View Full Version : Drogs to dump Cooke?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

White Horse
09/09/2013, 4:33 PM
I'm hearing rumours from Drogheda that Mick Cooke is on the verge of being sacked. Have any of the Drogheda supporters on here heard anything?

MiniMourinho
09/09/2013, 4:47 PM
Yep, I believe it's all off the field stuff. If true, I will thank him for the great memories lately and say goodbye. Nobody bigger than the club.

White Horse
09/09/2013, 4:49 PM
It can't be on the field stuff. What Drogheda have done under Cooke is nothing short of a miracle.

MiniMourinho
09/09/2013, 4:59 PM
Exactly. Indicating the seriousness of the off field stuff.

markc1184
09/09/2013, 5:49 PM
Gone at the end of the season. No idea why.

09/09/2013, 5:56 PM
Yep, I believe it's all off the field stuff. If true, I will thank him for the great memories lately and say goodbye. Nobody bigger than the club.
Is this implying he thinks he is?

NeverFeltBetter
09/09/2013, 6:00 PM
Oh come on now, what sort of "off the field" stuff? Fighting with players, disputes with board, breaking unspoken rules of secret coke orgies? What?

MiniMourinho
09/09/2013, 6:06 PM
Is this implying he thinks he is?

Yes it is.

09/09/2013, 6:10 PM
Yes it is.
So it's money then?

09/09/2013, 6:18 PM
He's gone in November according to MNS, they just posted the Drogheda statement.

09/09/2013, 6:22 PM
Ambition, so looking for a bigger budget and trying to play hardball. Board wont budge and Cooke has said he will walk, Board said fine. Fair play too. Mick Cooke for 'Director of Football' at Shams next season....

SeanDrog
09/09/2013, 6:54 PM
Ambition, so looking for a bigger budget and trying to play hardball. Board wont budge and Cooke has said he will walk, Board said fine. Fair play too. Mick Cooke for 'Director of Football' at Shams next season....

Shows how serious the louth derby is!!! Fail to win and you're fired.

No seriously from the press release it does look like the usual stuff of a manager wanting a bigger budget (I'm purely guessing here) and club said no. If this is the case then I agree with the club given our history with financial mismanagement. In saying that I think mick leaves with his head held very high and with the honest best wishes of all drog supporters.

Finally I am shocked as I didn't see it coming and his replacement will have a big job to fill his shoes.

09/09/2013, 7:08 PM
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/11038/drogheda-utd-wont-renew-cookes-contract/

White Horse
09/09/2013, 7:12 PM

I think Cooke would have been happy with the same budget.

09/09/2013, 7:16 PM

Not according to a Drog board member (who has close ties to Dundalk town ;))

DRDoc
09/09/2013, 9:59 PM
Drogs still have plenty to play for this season, League Cup final, a very winnable FAI Cup quarter final - bad form and unprofessional for this unsettling news to come out before those games in my opinion

ATFC-1887
10/09/2013, 1:26 AM
Seen a few Drogs fans on twitter saying there is a player owed 11 weeks wages and owe Cooke money too. Dunno how true that is.

White Horse
10/09/2013, 6:56 AM
Seen a few Drogs fans on twitter saying there is a player owed 11 weeks wages and owe Cooke money too. Dunno how true that is.

I've heard all sorts of rumours. There is so much spin going on from both sides.

It's hard to know what to believe.

Dumping Cooke is baffling enough, the decision to keep him for the reast of the season is plain stupid. What if he wins the league cup and even the FAI cup? The board would then be in an impossible situation.

If Cooke was to go, he should have gone immediately.

dejadem
10/09/2013, 8:19 AM

But maybe the same budget is not been offered? I have no idea by the way, but it won't be surprising if there was a drop in budget to match a drop in income.

Louth4sam
10/09/2013, 8:40 AM
Oh come on now, what sort of "off the field" stuff? Fighting with players, disputes with board, breaking unspoken rules of secret coke orgies? What?

He broke the first two rules of Fight Club

White Horse
10/09/2013, 8:41 AM
But maybe the same budget is not been offered? I have no idea by the way, but it won't be surprising if there was a drop in budget to match a drop in income.

The more I hear about it, the more it strikes me that a parting was inevitable.

Mick Cooke got a taste of sucess last year, and potentially this year in the cup competitions. Of course, he wants more. However, the problem Drogheda have is the lack of support from the town. No matter how hard their dedicated fans fund raise, they cannot replace the funds that would be generated from 2,000 fans and decent sponsorship from local businesses. I mention 2,000 as that is the level of support apparently needed for a decent budget.

Mick went through a similar (though much worse) problem in Monaghan. No matter how hard he worked, the support wasn't there to take it to the next level.

He probably feels that it is now or never for him.

It would appear that the Board are being pragmatic and don't want to jeopardise the viability of the club. If that is the case, they are right in what they do. However, it is vital that they explain it properly to their fans. They deserve to be told the truth.

Straightstory
10/09/2013, 8:47 AM

Mick Cooke got a taste of sucess last year, and potentially this year in the cup competitions. Of course, he wants more. However, the problem Drogheda have is the lack of support from the town. No matter how hard their dedicated fans fund raise, they cannot replace the funds that would be generated from 2,000 fans and decent sponsorship from local businesses. I mention 2,000 as that is the level of support apparently needed for a decent budget.

Mick went through a similar (though much worse) problem in Monaghan. No matter how hard he worked, the support wasn't there to take it to the next level.

It would appear that the Board are being pragmatic and don't want to jeopardise the viability of the club. If that is the case, they are right in what they do. However, it is vital that they explain it properly to their fans. They deserve to be told the truth.

Good stuff.
As a Drogs fan, I'm very sad to see Mick go. I just cannot see another manager doing as well as him. Drogs league crowds have been very poor, but they do turn up for the big games. Without Mick in charge, I cannot see many more of them coming up after this season. Thanks, Mick. Really disappointing end.

MiniMourinho
10/09/2013, 9:14 AM
Seems there is a long list of reasons why he has had to be let go. To be honest I'm surprised they hung onto him so long. Its all down to trust and loyalty (and money). Apparently Mick interviewed for the limerick job behind the clubs back. Other stories of utterly appalling treatment of players such as Brian Gannon and Stephen Quigley this season.

It would appear Mick Cooke the gentleman is a public persona. As is the case with so many managers.

White Horse
10/09/2013, 9:15 AM
Seems there is a long list of reasons why he has had to be let go. To be honest I'm surprised they hung onto him so long. Its all down to trust and loyalty (and money). Apparently Mick interviewed for the limerick job behind the clubs back. Other stories of utterly appalling treatment of players such as Brian Gannon and Stephen Quigley this season.

It would appear Mick Cooke the gentleman is a public persona. As is the case with so many managers.

Why do I have a feeling that you know a lot more than you are saying?

MiniMourinho
10/09/2013, 9:28 AM
Because I do.

dejadem
10/09/2013, 9:34 AM

I agree, if that is the case that they are protecting the club from an overspend (with prize money there was a profit from last season). The problem is, nobody seems to know, or is saying, if that is the reasoning behind it.

Yossarian
10/09/2013, 9:36 AM
Why announce it now though unless Cooke himself was going to make it known. Surely they could have waited at least until after the cup game this weekend and the league cup final.
There's obviously a lot more going on behind the scenes but he has done a fantastic job for Drogheda and they will struggle to replicate that over the next couple of seasons.

dejadem
10/09/2013, 9:39 AM
Apparently Mick interviewed for the limerick job behind the clubs back. Other stories of utterly appalling treatment of players such as Brian Gannon and Stephen Quigley this season.

So what if he went for Limerick job? Look how the club hired in Mick and got rid of Bobby Browne, that was hardly the work of gentlemen.
Didn't Quigley ask to leave in the window to get first team football?
If that's the basis of the reasoning is seems like those running the club need to man up a little.

White Horse
10/09/2013, 9:43 AM
If Mick Cooke went for the Limerick job, I'm scratching my head as to why he didn't get it.

10/09/2013, 9:52 AM
Well he put himself in the shop window now anyway. He mightn't have played a nice brand of football, could be down to the players he had but he did get a lot out of them and that's something that most clubs would love to see.

MiniMourinho
10/09/2013, 9:57 AM
So what if he went for Limerick job? Look how the club hired in Mick and got rid of Bobby Browne, that was hardly the work of gentlemen.
Didn't Quigley ask to leave in the window to get first team football?
If that's the basis of the reasoning is seems like those running the club need to man up a little.

At least Monaghan united knew about the Drogs interest in Mick. No Quigley didn't ask to leave. He was put on the stand at the Europa league press conference against Malmo and then told the next morning to sling his hook without any explanation. Brian Gannon was told he wasn't wanted on the last day of the window too and was unbelievably lucky to sort a club out in time. Disgusting behaviour from a man, never mind a manager. Turns out it doesn't end there and that the players indicated they won't be signing for him again next season. That is why it had to happen now. This is the time when the club needs to be sorting out its squad for next year.

Do you not care that your so called manager would interview for anything under the sun? He's only interested in the money. Drogs have very little of that and thus have to protect their club at all costs. I commend the board for taking the unbelieveably brave and difficult decision to do this, knowing the reaction they would get. That is true love for your club, especially when you are only a volunteer.

White Horse
10/09/2013, 10:04 AM
At least Monaghan united knew about the Drogs interest in Mick. No Quigley didn't ask to leave. He was put on the stand at the Europa league press conference against Malmo and then told the next morning to sling his hook without any explanation. Brian Gannon was told he wasn't wanted on the last day of the window too and was unbelievably lucky to sort a club out in time. Disgusting behaviour from a man, never mind a manager. Turns out it doesn't end there and that the players indicated they won't be signing for him again next season. That is why it had to happen now. This is the time when the club needs to be sorting out its squad for next year.

Do you not care that your so called manager would interview for anything under the sun? He's only interested in the money. Drogs have very little of that and thus have to protect their club at all costs. I commend the board for taking the unbelieveably brave and difficult decision to do this, knowing the reaction they would get. That is true love for your club, especially when you are only a volunteer.

The way you describe it, it makes perfect sense.

The bit I don't understand is why allow him to stay for the rest of the season. It gives him a platform to agitate and get the fans angry with the Board.

Surely, a clean break would have been better for the club?

MiniMourinho
10/09/2013, 10:13 AM
The club didn't announce that. An unknown source leaked that to the media (Mick). If the club want to pay his contract off, Mick doesn't have a choice to decide to stay until the end of the season. The club are still undergoing due process with Mick, hence no announcements. Its Mick that has thrown the grenade into the thing by deciding to go to the media in order to spin his position.

10/09/2013, 10:22 AM
DUFC statement: http://www.droghedaunited.ie/news/post.php?s=2013-09-10-statement-on-behalf-of-the-board-of-management-of-drogheda-united-fc

"Over the past number of months it has become clear that the club and first team manager Mick Cooke were not of the same mind in regard to the future direction of the club. Acting in the best long-term interests of the club, the board has decided not to appoint Mick for the 2014 season.

The board is disappointed that its confidential affairs have been aired in the media over the past number of days. It is not appropriate for the board to comment further at this time."

White Horse
10/09/2013, 10:25 AM
The board is disappointed that its confidential affairs have been aired in the media over the past number of days. It is not appropriate for the board to comment further at this time."

This backs up what MM has been saying.

10/09/2013, 10:30 AM
This backs up what MM has been saying.

To be fair, it doesn't really back up anything. It just mentions he's going and they'd prefer people didn't know about it.

You're point about him staying on being ridiculous is spot on.

MiniMourinho
10/09/2013, 10:34 AM
Like I said lads, he wont be staying on. Due process is currently being followed. He will be sacked.

dejadem
10/09/2013, 10:43 AM
Do you not care that your so called manager would interview for anything under the sun?

Of course I care. But when was this, the start of the season? 6 months ago? Is that really one of the MAJOR reasons?
Point is, things are not adding up here, that's all.

"so called manager"?

MiniMourinho
10/09/2013, 10:50 AM
A manager under contract cannot just go meeting other clubs by himself to talk about taking over them. Yes, that would be ONE of the major issues. You have to demand some loyalty from someone who you have just handed a new contract to, with a pay rise, which he signed.

10/09/2013, 10:54 AM
A manager under contract cannot just go meeting other clubs by himself to talk about taking over them. Yes, that would be ONE of the major issues. You have to demand some loyalty from someone who you have just handed a new contract to, with a pay rise, which he signed.
You realise how you appointed Mick Cooke, don't you?

MiniMourinho
10/09/2013, 11:04 AM
Yes similar way but all above board.

desaintsno.12
10/09/2013, 12:53 PM
Roddy Collins anyone ???

He did well with Drogheda, but i despised how they played. well organised etc etc, but a dirty team IMO. nothing over the top but dirty none the less

Duffman
10/09/2013, 1:03 PM
You realise how you appointed Mick Cooke, don't you?

A reminder of the old adage, "If s/he'll cheat with you, s/he'll cheat on you"

11/09/2013, 12:24 AM
Lies.

11/09/2013, 12:41 AM
Mick Cooke didn't interview for the Limerick job.

DRDoc
11/09/2013, 1:48 AM

this is true

dejadem
11/09/2013, 8:31 AM
this is true

Even if he did, it seems a pretty poor excuse, as it would have been 6 or 7 months ago. If its such a big deal what have they been doing since

dejadem
11/09/2013, 8:34 AM

Lies.

From the time I don't think Bobby Brown seen it as too above board either.

MiniMourinho
11/09/2013, 9:56 AM

If you want to believe that fine. But he did.

11/09/2013, 10:15 AM
If you want to believe that fine. But he did.

I know for a fact he didn't.

"if you to believe that" :bulgy:

Even if he had you look like a petty idiot bringing it up as some sort of justification roughly nine months after the fact.

The smearing is classless.