View Full Version : Cup Final, who do ya want to win ?
09/10/2004, 11:38 AM
Longford as the brilliant Daragh Sheridan deserves it after all that he has given the club!!!! :D :confused:
We Wish :rolleyes:
Iorfa
09/10/2004, 12:52 PM
Longford, of course ;) ...... sure doesn't Alan Kirby play for them?
09/10/2004, 12:55 PM
Longford as the brilliant Daragh Sheridan deserves it after all that he has given the club!!!! :D :confused:
Ah Darragh's a good lad, he's picked up a serious injury too so don't be havin a pop at him.
09/10/2004, 6:40 PM
Whats the f*ckin story we ye Cork and Shels lads? A good run each in Europe and all of a sudden yis are best placed to judge who is and isnt up to standard to play in Europe!!!. Talk about swollen heads!!!. All youse are doing is setting yerselves up for big falls - I'm tellin ye now that neither of you will repeat this years performances. I hope that whoever wins the cup this year has a great run in Europe and that both Cork(if they get there) and Shels get thoroughly tanked in Europe!!!
Also with regards, this whole thing of Longford being an "embarassment" last season - something said by a Rovers fan (how a supporter of a team that couldnt even get into Europe last season - and had they, would probably have been a damn side more embarassing) , I agree with some of the Longford comments. They were, if I'm not mistaken, second bottom in the league going into their European matches and just weren't at the races. Vaduz were lucky and got Longford at the right time.
Which ever team gets there, Longford or Waterford, they deserve it.
chosen1
09/10/2004, 10:08 PM
LTFC and Portugal were disgraced by teams from Lietchenstein, so we can safely assume that neither will ever perform well and win a match again in the competition.
eoinh
09/10/2004, 10:38 PM
Portugal are in a league competition. Longford Town were in a knock out competition. Different formats.
blutil
09/10/2004, 10:51 PM
alright so, but how many knock out competitions are longford left in and how many are cork left in ???
eoinh
10/10/2004, 10:31 AM
Longford are left in one competition. City are left in no competitions.
Do us Cork people have to tell you lot everything?
blutil
10/10/2004, 1:22 PM
fan tan, glad we got that cleared up :))
BobtheDrog
10/10/2004, 6:10 PM
hard to call, after dessie bakers actions at united park though would have to go for waterford but wouldn'tbe unhappy to see digger win a medal
10/10/2004, 10:33 PM
after dessie bakers actions at united park
I missed that !! What happened there lads ??
10/10/2004, 10:42 PM
come on de town!
And I never once said you had to be full time to get results in Europe.
Okay, maybe I misinterpreted your arguement. So you meant one of the top 4 in the league?
ColinR
11/10/2004, 8:33 AM
personally, i hope longford win - with stephen o'brien to be man of the match. it would be nice if baker had to miss it through injury though.
anyway about vaduz - where there many of their players playing on saturday when liectenstein drew 2-2 with portugal. if so, longford would no longer seem such a disgrace to as many of you surely!!
11/10/2004, 9:17 AM
and who has the best chance of being in europe next season, whats the point of a good run in the tayto cup one year if yee can't even qualify the next.........
Surely you mean Longford have won one knock out competition, are still left in one, and Cork are left in no competitions? :)
dortie
11/10/2004, 9:58 AM
Waterford for me.
No time for Longford, the place or the club. :p
Waterford for me.
No time for Longford, the place or the club. :p
Dortie, you're moron. :)
BobtheDrog
11/10/2004, 12:01 PM
I missed that !! What happened there lads ??
Baker made certain inappropriate gestures at the drogheda fans after the match and was ushered from the field by the ref.
11/10/2004, 1:27 PM
come on de town!
Thanks Éanna :)
I'm surprised that 1 or 2 City fans are saying that they don't mind when surely their biggest rivals are Waterford!
dortie
11/10/2004, 7:54 PM
Sure, come down to the banjo festival & we'll show you a real good time ........
Not into culchie crap reminds me too much of Ballybofey.
Give it to them WATERFORD.
EireBadBoy
13/10/2004, 6:51 PM
Totally agree, COME ON THE BLUES!!!
Hope it is a high scoring defeat at that too.
EireBadBoy
13/10/2004, 6:53 PM
Dortie, you're moron. :)
And you can't even type properly! :confused: YOU ARE THE MORON!
17/10/2004, 9:00 PM
it would be nice if baker had to miss it through injury though.
He might miss it through being dropped unless he bucks up a bit after his last two games.
17/10/2004, 10:50 PM
Baker made certain inappropriate gestures at the drogheda fans after the match and was ushered from the field by the ref.
You can take the player out of Dublin but .... :D
17/10/2004, 11:12 PM
id say id be speaking for ALL city fans here by saying
C'MON DE TOWN
I'm not too bothered about the cup final as the cup seems to have turned into a competition for small clubs and thus doesn't affect us too much.
However, I'll say Longford as it would upset me greatly if a bunch of thugs and scumbags like Waterford were to experience any joy or happiness whatsoever.
I also agree entirely about putting the cup winners in the inter-toto, leave the bigger competitions for the bigger clubs who will be better equipped to deal with them and compete successfully in them.
18/10/2004, 12:19 PM
I'm not too bothered about the cup final as the cup seems to have turned into a competition for small clubs and thus doesn't affect us too much.
However, I'll say Longford as it would upset me greatly if a bunch of thugs and scumbags like Waterford were to experience any joy or happiness whatsoever.
I also agree entirely about putting the cup winners in the inter-toto, leave the bigger competitions for the bigger clubs who will be better equipped to deal with them and compete successfully in them.
wow colm typing with your arse, what a talent :rolleyes: , we are there on merit and you were beatin by a first division team if i am correct. and something for you to dwell on, this time next week we could be the most sucessful team in the country........ 3 trophies to win and we have to of them already and we are trying to get the other one back for another year.....sucess is measured on trophies and yee lot have eh, let me count eh 0, that right, all your talk and an empty trophy cabinet, all dolan's $hit talking and nothing to back it up.....
think about this...BIG CLUBS WIN TROPHIES, wannsbe's just talk about doing it...
end of pointless but yet satisifing rant.
18/10/2004, 12:19 PM
I'll be hoping Longford do it. Though that's nothing to do with waterford.
I just think that Longford would do better in the UEFA next year despite this season's effort. I think they deserve a second shot at it. Anyway, Flancare is one of my favourite away trips (will be again tomorrow night) and anything that contributes to the clubs further success is welcome. :)
BIG CLUBS WIN TROPHIES
Big clubs do well in their league and have a good european run.
Any club can do well in the cup and that's the same in every country.
Honestly Max, who was the last big club to win the FAI cup?
I wish ye the best of luck but I'd take top two in the league and a good euro run over the FAI and league cups anyday.
18/10/2004, 12:45 PM
I wish ye the best of luck but I'd take top two in the league and a good euro run over the FAI and league cups anyday.
but you might not even be in europe ??? we win one game and we are there, in a real european competition, see iinter toto means nothing to our league, sorry but fact....
bohs beat us in the final a few years back, be honest, your club would love to win any trophy, but you haven't in a while and with all his talking a part time manager like alan matthews has won two trophies in almost the same length of time with a much much smaller budget.
18/10/2004, 12:57 PM
Of course you'd take top two in the League, as you went out of the Cup early and its the best you can achieve. And whats a good Euro run, surely not getting knocked out of the UEFA in the pre-qualifying competition(Intertoto) before the Cup winners have entered?
And btw what the hell is a "big club", when does a "big club" stop being a "big club" and can a "small club" become a "big club"?!.
For instance, are Cork a "big club" based on any other measure than their fanbase?
Trophies and trophies only define a big club.
sparkey
18/10/2004, 12:59 PM
Obviously winning trophies doesn’t affect MASSIVE clubs like the big City clubs. I mean you don’t see MASSIVE clubs Like Manchester City or Cork City winning trophies. But they do take MASSIVE pride in playing in PRE-SEASON euro competitions like the inter two –bob cup. A competition even UEFA are embarrassed so much about that they are going to scrap the competition. Winning trophies dream on Colm. MASSIVE CLUB not bothered about trophies! my AR, SE!
Really hope Longford win it for many reasons.
Although it could be funny to see the thugs having to play their european game at the Cross if they were to cheat their way to a win
18/10/2004, 1:22 PM
I agree with Colm on this one. The cup winners in the uefa cup is a joke. Just look at how the cup winners have faired in europe in recent years. The league should remove reither the UEFA spot or Setanta Cup spot from the cup winners. It's an awful windfall for winning just 5 games.
How good a team is is judged on their league campaign and not a cup run. Waterford are in the final of the cup, they had 3 home games and their toughest and only away game was up in Derry. Surely that doesn't merit a place in the uefa cup.
Anyhow I want Longford to win it.
agreeing with colm, no pics for you ;)
18/10/2004, 1:54 PM
I agree with Colm on this one. The cup winners in the uefa cup is a joke. Just look at how the cup winners have faired in europe in recent years. The league should remove reither the UEFA spot or Setanta Cup spot from the cup winners. It's an awful windfall for winning just 5 games.
How good a team is is judged on their league campaign and not a cup run. Waterford are in the final of the cup, they had 3 home games and their toughest and only away game was up in Derry. Surely that doesn't merit a place in the uefa cup.
There's no doubt if you were in the cup final you wouldn't be taking this view. The bloody idea of the cup is that it is a knockout tournament and gives clubs, not just League club (Rockmount anyone?), the chance to progress.
I know, lets have a second parallel League tournament and get rid of the Cups as they aren't fair (read Cork didn't do well in them). :rolleyes:
As I've said before, the UEFA place for the cup winners is the old Cup Winners Cup place before the merger of the two competitions.
The Cup Winners Cup actually took priority over the UEFA Cup as you actually had to win something to be in it. No one chose the UEFA over the Cup Winners Cup.
dortie
18/10/2004, 2:42 PM
Interesting, those who knock the cup are those who have never done very well in it !! Or the league for that matter :p
The Cup Winners Cup actually took priority over the UEFA Cup as you actually had to win something to be in it. No one chose the UEFA over the Cup Winners Cup.
That was for logistic purposes. Some countries had 4 entries into the UEFA cup. If you gave the UEFA cup priority and all four qualifiers in the UEFA cup reahed the cup semi-finals yould end up having to run your cup competition all over again after the season had ended.
The quality of the UEFA cup was always higher than the Cup-winner cup, especially before the champions league was expanded. Why else would they have scrapped the cup winner cup.
Just a comparison of the winners of each competition proves the point. You didnt get the likes of Mechelen winning the UEFA Cup.
Partizan
18/10/2004, 8:07 PM
The whole soccer public with the exception of those in **** and Longford are shouting for the Blues this Sunday.
I suppose you can call it tradition.
Waterford are through to the Cup Final final on merit and merit alone, albeit with a bit of luck against Rockmount in the QF :D
We were simply better than the teams we played so therefore we won our way to the final and so enter Lansdowne Road come Sunday.
I'm just burstin me ****** laughing at the ****ies calling for the Cup winners to be excluded from European competition (Setanta included). Could it be down to the fact that we are in the Cup final and they are not :p
Ah they can always settle for the IntertwoBob Tayto Cup that Fat and the collective Fat Pack being the only ones that the Inter Mickey Mouse Cup means something.
where did anyone call for them to be excluded?
19/10/2004, 7:11 AM
The whole soccer public with the exception of those in **** and Longford are shouting for the Blues this Sunday.
I suppose you can call it tradition.
d'ont know where you got that idea from,there is plenty of support for both teams from neutral supporters. :)
That was for logistic purposes. Some countries had 4 entries into the UEFA cup. If you gave the UEFA cup priority and all four qualifiers in the UEFA cup reahed the cup semi-finals yould end up having to run your cup competition all over again after the season had ended.
The quality of the UEFA cup was always higher than the Cup-winner cup, especially before the champions league was expanded. Why else would they have scrapped the cup winner cup.
Just a comparison of the winners of each competition proves the point. You didnt get the likes of Mechelen winning the UEFA Cup.
They scrapped the Cup Winners Cup because the expanded champions league meant that it was more likely that one of the winners from the top leagues would win the cup but qualify for the champions league. In most countries, whether they take it serious or not, the top clubs tend to do well in the Cup.
A comparison of the winners going back to the days of the open draws is a bit ridiculous imo. Loads of shíte teams got through to finals in all three competitions back then. The early 80's especially is littered with them.
19/10/2004, 3:52 PM
Hoping Longford win the Cup on the day! A draw would be an absolute nightmare for me personally. Flying back the evening after.... COME ON DE TOWN....
Pauro you may stay put if the game ends in a draw. Not worth your while going back to England! :p
No way, we only do well when he's not here. I firmly believe that the return to form is inversely proportional to the number of games Pauro goes to. :)
El Perro
20/10/2004, 8:08 AM
hope wah-herford wins.....saw them beat pats 1-0 in 1980 (yea, that old)...dalymount with about 25000 and for once it was a good cup final ......they should play all cup finals in tolka or dalymount cos there'll be NO atmosphere at lansdowne....it'll probably rain and that ridiculous nonsense will be on up at croker....did anyone see that it was described as being like "ballet" in a letter to the irish times....????
20/10/2004, 9:17 AM
No way, we only do well when he's not here. I firmly believe that the return to form is inversely proportional to the number of games Pauro goes to. :)
agreed macy
trevy
20/10/2004, 10:22 AM
Its typical of the big clubs arrogant fans to knock Waterford and Longford and say FAI Cup final winners shouldn't get a UEFA spot.If they were in the final they wouldn't be saying this.Maybe we should let the same 3 teams Shels,Bohs and Cork in Europe every year to keep them happy.Its good that different teams can make Europe and we'll enjoy the day at Lansdowne Road on Sunday.
yur man
20/10/2004, 1:39 PM
hopefully longford
then next year they can do better in europe after having their first experience already