View Full Version : Nightmare In Paris
JamboC
12/10/2004, 11:58 AM
So friday night strated to look up when we got outta st denis (where our hotel was) and by sheer coincidence stumbled across three Irish bars in the Clichy/Pigalle area until we got into the bars and discovered that it was ywenty euro a round!! That was only for three pints!! Us poor students couldnt afford that!! Thank god for the lads who showed us to the shop round the corner from o sullivans, that became a tradition for the weekend!!! We planted ouselves at the tree opposite o sullivans bar and when it was 'your round' you walked round to the shop and bought the crate!! That was some craic that night what with all the cars driving past and especially the one with the england fans in!!! hahahah unlucky!! Back to St denis that night for a few hours sleep and there was still no sign of a hangover!! Must have been the adrenaline rushing before the big game!! A few hours spent in the ****in rain at the eiffel tour pre england wales was good but the weather spoiled the occasion!! and then back to our tree outside o sullivans and the beer shop!! a great day was spent at that tree the craic was 90! not to mention the great dublin lads who GAVE YES THATS RIGHT GAVE!!! us three tickets for the game in the irish end!! what a sound lad!! So it was back to st denis for the match and expectations were high, twas a great game but you just couldnt help bein dissapointed at the result. back to our tree then in pigalle everyone was pretty quiet, maybe that was due to the beer they were sellin at the game that actualy had no alcohol in!!! DID EVERYONE READ THAT ON THE PLASTIC CUPS????? The beers started flowin again and the craic was good outside o sullivans untill we decided to ge the first metro back to st denis at 530. Me pal got mugged at knifepoint when he got off the metro, **** his pants he did!! gave the boy his phone and ran away!! I lost me camera, god knows where???but I couldnt help but be dissapointed by what happened to me mate on the way home along with the results of the game!! ALL IN ALL twas a great weekend that will never be forgotten but for my first time in paris Im nout sure if I want to go back!!! HAS ANYONE ELSE GOT ANY STORIES FROM THE WEEKEND?? WOULD BE GOOD TO HEAR FROM YAS!!
cullenswood
12/10/2004, 12:03 PM
Are you still on the beer? :) :confused:
feckless
12/10/2004, 12:13 PM
Effing hell JamboC, did you take insurance out for the trip :)
We had a great time, totally avoided the rip-off Irish bars (Isn't it the same wherever you go!), and hung around the Bastille area with the locals. Honest we paid no more than 3 Euros a drink all day and night. This sounds nuts, but we hired an Algerian and a car to take us anywhere we needed to go, including the ground and back. At about 2am we asked him to bring us to an Algerian bar, along with two fellas from Kerry we'd bumped into. WHAT A PLACE, everyone was ordering BOTTLES of spirits and two sisters were belly dancing behind the bar for us (well that's the way I saw it anyway).
Left the place at 6am (Kerry men long since scarpered) after behind fed and watered. They only took 30 Euros off myself and a pal for drinking all night. What a contrast to the lads who were being ripped off iby their own in the Irish bars.
When abroad drink with the locals! My face is still blurred having said that :-)
dublinred
12/10/2004, 12:49 PM
Got stranded in Pigale waht a sh*th*le, what a rip off 8e a pint in the local bars , 1 in 4 people in group seemed to have something nicked including 3 tickets for the Irish end ..........
keenanboy
12/10/2004, 12:53 PM
Me and my mate headed to Paris on Saturday morning from Dublin via London Waterloo and then on to the Eurostar. Nice trip down and the buzz was quite good on the train. Must say though I wasn't overly impressed by the city itself. Seemed a bit run down (but we were of course viewing it through football fans eyes), and the prices were a bit crazy. Amazed though at the reception we got from the Algerian community who wanted us to beat the french. Cool stadium, just a pity we can't boast something like that....lets be honest old Lansdowne road is an absolute dump. Roll on Croker! Would be great to play the french there next year, but more importantly play the swiss there as well...and put that bogey to bed once and for all. We showed a great pride in our team in paris, its just sad that this is not reflected in lansdowne road by the prawn sandwich block-bookers who are too important to wear the green. Ticket distribution must be reviewed?
12/10/2004, 1:04 PM
Amazed though at the reception we got from the Algerian community who wanted us to beat the french.
What a dirty shower they are!
"We hope you beat the fu*king French, we fu*cking hate them!"
I felt like saying, "Fu*k off home then if you hate the place and the people so much. Plenty of them moving through the bars being "friendly" with Irish lads while they picked their pockets.
One of the major highlights for me was the French women.
They've all got great lets and wear the skirts to show them off...
12/10/2004, 1:08 PM
Plenty of them moving through the bars being "friendly" with Irish lads while they picked their pockets.
I can't say where they were from, but one of the first things I said after leaving SdF was , 'watch your pockets lads', there were 'crowd weavers all over'.
feckless
12/10/2004, 1:32 PM
I felt like saying, "Fu*k off home then if you hate the place and the people so much. Plenty of them moving through the bars being "friendly" with Irish lads while they picked their pockets.
Can't disagree with what you say about the classy Parisian ladies, however, to call Algerians living in France a "dirty shower" is a bit strong. Some of the Algerians we drank with wanted les bleus to win, and we didn't get pick pocketed once, which in our case would have been a piece of pish to do.
By the way, I live in England but want them to lose, does your logic apply to me? What about the Polish here? Italians? Basically if they are paying your wages you should just shut it right?
Take a look at what the French did in Algeria, and then come back on here and slate them. Someone told me Ireland was moving to the right ..........
Pat O' Banton
12/10/2004, 2:05 PM
Peadar, do I take it that if Ingerland lose to a last minute own goal on Wednesday night you won't have a rye smile on your face? :p
12/10/2004, 2:38 PM
Peadar, do I take it that if Ingerland lose to a last minute own goal on Wednesday night you won't have a rye smile on your face? :p
Certainly not.
In what way would that benefit me?
I cheered them on against Wales.
Expected to see what all the "Bhoys" were talking about with regard to Hartson but saw nothing to make me change my opinion of him.
12/10/2004, 2:46 PM
By the way, I live in England but want them to lose, does your logic apply to me? What about the Polish here? Italians? Basically if they are paying your wages you should just shut it right?
Take a look at what the French did in Algeria, and then come back on here and slate them. Someone told me Ireland was moving to the right ..........
What's your point?
You want to live in someones country and shout abuse about them?
If you want to live in the past, hating countries for what their governments did many years ago then fine, you do that.
Have a nice hate filled life.
Pat O' Banton
12/10/2004, 3:12 PM
Certainly not.
In what way would that benefit me?
I cheered them on against Wales.
Expected to see what all the "Bhoys" were talking about with regard to Hartson but saw nothing to make me change my opinion of him.
Chill comrade, was simply messing! However the truth is that like many second geners on this forum I will generally cheer on the opposition against Ingerland. Partly because of political history - because I believe that history strongly defines your identity so I won't seperate the two. Secondly I like to have a (un?)healthy rivalry in football, its always good to have someone to dislike, you may not agree with but thats the lie of the land.
We were drinking in an Algerian bar up near Gard L'est and the people in there were grand with us.
Heard that Hartson was poor on Sat but equally many of the Ingerlish papers agree that he had little in the way of service or support, in truth he hasn't seemed to play well at international level for sometime now, and his club form has been fairly eratic this season. Get high ball into him and he will still cause all sorts of problems for defenders. (recent example was how he did nothing for the first half against AC but gave the centre backs a hard time in the second when was given more service)
greg o brien
12/10/2004, 3:59 PM
yep its the first competitive match i've been able to go to in a long time (without paying well above the odds). next year some clod in a suit will be sitting in my seat asking why niall quinn hasn't been brought on. :mad: Nialls been inquired an awful long time now hasnt he? :)
12/10/2004, 4:22 PM
Ticket distribution must be reviewed?[/B]
damn right, first ticket i've been able to get for a competitive match (without paying well above the odds), of course come next year i wont get a ticket for the home match and some clod in a suit will be sitting in my seat, saying how mick mc carthy is really doing a great job now. :mad:[/QUOTE]
The only problem with last weekend's turnout is that most of the 30,000 plus now think they are entitled to a ticket for every future match.
There were a huge number in Paris who had never seen an Ireland game before or whose only other experience was at the Amsterdam Arena in June.
How many of the 30,000 went to Basle?
How many went to the friendly in April in Poland?
When you say 'some clod in a suit will be sititng in my seat' , how does it become your seat?. Why are you not a Block Booker, could it be that you have not been attending all the home games?.
Anyone can pick and choose which games they want to go to. However, the fans, whether they wear suits or not, who attend every home game, competitive or friendly (which is now the only way you can retain your Block Booker status) quite rightly deserve priority for home tickets.
Docboy
12/10/2004, 4:30 PM
Well said Superhoops,
I 've been going to games since I was eight though the last few years I've had to resort to buying block seats in the east upper which for this campaign cost 38 euro,friendlies and all,and there are plenty of tickets for some of the less glamourous,see canada last year.
By the by,Paris was as good as I've seen since the Spain game at the wc,keep the faith
12/10/2004, 4:33 PM
When you say 'some clod in a suit will be sititng in my seat' , how does it become your seat?. Why are you not a Block Booker, could it be that you have not been attending all the home games?.
Don't think that's fair. I've been on a waiting list for the block booking list for about 5 years and have been to nearly every friendly since and every game since the EL section started and there's still no sign of a block booking. The block booking a pretty much a closed shop until the redevelopment of Lansdowne.
liam88
12/10/2004, 4:44 PM
i'm living in ingurland but i don't cheer on every opossition of 'em for the simple reason that there's normally an Erin game on at the same time ;)
I'd never tone down support of my national team because of the locals (i.e. I always hang the Tri out the window during Ireland Football, rugby matches etc. despite the locals not approving) but I didn't poke ma Welsh flag (souvernir from Cardiff) out the other nioght-as ma brother says "there's a difference between supporting your country and asking to get beaten up" :D :D all a bit of craic!
Despite this if it's in our interest for ingurland to loose I have no hesitation in cheering on the opossition-I remember being on a St. John Ambulance camp in Holembry St. Mary's during the 6 nations watching Scotland vs ingurland in a room packed with ingurlish lads while me and a Welsh mate cheered on the Scottish :D
Nolimits
12/10/2004, 7:05 PM
hey peeps, first post here.
I was in paris aswell and i was down at o sullivans bar. Went in there for one drink when we first got there and had to que for about 20 mins, got two and went outside. After that we decided to go to the off licence but the one around the corner looked pretty bad so we looked around and found another better one just straight up the road that was much better. Friday night there was an un believable atmosphere.
To get to the other off licence we had to walk past a peep show place, on the saturday night one of the blokes outside trying to get people to go in shouts at me " i know you" i dont think i said then he said "yes you were here last night and got the b**w J*b off the black girl". totally untrue.
I got a few other stories but im in a hurry at the mo and will return later.
Rough guide to what we got up to see if anyone else ended up near us....when we arrived we went to this bar called L'Olivier in side street near Bonne Nouvelle underground 2 Euro a bottle! Stayed there for a bit. Friday night was spent mainly in a restaurant around Notre Dame (L'Ilie was the street I think) 35 euro a head and all the wine you could drink out of these casks all over the place, smashing stuff.
Think we were lucky because one of my pals cousins actually lived in Paris and there was about 10 in all staying at his so he knew his way about, so we spent some of the weekend with them.
Saturday was spent mainly in a great bar called Lush (England game), not too far from the rip off bars of Pigalle, it was in the backstreets of Place De Clichy. Only popped into Corcorans (7 Euros for a Guinness) because we were meeting a Galway Supporters member to get a ticket for one of the guys (Thanks). From Lush we went to the match which ended up being a rather sobering experience as no drink was to be had for ages.
From the game we got the Metro for the umpteenth time and met up with the other guys in Coolins a cracking "less of the tackiness" Irish bar, great music and in St Germain De Pres. After that it was to The Highlander think that was in the Latin quarter, things got hazy at this point but we did end up finding are way to a Brasserie on the Seine at about 7am, a superb Croque Madame was ordered for breakfast (copy and paste the rest!) - a ham and cheese sandwich, dipped in egg and then broiled, topped with a fried egg à cheval, and topped with a Mornay or Béchamel sauce, served (hot) in the bistros of Paris, hope you got to try one lads they were superb
Jaysus what a weekend. God Sunday was long, only got three hours sleep and travellikng for most of the day, been working solid ever since and am still aboslutley wrecked, first time I get to stay in bed is tomorrow! Hope you all enjoyed it as much as us, smashing stuff.
Am heading back to Dublin with my gf next week for the International Rules game but that will be an altogether more sober affair!
Don Vito
12/10/2004, 8:06 PM
I also had a total mare of night trying to get home on the Friday night. Was in O'sullivans from about 8pm, it was taking ages to get a drink (and i hadnt copped on to the off license) so I was buyin meself 3 or 4 at a time, I only have 2 hands so I had to lash the extras into me at the bar in about 30seconds. As u can imagine me not bein the best drinker I was ossified by midnight and decided to head home to the hotel beside Gard Lyon. I tried to get a taxi but they were about as common as hens teeth as my old lad says. Decided walk home cos I was convinced I was somewhere in Dublin, didnt realise I was about 5 or 6 miles from the hotel. To cut a long story short I found my way home after 4hours of walkin, how I wasnt robbed or raped I'll never know. Anyway that was my experience, was a weekend that'll be long remembered.
TheJamaicanP.M.
12/10/2004, 8:21 PM
I also had a total mare of night trying to get home on the Friday night. Was in O'sullivans from about 8pm, it was taking ages to get a drink (and i hadnt copped on to the off license) so I was buyin meself 3 or 4 at a time, I only have 2 hands so I had to lash the extras into me at the bar in about 30seconds. As u can imagine me not bein the best drinker I was ossified by midnight and decided to head home to the hotel beside Gard Lyon. I tried to get a taxi but they were about as common as hens teeth as my old lad says. Decided walk home cos I was convinced I was somewhere in Dublin, didnt realise I was about 5 or 6 miles from the hotel. To cut a long story short I found my way home after 4hours of walkin, how I wasnt robbed or raped I'll never know. Anyway that was my experience, was a weekend that'll be long remembered.
That does sound like a total mare of a night. One of my mates got similarly ossified early on. He tried on loads of girls, acted the big-shot buying them drinks and then decided to leave. I presumed he was getting a taxi but he just walked home. Taxis were cheap but scarce in Paris. Don't know why he wouldn't text us to bring him home.
13/10/2004, 7:18 AM
Don't think that's fair. I've been on a waiting list for the block booking list for about 5 years and have been to nearly every friendly since and every game since the EL section started and there's still no sign of a block booking. The block booking a pretty much a closed shop until the redevelopment of Lansdowne.
Maybe it is a bit harsh, but it is not much different from being a Season Ticket holder at some of the big Premiership clubs where loads would love to be season ticket holders, but have to wait.
The reason that those with BB's at Landsdowne, of which I am one, have the seats is that we have been going to games for years. I support the inclusion of friendlies in the BB scheme, as it enforces people to commit not only to the 'glamour' games but also to the inevitable 'crap' games that come around from time to time.
It is like the 'crap' away games that come up, when you find it is the real supporters who are there every time. Getting to Paris and Amsterdam for these types of games, particularly when tickets were plentiful did not take a great deal of committment.
However, the point I was really making was that a number who have attended these two games in particular suddenly think they have entitlement to a seat at Lansdowne for the France game next September.
To illustrate this, I offered two of these 'come lately' fans tickets for the Faroes games today, but they were not interested. When I asked them if we had been playing France instead of the Faroes would they want them, you can guess their response.
I dont expect to be able to get tickets for every game and took the opportunity to go Paris due to the abundance of tickets available. I live in Glasgow and the only thing that dictates whether I go to a game or not is the money and until recently I never had the finances to be able to do it. We should be celebrating the fact that more and more people want to go to the games and not get into petty exchanges of the "I'm more entitled than you" ilk. Fair enough if you are but dont go harping on about it.
13/10/2004, 9:42 AM
Just a point about the block booking:
I got my block booking about 13 years ago when we played back-to-back friendlies against USA and Switzerland. It was announced in the press that attendance at BOTH games would guarantee tickets going forward.
As it happened only about 15,000 attended the fist game. The FAI then said that anyone attending the second game by itself would be guaranteed tickets going forward. Guess what? Only about 15,000 attended the second game too.
OK, so I know this was a long time ago and plenty of fans who were only kids then, or maybe living abroad, are now interested in going to all the games and I sympathise with people who are really keen and can't attend.
But, in the context of people of my age group and older, I have no sympathy whatsoever for people who complain about the block booking system. There were opportunities handed on a plate to people to get on the list and they didn't take them.
I used to have 4 tickets guaranteed until recently but now I only have two. Why? Because I was sick of forking out for 4 tickets and not being able to get rid of them. My mates who are also long-time block bookers had the same problems.
And, on about two or three occasions, I have worn a suit to games, mostly friendlies. Is it some sort of crime to have a white collar job? Sometimes, just sometimes, I've had to work late before a match and I make no apologies whatsoever for what I wear to games. In the ground I'm usually as vociferous and enthusiastic as anyone. If the team is playing crap, then I get subdued. That's the way it works.
I also don't buy into the fact that you have to go to Georgia or Macedonia to be a real fan. I admire these fans' commitment massively, but when you have a family, a mortgage and a scarcity of cash it doesn't make you any less of a fan if you're content to watch these games on TV.
Quite frankly, everyone who was in Paris was welcome in my mind. Whether it was their first or their 200th game isn't an issue. There was a married couple in front of me who were probably in their 70s. Magic.
13/10/2004, 10:54 AM
Agree on the Dub-centred bit alright.
greg o brien
13/10/2004, 5:31 PM
Anyone can pick and choose which games they want to go to. However, the fans, whether they wear suits or not, who attend every home game, competitive or friendly (which is now the only way you can retain your Block Booker status) quite rightly deserve priority for home tickets.[/QUOTE]
what are you talking about anyone can pick and choose what games they go to. the only games i've been able to pick and choose to were the friendly matches and i've been choosing to go to any matches home and away i can get tickets for. i completly agree fans who attend every home game (friendly or competitive) deserve first offers of tickets ( though there isn't really any way of determining who is at friendly/competitive matches. i get my tickets through ticketmaster and if i must touts (very unfortunatly) :mad: . i'm in my early twenties and never had a chance to avail of the blockbooking scheme, but i have seen lads in suits who haven't a clue at matches because the manager at the bank they work in knows someone. at the friendly with norway i heard one such person ask if roy keane was playing. the first post i ever put on foot about a year ago was about this and i'm still going to what ever game i can. i'm very disheartened by the distribution of tickets, but roll on the new lansdowne, though the fai seem to be putting a big emphasis on corporate events and the still havent sent my ireland fans membership pack out or even managed to get the ireland fans website up and running.
lopez
14/10/2004, 11:05 AM
I felt like saying, "Fu*k off home then if you hate the place and the people so much...What the f*ck? :mad: Next you'll be saying that us 2Gs are a dirty shower cos we didn't go to Ireland and smash up Lansdowne Road. :rolleyes: F*ck off yerself!
14/10/2004, 11:59 AM
What the f*ck? :mad: Next you'll be saying that us 2Gs are a dirty shower cos we didn't go to Ireland and smash up Lansdowne Road. :rolleyes: F*ck off yerself!
You were trying so hard to get some reference to yourself in there that you managed to make a totally invalid point.
Do you hang around the streets telling visiting fans that you hate the fu*king English and then drive by bars where those same fans are drinking and hurl bottles at them?
No one is talking about you Lopez.
If you're so starved of attention go play around on the "Off Topic" forum. :rolleyes:
You were trying so hard to get some reference to yourself in there that you managed to make a totally invalid point.
Another part-time Dr. Freud. :rolleyes: So what is it? You live in a certain country you have to support the team to be a 'model citizen'? And what about being born in it. Complain all you like about these 'dirty' Algerians - yeah like you'd never, ever get robbed as a tourist in Dublin or Cork :D - but save us - sorry, me - the speech about who you should support. Oh yeah, and were the Algerians the ones charging €10 for a Guinness?
Do you hang around the streets telling visiting fans that you hate the fu*king English and then drive by bars where those same fans are drinking and hurl bottles at them?
Any side's fans that the tans play and I see, I wish them the best of luck. No, I wouldn't throw bottles at them. The 'Algerians' who wished me luck on Saturday - I counted a whopping three - were neither throwing bottles at me nor going through my pockets. And with Pat O'B, Sylvo and our friend the Boston Celtics Jacket, I had a nice drink in an Algerian bar after the game and spoke to an Algerian who had previously lived in London. Maybe the hassle had something to do with the area people were drinking in. Someone mentioned 'Soho'. Another mentioned 'red light district'. Another 'Mafia'. Think about it!
No one is talking about you Lopez.
If you're so starved of attention go play around on the "Off Topic" forum. :rolleyes:Meeeeooww! :rolleyes:
14/10/2004, 1:11 PM
but save us - sorry, me - the speech about who you should support.
You're either too lazy or incapable of reading and comprehending my posts!
Where have I told anyone who to support?
What I said was, if you live in a country and go around telling people how much you hate the "natives" then perhaps you should reconsider your country of reisdence.
Stop trying to turn this into something personal.
14/10/2004, 1:28 PM
PS.Only know,as have tried this sometimes :eek: .....& has worked on occasion!
At least you can balance your pint in your head while you try to pull your foot back out again. :D
Pat O' Banton
14/10/2004, 1:37 PM
OKay this is one of personal experiance and no agreement likely.
Has as been pointed out we met some grand Algerians over the weekend. Peadar you had some trouble with them, differing opinions are going to occur. I didn't mind them supporting us, as firstly the more the merrier and secondly, I think I understand. Yeah I do support anyone who plays Ingerland - a point that makes home life rocky sometimes - but I can't (and actually don't want to) do anything about it. I've had, and heard anti-Irish abuse. Its hopefully is not something you've heard yet and I hope you never do. This doesn't make us better than anyone on here or worse, just of different backgrounds.
The Algerian hatred of France comes from a repression of them that was legendarly cruel, I would presume that the proximity of France, the capability of speaking French and poverty at home makes the former colonial power an attractive proposition. On top of that Paris has a bit of a rascist rep so the support from Algerian fans is for me understandable.
Now where's my blue helmet - oh dear I've just seen it. :eek: :D
Pronane, no need for formalities its Pat 'O on here. Vodaphone rubbishness and the amount of bars between us and the Eifel Tower stopped any meet up.
Pat O' Banton
14/10/2004, 1:41 PM
Now now kids...... :o learn from an 'expert'. :rolleyes: ......Before you put the foot in mouth,employ brain first..... ;)
PS.Only know,as have tried this sometimes :eek: .....& has worked on occasion!
Dav doing the UN bit on here as well, I believe we have foot.ie's first national holiday. St Davros Day! BTW sorry couldn't make the 12 Bens last night was in Riff Raffs for a change :)
Pat O' Banton
14/10/2004, 1:50 PM
on another note, wherebouts is the railway bar? Is it near the twelve pins and are ye girls easily recognisable.
Sorry Mr O'Banton, I thought I had used your firstname, and as I dont know you I apologise for the informalities.
Reread the post, informalities encouraged comrade :) . Railway is around the the back of Finsbury Park station, next to the bus station.
Will PM you next time there will be a bit of a meet in there.
14/10/2004, 2:14 PM
are ye girls easily recognisable.
We're very much so. Stand out like a sore thumb, we do.
Such an odd looking bunch is rarely seen elsewhere. :D
It's a small bar and not hard to find people.
Except for Pat O' when it's his round. :D
Pat O' Banton
14/10/2004, 2:39 PM
We're very much so. Stand out like a sore thumb, we do.
Such an odd looking bunch is rarely seen elsewhere. :D
Oooooooooooo you bitch :D
You're either too lazy or incapable of reading and comprehending my posts!
Where have I told anyone who to support?
What I said was, if you live in a country and go around telling people how much you hate the "natives" then perhaps you should reconsider your country of reisdence.
You're reference: 'I felt like saying, "Fu*k off home then if you hate the place and the people so much...' clearly suggests that these people should support France because their mothers' waters burst there, and that they should be forever grateful to their country of birth for giving their parents the opportunity to clean their toilets. (BTW: This classic bit of revisionism ignores two things. A. Even the sh*t-house attendants pay X amount of their OWN money in tax. B. If enough French people could do these type of jobs they wouldn't bring in foreigners). In fact you quantify this by your own support for the country you now live in: How long have you been in Sasana? Whatever turns you on mate, but as Pat O'B implies - even though he's too diplomatic to say it - you missed the good old days :rolleyes: which may have strained this affection, when even teachers would abuse schoolchildren on their Irishness. I'd say similar things happened to many 2G in France, exemplified by the recent ban on headwear by schoolgirls. Hence their antipathy to France although - just in case it has to be added - no excuse for thieving.
Did you know there was another section of the French population not exactly backing the team on Saturday which may explain how we managed to get in 30K to the SF? Gary Spain will back me up with this about a story he heard from the more red-neck supporters of Lille, but I witnessed it too the previous week in Monaco (admittedly not France but bear with me). I was talking with a Monaco fan young waiter about returning for the game on Saturday. His reply?: 'I don't support France anymore. Too many Africans.'
Stop trying to turn this into something personal.It became personal the minute you started suggesting I was attention seeking and that I should stick to the off-topic section.
14/10/2004, 4:47 PM
It became personal the minute you started suggesting I was attention seeking and that I should stick to the off-topic section.
I'm weary of all this.
Simple point, I don't think it's appropriate to go around shouting your hatred for the nationals in the country which you reside.
You don't have to support their teams.
Ireland has always benefitted from the support of its exiles, especially for away trips. It doesn't benefit Algeria though to have people shouting abuse about the locals on the streets of Paris.
BTW I don't support the England football team, rather I appreciate when they play good football. I have a lot of respect for many of their players because I see their talents regularly in English leagues.
I'm weary of all this.Allright, truce! :( Especially as Sylvo and Pat O'B speak so highly of you. :D Now pronane, do you fancy joining our menage-a-trois (or cinq) on a future trip?
14/10/2004, 5:13 PM
Allright, truce! :(
That means I win!
Woo Hoo.
loser!
;) Only messing.
We'll leave it go.
I've had a fairly easy life so far and therefore ask that you excuse my inability to fully appreciate the plight of so many exiled Irish people and their children.
14/10/2004, 5:58 PM
pat o',
i'd be nipping that kind of talk in the bud if i were you.
before you know it the whole of foot.ie will be wary of you and next the whole of london.
that is of course providing its not true :D :eek: ;)
Pat O' Banton
14/10/2004, 6:18 PM
pat o',
i'd be nipping that kind of talk in the bud if i were you.
before you know it the whole of foot.ie will be wary of you and next the whole of london.
that is of course providing its not true :D :eek: ;)
But I do stand my round. Three pints of tap water, straight glass and a good head. :o Oh I see what you mean
Should have come with us guys most I can remember paying for a pint was 6.50 :) Happy Days.
captkeen
14/10/2004, 6:55 PM
Well lesson learnt for you guys,even though its the craic Irish Pubs are rip offs in big cities. My group stayed at St Denis in an Ibis Hotel beside the hotel,and we ahd a blast.went into centre Paris on Friday afternoon and had a lovely meal in Planet Hollywood and then we decided to go to o sullivans.When we got there it was so crowded and you couldnt get a drink with a smile we headed back to St Denis and had a few in the Paddy Whack.We found this place to be very friendly and meet lots of locals.Best place to drink in St Denis was the little Italian bar around the corner only 3euro a pint.All in all a great trip................note the hotel ran out of beer on saturday night.Bet that never happened to them before.
lopez
14/10/2004, 10:12 PM
Only messing.
We'll leave it go.
I've had a fairly easy life so far and therefore ask that you excuse my inability to fully appreciate the plight of so many exiled Irish people and their children.No problemo! :)
But I do stand my round. I can vouch that this man definitely stands his round. In fact the state he gets in he thinks it's constantly his. :D
Should have come with us guys most I can remember paying for a pint was 6.50 :) Happy Days.Euros!!! :mad: I thought I was being ripped off at the Vat Room in Temple Bar at €12 for a pint of Stella and a Bacardi and Coke in August (The Stella I reckon was €4). Then I thought I was really being ripped off with €5.80 a pint in a ordinary backstreet pub in Monaco last month, only to be truly awakened by €6.50 in a similar establishment in Nice. As for Paris? And people complain about London being dear! :rolleyes:
15/10/2004, 7:09 AM
Dont tell hardline goon-ers;Heard TH :eek: fans celebrating there in song,when Borussia Munch.KO them from Europe in the UEFA 1st round...... :rolleyes: even the 'Tic went further :o ?Anyone remember the year :confused: ?!)
1996?
I'll look it up for you if I get a chance.
Pat O' Banton
15/10/2004, 9:25 AM
1996?
I'll look it up for you if I get a chance.
1996 is correct Peadar, 3-2 to Monchan in both legs. Actualy Dav Celtic went out in the same round to Hamburg.
I'm making getting out more my No.1 priority. ;)
15/10/2004, 9:36 AM
and are you from roscommon?
Who in their right mind would admit to being from Roscommon? :D
Gary Waddock
15/10/2004, 10:34 AM
me, but i mightnt be in my right mind.
You'd know a mile away that u went to DCU...probably did CA did ye?
15/10/2004, 1:32 PM
There'd be some fascinating stories to tell the next day, just neither would be able to remember what they were :confused: ;)
We'd fill you in, don't worry. :D
I'll be down in N5 on the 20th of November and might pop into the Railway afterwards.