View Full Version : Things I miss about Longford...

13/10/2004, 4:44 PM
From an exiles point of view:

1) Cheap beer and the sing songs in John Joes!
2) The singing atmosphere of the Section O on matchnights.
3) The kickaround on the hallowed astro turf of the Flansiro five a side pitches..
4) Christ I even miss Blazers!!!!!

13/10/2004, 4:52 PM
should we have a game the morning of the final :ball: :confused:

vodka and buckfast instead of water to drink perhaps ???

13/10/2004, 4:53 PM
can't say i miss much apart from the home games and luigis curry chips

13/10/2004, 5:21 PM
1. pints in the anvil
2. blazers
3. winning there.

Albert
14/10/2004, 7:57 AM
apparently a mate of mine is dating a dublin girl and some of her mates adjusted an old email to suit him and the ret of us, if you got time to waste its worth a read

1. He says "Whats the Craic?"* all the time but its nothing to do with drugs.

> 2. Nothing beats a Guinness in a quiet pub, and that Declan Nerney
> isn't half bad if you listen to him.

> > 3. He's* pale and white but he knows the best place to get a Tan is
> > on the bog.(and that's nothing to do with toilets!)

> 4. If someone has an accident he asks "Was he badly shook?".

> 5. If the conversation dies he says "Ah sure that's the way, as the
> man says"( No one knows who the man is though!)

> 6. He knows the answer to the Quiz question "Only four teams have won a
> Leinstertitle in 40 years outside the Dublin Meath Offaly Triangle,
> Can you name them?"

>7. He always looks nervously over his shoulder before pressing the
>button at traffic lights in case any of his mates see him do this, as
>no one believes they work do they??.

> 8. The far side of the city is "no dishtance to walk".

> 9. He is probably reading this and* muttering "yeah""

> 10. He refers to a group of lads as "3 or 4 young bucks".

> 11. If a girl asks him how something looks he invariably replies "tis
> grand".

> 12. If he says "jayz youre a horrid sound head"its meant to be a
> compliment.

> 13. He always asks the bus driver to "give him a shout"when he reaches
> his stop, or else fights over the fact that he cant get change.* NB.
> Bus travel is often very stressful and alien to the Longfordian.

14. He describes the weather as "fierce Close"at 16 degrees. Apperently this is his way of telling you he is too hot

> 15. In common with neighbours in Roscommon he insists there is a
> SliabhBanMountainacross the Shannon, despite evidence that it's a
> hill. NB No point arguing with a Longfordian.

> 16. He knows someone who swam the Shannonat Christmas.

> 17. He knows someone who drowned in the Shannon, and speaks of its
> might as if it were a mystical power, before declaring it the longest
> river in Europe, despite any evidence to the contrary. NB No point
> arguing with a Longfordian.

> 18. He says "It's mighty craic" all the time. (again nothing to do
> with drugs)

> 19. when asked if he was ever on a "Trip"he will tell you some story
> of that Trip to Meath with the Under 14 team years ago.

> 20. He reckons all Dublinwomen will fancy him, as "sure they are all
> mad for a decent fella with the Dublinbucks being wasters and all".

> 21. He can do a bit of any job or trade but cant do any of them
> completely.

> 22. If you don't reply loudly enough with your agreement to his
> statement he will say "HA?"if you still don't reply loudly enough
> expect a hard slap on the back.

> 23. He will never go back to the shop if he discovers he has been
> undercharged.

> 24. He will be too proud to admit he cant afford an item if he gets to
> the counter and its more than he thought, and will buy it anyway then
> come out and complain of how the city shops set out to con him.

> 25. He always has a story of how he skipped rent in some house he
> stayed in.

> 26. Street names only confuse him, he navigates the city using
> landmarks and turning left and right but never knows what street he is
> actually on.

> 27. "Twas a horrid shame that Albert Reynolds didn't have longer as
> Taoiseach".

> 28. Mind you the average Longfordian is fairly politically adept, and
> insists that the Famine and Civil war are still fresh in the memory.

> 29. He will hold conversations with any other culchie he meets but
> always looks confused talking to Dublinbucks, when they are gone he
> will say "jaysus he talked some ****e and did you see the way he was
> dressed?".

> 30. Old stories begin with "ah sure years ago we used to........",
> years ago probably means 2 years ago but note Longford is 20 years
> behind the rest of the country.

> 31. He wonders if any of them refugees are "handy enough"with a bit of
> GAA.

>32. Ham sandwiches are wrapped in tin foil and brought to CrokePark, He
>will follow Offaly in Hurling and Galwayin Football unless it's a rare
>occasion Longford have a game on.

> 33. He doesn't eat anything cold, uncooked or not resembling meat,
> bread or

> praties (potatoes).

> 34. Pat the Bakers bread is the best stuff ever..

> 35.He has always wanted to see whats inside* "Doctor Quirky's Good
> Time Emporium" on O'Connell Streetbut would never go in.

> 36. Anything over* €2.54 for a pint is an outrageous price

> 37. He will only meet you somewhere on O'Connell street. Don't confuse
> him.

> 38. He stays indoors to beat the heat - when it's over 20C.

> 39. He says thank you to the very rude bus driver out of habit.

> 40. He sees Bertie, Bono or "your wan from Glenroe"on the street and
> it makes his day.

> 41. He loves traditional Music and has been to at least one Fleadh
> Cheoil.

> > 42. If A Longford man asks you to dance there is no point in saying
> > no, like we said before don't bother arguing once he thinks you like
> > him nothing will change his mind.

> 43. When he goes to a club he stands in the middle of the dance floor
> dancing to whatever auld tune is going on in his own head "never mind
> that dj ****e".

> 44. He cant understand all the old people running across roads at just
> as

> inappropriate times as himself, "have they no families?".

> 45. Teenage pregnancy, Divorce and drugs still shock him.

> 46. He often finds himself still living with family and having dinners
> cooked

for him by someone's mammy - at 30.

> 47. He talks about "dinner' and 'mammys', And Dinner should be in the
> middle of the day and has a "massive respect"for Mammys.

>48. Sadly, people usually lie to him for the laugh, the worst offenders
>at this are bus drivers, taxi drivers and kids whom he asks for
>directions.

> 49. He holds his paper bus ticket in both hands and still gets nervous
> when the inspector gets on, before proudly pushing people out of his
> way as he excitedly hands it over.

* NB He will get very hurt if the inspector doesn't say thank you

> 50. He always wears socks with sandals as they cut his feet.

> 51. Everybody must join in when he sings about Longford Town FC.

> 52. If it rains during summer he always thinks of the turf on the bog
> or the hay in the fields depending on the month, no matter how long he
> has been in Dublin.

> > 53. He never wears PINK.

14/10/2004, 9:32 AM
1) Cully's Batch Bread - the best bread in the world ever.
2) Pints in JJ's
3) "Liberal" interpretation of the licencing laws
4) Taxi's only a phone call and 10 minutes away

14/10/2004, 10:05 AM
Things im also looking forward to in Longford.

Going to a nightclub that doesnt play fecking R and B or garage all the fecking time.....

A decent fecking pint of Guinness

The sight of St. Mel's Cathedral in the distance going down the Dublin Road.

Not being the only person wearing a Longford Town shirt within 75 miles...

A snackbox in Luigis.

Lyons tea, Denny rashers and white pudding, and Pat the Baker bread.

Ah yes, ive been away for too long. Getting all misty-eyed now! :)

14/10/2004, 10:06 AM
Things im also looking forward to in Longford.

Going to a nightclub that doesnt play fecking R and B or garage all the fecking time.....

eh pauro don't go to a club in dublin then, ****in hate r n b :mad:

14/10/2004, 10:09 AM
eh pauro don't go to a club in dublin then, ****in hate r n b :mad:
Depends on the club - whelans, Eamonn Dorans, downstairs in Thomas Reeds all play proper music.

14/10/2004, 10:11 AM
indeed they do macy.....they are a rare breed these days :mad: , but i feel rock and alternative are on their way back, i get a least an hour of it in during most gigs.....

Albert
14/10/2004, 10:25 AM
Peter Kellys pool Hall was THE place to be between exams!

You miss the excitement of Longford Town seeking re-election to the Eircom League 1st Division.

You can recall famous victories of the St Mels Senior team.

Youth Concern Discos at 15 were the best nights out ever!

You can still remember when the town was a niteclub capital and names like spiders, paris, the cube, Jesters, The System, and Busbys actually mean something to you, although its probably something you would rather forget.

You can't remember the last time you saw a tractor with an indicator, but
it doesn't matter because you know where they're going anyway.

You've traveled to either Australia, Japan, US and
South America and all your stories are of times you spent with other people from Longford

You think Luigi's should be in the top 10 restaurant guide

14/10/2004, 10:32 AM
Youth Concern Discos at 15 were the best nights out ever!

You can still remember when the town was a niteclub capital and names like spiders, paris, the cube, Jesters, The System, and Busbys actually mean something to you, although its probably something you would rather forget.

the old disco's "pop fizz", ya know your gettin old when once you went to them and then you end up djing at them :D

the old friday night in paris, what nights they were and jesters ha ha.....

the cube was the summer i left mel's, what a summer and what a venue when we went there that year, good old tommy steward on the decks playing scooter and nikoli ready to flow and when he got the chop he came back with the system and ended up closing the cube down !!!!!!

the summer and general year of 94/95 ah the memories :D

14/10/2004, 10:34 AM
You can still remember when the town was a niteclub capital and names like spiders, paris, the cube, Jesters, The System, and Busbys actually mean something to you

although its probably something you would rather forget.
Oh definitely....

Albert
14/10/2004, 10:36 AM
summer of 94 for meself too, great days leavin cert and all! :o

Wiseguy
14/10/2004, 12:23 PM
Those were the days alright.The Word disco's in Busby's on a Wednesday night.Going to The Cube with £40 getting rat arsed,20 cigs and still have the price of a snack box when you got back to Town.Drinking upstairs in the Misty Midlands.Danielles Disco Bar,Axl's attempt at a Disco Bar.PV's when it was PV's.Slashers on a Friday night,The System on a saturday and RaRa on a Sunday.Happy days.I know what your going through Pauro believe me.I have spent enough times away from town to realise it aint such a kip after all.

14/10/2004, 12:32 PM
Those were the days alright.The Word disco's in Busby's on a Wednesday night.Going to The Cube with £40 getting rat arsed,20 cigs and still have the price of a snack box when you got back to Town.Drinking upstairs in the Misty Midlands.Danielles Disco Bar,Axl's attempt at a Disco Bar.PV's when it was PV's.Slashers on a Friday night,The System on a saturday and RaRa on a Sunday.Happy days.I know what your going through Pauro believe me.I have spent enough times away from town to realise it aint such a kip after all.

wow up stairs the misty midlands, now there is a blast from the past. never a big slashers fan.

remember when the mels debs was a social highlight of the year :D

never a snack box man either, but i do adore those curry chips :D and ra ra on a sunday oh the nights i had there ha ha........

i think we should have a 90's remeberance night soon :)

Wiseguy
14/10/2004, 1:11 PM
Slashers was for a night of normality and falling in love with some nice girl from the sticks then waking up the following morning and realising she's not the girl for you.Saturday nights in the System....well what can i say.I went to the Tec so if i was at the Mels grad something would have been seroiusly wrong.Myself and all the other Town U18's always drank upstairs in the Misty and usually ended up with hangovers togging out for the B team in Waterford on a sunday morning.I almost forgot about Joey Malone setting me up with the ugliest bird ever up in slashers and John Cleary kept feeling her arse and of course she thought it was none other than my good self.

14/10/2004, 5:05 PM
Willie Donlons in Killashee (God, they've ruined the place).

Agreed mate, not the legendary place it was. Though they still have poor old Willie slaving away behind the shop. :) Trips out to The Powerhouse in Mohill. Drinking behind the Council Offices in the early days, then Gallogly's minibus. Slashers on Firday nights when they had the slow sets at the end of the night, redeemed many a dodgy night out for me. (By the way, bring them back!!!) PV's (the old one), the days when the Beat on the Street was in Longford, and just hoping the dancers on stage would be drinking in Blazers afterwards. Cycling to watch the Town when the Flansiro was just a pipe dream. Cycling trips up Cairn Hill, and sprint finishes down it. Fcuking hell mate, this town aint so bad.

14/10/2004, 5:29 PM
Footing turf in the summer down the bog, and drain jumping competitions!! Introducing friends from abroad and Dublin to the magic and wonder that is (was) Willie Donlons pub, Killashee! Zac Hackett's soccer school, and Mousey Brennan now of Monaghan Utd played at the time in that group. Me, i could have made it you know.... Paddy Clabby cup competitions during the summers, slogging away in goal for Turners Utd and Clondra Celtic. And fcking up spectacularly. Ah the memories....

baboon ar*e
22/10/2004, 4:22 PM
yeh the paddy clabby, what memories!! in the lyons den after winning the double, gary donlon crying into the cup that was named after his dad, (crying that we won it :-)..)......have been away for a long time myself, but it still irks me when people over here slag off longford, sure twas a grand place many moons ago, lots of good memories...btw, why is everone getting so fat now??

26/10/2004, 9:15 AM
going back to dublin on a bank holiday monday instead of having a session in town........

espc if you've won the cup the night before :D