View Full Version : 4-3? Cobh again.

20/09/2013, 4:53 PM
Our final meeting of the season with Cobh tomorrow night.....A bit emotional really haha. Fancy us to bang in at least 3 against a depleted Cobh side. Easy win :)

Darklordsbane
20/09/2013, 6:39 PM
Tempting faith?

fitzpatrick10
20/09/2013, 8:47 PM
with the results tonight goal diff is going to be crucial.. hopefully we dont sit back and go at cobh for the 90+

Darklordsbane
20/09/2013, 9:04 PM
Cousins has to start with the same team that played the 2nd half of the last match no more messing about get stuck in and stay there for 90+ mins

L.T.F.C.
21/09/2013, 10:10 PM
Outspoken, you are nothing but a dose to listen to at games. There are plenty of 'personalities' in the stand and thats fine, but between yourself and that other chap beside ya, ye are only embarrassing yourselves. And I'm sure I'm speaking for most in the stand. That chap beside ya in the supporters club committee roaring and shouting like a man possessed is a horrible advert for LOI supporters. Not one word of support between ye throughout the game and to be honest it is disgusting. Cut it out. All that ****e ruined a game that had 9 goals in it.

Anyway, I was delighted with Connolly and Sully. Gorman too. Such a shame about Mulhall. Very poor referee performance tonight. No. 8 raised his hand to Quinn and the ref let it be after the sending off last night on TV. Great to score 7 though, and keep them out after a shaky defensive start.

21/09/2013, 10:33 PM
Outspoken, you are nothing but a dose to listen to at games. There are plenty of 'personalities' in the stand and thats fine, but between yourself and that other chap beside ya, ye are only embarrassing yourselves. And I'm sure I'm speaking for most in the stand. That chap beside ya in the supporters club committee roaring and shouting like a man possessed is a horrible advert for LOI supporters. Not one word of support between ye throughout the game and to be honest it is disgusting. Cut it out. All that ****e ruined a game that had 9 goals in it.

Anyway, I was delighted with Connolly and Sully. Gorman too. Such a shame about Mulhall. Very poor referee performance tonight. No. 8 raised his hand to Quinn and the ref let it be after the sending off last night on TV. Great to score 7 though, and keep them out after a shaky defensive start.

Bit harsh considering me and 'that fella' stay back till almost 11pm after games to clean up the clubhouse and serve the players food. We are as entitled to our opinion as anyone else. I haven't miss 1 home game all season and only 1 away game and the same goes for my friend so to question our support is very harsh. It was a heated game considering the cowardly tackle put In on Mulhall so emotions were bound to run high. If I was annoying you you could have come up and asked me and my friend politely to quiet it down and we would have no problem if we thought we were annoying someone and I mean that. No need to be taking public hits at us on the internet. On the game itself why can't we play like tht every week? Our attacking was superb but our defending is awful....then againu suppose that is the case every week. Rhys Gorman was my MOTM. Also on a side not I've been told Sully is now 1 goal away from breaking Dave Mooneys scoring record which is incredible, what a player he has been this season. I really hope we can keep the players we want to next season.

L.T.F.C.
21/09/2013, 11:07 PM
Bit harsh considering me and 'that fella' stay back till almost 11pm after games to clean up the clubhouse and serve the players food. We are as entitled to our opinion as anyone else. I haven't miss 1 home game all season and only 1 away game and the same goes for my friend so to question our support is very harsh. It was a heated game considering the cowardly tackle put In on Mulhall so emotions were bound to run high. If I was annoying you you could have come up and asked me and my friend politely to quiet it down and we would have no problem if we thought we were annoying someone and I mean that. No need to be taking public hits at us on the internet. On the game itself why can't we play like tht every week? Our attacking was superb but our defending is awful....then againu suppose that is the case every week. Rhys Gorman was my MOTM. Also on a side not I've been told Sully is now 1 goal away from breaking Dave Mooneys scoring record which is incredible, what a player he has been this season. I really hope we can keep the players we want to next season.

Cleaning up and all that is great and fair play but it does not give you a carte blanc to roar abuse at the team for 90 minutes. Everyone is entitled to their opinion but no one is entitled to roar abuse like that. And the game wasn't really that heated. We won by five. And I have witnessed such requests in the stand from one party to another and they have never been well received so I don't think going near either of you would have been an option.

21/09/2013, 11:15 PM
Cleaning up and all that is great and fair play but it does not give you a carte blanc to roar abuse at the team for 90 minutes. Everyone is entitled to their opinion but no one is entitled to roar abuse like that. And the game wasn't really that heated. We won by five. And I have witnessed such requests in the stand from one party to another and they have never been well received so I don't think going near either of you would have been an option.

Not once did we shout out abuse at our own team. Yes we may have aired our displeasure after conceding a goal or 2 but any criticism we had was kept between us. The only time we shouted out was to air out grevence with the referee.

21/09/2013, 11:16 PM
Hope young Mulhall will be ok, heard it was a shocking tackle that caught him. That and Quinn getting a pointless red card would be the only negatives.

L.T.F.C.
21/09/2013, 11:22 PM
Not once did we shout out abuse at our own team.

And that's where I'll end this discussion.

21/09/2013, 11:44 PM
And that's where I'll end this discussion.

People weren't giving out about us being too loud when we brought the drum up into the stand and gave it our all to try and create an atmosphere against the likes of athlone and Drogheda and Waterford, in fact I remember section O members on here praising the stand after the first Waterford game and no I'm not trying to say that was thanks to us or look for credit I'm simply saying it's not our fault if the atmosphere at games is dead or if no one is turning up all we are trying to do is support the club we love and it's very upsetting and hurtful to see comments like this posted about us online. Again i would have happily discussed this with you in person or via DM. I think this thread should be kept only for football.

Darklordsbane
22/09/2013, 5:52 AM
Non of my business lads but come on .
I can't believe a passionate supporter is getting grief for supporting his team, I was in the stands and apart from some colourful language I heard nothing too offencive, you 2 should go for a pint and maybe you should take a small leaf out of each others books.
I agree with Outspoken the defending at time was shocking, the football at time was very good much better than a few weeks ago, I thought we should have scored at least 10, some of the skill from Gorman was suberb, I thought he was motm by a street,
in fact there were very few you could say were rubbish, Purdy looks like he might be getting his confidence back after coming back in for you know who, Davy, Josh, Havo, ebbe, Connolly, (to name but a few) should be very pleased with themseves they all had very good games,
I reckon we got the ball and passed and played for at least 70% of the match that in my opinion is why we were so good in attack not so many long balls from Bennion this time,

Keen2win
22/09/2013, 3:33 PM
I felt as if in the first half the lads were kinda getting used to actually playing decent football on the deck! It will be a crying shame if we don't go up, I think we have the best squad of players and we probably won't get as good a chance again... Still not hopeful however.

Disgraceful decision by the ref too!

22/09/2013, 9:07 PM
a few records were set last night.
1.We scored seven goals for the first time ever. Previous best was six goals v Harps in 92-93 season away and 6-1 win over Cobh away in 99-00.
2. Sully has scored the most amount of goals in a season by a town player. Dave Mooney in 07 scored 22 goals Sully is now on 24!

fitzpatrick10
23/09/2013, 2:15 AM
negatives on the night - keith quinns big mouth got him a red card so thats another defender out! jamies injury , brutal tackle, hopefully he has a speedy recovery as he is a very good player that was bursting with confidence

positives - willo was on the bench so he might be back fit soon, played it on the deck, cousins finally picked the best midfield and strikers imo...

worries now are the defence, we let in two sloppy goals , we are really streched at the back and keiths red isnt going to help, hopefully des or willo can play v mervue

Darklordsbane
23/09/2013, 6:58 AM
I thought I saw a video camera above Section O does anyone know was it De Town or Cobh who videoed the game as maybe we could get the red card recinded as the Cobh player clearly pushed Quinn with his hand after the ball was gone,
I think Quinn could be a very good player if he sorted out his big gob,
Good luck to Jamie I hope it's not serious, he wasn't having his finest game at the time but he will learn, he has hugh potential,
I thought Connelly's passing was very poor he gave the ball away loads of times but he made up for it with his disstructive/defencive play which was excellent,
I agree the defence was bad but Havo was pretty good maybe Mccarthy will be back didn't see him on Saturday night though
I would like a copy of that video myself just to see were we as good going forward as it looked at the time

23/09/2013, 8:32 AM
I thought I saw a video camera above Section O does anyone know was it De Town or Cobh who videoed the game as maybe we could get the red card recinded as the Cobh player clearly pushed Quinn with his hand after the ball was gone,
I think Quinn could be a very good player if he sorted out his big gob,
Good luck to Jamie I hope it's not serious, he wasn't having his finest game at the time but he will learn, he has hugh potential,
I thought Connelly's passing was very poor he gave the ball away loads of times but he made up for it with his disstructive/defencive play which was excellent,
I agree the defence was bad but Havo was pretty good maybe Mccarthy will be back didn't see him on Saturday night though
I would like a copy of that video myself just to see were we as good going forward as it looked at the time

It was de town who recorded the game TC has it done for every match. Was it 2 yellows or a straight red for Quinn because if it's 2 yellows you can't appeal it. I just hope we send a copy of the refs performance to FAI HQ not that it will do any good. The big relief on the night was to see Glenn o Connor on the bench as he is now our only fit left back with willie out until at least the play-offs. I thought treacy was awful again last Saturday and that macker should be brought back in then again mervue will play it low and with pace so maybe it's not the right game for Brian but it Definently is for willo to make a return, we can't afford to be giving goals away like the ones we did against Cobh and yes McCarthy was at the game darklordsblane.

Darklordsbane
23/09/2013, 8:43 AM
Ok sorry, I stand corrected, did he get his hair cut, I didn't notice him on the bench, where I would have assumed he would be, or was he in the stands with the long term guys

L.T.F.C.
23/09/2013, 11:09 AM
Yellow first and straight red to Quinn.

L.T.F.C.
23/09/2013, 11:52 AM
McCarthy was in the stand.

23/09/2013, 3:14 PM
Video evidence isn't taken into account for First division games. Only referees report. Ciaran Coll was given an additional 2 games for his sending off against Drogheda in the cup despite everyone in the country being able to see clearly on mns what a shocker of a decision it was.
Also earlier in the season Harps sent video evidence to the FAI for another decision that was rejected because they dont accept videos.

On abuse thing, you hear it in every ground in world football. A poor excuse for anyone to stay away. Look no further than gah grounds. Disgraceful some of the stuff heard on those terraces and that doesn't stop people attending. Anyone that's genuinely worried should look into a family friendly section of the ground being put into place.

Darklordsbane
23/09/2013, 9:33 PM
Good idea Nigel

Darklordsbane
24/09/2013, 10:14 AM
Anyone found a match report of the game yet very slow in the 2 places I usually look

24/09/2013, 11:16 AM
Anyone found a match report of the game yet very slow in the 2 places I usually look

First match all season I didn't get a report done for. I don't think ET had anyone at the game, shame really but I was bogged down with other work.