View Full Version : Andy Reid is overweight and over-rated.

furiousD
14/10/2004, 9:45 AM
he needs to lose about a stone and start competing in games.
last night only showed that he is a sulk, can't run and that he believes his own hype.
£10million for him, i doubt it kid.

14/10/2004, 9:55 AM
YES I AGREE TOO !!

He is over weight, always sulking on the pitch and off the pitch. Poor me syndrome.

If he was as good as he reckons he is, he would be in the primiership a long time ago.

He can start to make a difference himself by loosing weight now. He looks like he is bobbling around with 10-15kg's of extra baggage.

when he is on the ball, keep it simply and stop trying to do the fantastic defence splitting pass or the spectacular 30 meter shot.

He will get another few games, the two friendlies, but after that he may only get used as a sub. Time to shape up lad or ship out. ;)

koneinc
14/10/2004, 10:16 AM
Jaysus, give the lad a break, he's been very good in all but 2 games for us, sure he's a bit bulky and could do with losing a few pounds but he will improve in time, I for 1 see big things coming from Andy...

bryanodowd
14/10/2004, 10:20 AM
i seem to remember a certain other left-winger who used to be overweight and unfit....now what was his name again?

give the lad a chance he's been good for us needs to step up to prem though for fitness and playing wit/against better players

14/10/2004, 10:45 AM
I would love to see the Passes gave/Passes completed statistic for Andy Reid. I know it was shocklingly bad.

bryanodowd
14/10/2004, 10:50 AM
i'm sure millers robbies dohertys etc weren't much better. thought you were meant to be jolly hes done well for us before and will do again

Seamuslawless
14/10/2004, 11:35 AM
Anyone else think Liam Miller has gone off the boil an awful lot with the lack of football he has been seeing lately. Don't think he's ever really lived up to his potential since he broke into the full international setup. He looked full of promise at celtic so he has the ability but is the lack of football at this crucial stage of his development killing him? Just a pondering ....... ;)

blobbyblob
14/10/2004, 11:38 AM
i think his man-tits are a welcome addition into the international game

Adrianovic
14/10/2004, 11:58 AM
Andy Reid will always look like he's carrying an extra few pounds, but apparently he's quite well built along with it, rather than just tubby. He had a lot of weight problems early on in his career at Forest, like Keith Foy did, but he turned it around just before he got sacked.

Reid is a whinging git, and my respect for him has been eroded a fair bit, but to be honest, I don't blame him for moping playing with the shower of rubbish at Forest week in week out - and that's coming from a Forest fan! The £10m figure was just JK talking nonsense, if we get £4m we'll be very very lucky.

Ade

14/10/2004, 12:13 PM
Give him a break lads, it wasn't his best game but he put some quality balls into the box last night and only some good defending/poor finishing stopped him getting a couple of assists.
You wouldn't be moaning if we'd scored off a couple of them which we will on another night.
He's got plenty to offer from what I can see.

P.S. I've slagged Kilbane off before but he's a different player since he moved inside to central midfield.Respect man. :cool:

fergalr
14/10/2004, 12:50 PM
If Millar and Reid swopped diets then we'd all be happy.

conall
14/10/2004, 2:38 PM
Have to back comments re Kilbane - I think I was his biggest critic - thought he was a lightweight - physically and from a talent perspective

But he has develped a bite to his game and his mobility is incredible - with the possible exception of Stephen Carr my MOTM last night

fosterdollar
14/10/2004, 2:41 PM
steve finnan had a grand match as well. He fairly gets about when he needs to as well. Something i never noticed about him before

14/10/2004, 6:29 PM
I'll quote the first 2 post soon enough.

Jolly, I'm beginning to think you're trolling becuase you never reply when I tell you this. Joe Kinnear has been in management about 15 years, I think he'll know before you, me, Liam Brady or anyone else if Reid was overweight. I am 95% sure he's not overweight as Kinnear isn't that stupid. Unless Reid looks slow or unfit to you, stop using that as an excuse to slate him. The reason you have your doubts is solely because he plays in division 1.

14/10/2004, 7:04 PM
here eirebhoy, just because I dont agree with you on Reid and Carr doesnt make me a troll. I get a bit sickened when Ireland scrape a result and everyone is all happy happy.

I'm just highlightening the problems and shortcomings. :mad: And as far as Im concerned, not putting the ball in the back of the net more than twice against the faroes is a major shortcoming.

14/10/2004, 7:13 PM
here eirebhoy, just because I dont agree with you on Reid and Carr doesnt make me a troll. I get a bit sickened when Ireland scrape a result and everyone is all happy happy.

I'm just highlightening the problems and shortcomings. :mad: And as far as Im concerned, not putting the ball in the back of the net more than twice against the faroes is a major shortcoming.
Well then, don't be so stubborn, its not impossible to change your mind every now and again. You're just over-biased towards a number of players as I can see by the way you slate Reid 5 times more after a bad performance than you praise him after a good one.

Scraping a result? We absolutely slaughtered the Faroe's. I suppose the other 25 teams from the Faroe's last 30 matches that couldn't beat them by more than 2 goals were disappointed. They're better than you think. We won, end of.

14/10/2004, 9:18 PM
yes it is possible to change your mind. If reid comes to form I will be first to point it out. :)

14/10/2004, 10:05 PM
yes it is possible to change your mind. If reid comes to form I will be first to point it out. :)
That wasn't really the point I was trying to make. You said Reid was overweight, I said if he was it would have been sorted but you are still adament that he is. I would never say I'm 100% sure he's not overweight but the way you talk it sounds like you're sure he is, even when I said Kinnear would sort it out if he was.

Same goes for saying Carr has a suspect temperment. I love seen players going mad on the pitch as long as he's not doing something silly that would get him booked. I don't like seeing players laughing when they miss the target, I want to see them hitting the ground in anger. It doesn't mean Carr's temperment is suspect.

14/10/2004, 10:22 PM
well if your asking me if I think Reid is over weight then I defintely think he is no matter what kinnear is doing.

14/10/2004, 10:38 PM
well if your asking me if I think Reid is over weight then I defintely think he is no matter what kinnear is doing.
But I have no doubt if he was playing for Man Utd for 6 months and was still in the same shape you wouldn't be saying he was overweight. I showed you a picture of James Beattie a couple of times and he looks just as big as Reid. You shouldn't say he needs to lose weight if you haven't even a clue if there's anything there to lose.

14/10/2004, 10:46 PM
when I see him on the pitch he doesnt look like he is as fast as the other players and his face looks chubby. I agree with the idea that footballers should be lean. If he makes it to the priemership I have no doubt that he will loose the weight one way or another.

Closed Account 2
15/10/2004, 3:05 AM
Well he's not thin I wouldnt exactly call him fat, for instance is he say bulkier than Shay Given, Paddy Kenny or even the Doc. I mean if anything the lad's slight compared to other footballers like Kevin Pressman or Mickey Quinn... those two were like Slim Fast models: before and waaaaay before. :D

wallis
15/10/2004, 4:22 AM
He should spend every waking moment of training using his right foot !!!!

I can think of five times in the last two matches where he has run around the ball in order to get the shot away with his left foot instead of using his right

15/10/2004, 12:06 PM
when I see him on the pitch he doesnt look like he is as fast as the other players and his face looks chubby. I agree with the idea that footballers should be lean. If he makes it to the priemership I have no doubt that he will loose the weight one way or another.
There you go again, unless you have evidence that Reid is overweight stop talking like you know he is.

http://members.boards.ie/eirebhoy/BeattieReid.jpg

fergalr
15/10/2004, 12:50 PM
There you go again, unless you have evidence that Reid is overweight stop talking like you know he is.
Forest fans think he's overweight - viz current chant:
"hes fat hes round hes leavin city ground andy reid andy reid".

15/10/2004, 1:50 PM
Forest fans think he's overweight - viz current chant:
"hes fat hes round hes leavin city ground andy reid andy reid".
9/10 people also think Richie Dunne is overweight.

15/10/2004, 2:00 PM
I think I could do with losing a stone maybe, and getting into the premiership too,

15/10/2004, 2:11 PM
Beg to differ with you Eirebhoy.

When Reid toook off his shirt after the Cyprus game you could see he was carrying weight and out of condition. I'm not saying he's got a beer belly or anything but his conditioning is less than you'd expect from a professional athlete.

Last time I watched Arsenal up close you could see just how athletic & lean they were. Andy Reid is not in this type of condition.

It's a far cry from his early days. I thought he'd always be too small to make it.

I agree with you about Dunne though. I think he's in great nick now he's got his act together.

15/10/2004, 4:59 PM
9/10 people also think Richie Dunne is overweight.
Richie Dunne was nearly 17 stone. The man's 6', maybe 6' 2". Even allowing for a lot of muscle weight, he shouldn't be over 13 stone. Keegan made him lose a lot of that, but I doubt the man will ever model for a diet food company.

15/10/2004, 5:08 PM
When Reid toook off his shirt after the Cyprus game you could see he was carrying weight and out of condition. I'm not saying he's got a beer belly or anything but his conditioning is less than you'd expect from a professional athlete.

Exactly. I couldnt agree more.

15/10/2004, 8:16 PM
Andy Reid got a goal for Forest tonight, sounded like a good
strike, with little backlift (used his weight :D ).
He also gave away a penalty for a last man challange in the
area, which resulted in him being send off.
He got a good round of aplause as he went off though.

Adrianovic
16/10/2004, 1:15 AM
To be honest lads, if you think he's bad now - have a look at this snapshot from a few seasons back.

http://www.alternativeforest.co.uk/gallery/details.php?image_id=263

Ade

petef
16/10/2004, 6:37 AM
Scored a screamer last night and then got sent off. Heard his Dad is the spitting image of him, short and chubby.

16/10/2004, 1:15 PM
Richie Dunne was nearly 17 stone. The man's 6', maybe 6' 2". Even allowing for a lot of muscle weight, he shouldn't be over 13 stone. Keegan made him lose a lot of that, but I doubt the man will ever model for a diet food company.

16/10/2004, 1:16 PM
To be honest lads, if you think he's bad now - have a look at this snapshot from a few seasons back.

http://www.alternativeforest.co.uk/gallery/details.php?image_id=263

Ade
HAHA thats class. :D

Kowalski
16/10/2004, 2:37 PM
i was watching the game last night & for his third game in a week he was excellent while he was on. he looks totally a class apart in that league.
he must have created 5 or 6 good chances for himself & others.
his goal was a screamer, on the left wing cut inside to the edge of the box & hit with the outside of his left foot & curled into the top left hand corner.
the sending off was unlucky but fair play to him, he was chasing back into his own box & slid into the attacker.

onenilgameover
28/10/2004, 2:34 AM
Agreed he has not played well in a major game for Ireland and has thrown his bottle out of the pram at Forrest...The future no longer looks so bright for Andy

petef
28/10/2004, 8:58 AM
Hes hardly played many games for Ireland. Why do people expect immediate results? You cant just elevate a player to International status and expect them to feel at home. He was in the wilderness at Forest until a coulpe of years ago, him and Foy, the improvement he has made in this time is astonishing and he can only get better.

28/10/2004, 9:49 AM
He needs to move to a club in the premiership in January. a club that wont go down !! If he does that we can really see what he is made of and maybe the Mr Blobby slags will stop ;)

28/10/2004, 9:49 AM
Agreed he has not played well in a major game for Ireland
He has not played well in 1 game, Switzerland. Care to name any other?

Fatboy
10/03/2005, 5:34 PM
Andy Reid is definetely overweight and when you see a picture of David Beckham he lokks athletic and next to Andy Reid you can see how ovrweight Andy Reid is he doe have a bit of a bely thouh and he does jiggle when he runs. lol.

10/03/2005, 5:54 PM
Jesus Fatboy, I think you need to go looking for some overweight porn.

Here's your 3 only previous posts:

I think that Maraona was and still is a genius, however his massive weight is dangerou and he is proof that if you have a bad diet your going to get fat and put on lots of weight and have more rolls than a bakery.lol.

I know that i cant say much cos I'm really fat, but Andy Reid definetely needs to lose some weight, I saw a picture of him the other day with no shirt on and it wasnt nice to see, as he was carrying a little too much fat, just like Wayne Ronney.
Any replies please.

There seems to be a lot of chubby or fat players nowadays, theres, Rooney, Reid, Ronaldo, Beatie, Fowler, Pressman and there just some of the ones that seem to be bursting out of their shirts and they all seem to wear tight shirts which make them looked even more fat. I used to play football all the time and I had to wear skin tight shirts, thats where I got my nickname, Fatboy cos I was almost bursting the seams of my shirt. But professional footballers need to be put on diets and lose their fat.
Reply.

Fatboy
10/03/2005, 6:01 PM
What do you mean i need to find some overweight porn, it s just that im seriously overweight too and know what its lie, do you know how much i weigh?

livehead1
10/03/2005, 6:13 PM
well get of ya arse n down to david lloyd,lol

Fatboy
10/03/2005, 6:18 PM
whats that supposed to mean are you saying im fat! since your saying all this stuff i quess that you must be fat too.lol.
:D :cool:

Fatboy
11/03/2005, 2:09 PM
So you got something against me cos im fat is that it? I may be fat but i love my body, with every inch of fat. are you happy with your body?

livehead1
11/03/2005, 2:53 PM
Delighted with it. But anyway, ya need a sense of humour on here - some of these boys are awful sharp-tongued.

indeed they are...

11/03/2005, 4:00 PM
So you got something against me cos im fat is that it? I may be fat but i love my body, with every inch of fat. are you happy with your body?

hee hee, i can just picture Cartman saying that, sorry, made me snigger a bit.......... :D :D

11/03/2005, 4:01 PM
Where is Peadar the bladder anyway, he gone on strike??????????
;) :D :D

11/03/2005, 4:03 PM
What do you mean i need to find some overweight porn, it s just that im seriously overweight too and know what its lie, do you know how much i weigh?
Just remember that you registered to a football site. You don't seem to want to talk about anything other than a person's weight.