked about going to Ireland games, we can have a laugh at ourselves!

DISCLAIMER - I am not using any words like 'real fans' 'don't' 'wear' and 'suits' in the same sentence together!! I thank you! :eek: