View Full Version : Bray

28/10/2013, 8:47 AM
Tonight's game is also live on Shannonside for anyone who can't make it. Teams news is that Danny O'Connor is out for Bray while Treacy is still suspended. Let's keep it tight and take them at home!

Darklordsbane
28/10/2013, 11:17 AM
history shows the underdog usually only gets 1 chance. lets beat them tonight and Friday can take care of itself. They have the worst defence in the premier lets score a few tonight

28/10/2013, 1:17 PM
I assume Tc wont make any changes from his starting lineup the other night. Why change a winning formula?

IrishRossi
28/10/2013, 1:35 PM
this is TC were talking about tho

28/10/2013, 2:59 PM
A lot of cramps and tired bodies, Rhys Gorman was already dodgey going into the game and I know 1 town player was down with a flu so Doyle may come in and possibly 1 other change. Just hope he starts Ebbe again and not O'Brien.

Darklordsbane
28/10/2013, 3:13 PM
Cousin was on the radio on Saturday saying they were going in on Sunday for physio and massage so I assume that will have sorted the cramp issues

Briuk
28/10/2013, 6:46 PM
Radio in internet¿

NeverFeltBetter
28/10/2013, 6:47 PM
Tonight's game is also live on Shannonside for anyone who can't make it. Teams news is that Danny O'Connor is out for Bray while Treacy is still suspended. Let's keep it tight and take them at home!

Sure about that?

Edit: Only broadcasting from 8 on.

Darklordsbane
28/10/2013, 10:16 PM
Well that was interesting, we were pretty bad and pretty good, Can't knock the effort though, even though he was very good at filling in at center half, I thought Rhys was badly missed in midfield, (no one to make them pass sideways and back instead of forwards)
Would have taken a draw at half time, but thought we should have won it in the end, not sure we will get away with giving the ball away that much on Friday, having said that Bray are no great shakes either so I think we can do it especially on the bigger pitch at city calling
Hugh credit to the lads for getting us back in the game and massive shout out for the fans who got us there, absolutely brilliant, showed Brays supporters what it means to support a team,
Packed house on Friday night I hope

28/10/2013, 11:41 PM
I think we took a while to get used to playing at the higher tempo that a Premier Division team plays at, plus the early injuries. Second half was a great performance. We'll still have a tough job ahead of us but hopefully we'll have a big and passionate crowd. Great Town support tonight. Reminded me of the glory days.

Darklordsbane
29/10/2013, 6:36 AM
[QUOTE=Longfordian;1718439]I think we took a while to get used to playing at the higher tempo that a Premier Division team plays at good observation that I didn't think of that, I thought Bray got very tired in the 2nd half, that's why I think we can do it on ccs's bigger pitch.
Hard to call motm Chris Dean & Keith Quinn very good 2nd half as was Rhys Gorman (playing out of position) who I thought showed great maturity to realise when he slipped in the box (lucky not to have cost us a goal) to change his boots with blades for boots with studs, also thought he did well against the wiley old fox Jason Byrne, good performance from Ebbe once he settled into the game I thought he did well lovely goal as well

29/10/2013, 6:49 AM
Keith Quinn and Connolly were very good too I thought. Everyone did well second half really.

29/10/2013, 7:33 AM
[QUOTE=Longfordian;1718439]I think we took a while to get used to playing at the higher tempo that a Premier Division team plays at good observation that I didn't think of that, I thought Bray got very tired in the 2nd half, that's why I think we can do it on ccs's bigger pitch.
Hard to call motm Chris Dean & Keith Quinn very good 2nd half as was Rhys Gorman (playing out of position) who I thought showed great maturity to realise when he slipped in the box (lucky not to have cost us a goal) to change his boots with blades for boots with studs, also thought he did well against the wiley old fox Jason Byrne, good performance from Ebbe once he settled into the game I thought he did well lovely goal as well

Chris Deans man of the match? your kidding me? Dunno he stayed on the pitch, the bloke is a scumbag. Should have seen red for spitting in Byrne's face.

On the game itself we should have been out of sight but you came back very well in the 2nd half and fully deserved the draw. Overall we were terrible, showed no composure at all, awful 90 minutes from us.

Darklordsbane
29/10/2013, 8:01 AM
Didn't know he spat in Bynre's face, how come you saw that and the linesman and ref didn't, if it's true I totally agree with you straight red, maybe fitzy could ask Rhys he seems to have an in there and Rhys was beside them when it allegedly happened
Thought I saw Steven Kenny there I wonder who he was watching it was hardly a player from Bray as he could have watched them all season

29/10/2013, 8:36 AM
Like Longfordian, I think it took us the first half to adjust to premier division pace. Extremely positive for Friday that we were able to do so for the second half. We were lucky to go in only 2 nil down, but the response was excellent. We still gave them chances second half though - that one that went off the cross bar and post would've been killer I think.

Notwithstanding any allegations of spitting (hard to see everyone else missing it except Bray fans), I thought Deans played well. I think our fans are unnecessarily harsh on him. Ebbe I thought played well too. In fact, given the disruption caused by the forced early change I think we adjusted well come the second half. TC's taken a lot of stick, but in fairness to him he's turned it around the last series, and whatever happens on Friday, the play offs have provided some great moments.

29/10/2013, 8:57 AM
Didn't know he spat in Bynre's face, how come you saw that and the linesman and ref didn't, if it's true I totally agree with you straight red, maybe fitzy could ask Rhys he seems to have an in there and Rhys was beside them when it allegedly happened
Thought I saw Steven Kenny there I wonder who he was watching it was hardly a player from Bray as he could have watched them all season

Trust me it happened! No more than 10 yards away from it. It was a few minutes after Deans when through Byrne for a shortcut and got booked for it, he kept going at Byrne and mouthing off, Jayo gave it back and went the ball went out of play over near the dressing rooms Deans followed Byrne over and spat straight in his face. Pure filth. The Inpho photographer right beside us was taking photos of it, i'm be pretty sure he got the incident. Byrne even showed the ref the spit on his face but as he didn't see it could do nothing about it. I'd say about 10/15 people at max over beside us saw it, including 2 ex-Wanderers players who played with Deans when he was at Bray. In fairness you can only see something like that when you are pretty close up, wouldn't expect anyone else in the ground to have seen it apart form the 10/15 people very close by.

There were a few LoI managers there, Buckley was in attendance too. Can't imagine they were watching anyone being honest, not 1 player on either side that could make the likes of Dundalk, St. Pats etc.. better sides.

29/10/2013, 9:06 AM
It's a bit surprising this photographic evidence isn't out there yet.

There were a few LoI managers there, Buckley was in attendance too. Can't imagine they were watching anyone being honest, not 1 player on either side that could make the likes of Dundalk, St. Pats etc.. better sides.
Yeah, no one would be interested in a player that's scored 27 goals this season (so far)... Bray still don't see it in Sully? ;)

Actually, Byrne would still do a job for any premier division club, maybe not as a starter, but definitely off the bench. Whether he'd go anywhere else is a different matter I guess.

29/10/2013, 9:55 AM
It's a bit surprising this photographic evidence isn't out there yet.

Yeah, no one would be interested in a player that's scored 27 goals this season (so far)... Bray still don't see it in Sully? ;)

Actually, Byrne would still do a job for any premier division club, maybe not as a starter, but definitely off the bench. Whether he'd go anywhere else is a different matter I guess.

Sullivan is a good player alright but he left us, nothing to do with Bray not seeing anything in him, he left for fame and fortune when Sporting Fingal came knocking. He had a brilliant few seasons with our U21's and we offered him a contract for the following season but took the much better money on offer at the time, which i wouldn't blame him for! Still don't think any player on the pitch last night would start for any of the top 6/7 clubs in the Premier, possibly a few would be back up players as you say.

As for the spit, it happened. I know what i saw, it was only ten yards away, twas as clear as day. Deans is a scumbag.

peadar1987
29/10/2013, 10:00 AM
I always used to like Deans when him and Deggsy were the heart of our defence. Pity he's apparently such a scumbag!

L.T.F.C.
29/10/2013, 10:45 AM
Is it just me or has Derek O'Brien really come into some sort of form lately? His holding of the ball up the pitch has been fantastic and his ball control has been very good too. I think he has really come into it at the right time of the season!

prince20
29/10/2013, 11:08 AM
As for the spit, it happened. I know what i saw, it was only ten yards away, twas as clear as day. Deans is a scumbag.

Would have to say that Deans is a complete scummer. Has previous form for doing this. Dirtbag.

29/10/2013, 12:49 PM
Sullivan is a good player alright but he left us, nothing to do with Bray not seeing anything in him, he left for fame and fortune when Sporting Fingal came knocking. He had a brilliant few seasons with our U21's and we offered him a contract for the following season but took the much better money on offer at the time, which i wouldn't blame him for! Still don't think any player on the pitch last night would start for any of the top 6/7 clubs in the Premier, possibly a few would be back up players as you say.

Davy himself feels he didn't get a fair crack of the whip in Bray judging from a few interviews he's done.

fitzpatrick10
29/10/2013, 12:56 PM
has anyone heard the story with shaw ?

29/10/2013, 1:58 PM
Is it just me or has Derek O'Brien really come into some sort of form lately? His holding of the ball up the pitch has been fantastic and his ball control has been very good too. I think he has really come into it at the right time of the season!

I think we just have to accept he prefers to drop deep and come inside to cross, we all love wingers who want to play as high up as possible and attack their man every time but thats not his style, I think hes proved to be a decent impact sub.

count cambi
29/10/2013, 1:58 PM

The reason O'Sullivan left bray has zero to do with money or 'fame and fortune',he was offered €30 travel expences to move to fingal but the real reason he went was he was promised a fair crack at earning a place on the fingal first team, he never got this in bray no matter how he performed on their u21's,lesser players who came from bigger clubs were constantly picked ahead of him by eddie gormley. Seems like a big mistake by bray especially after last night!!

Bosco
29/10/2013, 2:32 PM
Thought we were dead and buried at half time,Bray seemed to be in 2nd gear knocking it around for fun!Think Bray thought they had it won starting the second half but all credit to the lads for the second half performance!Agree we really missed Rhys in the middle,did we not have any centre half on the bench?Rhys and Deans playing as the back two is possibly the weakest back two we've played all season!

Didn't see the spitting incident but wouldn't be suprised...don't agree that the criticism Deans gets is over the top, from the way he conducts himself on the pitch it annoys me that he has the captains armband and his huge ego is there for all to see!Having said that he has played fantastic in these play off games!

Not sure if i'd say O'Brien is coming good at the right stage of the season,he was very poor in the games leading up to the play offs and got a lot of stick for his performance down in Galway which he was well aware of.He seems to have copped on since and has played well coming on as an impact sub in the last two games.Not sure if i'd start him or Ebbe on Friday, Ebbe has been poor recently despite his goal last night.

On a seperate note there was a great buzz in Bray last night, felt like the old days!We've given ourselves every chance on Friday and i'd expect us to get our biggest crowd in years!

29/10/2013, 2:49 PM
Having said that he has played fantastic in these play off games!
That's what I was getting at - he was getting stick last night, even though (imo) he played alright. It's happened with a few players over the last couple of seasons - rightly or wrongly, people haven't liked a player, so they get stick regardless of whether they're playing well on a given day (or not).

Green&whitearmy
29/10/2013, 2:54 PM
I saw the spitting incident as well, absolute scum bag to spit at someone. I think i'd rather my legs broke then to be spat on and I hope he has his legs broke for doing it, deserves nothing less. Fair play to the Longford fans, they were alot better then the brays fans, but thats not hard at all, the majority of the town in bray doesnt even know the club exists and the club dont know how or what to do to get the town behind the team or even make the town aware of the club and the matches. Its a shame really, so dont be thinking your the only team to be better than our fans, happens nearly every home game unfortunately.

Captain2007
29/10/2013, 4:26 PM
Well done to Longford, thought they were terrific in the 2nd half, our lads just didn't come out for 2nd half, I thought Davy did have a point to prove as would Don O Neill (Sub) two players that should have been given a chance imo, unfortunately Mr Gormley didn't rate them. Longford will be full of confidence going in to Fri game on the back of the 2nd half display and would justify favourtism. Hopefully it's as exciting as mondays game.

Darklordsbane
29/10/2013, 6:14 PM
If O' Brien is starting to play well now is it just a coincidense that his contract is more than likely up on Friday night and also if he looks ok now why hasn't he so far
That is why he and players like him drive me mad, have ability not bothered until it's put up to them.
Ask yourselves this, did we miss him when he was injured? was it just a coincidense that the good results started after he was injured? I think not
the young lads look to the older lads when they are in the **** for encouragement and to see a leader leading by example, the never say die attitude of most of De Town player spreads throughout the team thats why we are where we are, if you have guys giving half hearted effort that spread through a team as well
Cousins know this thats why he doesn't let O' Brien play full games anymore, I believe O' Brien is starting to show a bit of form because he is trying to hang onto his place as a town player,
I know lots of you think it's rediculous to blame one guy (and you are probably right but he doesn't help)on our bad form a few months ago but the results don't lie
He stood around last night as well even if he was was loads better there is no excuse for a guy with his experience to play the way he does, Sorry for the long rant

29/10/2013, 7:07 PM
I'm guessing Bray and Dundalk both play at the same time.

29/10/2013, 7:27 PM
were the rte cameras at the game last night lads? btw it was great Barry Ferguson at the game last night.. I hadnt seen him there in ages at a Longford town game..

Darklordsbane
29/10/2013, 8:03 PM
[QUOTE=Charlie Darwin;1718565]I'm guessing Bray and Dundalk both play at the same time.

I meant there is tv coverage plus they would play each other several time during the season not so with the first division

29/10/2013, 8:15 PM
Would you scout a player based on RTE's horror coverage of the league? No thanks. If anything, Longford playing on Fridays and leading the league for half the season would have made them a much more sensible bet for a scouting mission than Bray this year.

29/10/2013, 8:24 PM
Kenny has apparently been quoted as saying he'd love to sign Davy O'Sullivan. There's been rumours of him being interested in Rhys Gorman too.

29/10/2013, 8:36 PM
Gorman looks a touch slow to me but I've only seen him once outside of youth games. As far as I know Kenny never gave him a game at Rovers, but then again he didn't play anyone under the age of 25.

29/10/2013, 8:52 PM
He hasn't got great pace alright but he's a good footballer. Only 19 so he could develop further. Could be just talk anyway.

29/10/2013, 9:27 PM
I think with a bit of conditioning he'd be a good Premier Division player. He reminds me a bit of Jordan Keegan in terms of his body shape and the way he looks to be doing less than he is, but certainly he could improve with the right guidance. Tony Cousins probably isn't the right person to ask about keeping yourself in shape.

L.T.F.C.
29/10/2013, 10:53 PM
were the rte cameras at the game last night lads? btw it was great Barry Ferguson at the game last night.. I hadnt seen him there in ages at a Longford town game..
Video here Marty: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2013/1028/483143-bray-wanderers-0-0-longford-town/

30/10/2013, 12:01 PM
has anyone heard the story with shaw ?
He's not dead, according to twitter anyway.

fitzpatrick10
30/10/2013, 3:36 PM
seemingly the scar where he had his op earlier this year opened slightly and he should be ok for friday

30/10/2013, 5:12 PM
seemingly the scar where he had his op earlier this year opened slightly and he should be ok for friday

2 huge selection calls for TC this week, does he keep Gorman at CB or bring in Macker despite his lack of pace and does he go with Shaw or Josh. Whats most peoples pick?

30/10/2013, 5:34 PM
Is McCarthy fit or is he just on the bench because we've nobody else? I heard he had a groin injury at one stage. It's a hard one to call, we could use Gorman back in midfield. I reckon start with Josh and let him have a run at them. They're not the quickest at the back either.

Darklordsbane
30/10/2013, 6:17 PM
I don't really care who starts or plays where as long as they all work as a unit.
Together
Everyone
Achieves
More
get tight on BW players, gave them way to much space on Monday, need the backs and wingers to close down really quickly stop the attacks before they begin.
I would prefer Gorman in midfield but he did alright at cb on Monday, missed his hassling and driving them sideways and back also his final ball was missed, having said that he got more passes on Monday
McCarthy would be good for set pieces, but as stated might be too slow to cope with Byrne, Water's and Akinade
I am a lot more concerned that if the spitting incident is true (and if the refs know it is ie have seen proof) I believe Chris will be sent off first chance the ref gets, if that happens what then, no point in worrying about it yet but it would be nice to have a plan b
I believe we need to score early and run them all over the pitch they dont seem to be able to last the pace (at least the looked more tired than us on Monday) maybe it's their age there is a lot of grey hairs on their team, I think if we hold our own until half time we will win

fitzpatrick10
31/10/2013, 9:00 PM
duuno who will be cb, havo needs to be rb to mark waters imo. he would roast glen o conner! . des and maccer are both injured

01/11/2013, 8:49 AM
duuno who will be cb, havo needs to be rb to mark waters imo. he would roast glen o conner! . des and maccer are both injured

Macker defo out?

01/11/2013, 8:51 AM
If that is the case I expect him to go with

Bennion
O'Neill, Havo, Deans, Quinn
Purdy, Gorman, Connolly, Ebbe
Josh, sully

Pendil
01/11/2013, 9:23 AM
Shaw and O'Sullivan to start up front and this is why. Davy scored 21 goals in the league this season. He scored 17 of those when Shaw started. In the 10 matches that Shaw didn't start he scored just 4. Simply put, Davy is 3 times more likely to score when he starts with Shaw. Remember that Davy scored only 7 goals in the second half of the season which coincided with Shaw being regularly benched. In the 5 games that Shaw did start during that period Davy scored 5 of those 7 goals, the other two coming in one game which was the 7-2 victory over Cobh. Gary might not have scored too many goals this season but he is instrumental to Davy as a goalscorer just like Toshack was to Keegan. He is a handful for central defenders and this allows Davy more freedom to use his pace and strength to get in behind the defence. Statistics aren't everything but sometimes they are hard to ignore.

ltfc_2004
01/11/2013, 11:22 AM
Interesting points Pendil ... you Gary Shaw or Gary Shaw's agent LOL

But anyway roll on the 5pm train and getting to Longford, few cans on the train for warm up .... !!!!

Sit tight and hope we do it, I will be surprised if both teams can keep a clean sheet. While the bigger pitch should suit us, it will also suit Jason Byrne. I am not as confident as others but we have played 31 games to get to one final 90 minutes and to be this close to returning to the top flight. All the lads can do is give it a good go and play their hearts out.

I see in the Irish Times that Keith Gillespie will be there signing copies of his book prematch.

Tiki-Taka
01/11/2013, 1:17 PM
Shaw is definitely fit for tonight then?