Derry City - Drogheda
Dundalk - Sligo Rovers
Limerick - UCD
St Patrick's Athletic - Shelbourne

Finn Harps - Waterford Utd
Longford Town - Salthill Devon
Mervue Utd - Athlone Town
Wexford Youths - Cobh Ramblers

Obviously the biggest game of the week is at Oriel. You'd imagine Pats will be grand at home to Shels, and I reckon we'll do well to get a win out of Drogs, them having won in the Brandywell last week just. A win for UCD is achievable, and would give them a bit of distance from the bottom of the table. Interesting set of games anyway.

For any Drogs (or indeed City fans), traffic might be a bit heavy around the town due to Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann. Info here: http://www.cityofculture2013.com/2013/08/helpful-information-for-fleadh-cheoil-2013/

16/08/2013, 12:35 PM
Big weekend in the first division also- If Waterford, Longford and Athlone all win then it's hard to see the top three changing before the end of the season. That will the games between those sides massive. Athlone have all the momentum at this stage, if they can surmount a very tricky challenge in Fahy's Field they will be looking good for top spot I think.

16/08/2013, 1:54 PM
Fancy Bohs to upset Rovers tonight and Mervue to do the same with Athlone. Waterford and Harps then becomes a huge game with all the pressure on us to preform tomorrow night.

Dillonman
16/08/2013, 3:07 PM
I think tonight will determine whether we are in this title race or not, a draw with Sligo wouldn't be the end of the world but would hand Pats a major advantage considering we have to go there and they should be picking up the 3 points against Shels tonight.

Ezeikial
16/08/2013, 4:22 PM
I think tonight will determine whether we are in this title race or not, a draw with Sligo wouldn't be the end of the world but would hand Pats a major advantage considering we have to go there and they should be picking up the 3 points against Shels tonight.

Make no mistake about it - Dundalk are in this title race right now!

The match in Oriel tonight will certainly have a big bearing on the top end of the table, but neither Sligo nor Dundalk will be out of the title reckoning at 9.40pm tonight

16/08/2013, 4:59 PM
Far from it. The worst Dundalk will be at 10 tonight is 4 points off the lead. They could be 2 points clear too.

6 games, all kicking off at the same time (1st time this season) and all with potentially huge implications for title and/or relegation battles. Can't really ask for more than that.

Fivesilver
16/08/2013, 6:18 PM
I honestly think we need to win. A draw might do if Pats drop points, but probably not as we need momentum now - we still have to go to Inchicore. Lose and we're gone. Three points, given that we're fairly banjaxed with injuries, would have a huge effect.

16/08/2013, 6:45 PM
I honestly think we need to win. A draw might do if Pats drop points, but probably not as we need momentum now - we still have to go to Inchicore. Lose and we're gone. Three points, given that we're fairly banjaxed with injuries, would have a huge effect.
Wrong. Mid-table is where it's at these days. Croly has shown us the light, it's up to everybody else to see it.

16/08/2013, 7:04 PM
1-0 Dundalk

Hoban

Trainee
16/08/2013, 7:11 PM
Collins sent off for Athlone after 9 mins, Mervue missed the resulting peno

Its still nil all

16/08/2013, 7:12 PM
Rovers 1-0 down within 60 seconds for the second time in 4 days. Third time in a week they've been 1-0 down in the first 10 minutes.

Athlone down to 10 men in Mervue but still 0-0 after Ryan Manning missed a penalty.

Trainee
16/08/2013, 7:25 PM
Athlone 1 up Philip Gorman with a peno after 32 mins

Strongbow10
16/08/2013, 7:28 PM
2-1 to Athlone now, nearly halftime

Athlone 1 up Philip Gorman with a peno after 32 mins

Trainee
16/08/2013, 7:29 PM
Mervue goal by Stephen Walsh after 37 mins, Gorman put Athlone by in front after 41 mins

2 - 1 Athlone

NeverFeltBetter
16/08/2013, 7:39 PM
Limerick went in front early, but UCD are in front 2-1 at HT.

Trainee
16/08/2013, 7:58 PM
3-1 Athlone

16/08/2013, 7:59 PM
Apparently a Bohs defender picked the ball up with two hands in the box and the referee waved play on.

Trainee
16/08/2013, 8:04 PM
Mervue pull one back through Tom King

16/08/2013, 8:06 PM
2-0 Dundalk

Shields

Trainee
16/08/2013, 8:09 PM
Apparently a Bohs defender picked the ball up with two hands in the box and the referee waved play on.

Ment to the worst decision ever made by a ref. FAI will probably reward Padraigh Sutton with cup final

Strongbow10
16/08/2013, 8:09 PM
Mervue 2 Athlone 4, great game!

Trainee
16/08/2013, 8:11 PM
Athlone 4-2 now - Enda Curran with Athlone's last 2 goals

16/08/2013, 8:12 PM
2-0 Waterford. Harps League campaign is pretty much over at that.

Strongbow10
16/08/2013, 8:27 PM
Mervue miss a second penalty, still 4-2 to Athlone here

patrickccfc
16/08/2013, 8:31 PM
bray 1-2 city;) kilduff

Trainee
16/08/2013, 8:32 PM
Mervue v Athlone sounds like a good game - 6 goals, 3 pens & 2 red cards

16/08/2013, 8:33 PM
Athlone 4-2 now - Enda Curran with Athlone's last 2 goals
Is he new?

Fivesilver
16/08/2013, 8:39 PM
Reckon that's it for our hopes. A European spot and maybe a tilt at the Cup is about the target now.

16/08/2013, 8:41 PM
Dundalk 2-0 Sligo FT

patrickccfc
16/08/2013, 8:44 PM
Bray 1-2 City FT;) 3 wins from 3 under ashton now were on a roll

16/08/2013, 8:45 PM
Reckon that's it for our hopes. A European spot and maybe a tilt at the Cup is about the target now.
Whisper it, but I think the other Rovers might be out of title contention too.

Sligo Hoops.
16/08/2013, 8:47 PM
Roche & Co. - time to go.

16/08/2013, 8:48 PM
OK, Croly is a bad appointment- but what else did they get wrong? Kenny did not work out but no one saw that coming.

NeverFeltBetter
16/08/2013, 8:49 PM
Limerick are slipping really, really badly.

16/08/2013, 8:52 PM
Two disastrous managerial appointments in a row isn't exactly sparkling form, especially when the first was on a three-year deal.

Sligo Hoops.
16/08/2013, 8:52 PM
Too many egos up Whitestown Way ...

peterc1992
16/08/2013, 8:59 PM
Is he new?

Signed off Meruve 3 weeks ago. Young centre forward with loads of potential. Second top scorer in the division behind Philly.

What a result. I couldnt make it cos I was broke this week but I am raging I missed it. They are the sort of wins you need if you want to be champions. If we can go away to Mervue and play a match for 80 mins with 10 men and win 4-2 with 9 men for the last 10 then I dont see anyone catching us.

Today was a chance for the other teams to catch us and we fought it out for a win.

patrickccfc
16/08/2013, 9:00 PM
September 20th Pats vs Dundalk- Massive game

Surely it will be on tv?

Pity the game at oriel tonight wasnt covered as im sure there was a great atmosphere with over 3000 there, would of been a great advertisement

16/08/2013, 9:02 PM
Signed off Meruve 3 weeks ago. Young centre forward with loads of potential. Second top scorer in the division behind Philly.

Woosh!

16/08/2013, 9:04 PM

What a result. I couldnt make it cos I was broke this week but I am raging I missed it. They are the sort of wins you need if you want to be champions. If we can go away to Mervue and play a match for 80 mins with 10 men and win 4-2 with 9 men for the last 10 then I dont see anyone catching us.

Today was a chance for the other teams to catch us and we fought it out for a win.

Sickening for us. Curran isn't second top scorer in the divison by the way and Gorman isn't top either not that it really matters.

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/10003/airtricity-league-of-ireland-first-division-top-scorers/

DannyInvincible
16/08/2013, 9:07 PM
Another poor home result for Derry. Disappointing.

bluewhitearmy
16/08/2013, 9:12 PM
I fear what Dundalk are going to do to us in the cup we were pathetic tonight.

peterc1992
16/08/2013, 9:18 PM
Sickening for us. Curran isn't second top scorer in the divison by the way and Gorman isn't top either not that it really matters.

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/10003/airtricity-league-of-ireland-first-division-top-scorers/

Sorry lads. I dnt know where I got that from.

And for the whoosh. I was going to say 'not sure if serious' but just went with it anyway.

Anyway good result

16/08/2013, 9:21 PM

And for the whoosh. I was going to say 'not sure if serious' but just went with it anyway.

Anyway good result
It's alright, hopefully Davy can hold on and we finish top of something :(

16/08/2013, 9:22 PM

Haha, sorry if it seemed snarky. I thought it was funny anyway!

patrickccfc
16/08/2013, 9:24 PM
Looking like athlone will be coming up, would be a good addition to the league. Would be great to have longford up aswell.

Sligo Hoops.
16/08/2013, 9:27 PM
Always thought there were too many Dublin clubs. Didn't think we'd revisit 2005, but hey, we might get a new board ...

patrickccfc
16/08/2013, 9:32 PM
Is the FAI ruling that bray cant be relegated still in force?

wonder88
16/08/2013, 9:33 PM
Athlone got Enda Curran from Salthill, and it is true that there is some potential there and I am glad that he is playing under a good manager. I was at the game tonight (missed 30m as I also had to go to a gaa match) but it was it nonstop action for the hour I saw. Good Athlone support there as well and they must have enjoyed their night, but if Mervue had scored their 2nd peno it could have been a costly bit of silly behavior by their keeper.

White Horse
16/08/2013, 9:36 PM
September 20th Pats vs Dundalk- Massive game

Surely it will be on tv?

Pity the game at oriel tonight wasnt covered as im sure there was a great atmosphere with over 3000 there, would of been a great advertisement

It was a terrific game.

Dundalk started very well and got a great goal.

Sligo then reacted as you would expect from the champions, they pegged Dundalk back for 20 minutes at the end of the half. I don't know how they didn't score.

Kenny then changed tactics at half time and it was Dundalk's turn to put Sligo under the kosh. Once Dundalk got the second goal, it was aerial bombardment time from Sligo. Dundalk just ate up all the balls that were pinged forward.

Once again, Dundalk finished the game fittest. Sligo were dead on their feet in the last 10 minutes. Dundalk could, and should, have scored another couple of goals.