View Full Version : the magic of the cup ~ drogs at home

21/08/2013, 10:09 AM
We are only 4 games away from the Aviva, a good cup run could actually help us more than it would hinder us especially financially but if TC does opt to go with a mixed side on Saturday I don't think anyone would complain.

What we can't afford is another 6-0 thumping, a goo performance to give us some belief ahead of next weeks all or nothing game is exactly hat we need.

Darklordsbane
21/08/2013, 5:01 PM
I will be having a bet on De Town 7/2 with Boyle sports and Paddy Power , could be better elsewhere as I believe Drogheda will think they only have to turn up, I also think Cousins will play his strongest side

21/08/2013, 5:38 PM
After watching the Drogs beat Derry on MNS I'm not confident at all. The Brennan brothers are an unbelievable threat with their pace, power and shooting ability. A big crowd and big atmosphere needed to help push the lads on.

21/08/2013, 7:51 PM
are the Drogs bringing much travellin support this weekend? one thing for sure is that the crowd wont be the same as nine yrs ago! there will be a feature on that match in this weekends programme! I got the reports from both matches scanned in Dublin today.

21/08/2013, 8:11 PM
http://www.airtricityleague.ie/about/press-office/5011-weekend-suspension-list-from-august-19

see havo is suspended! is it for this weekend or for the next league match in Waterford??

21/08/2013, 10:40 PM
Says next competitive game so this weekend. Better he misses this one than next weekend.

22/08/2013, 8:06 AM
Anyone any idea what the prices for the match will be? Also heading home for the Athlone away game, final match of the season. Yes!

22/08/2013, 8:54 AM
FAI prices so between 10-12 euro I'd imagine. Leader claims 300 away fans coming down, not a hope of that I'm told by a Drogs fan 50 is more likely.

IrishRossi
22/08/2013, 3:28 PM
should be a good match if TC puts out a fairly good side, id say drogs think they can turn up and win

fitzpatrick10
22/08/2013, 3:30 PM
A win would be nice but i really couldnt care less .. Its a game for tc to try out a few of the new players ect.. Wouldnt go putin out 1st team, i know its the fai cup but you dont get promoted wining a cup ...

buttyk
22/08/2013, 4:23 PM
you don't get promoted losing in play-off either lol longfords cracking up cracking up

22/08/2013, 4:28 PM
you don't get promoted losing in play-off either lol longfords cracking up cracking up

Go play at the traffic lights like a good lad butty, if that is your real name.

Darklordsbane
22/08/2013, 5:32 PM
I reckon TC will play his best team except Dean Ebbe will start, I don't know as I'm not involved with the set up, but that's what I would do De Town need to have a good settled team for the run in, no point in chopping and changing just for the sake of it, play different subs if you want, but the best team have to start in my opinion (not that that's worth much)

22/08/2013, 8:13 PM
I'd imagine TC will want to build momentum and confidence ahead of next week but give fringe players a run without disrupting things too much so I'd expect a team something like this

Hunt
Treacy, Hope, McCarthy, O'connor
Purdy, Gorman, Connoly, O'Brien
O'Hanlon/Shaw, Sully

Keen2win
23/08/2013, 3:26 PM
Yeah, I want him to pick the best side, and lets try to stick to that as much as possible until the end!

Cabs88
23/08/2013, 3:41 PM
A good spirited performance, Gorman and Connolly getting more game time together, and no injuries or suspensions for Waterford the following week and I'd be happy

Darklordsbane
24/08/2013, 12:56 PM
De Town are 5/1 with most bookies and 21/4 with Betpack just in case anyone is interested

24/08/2013, 2:50 PM
Drogs -1 @ 9/5 is a better bet I reckon.

24/08/2013, 9:20 PM
Couldn't be prouder of the lads after that, we deserved at least a replay!

Darklordsbane
25/08/2013, 7:05 AM
Have to agree with you I thought it was a much better performance from the team, they didn't stop trying even when it was 3-1.
Connelly's cross in the first half, Gormans pass to Josh in the 2nd half, Bennions couple of point blank saves, the 17 year old kid at right back, and Ebbes run through several players were the highlights for me.

25/08/2013, 5:56 PM
One thing that keeps niggling at me about last night is the fact we let Drogs back into the game through a Feckin set piece! When are we going to learn! What are we at in training do we not work on the mistakes we make in matches every week? This all goes back to Coffey leaving the set up (he's been at the last 2 games btw)

25/08/2013, 7:54 PM
what I saw in the second half that Mulhall lad was a revelation for us .Ebbe had a great game for us as well. what was cousins doin puttin on Chris Deans-he had a stinker! Derek O'Brien also had a good game also.. our defendin was cat in second half. how good were we in first half lads?

Darklordsbane
25/08/2013, 9:34 PM
Derek O Brien was awful apart from his lucky goal, his end product is crap, I believe he is the worst player De Town have, he should be dropped, he will quite happily let the ball go out for a throw instead of chasing it, his free kicks and corners very rarely go to 1 of Longfords players, he dives a lot and I think he is very lazy,
I don't like giving out about players, but if he plays we will win nothing, total liability in my opinion, for whatever that's worth

25/08/2013, 11:07 PM
Derek O Brien was awful apart from his lucky goal, his end product is crap, I believe he is the worst player De Town have, he should be dropped, he will quite happily let the ball go out for a throw instead of chasing it, his free kicks and corners very rarely go to 1 of Longfords players, he dives a lot and I think he is very lazy,
I don't like giving out about players, but if he plays we will win nothing, total liability in my opinion, for whatever that's worth

Totally agree I hope he's dropped next week he's awful and his attitude is worse.

Martinho, deans went on as hope picked up an injury, I think he was our only defender on the bench.

We were excellent first half should have been further ahead.

L.T.F.C.
26/08/2013, 4:27 AM
One of you say O'Brien was rubbish, the other say he played well. I'm afraid outspoken I'm going to have to disregard your posts these days, as your negativity is clouding your judgement and opinion.

Darklordsbane
26/08/2013, 7:28 AM
If Outspoken is being negative it's because I don't know the person but I'm sure he/she is like most of us and is their biggest fan and worst critic,
Doesn't matter who agrees or disagrees about Derek O Brien
my grandad told me years ago that if you want to know what a player is like watch the player not the ball, players get up to all sorts to appear to have a good game,
take a corner, throw, free kick or appear that you want to take it with your hand on the ball then walk away and let someone else do it,
run around clapping and shouting for the first few minutes then again just before half time, and repeat for the 2nd half,
come in off the wing about 5 yards, the ball goes just over your head, blame the passer (but if you had stayed where you were you would have got the ball),
Don't run for the ball wait to see where it's going then move, ball goes out for a throw/goal kick shake your head and hand gestures ( if you had have run when the ball way kicked you would be on side and would have got the ball)
people think you have been on the ball all day and had a great game,
is it just me or does this sound like anybody we know

Darklordsbane
26/08/2013, 2:36 PM
Jasus lads you must have very little to do I am not Outspoken I just happen to agree with him/her on occasion, I don't like bashing anyone I have given Bennion plenty of stick on here but credit where it's due, I have to say he wasn't bad the other night, but I thought against Salthill he was far bette,r when he throws the ball out quickly the town play football and score goals, look at the results.
Also I think the performances and general play since the Mervue game have been getting better, credit to Cousins and the backroom staff it's seems he might just get De Town back into it
I am sure myself and Outspoken will disagree on some issues over the next few games as I'm sure I will agree with others on here from time to time as well, I travel from Mayo to Dublin regularly this season that is why I picked De Town to support this year, I almost picked Athlone but I'm still glad I didn't, a couple of years ago I supported Cork as I was mostly down that way, the way work is it could be someone else next season but I hope not as I believe De Town will reach the promised land

28/08/2013, 12:33 PM
Accusatory posts deleted. We have a support forum, post reporting facility, and mods and admins for a reason. Any more accusations will result in suspensions.

Mad Moose
29/08/2013, 12:38 PM
I suppose you could move this thread to the Finn Harps forum now. :)

fitzpatrick10
30/08/2013, 12:49 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qh2sWSVRrmo