View Full Version : clinton
dynamo kerry
09/10/2004, 11:20 PM
good game. held it well, good in the air, sttod his ground. worth his place and no doubt.
any idea on how bad the injury is?
09/10/2004, 11:37 PM
I dont know but he better be back for faroe game, we need him to get a couple of the goals :D
09/10/2004, 11:44 PM
Yes I was disappointed to see him come off, in the past I would not
have been too bothered but I though he was doing very well tonight
and in recent matches, he was like a magnet to the ball!!
He was on crutches after but he looked quite happy about it so I assume
it just a precaution. Fingers crossed.
10/10/2004, 12:18 AM
im not a fan of clinton mac muiris but i was going mad when he went off tonite..did his job and was superb
he played surprisingly well for someone who is completely shít. hope the injury keeps him out for a while, so we can have a look at other options against the faroes
10/10/2004, 1:35 PM
He played brilliantly. shame to see him going off , I thought he was the most likely to score. Held the ball up well and nearly scored from an over hit ball.
I really hope he is fit, I think he will develop into a good forward as Giles says. Him and Robbie need to work out who is doing what in the future though. ;)
10/10/2004, 2:19 PM
hope the injury keeps him out for a while,
not a very nice thing to say eanna
Adrianovic
10/10/2004, 2:27 PM
Looking to Wednesday, as Clinton will most likely be out and we aren't blessed with a great number of strikers, I'd almost be tempted to put Stephen Elliott on the bench and if we're 2 goals up at half time, throw him on.
I realise he isn't ready to do the job just yet, but it'd be more worthwile than using Doc.
Ade
dynamo kerry
10/10/2004, 2:27 PM
for shame eanna
two reason; he's scored in the last two games
secondly; to wish general ill on someone for your conveinience - scumtastic man.
10/10/2004, 2:44 PM
hope the injury keeps him out for a while, so we can have a look at other options against the faroes
That really is bad form ! He has played well for us. Do yourself a favour and just look at the other options available to us... nothing that exactly jumps up and hits you in the face unless you want to play the long ball :( I really hope Clinton is fit or play Reid off Keane.
i make no apolgies for it. he's crap and he's the worst kind of mercenary imaginable.
10/10/2004, 3:41 PM
i make no apolgies for it. he's crap and he's the worst kind of mercenary imaginable.
He was nearly in tears when he came off, if that doesn't demonstrate a desire to play for your country then I don't know what does. It was a top performance from Clinton, he held the ball up well, made space for Robbie and the defence clearly didn't know what to do with him. He's a different kettle of fish to Robbie in that he plays with his back to goal, receiving the ball whereas I think Robbie works best running at a defence. I, for one, hope he's fit and well to start against the Faroes.
He was nearly in tears when he came off, if that doesn't demonstrate a desire to play for your country then I don't know what does. It was a top performance from Clinton,
except its not HIS country at all. Its one hes making do with because england wouldn't pick him. and yes he did play well- never denied that- but thats one good game in how many?
1MickCollins
10/10/2004, 4:06 PM
Morrison CAN develop into a top class striker - technically he is good, he is quick and a good finisher ( proven at least at Championship level & for Ireland lets not forget). He is a confidence player and I think the fact that he scored both his qualfier goals with his head just shows how hard he is working, this was an area of weakness in his game he worked on in the last 6 months. I would like to see him play regular football, he needs to leave the Brummies ASAP. He is our best striker right now as far as I am concerned, he has played more consistently that Robbie in the past 3 games. There is no questioning his attitude or ability.
Adrianovic
10/10/2004, 4:08 PM
except its not HIS country at all. Its one hes making do with because england wouldn't pick him. and yes he did play well- never denied that- but thats one good game in how many?
Well if you're going to start questioning about players born in England, but giving their all for Ireland, then how many more players do you want to target?
I've not seen anyone celebrate a goal for Ireland like Clinton did when he scored against Cyprus, you could see his was euphoric and it meant as much to him as it did to anyone else on the team or in the crowd.
So if Clinton has had bad games in the past, you want to drop him just after some of his best performances for his country?
Ade
Adrianovic
10/10/2004, 4:10 PM
I would like to see him play regular football, he needs to leave the Brummies ASAP..
That's another tragedy with his injury, he was getting regular football at Birmingham as Forssel and Heskey are injured. Would have been nice to see him really make his mark on the first team and become a regular for them.
Ade
but thats one good game in how many?
Get over it will ya, he played very well agaisnt both Cyprus and Switzerland as well, better than Robbie Keane in the Swiss game certainly. he played well agaisnt Brazil, Australia.
He is doing well for Ireland up front. Fair play.
And if he isnt to play agaisnt the Faroes, who should? Doherty? Ireland dont exactly have a big pool of strikers to choose from.
1MickCollins
10/10/2004, 4:45 PM
That's another tragedy with his injury, he was getting regular football at Birmingham as Forssel and Heskey are injured. Would have been nice to see him really make his mark on the first team and become a regular for them.
Ade
He has only started 1 game for Birmingham this season, and has made 4 sub appearances all pretty brief.
10/10/2004, 4:53 PM
He also revealed the extent of the team spirit in the Irish squad when he said: "I'd like to be fit for Wednesday, so fingers crossed and we will see how it goes, but if not then I'm going to try and stay here until Wednesday. I don't want to go back to Birmingham. What for? To be depressed? I want to cheer the boys on."
Sounds to me like it's his Country.Get well soon and you to Eanna.
dynamo kerry
10/10/2004, 5:25 PM
Well if you're going to start questioning about players born in England, but giving their all for Ireland, then how many more players do you want to target?
I've not seen anyone celebrate a goal for Ireland like Clinton did when he scored against Cyprus, you could see his was euphoric and it meant as much to him as it did to anyone else on the team or in the crowd.
So if Clinton has had bad games in the past, you want to drop him just after some of his best performances for his country?
Ade
agredd- he's had several good games. in the 10 game run when he didn't score maybe 5 of those were less than accepatble. his first 8 or so caps under mick were very encouraging. rememebr the friendly against denmark? he was on fire. always has a smile and a wave for the terraces at lansdowne, seems a genuine nice lad. I for one wish him well.
10/10/2004, 6:58 PM
he played surprisingly well for someone who is completely shít. hope the injury keeps him out for a while, so we can have a look at other options against the faroes
What other options exactly?
Don't mention Gary Doherty!
Stephen Elliott is injured.
Alan Lee or David Connolly, dont think so!
10/10/2004, 10:14 PM
Lee deserves a chance- he's scored goals in the first division in england, which is pretty much all Clinton "I wanna be an international so I'm Irish" Morrison has ever done. The guy is crap. He has never scored goals consistently at anything above division one level. His popularity with Ireland fans is some kind of sick joke, and only reinforces my belief that the majority of muppets in Landsdowne don't have a notion about football. Lee deserves a chance, as does Kevin Doyle after his form for the U-21's, although Elliott would be first in my list if he was fit.
10/10/2004, 10:20 PM
Alan Lee , Connolly FFS :rolleyes: give me a break. Morrison is the best of the bunch. Elliot may be one for the future.
10/10/2004, 10:24 PM
Alan Lee , Connolly FFS :rolleyes: give me a break. Morrison is the best of the bunch. Elliot may be one for the future.
no matter how much I dislike connolly, I'd have morrison ahead of him. Connolly shouldn't even be allowed in Dublin the weekend of games in case his presence causes trouble.
10/10/2004, 10:30 PM
Connolly shouldn't even be allowed in Dublin the weekend of games in case his presence causes trouble.
I couldnt agree more !
dynamo kerry
11/10/2004, 1:46 AM
Lee deserves a chance- he's scored goals in the first division in england, which is pretty much all Clinton "I wanna be an international so I'm Irish" Morrison has ever done. The guy is crap. He has never scored goals consistently at anything above division one level. His popularity with Ireland fans is some kind of sick joke, and only reinforces my belief that the majority of muppets in Landsdowne don't have a notion about football. Lee deserves a chance, as does Kevin Doyle after his form for the U-21's, although Elliott would be first in my list if he was fit.
morrisons had about half a season of consistent games, maybe a bit more above div one level. with his injuries I'm still willing to give him slack and besides he's been more productive than robbie in the last 3 irish games.
just because you resent the way in which he came into the squad you decide to label anyone that thinks he does a good job "one of the lansdowne bandwagon muppets". you bitterness regarding this is apparent , let it go.
elliot has done no more than morrison has, a lot less actually as morrison had three full seasons scoring a good amount of goals in div one. lee hasnt started the season well but agreed he could do with a chance right enough.
kevin doyle? before jason byrne? no way.
irishfan86
11/10/2004, 6:31 AM
Morrison has the potential to be a class premiership striker, if he stays healthy and gets a run of games. Think of it this way-how many players do you know who can step into international soccer in the starting 11 and score a goal in a qualifier against a decent side like the Swiss, after not playing regularly for their club sides? Not to mention the goal he scored against Cyprus, although it wasn't as important. This guy is in my starting 11 with everyone healthy, and for anyone to wish him to be injured is an absolute joke. We've got two strikers that started against France, and in the last few games, only one has been frustrating me. You figure it out.
Thought the boy was class, held the ball up brilliantly, was gutted when he went off. To quote the man himself:
"I'd like to be fit for Wednesday, so fingers crossed and we will see how it goes, but if not then I'm going to try and stay here until Wednesday. I don't want to go back to Birmingham. What for? To be depressed? I want to cheer the boys on."
He's got my vote, allez morrison :)
11/10/2004, 8:34 AM
Clinton was magnificent. Given he was so down on his luck & form earlier this year. the guy's really got to be commended for his efforts for Ireland this campaign.
I had lost patience with him by June but I'm happy to give him all the credit he deserves.
11/10/2004, 8:48 AM
I actually felt he was a bigger threat than Robbie until he came off, he definately had the best chance in the first half from Roy Keane's through ball, and to quote the man himself:
felt on top of my game and from the first minute I could see the defender was not happy, so I thought I was going to get the better of him.
11/10/2004, 8:50 AM
Clint was a massive loss when he went off.
We had no outlet down that right side.
Whatever slim chance we had of beating Barthez went with Clints departure.
11/10/2004, 10:23 AM
really glad to hear people supporting Clinton, he has done a great job for us in the WCQ games that he has played so far and looked very dangerous in Paris, he had the better of that defender and you would not be surprised if he scored.
Kerr has brought him a lot and I cant think how anyone can really question his inclusion in the squad.
zinedineontour
11/10/2004, 10:42 AM
Clinton was brilliant had the centre half in his pocket has been great the last 3 games was gutted seeing him going off.. Its amazing the amount of criticism he gets seeing as robbie never gets any stick when he plays bad.. And to say hes not irish is ****ing stupid.. He showed how committed he is to the cause enough times. Didnt think there were ignorant people like eanna still around
11/10/2004, 11:06 AM
Hope there's no tinge of racism creeping in here
Of course there isn't. for ****s sake, thats one hell of an accusation to make.
And to say hes not irish is ****ing stupid.. He showed how committed he is to the cause enough times. Didnt think there were ignorant people like eanna still around
nothing ignorant about having an opinion. and if clinton is so irish, why did he beg sven to pick him before changing his mind and declaring for Ireland? I've no problem with fella's like kilbane or breen who are Irish through and through, but plastic paddy brit rejects like morrison and holland make me sick.
11/10/2004, 11:36 AM
Hope there's no tinge of racism creeping in here.......seems like yer in a minority of one :o ...... :rolleyes: stick to 'hating' Shelbourne........what have they ever done to you,FFS :confused:
They've beaten and finished above his team. Consistently. And robbed his teams best winger while they were at it ;)
As for Clinton, questions can be asked about his Irishness but now that he's in the squad he's easily our best partner for Robbie Keane by far and I'm glad we have him.
clinton is fab
11/10/2004, 5:31 PM
don't slag clinton, i'm not a professional footbal expert/commentator but i think he was doing really well on saturday and if he hadn't had to come off i'm sure he would have scored.
on another note my mum taught clinton at school and my sister was in the same school a year above him; he was a decent lad then (he would always have acknowleged his irish heritage) and i think he's decent lad now.
Adrianovic
11/10/2004, 7:35 PM
He has only started 1 game for Birmingham this season, and has made 4 sub appearances all pretty brief.
Fair play, I made that comment blindly because they said it on tele, and if they say it on Sky it must be true.
Also I wouldn't agree in saying there was anything racist about the comments made on this thread, I suppose some people just don't rate players. It's all opinions, but I'd draw the line at wishing an injury on one of our own lads!
Ade
11/10/2004, 8:01 PM
but I'd draw the line at wishing an injury on one of our own lads!
yeah some of that was really bad taste !!
lopez
11/10/2004, 11:12 PM
Hope there's no tinge of racism creeping in here.......Hmmmmmmm!!! :cool:
Of course there isn't. for ****s sake, thats one hell of an accusation to make.Hmmmmmm! :rolleyes:
....brit rejects like morrison and holland make me sick. :confused: :confused: :confused:
11/10/2004, 11:34 PM
In fairness, I don't agree with Éanna, but he's not been a bit racist there.
12/10/2004, 12:06 AM
Clinton did great, I am becoming a big fan of him after his recent
performances, he seems tranformed, especially since I have realised
he can head the ball too. He can cross and hold up the ball and I
expect we will see some great shooting when he recovers from
injury, he even had a smile on his face when he was on crutchs,
I wish his all the best. He is a major asset.